about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 28mm f/2.8 IS USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
8 29115 Jul 22, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $719.50
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.43
8.50
10.0
843011

Specifications:
Canon's EF 28mm f/2.8 IS USM Lens is an update to a popular focal length, often the only wide-angle lens carried by a photographer. It's a terrific travel lens that gives you great flexibility, useful for everything from landscapes to interiors. A 74 angle of coverage will let you capture beautiful portraits and candids as well. You can focus down to 9" for a dramatic, unusual perspective. Optical Image Stabilizer technology allows you to shoot at shutter speeds as much as 4 stops slower than usual, giving you a tremendous edge in low-light photography.

A ring-type USM and advanced CPU with optimized AF algorithms deliver faster autofocusing, superb image quality and enhanced performance characteristics that are ideal for a wide range of photographic applications. Aspherical lens elements help improve image quality on the periphery and lens coatings help minimize ghosting and flare. A 7-blade circular aperture diaphragm delivers beautiful, soft backgrounds (bokeh). It's a great lens to go with any EOS DSLR camera, for shooting stills or video.

Image Stabilization Prevents Shaky Pix
Fast Autofocusing
Manual Focus Available Full-Time
Improved Peripheral Image Quality.
7 Diaphragm Blades for Beautiful Bokeh
Silent, Smooth Operation Ideal for Video
Minimum Focusing Distance: 9"


 


      
SR777
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 9, 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 359
Review Date: Jul 22, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $650.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp, light weight, excellent contrast.
Cons:
Price

This is a awesome lens with excellent sharpness wide open, improving to being super sharp at f/4. The IS is quiet, though audible. IS works well, having hand-held to 1/2 second. The AF is fast. The weight and size work well in its favour to being a walkaround lens on crop and full frame bodies.

Jul 22, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add SR777 to your Buddy List  
Peter Kotsa
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 1, 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 267
Review Date: Apr 22, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Lightweight, razor sharp, IS
Cons:
A tad expensive, you pay for technology I suppose

An amazing performer. I am a professional and use this without hesitation, it is so sharp and has that "look" that I so like in a semi wide prime.
Great for portraits and general streetscape.

The only thing missing on this lens is a red ring around it, it is an absolute gem and a solid performer under any lighting conditions. 5 Stars *****


Apr 22, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Peter Kotsa to your Buddy List  
barmaley
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 23, 2009
Location: Russia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 20, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: sharp, excellent image quality, silent operation, accurate AF, efficient IS
Cons:
price

I've tried this lens for a few days and I really like it.
It is small and light, very well built. It delivered excellent IQ: it is sharp across the frame, CA a barely noticable, it has nice bokeh. Carl Zeiss Distagon 28mm f/2.0 ZE is superior optically, but the difference is not big, and the Zeiss lens is bigger, heavier, lacks IS and AF and it costs more...
Af is very accurate and Image Stabilizations works fine. Very attractive lens.
here is my experience with this lens and sample images:
http://alexsukonkin.com/reviews/Canon-EF28-f28-IS-USM_en.shtml


Feb 20, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add barmaley to your Buddy List  
cnaderfre
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 26, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Review Date: Jan 31, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $629.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp, light weight, silent IS, color, low distortion, really fun to use
Cons:
None

Compared this lens to the new Sigma 30mm f1.4 and the Canon wins hands down. Optics are close to Sigma, but when you add in the benefits of the size, weight, IS and general portability, the Canon is outstanding. It's my favorite lens now and I find myself constantly trying to find opportunities to use it. It's winter in Boston right now and things are kind of bleak... But the excitement of this nifty lens has got me back out shooting again. Highly recommend.

Jan 31, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add cnaderfre to your Buddy List  
Peter Kirk
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 25, 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 305
Review Date: Dec 13, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Compact, Lightweight, super sharp, IS
Cons:
$$$

What a great little number this is. Excellent resolution, from 2.8 up and great colour too.
The IS is so quite I don't even know its on. It gives me super sharp images all the way down to 1/4 sec handheld..LOVE IT.
Bokeh is also just lovely and smooth for a compact prime and the focus locks on every single time..no misses.
The distortion is extremely well corrected.
My only gripe is that the lens hood is extra $$, but not really a necessity.
Apart from that an absolute GEM...


Dec 13, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Peter Kirk to your Buddy List  
thetaobear
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 25, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 122
Review Date: Oct 9, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $799.00

Pros: decently sharp at wide open, usability, contrasty
Cons:
price, fall-off is pretty heavy wide open, not weather-sealed

Why did I buy this lens?

I needed something small, light, good IQ, and usable. I want to be worry free and take this lens around and take photos at or near magical focal length on a full-framed camera.

Rationale for choosing this lens:

Canon 24mm 2.8 IS - I chose the 28mm instead of the 24mm because of sharpness concerns (not saying the 24mm isn't sharp) and, to my shooting style, 24mm on the full-frame is a bit wide. I also do not like the 24mm wide-angle distortion.

Canon 24-105mm IS - too big and not sharp enough against primes. Distortions, etc. f/4 aperture

Canon 24-70mm I - too big and heavy and no IS. Front elements extend out while zooming.

Canon 24-70mm II - too big and no IS. Front elements extend out while zooming. I'd be a bit scared carrying this 2k+ lens around to adventurous places.

Canon 24mm 1.4L - 24mm distortion. And also, the 24mm focusing is not quite accurate in my opinion. In a walk-around situation, I would like a care-free point and shoot feeling. The 24mm just doesn't cut it for that in my experience. The 28mm IS also has IS, which helps a bit with camera shake. 28mm IS is also lighter! 24mm costs 50 dollars more.

Canon 35mm 1.4L - 35mm is just not wide enough for certain situations. The 28mm IS actually reminds me of this magical 35mm focal length. I love shooting at 35mm for most walk-around situations. The 28mm IS also has IS, which helps a bit with camera shake. 28mm IS is also lighter!

Therefore, 28mm fits right in the middle! It complements the 24mm 1.4L and the 35mm 1.4L very well. As a travel and walk-around lens, I am enjoying the lens a lot.

The price is ridiculous. Think about this (prices at this moment)-

Lens: 799
Hood: 55
Pouch: 35
= 889

That is a price nearing 17-40, 24-105, 135, and others. If you don't have a 35mm 1.4L, I suggest saving up for it and buy that lens used. 35mm 1.4L really is the partner in crime with this lens in my usage, but the color, contrast, and f/1.4 is unbeatable


Oct 9, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add thetaobear to your Buddy List  
marcel5
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 29, 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: Aug 29, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very sharp, IS very good, lightweight, small
Cons:
Expensive (but worth it for me), no lens hood included. Camera RAW 7.2 / Photoshop CS6 needed for correction profiles.

Bought this lens today, I wanted something lightweight and good in situations where I need to handheld in low light.

Tested on a 5D MKIII, the first copy was perfectly sharp in the bottom corners, but the top corners were 'merely' good (very slight fuzz). The second copy I test was simply perfect, very very sharp all over. The serial number is 90100000001, so maybe this lens got some extra love because it was the first in a production run.

The image is as sharp as a 50mm f1.4. I have some tiny issues correcting Chromatic abberation, but this is because I do not have CS6, so I am missing the correction profiles. I expect CA to be completely removed with the right correction profiles.

Image stabilization works very well on this lens, I managed to get consistent sharp shots with shutter speeds of 1/10 sec (it is a wide lens of course).

I agree that this lens is (severely) overpriced, but for me it is worth it as it offers me very high quality hand held shots in low light.


Aug 29, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add marcel5 to your Buddy List  
Olivier6
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 1, 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: Aug 25, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Size (small), weight, sharpness, IS, bokeh
Cons:
Price

I was long, longtime searching for my ideal small two lens combo. I even bougth an old Nikon FM2n with a 28mm 85mm combo, just to try out the combo, which serves me best.

Canon was simply not delivering a splendid 28mm. I owned the old one which was good on my EOS 620 but was lacking IQ on my 5DII. My 24-70L is ok. Sharp images, but the lens is big, heavy and imposing, just like almost all L lenses.

I was quite happy when Canon introduced this little gem. I suits me perfectly. IS works very quietly. (You have to put your ear close to the lens to hear anything.) Images are much sharper then my 24-70L. 2.8 is no 1.8 or 1.4 but those lenses are bigger and on wide aperture bad performers.

So I am quite happy with this lens because it is what I need. Other people may have different needs.

Price is high. But hopefullt I will forget that over time.


Aug 25, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Olivier6 to your Buddy List  




Canon EF 28mm f/2.8 IS USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
8 29115 Jul 22, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $719.50
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.43
8.50
10.0
843011