about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon 85mm AF-S NIKKOR f/1.8G

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
6 10919 Jan 7, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $499.75
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.17
8.83
8.8
nikon85f18

Specifications:
Key Features
A fast, fixed-focal-length, medium telephoto lens with 85 mm focal length
Large maximum aperture of f/1.8
Newly developed optical system optimized for use with digital SLRs
Silent Wave Motor (SWM) realizes quiet AF operation
Two focus modes are available M/A (quick switching from AF to MF) and M (manual focus)


Focal length: 85 mm
Maximum aperture: f/1.8
Minimum aperture: f/16
Lens construction: 9 elements in 9 groups
Angle of view: 2830' (1850' with Nikon DX format)
Minimum focus distance: 0.8 m/2.62 ft (from focal plane)
Maximum reproduction ratio: 0.124x
No. of diaphragm blades: 7 (rounded)
Filter-attachment size: 67 mm
Diameter x length
(extension from lens mount): Approximately 80 x 73 mm/3.1 x 2.9 in.
Weight: Approximately 350 g/12.4 oz
Supplied accessories: 67 mm Snap-on Front Lens Cap LC-67, Rear Lens Cap LF-4, Bayonet Hood HB-62, Flexible Lens Pouch CL-1015


 


      
williamkazak
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 8, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 6281
Review Date: Jan 7, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Sharp, good flare resistence with lens shade, nice bokeh. Very useful focal length for portraits (on DX too). Weather sealed at mount. Lens shade does the job.
Cons:
Kind of "chunky". Not thrilled with 67mm filter size. Hood bayonets to the outside making it even more "chunky". Plastic filter threads. Build quality is a question because it is so light.

I have always had a Nikon 85mm F1.8 lens as an essential and affordable telephoto lens in my kit. From time to time, I have enjoyed various 105mm Nikon lenses but I always seem to go to the 85mm for price/performance and indoor usability. I wish that this lens was more "barrel shaped, like the 105 lenses. This "chunky" lens is harder to carry and needs a wider "lens pouch" than its companion lens, the new 50mm F1.8 AFSG. The attached lens hood bayonets onto the outside making the lens more chunky than any other 85mm F1.8 Nikon lens. I wonder about the build quality. It is so light in weight and the plastic filter threads are just silly in a very good lens like this. You can screw in an aftermarket 67mm lens shade to make the lens less chubby. I know that is useful for DX. Make your own tests for FX. I have an adapter ring that allows me to use my extensive collection of 52mm filters if I want to use them on this 67mm lens. Same thing for the companion lens; 50mm F1.8 AFSG lens, which takes 58mm filters. Adapt it to 52mm.

Jan 7, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add williamkazak to your Buddy List  
orgovsky
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 1, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 378
Review Date: Sep 18, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Price, sharpness, IQ
Cons:
AF-speed not the fastest

One of my favorites! IQ is incredible for a "non-pro" lens and I am consistently amazed at what it outputs. Wide open images are sharp without any PP and colors are flat. Flare control isn't too bad either.

Highly recommended!


Sep 18, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add orgovsky to your Buddy List  
eduardvdk
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 9, 2013
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jun 9, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 6 

Pros: Its full frame, Nice AF system.
Cons:
Less sharp then the expensive 85mm 1.4, wich is my favorite

I must say that I def prefer the other 85, but also due to the 1.4 light sensitivity. For the price its def a good lens, such as the 50mm 1.4 that is just 350 euro and take's very descent picture's. For the real depth of field shots I use the 70-200 2.8.... stunning.

The picture's on my homepage are shot with this 85mm, please check it out at http://www.bruidsfotograaf.nl and if you can recommend more lenses to me, please do!

Thank you, Eduard - Forevering Studios


Jun 9, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add eduardvdk to your Buddy List  
c4change
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jul 23, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 755
Review Date: Mar 15, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: IQ, light weight, 1.8.
Cons:
Slow AF

Really, the only "complaint" I have for this lens is its perceived slow AF, compared to the afd version. Image quality is great. Nice contrast and colors. Sharp.

Mar 15, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add c4change to your Buddy List  
asamimasa
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 28, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 199
Review Date: Jan 23, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharpest lens I've ever used (although that might change once I test the 85 PC) Does surprisingly well against aberrations considering no Nano-coating Quick to AF
Cons:
Plastic filter thread not great for longevity
Jan 23, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add asamimasa to your Buddy List  
tonyc90
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 15, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 128
Review Date: Jan 6, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $499.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very sharp optics; smooth manual focus feel; accurate, silent, reasonably fast autofocus; light weight but solid feel including the lens hood.
Cons:
AF-C tracking performance in continuous mode lack luster compared to the 70-200/2.8G VR II.

Nikon has hit another home run of affordable modern AF-S prime lenses. Combined the 28/1.8G, 50/1.8G and 85/1.8G made a great three lens prime kit. If you own the 85/1.8D Id say its worth upgrading for the improved optical performance and smoother, quiet focus. If you own the 85/1.4D, it would be tempting to sell it and used the $400 difference towards another lens, flash, or a new body.

The only downside to the lens is the AF-C performance. Unfortunately it is not up to the same level as the 70-200/2.8G and other telephotos. But the focus tracking is much smoother with the 85G than the 85D's jerkiness. I still found the lens up to the task of capturing fast action indoor sports such as basketball and volleyball with Nikon's 51-pt and 39-pt AF systems on the FX bodies.


Jan 6, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add tonyc90 to your Buddy List  




Nikon 85mm AF-S NIKKOR f/1.8G

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
6 10919 Jan 7, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $499.75
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.17
8.83
8.8
nikon85f18