about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EOS 6D

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
21 23720 Oct 5, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $1,730.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.19
9.38
9.4
canon6D

Specifications:
• 20.2MP Full-Frame CMOS Sensor
• 3.0" Clear View High Resolution LCD
• DIGIC 5 Image Processor
• Built-In Wi-Fi and GPS Connectivity
• Full HD 1080p with Manual Controls
• 11-Point AF with Center Cross-Type Point
• 63-Zone Dual Layer Metering Sensor
• Extended ISO Range of 50-102400
• Up to 4.5 Full Resolution FPS
• Built-In HDR and Multiple Exposure Modes


 


Page:  1 · 2  next
          
melquisedec
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 5, 2014
Location: Portugal
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 5, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: weight, IQ, low light capabilities, center af point
Cons:
wifi/GPS (superfluous), build quality

Bought my first 6d as an entrance to the FF world, couldn't be more happy with it!

Af center point is really sensitive, and as I focus and recompose in 99% of my shots doesn't worth to pay for the 5dMk3.
Low light capabilities era just great, you can use until 6400 ISO with really low grain and even 12800 or 25600 if you like/tolerate the aesthetic of a little grain.


Oct 5, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add melquisedec to your Buddy List  
new puritan
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 16, 2014
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3
Review Date: Sep 18, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,700.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: High ISO is usable for a change. Lack of focus points is not a restriction as the centre point is so good.
Cons:
Wifi, GPS, lack of popup flash and video superfluous for this old man who learnt on a FED 4L but probably appreciated by many potential users.

If you want to upgrade from the 60/70D it will take you less than 24 hours to feel at home with this fine camera and anyone else considering a 6D will be well impressed by this 'entry level' [whatever that means] full frame camera.

I am impressed by pictures I take at 6400 ISO of moving objects in poor light and regularly use this at 1600/3200 ISO snapping railway wagons [freightcars] at 60 mph or at cricket matches where the small ball may be moving at 90 mph + and I can see the sown seam in my photographs.

To me it seems better balanced with my 24-105L [yes I know I should hate this as it's supposed to be c##p but I must have a good example] than larger bodies and my 70-200 F4 IS is as near as it is possible to being darned perfect for me at my age with my old eyes.

Been out and about with my metal mount 26/27 year old 50mm F1.8 [the mark one] and the 6D and know I know why it is still sells for a £100 plus in the UK as apart from the noisy auto focus this is darned underrated as a walk about lens. Get one of these and a 6D ...


Sep 18, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add new puritan to your Buddy List  
Breitling65
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 31, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5239
Review Date: May 29, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great size and weight in compare to my 5D3, excellent image quality, fine AF for non sports action shots, also half price of 5D3.
Cons:
Single SD card, limited shutter speed, wheel ...

I got this body to replace my 2 years old 5D3 and saved $1k for another project, no regrets. I shot all 5D's models and this camera is better than 5D/5D2. I am also trying to reduce my travel bags, tired of bricks inside!
Overall first shots I did is identical to 5D3, nothing is different much. AF is OK using central point which I always do anyway. Also I got refurbished model from Canon which is identical to the new, no single scratch on it.


May 29, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Breitling65 to your Buddy List  
DavidP99
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 10, 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: May 10, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: image quality, weight, price
Cons:
would prefer the joystick and wheel

Great camera.

Handles nice, not too heavy to carry around all day. Images produced are fantastic. Would prefer the joystick and wheel but the quick control dial isn't bad once you get used to it. Center point is amazing and the outer ones don't seem to be too bad. Used them a bit on a recent vacation, never had a problem with them locking on to what I wanted.

All in all a great FF camera for a great price.


May 10, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add DavidP99 to your Buddy List  
Ralph Conway
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 30, 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 3932
Review Date: Feb 15, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,054.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: All better than 5DII which still is a great camera. Imo better than 5D III and 1DX if using center AF only - what I do. This camera gives me everything and much more I wished from a 5D II successor 1.5 years ago. ISO 12.800 usable! Silent mode! Best feel of any bodies offered (imo again). 30% cheaper than I had to pay for 5D II. Better results with any lens I used in the past.
Cons:
I thought I would miss the joystick. After a week I saw it is no dealbreaker. Would be nice, but I got common with the MF wheel. And I guess Canon needs at least SOMETHING in common for a 6D MK II. Like 1/8000 shutter speed and any faster flashsync ( I do not need or even wish both. Who takes this camera and uses flashes regulary should buy a bridge camera. who needs more than a 180th sync imo does not know anything about using flashes). So far I feel, there is only one real con: 50k shutter cycles less, than 5D II and 5D III! Does not look like a big deal breaker (I shot 75K with 5D II within the last 4.5 years). But does not really feel good - the only thing, that doesn΄t.

The best body I held in my hands the last 37 years. And I paid more than 1.135 $ less, than I had to for the 5D II.
Canon IS a genius. They gave me a 5D II and with 6D they added the follow up that deserved all my wishes.

I do not do sports or BIF. For that 5D III or 1DX might be the right decission. For landscape a Nicon D800 might be. But for everything what I do - people - in real athmo (without flash) 6D is the camera that works. Imo there is no competitor. If I use AF, I still use the center one and recompose. That worked excellent with 5D II and works even better with 6D (ISO 12K is a dream here). I never tested a better camera in this case.
To explain: I did never need to push shadows for 2, 3, 5 or more stops. Shooting at ISO 6.400 or ISO 12K gives me most of the freedom. "Exmor" is not interesting for me. Every offer at ISO 3.600 ore above is loosing against Canon. There is no sony sensored camera on the marked that supports MY NEEDS. Next to that I never met any shooter, who was as fast as me in choosing any different AF point then the center one - and got the important shot!
My "customers" regulary are not waiting for me to get ready (while switching to any outer one). And even if they are, they feel very comfortable, that I already did my shot.

6D is genius!

Before I forget to mention it: I do not have any use for now, but may be I will try Video, WIFI and GPS within the next 5 years. The idea to have it than, still using the same body feels good.


Feb 15, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Ralph Conway to your Buddy List  
dustnet
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 30, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 20
Review Date: Feb 5, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Image quality, price, weight
Cons:
Quite slow

Hello all,

I bought this body as a secondary body. Since I am only shooting full frame, I was happy not having to invest in another Canon 5D Mark III.

I have been very surprised by the quality of this body. I remember that I cannot get used to the 7D but I immediately fell in love with the 6D. Here is why.

1) Weight. If you do wildlife of landscape, each opportunity to save some weight is really welcome and note just a "nice to have" feature. The Canon 6D is really small but still totally pleasant to use.

2) Image quality is top notch. I don't make a big difference between this body and my 5D III.

3) GPS is not something I use since It really sucks the juice of the battery very fast. So I cannot comment on this.

4) Being able to take a picture from far away using the Wifi and an iPhone is really nice to have.

5) On the downsize, the camera is a bit slow, this is why I am not using it much for wildlife, but a lot more for Landscapes.

Many images are available on my website have been shot with the 6D.
http://www.emmanuelrondeau.com/

And a full view at my current gear setup:
http://www.emmanuelrondeau.com/equipment/

Best regards,
Emmanuel.


Feb 5, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add dustnet to your Buddy List  
Yang Ye
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Oct 14, 2006
Location: Belgium
Posts: 115
Review Date: Jan 18, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,250.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Light weight. The ability to focus (with center point) and take clean pictures (high ISO performance) in the dark enables me to take pictures that I was never able to with 5D mark ii. Good ergonomics. In-camera lens correction. Wifi and connection to smartphone.
Cons:
Delete button is hard to press with right thumb when holding the camera with right hand. No pop-up flash. Focus points clustered in the middle area. Focus point selection can be awkward even using the multi-way controller.

Great light weight camera. A huge upgrade from 5D mark ii. Love every aspects of it except for some issues with the focus points selection methods.

Jan 18, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Yang Ye to your Buddy List  
Gochugogi
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 25, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 9867
Review Date: Jan 14, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,415.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: easy on the shoulder, amazing image quality
Cons:
No FEC button, missing popup flash

I bought a 6D Fall 2013 and have been on a shooting binge, gaining a good feel for the features and performance of this camera. I also own a 5D MK II and 60D so it's hard not to notice the 6D is a marriage of the two older cameras: full frame innards of the 5D MKII coupled with the petite form factor and controls of the 60D. Toss in Wi-Fi, GPS, AF tweaks, enhanced high ISO, and that's the 6D in a nutshell.

CONSTRUCTION
The 6D is a handsome camera with top notch fit and finish: tough magnesium body shell, engineering grade plastic top panel and lightly textured matte black paint. I suspect the plastic panel was used to enhance Wi-Fi/GPS reception. Canon claims the 6D is weather resistant to the same level as the 7D and 1N and, indeed, mist and light rain don't faze it but I'd protect it in a downpour. The textured rubber grip is comfortable for my medium sized hands and feels secure. It's noticeably smaller and lighter than a 5D MKII and the same size and weight as the 60D.

The 6D is quiet for a SLR and similar to the 60D in this regard. My 5D MKII thunders next to it. However, if quiet isn't quiet enough, 6D silent mode fades to triple pianissimo. Of course you pay for extra stealth with slower FPS and longer viewfinder blackout. Stage shooters will find this camera very useful.

The 3.0" 1,040,000 dot LCD is vivid and clear and spanks my 5D MKII in terms of clarity. It appears to the same LCD as the 60D but without the articulating ability.

CONTROLS
The Spartan control interface was inherited from the 60D. There is no flash exposure compensation (FEC) button, White Balance (WB) button or joystick, and the Quick Control Dial (QCD) is smaller than most EOS models. FEC is set on the LCD. I prefer a FEC button so compensation may be applied while looking through the viewfinder. However the buttons and wheels it does have sport a solid and precise feel compared to the 60D.

It inherits one control from the 7D: the Liveview/Video start button It's a large button/toggle switch on the upper right. The outer switch toggles between video and Liveview while the button starts/stops these functions. Fast and intuitive compared to the 60D's mode dial and button finger twister.

AUTOFOCUS
The 6D AF array has the same diamond shaped coverage as the 5D MKII, a single cross point (center) but two additional outer points. The center AF point has been significantly enhanced and is amazingly sensitive and sure-footed in low light. It can snag focus in closets and caves! The 10 single axis outer points are not nearly as senstive but are better than those of the 5D MKII. All in all, a big step up from 5D MKII AF.

Overall image quality is about the same as the 5D MKII from ISO 100 to 1600, i.e., great! The big wow of the 6D is high ISO performance. By ISO 3200 the 6D starts to pull away from the 5D MKII and is shockingly good at ISO 6400 and 12800 with noise reduction. Beyond ISO 12800 is emergency use only for me but if I ever need to shoot at ISO 102400 that center AF point should be up to the task. I'm not an avid "shadow lifter" but the 6D is amazingly clean (less patterned artifacts) and you can bump up shadows another stop over the 5D MKII if needed.

WI-FI/GPS
I tried Wi-Fi via EOS Remote 1.2 for iOS and it worked well for setting exposure, AF points, EC, firing the shutter, etc. I used an iPhone 5s and iPad 2 for LiveView and could save images to my devices. The saved images are low resolution and look pixelated on an iPad. If the app was optimized for the iPad it would be useful for clients doing live proofing. There is a Droid version of EOS Remote and I hear it similar to the iOS app. Wi-Fi drains the battery fast, so have spare batteries at ready. Finally, Wi-Fi setup is needlessly complicated and far from the experience of jumping on Wi-Fi with an iPhone or PC.

GPS setup is easy: two or three menu selections, point the pentaprism at the sky and you're done. However, acquiring a GPS signal in downtown Honolulu was impossible due to tall buildings and nearby mountains. I was able to catch the signal here and there on Oahu but found GPS spotty. I had hoped GPS would bring clarity to my befuddling vacation images but I'll reserve final judgement until I get travel time in North America during the summer. For now, I disabled GPS since it shortens battery life.

VIEWFINDER
The quality of the optical viewfinder is astounding. On paper the specs of 97% coverage and .71x magnification are less impressive than those of the 5D MKII/III. However, the clarity of the viewfinder is a whole level above my 5D MK II, 60D or 7D. Even with a slowish F4 zoom the focusing screen appears bright, grainless, smooth and extremely vivid. It's a real pleasure to shoot with.

FLASH
Although the 6D is a prosumer camera aimed at serious hobbyists, it lacks a popup flash. I use a Speedlite 430EX II and it works great but I miss having a popup for fill flash and E-TTL trigger use. If you're looking for a small Speedlite, consider the Canon 270EX II Speedlite: it fits in a pocket, can bounce and is about twice as powerful as a popup.

LAST BLURB
Canon has been criticized as non-innovative for this amalgamation of features with little new technology. However, once I got my hands on a 6D, I found the AF and high ISO refinements and blending of the best features from several EOS cameras made it one of the most perfectly evolved cameras ever. Tried and true works for me: menus, features and controls were very familiar. I barely needed to crack the manual. I also love the small form factor combined with full frame format. It's easy on the shoulder, able to capture clean images in almost any situation and, for my needs, the ideal travel DSLR.


Jan 14, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Gochugogi to your Buddy List  
nl_age100
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 22, 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 5, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: + Great results in low light environment; + Great build quality; + Body is not so big.
Cons:
+ Haven't found one (yet).

Coming from a 400d, a 6D is a big step up.
In general, everything is so much better than my previous body.

I don't own it that long now, but the first results are very positive.
You can find some of the images i took here:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/arjan_gerritsen/tags/canoneos6d/.


Jan 5, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add nl_age100 to your Buddy List  
kyerthenomad
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 29, 2012
Location: N/A
Posts: 0
Review Date: Dec 18, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,000.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Price for a full sensor camera, good ISO
Cons:
poor quality view screen, not a 5D series camera in terms of control, low shutter count

The 6D is Canon's least expensive full sensor DSLR.

My primary camera is the 5D mark iii and I used this as my second and backup camera, so the caparison is perhaps not fair, but I will make it. These comments are for those debating about purchasing this camera or a 5D (mark ii or iii)

First the negatives: I don't like the view screen on this camera. The camera is modeled after the 60D and I miss not having certain controls like white balance and flash power easily accessible like the 5D series. The shutter count is about 1/3 that of the Mark iii, so if you're taking 100K photos a year like me, the shutter won't last as long.

The positives: though not nearly as "sexy" or high performance as the mark iii, at the end of the day it takes the same photo. Its autofocus system is slightly better than the Mark ii and it's ISO is very good. I'm still happy that I didn't spend an additional $1200+ for a second mark iii.


Dec 18, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add kyerthenomad to your Buddy List  
Dpedraza
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jan 8, 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 789
Review Date: Nov 25, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,300.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: High ISO performance
Cons:
Dynamic range

I bought the 6d just for fun basically. I have a D600 and D800 and I just wanted to play around with Canon's offerings. The camera has excellent high iso noise performance and I would be comfortable using it even above 12800.. but the camera lacks(actually all Canon's suck in this field) dynamic range. My nikons blow the this camera out of the water in this aspect. I shoot a lot of landscapes and I don't like to bracket if I don't have to. Other than dynamic range this is one of the better Canon's I've used.

Nov 25, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Dpedraza to your Buddy List  
jacquesvroom
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Sep 21, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 43
Review Date: Oct 29, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,573.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IQ at 25,600 is punishingly good! Puts my once beloved, now miserable 5D2 to shame well beyond words. Really!
Cons:
No coupon for Tesla S included in the B&H box. No 20 exposures per second capability. In every day high-end terms, though, it seems excellent.

Above from first few hours. More to come...

Oct 29, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add jacquesvroom to your Buddy List  
AdamParent
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 12, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 111
Review Date: Oct 21, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,399.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Low noise at high ISO; low light focusing ability
Cons:
1/4000 shutter speed

I just upgraded from a Canon 20d I purchased in 2005 so this was one heck of an upgrade!

I was astonished with the high ISO performance. Its not exactly a night vision device, but its still amazing to me! I don't have an external flash, and I intend to get one someday, but high ISO performance is really making this a low priority for me. I'm also much less worried about not having fast f2.8 lenses in my inventory.

Going from 5 fps on my 20d to 4.5 fps on the 6d isn't really noticeable, though admittedly I have been focusing on landscape photography lately. I would like to photograph the occasional airshow or eagles in flight and I don't think the half fps drop will kill me.

I do prefer the "joystick" or "nub" on the 20d over the interface on the 6d, but its not a show stopper.

I think the GPS and wifi are both nice-to-have features, though they aren't game changers either. I would like to do a little more astrophotography where I hook my camera up to my 10" telescope. The wifi will allow me to avoid dangling the line from my remote shutter release which can help eliminate unwanted camera/telescope shake.

I find the center focus point low light focusing ability of this camera amazing! This is a huge improvement over the 20d. While this camera isn't known as an action camera in terms of focusing ability I do believe it can satisfy my limited needs in this area. Again, I have to admit to limited testing in this area so far. I've also never experienced high-end focusing capability so its possible I just don't know what I'm missing.

So far I suspect that any problems I've had are a result of a lack of skill rather than a short coming of the camera. If I could pick one or two features from the higher end cameras to add to the 6d, I think my first picks would be 1/8000 shutter speed and maybe high end action focusing.

I paid $2399 and got the bundled 24-105 lens as well as a couple other extras.

I fully expect to use this camera for the next 5-8 years. I can't imagine what kind of performance I'll be getting when I make that upgrade.



Oct 21, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add AdamParent to your Buddy List  
WestFalcon
Online
Image Upload: On



Registered: Sep 26, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1874
Review Date: Oct 19, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,450.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Silky smooth image quality with little noise...best image quality of any Canon I have owned
Cons:
1/160th sync speed on flash is not good...too slow for sync speed.....I'd like a built in flash

I really can't believe the images I got on a family picture at ISO 400....Skin on people was like porcelain and so sharp I really didn't need to sharpen images. I love my 5D2 and the images from this camera are as good or better....I got a refurb for 1450 and I love it......one year warranty too......my only beef is flash sync speed.....I haven't figured out wifi yet but that should be a nice feature when I do. This camera is a winner...grab one if you can get it at the price I did.

Oct 19, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add WestFalcon to your Buddy List  
Medic8ed
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 9, 2013
Location: Seychelles
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 9, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Low light focussing, High ISO, No spots, light weight, easy to carry for the day
Cons:
None

1) I have a 7D that gives 100% view finder, the 6D ONLY gives 98% view finder. Wow I get an extra 2% or I didn't see that missing 2%. My eyes instantly noticed.
Come on, it's time to Crop it.

2) 6D only gives 4.5 frames per second in a burst. Oh, wow, better than 5D2, people still complain about 5D3 going 6. If all cameras did 20/sec and a company made one that did 20.00001 someone would still complain. Get out and work with the 4.5.

3) No built in flash. Canon has never put a built in flash on their FF. You know it. Don't complain when you know it and buy it. Deal with it.

4) With my 7D I don't like to go to 1600 ISO I try to keep it at 100 to 200.
With the 6D I tried 5000 ISO, morning sunrise and a drilling rig. Easily better than the 7D at 800 ISO.

5) No it doesn't have 2000 focussing points to confuse you and make you lose that once in a life time picture, while you keep pushing the focussing until the camera focuses on what you want.
I use center focus and it nails focus instantly. Even in the low light of a sunrise. Which the 7D had troubles.
Learn the camera and the focussing system and you'll get a better % of keepers.

6) I am a male and do weights, I can still feel the difference between the 7D and 6D. I like the weight of the 6D and the size of the 7D. On a hike I put the 7D in my pack because of the weight.

7) Read the manual. Sounds harsh, but it is so true.

I don't go hiking without one or both of the cameras. My Oldest Sons dog ran into a black bear and there was a small scuffle. The bear wondered slowly away. Seemed unusual. I looked up in a tree and there was a cub. A few pictures and I walked well around it.
Great camera. Have fun taking memories with it.


Oct 9, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Medic8ed to your Buddy List  
Straydog
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 3, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 816
Review Date: Sep 28, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: All of it...
Cons:
This is silly, but I'm worried that it will take the challenge and mystery out of shooting on the streets at night...it's almost too easy!

WOW! I'm stunned by this camera...

Sep 28, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Straydog to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EOS 6D

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
21 23720 Oct 5, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $1,730.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.19
9.38
9.4
canon6D


Page:  1 · 2  next