backup
Photoshop actions
 
 

Search Used

Canon EOS 1D X

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
22 40115 Nov 19, 2016
Recommended By Average Price
91% of reviewers $5,333.22
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.95
8.74
9.8
1dx-thmb

Specifications:
• Full Frame 18-megapixel CMOS image sensor
• 61-point AF with up to 41 cross-type AF points
• New mechanical shutter rated up to 400,000 cycles
• New intelligent EOS iTR AF Tracking and Recognition options
• Zone, Spot and AF Expansion Focusing modes
• DUAL "DIGIC 5 " processors plus DIGIC 4 processor dedicated to AE functions
• 12fps shooting with AF (JPEG and RAW) or 14fps super High Speed continuous with no AF (JPEG only)
• ISO 100 to 51,200 as standard, ISO 50 to 204,800 with expansion
• 100,000-pixel RGB AE sensor with dedicated processor
• +/- 5 Stop Exposure Compensation
• 55ms shutter lag, 36ms via 'Shortened Release Lag' Custom Function
• Viewfinder blackout at 60ms
• Full HD Movie shooting with ALL-I or IPB compression
• 30min clip length in Full HD Movie
• Timecode setting for HD Movie shooting
• Transparent LCD viewfinder with new focusing screen (100% frame coverage, .76x magnification, 20mm eye-point)
• 3.2" 1.04 million pixel Clear View II LCD Screen
• 2nd Gen EOS Integrated Cleaning System (EICS)
• Dual CF Card slots
• Silent control touch-pad area


 


Page:  1 · 2 
          
Delpartal
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 3, 2010
Location: Spain
Posts: 1
Review Date: Nov 2, 2012 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Focus, accurate and very fast, excellent metering system, ergonomics, quality construction and sealed. | Enfoque, preciso y muy rαpido, sistema de mediciσn excelente, ergonomνa, Calidad de construcciσn y sellado.
Cons:
I wish more pixel density, for example 24MP and 10 frames per second would be better, for me. The focus at f8, already arranged by fimware. | Desearνa mas densidad de pixel, por ejemplo 24MP y 10 fotos por segundo seria mejor, para mi. El enfoque a f8, ya se ha arreglado por fimware.

Before I had a 1D MkIV, which I really worked very well, but back to FF, with the quality of the series 1 has been a great pleasure, the 5D MkIII, has a great sensor, but lacks the reliability of the series 1.

For me today is the best SLR market, I put some examples of how it works in different disciplines and conditions.

Greetings all.

Portrait, made in high key, with the camera working in monochrome mode:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/arojo/8149869280/in/photostream

Portrait, night outdoors, with strobist performed using 3 Canon 600EX Cano RT + ST-E3, E-TTL mode to 1:1 power, other equipment, Canon 1D X + Canon 70-200mm f2.8 L IS MkII.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/arojo/8148017946/

Macro, on the tip of the leaf of a bromeliad dwarf, a Tricolor Dendrobates baby less than 1cm. in length, is about to eat a little more drosophila 1mm. All the drama you're watching takes place in about 2.5 cm. in length. Being thus cut Photo 1:1.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/arojo/8038118495/in/photostream

Still, photo made with soft natural light, tripod and long exposure:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/arojo/7666447782/in/photostream


Nov 2, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Delpartal to your Buddy List  
rxgolf
Offline
Image Upload: On

Registered: Aug 25, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2674
Review Date: Sep 24, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super fast and super accurate focus in all conditions! Amazing ability to properly meter difficult situations. Really nice high ISO ability. The most solid feeling camera I have ever held.
Cons:
I wish it would have been priced in line with the D4. As good as this camera is, I don't think it should have been marketed as a replacement for the MkIV and 1DsIII unless I am wrong in thinking a high MP offering will follow.

Having owned and shot the d800, D4, and the 1DX my thoughts are the 1DX is the best all around camera I have ever shot. I have never used a camera that I can count on to deliver the shot more consistantly than the 1DX. What this camera delivers is the ability to focus, meter, and handle more levels of light in more situations with the ability to produce a great file than the others. I am not saying it produces the best files in all situations because it does not. What I am saying is that this camera will not miss shots that others will. A slightly out of focus 36mp shot looks much worse than a perfectly focused 18mp shot regardless of the size you print.

Sep 24, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add rxgolf to your Buddy List  
webman06
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 21, 2004
Location: France
Posts: 50
Review Date: Sep 15, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Exceptional AF, as fast as a machine gun, great handling !
Cons:
The cost maybe

This camera is very responsive. With its 18MPix and double CF slots, not much to debate. If you need the right tool to do the job right : 1DX is the correct answer !
I'm very happy I could afford its price as it is the awesome camera that will last me !!


Sep 15, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add webman06 to your Buddy List  
Stoffer
Online
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 27, 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1486
Review Date: Sep 3, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Outstanding AF, excellent metering system, superb High ISO, great handling
Cons:
Shadow recovery for some

Most importantly this camera is just such a joy to use. The AF is very fast and accurate to the point where you don’t have to second guess it in order for it to deliver. The metering is really excellent even in difficult circumstances so you seldom have to dial in any exposure compensation, albeit it seems very keen to protect highlights from blowing out. The mirror black out time is really short and adds to the overall feeling of having an extreme responsive camera. Handling and ergonomics is also top notch in my book.

Image Quality is also worthy of a flagship. I have only shoot raw-files, and they are sharp, detailed and smooth at the same time. High ISO is really superb as the grain is easy to get rid of in Lightroom without sacrificing detail. Highlight recovery in the raw-files are also excellent. The only con is that shadow recovery isn’t quite up to the Nikon D800, but definitely still useable in most situation.

It shows the Canon put a lot of effort into this camera in order to bounce back against the Nikon D3S (and D4). EOS-1D X is a home run for years to come.


Sep 3, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Stoffer to your Buddy List  
jonbrach
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Dec 22, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 919
Review Date: Sep 3, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $6,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Incredibly fast,Fantastic low light AF,fantastic High ISO performance,!D build quality,FF
Cons:
weight,cost

I have only had the camera for a very short time but in a nutshell to me it is a 5D3 on steroids....everything good about the 5D3 is a little better on the 1DX...AF is a little faster,low light performance is a little better...high ISO performance is a little better....add it all up and you have a beast..my lenses seem more accurate and a bit faster to focus with the 1DX....best camera I have had the pleasure of using..my guess is the longer i use it the more magical qualities i will find!

Sep 3, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jonbrach to your Buddy List  
Fred Miranda
Offline
Admin
Image Upload: On



Registered: Dec 30, 2001
Location: United States
Posts: 25840
Review Date: Sep 3, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build quality, 12FPS 18mp RAW files, Excellent AF and metering systems.
Cons:
Less pixel dense than predecessor, inability to AF @ f/8

I was very fortunate to have an opportunity to test out and review a production model of this new camera.

If you are curious about the new features or wondering if you should upgrade, you may find the answers to your questions in my review. Read about the pros and the cons and my experience using the EOS 1D X in the field.

Coupled with the 400mm and 500mm series II lenses, I had a blast pushing the limits on Canon's new equipment.

To read my Canon EOS 1D X Review, click below:
http://www.fredmiranda.com/1dx-review

All the best,
Fred


Sep 3, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Fred Miranda to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EOS 1D X

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
22 40115 Nov 19, 2016
Recommended By Average Price
91% of reviewers $5,333.22
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.95
8.74
9.8
1dx-thmb


Page:  1 · 2