about | support
home
 

Search Used

Zeiss 35mm F/1.4 Distagon T*

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
6 15526 Jan 23, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $1,667.50
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
10.00
8.33
9.8
35f14

Specifications:
Very Fast f/1.4 Lens for Low Light
EF Bayonet Mount for Canon EOS Cameras
Precise Focusing Mechanism
Optimum Control of Glare
Harmonious Bokeh in Out-of-Focus Areas
ZEISS T* Anti-Reflective Coating
Excellent Flare Control
Robust All-Metal Precision Mechanics
Sophisticated Stray Light Reduction

_______

This Zeiss 35mm F/1.4 Distagon T Lens for Canon EF continues the 120-year-old Zeiss tradition of optically superb lenses that are built to last--this very fast wide-angle 35mm lens offers all the traditional advantages of Zeiss optics: precise manual focusing with a large rotation angle, unparalleled control of glare and stray light to ensure brilliant images every time, an almost circular aperture that delivers a harmonious bokeh (the difficult-to-define quality in out-of-focus areas that's pleasing to the eye), and robust all-metal precision construction. And it's all at the service of Canon DSLRs with an EF mount.


 


          
x_tan
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 17, 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6
Review Date: Jan 23, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,685.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very shape wide open; beautiful colour
Cons:
Little bit heavy



Jan 23, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add x_tan to your Buddy List  
Lars Johnsson
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 29, 2003
Location: Thailand
Posts: 33648
Review Date: Jan 9, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build, bokeh, Zeiss colors, the focus throw
Cons:
Price, size

It's a fantastic wide angle lens with really great IQ. The bokeh and background blur is the best I have seen on a wide angle lens. It can be a bit difficult to do MF on the largest apertures.

Jan 9, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Lars Johnsson to your Buddy List  
helimat
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Apr 6, 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 3727
Review Date: Nov 5, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, contrast, bokeh, character
Cons:
Size, weight, price

Quite possibly the best lens I have ever used, no joke. I have found that a precision focusing screen is indispensable however; with my 5D2 which has the EG-S focus screen installed my keeper rate was high, while with my 5D3 using the AF confirm the results were disappointing.

Nov 5, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add helimat to your Buddy List  
philber
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: May 20, 2008
Location: France
Posts: 7419
Review Date: Oct 12, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Colours, detail, spatial placement, bokeh, build quality
Cons:
Size, weight, cost. Some field curvature. Slight loss of contrast wide open

The 35 f:1.4 is a lens for the determined. First because of its weight, size and cost. Then because the images it creates are not immediately as spectacular as those of its lesser sibling, the ZE 35 f:2.0.
But on direct comparison, the faster lens has much more detail, better and more subtle colours, impeccable spatial placement including in the OOF areas. And the bokeh is a cream dream.
A couple of issues prevent it from being perfect. It suffers from field curvature, so the corners and centre may not be sharp at the same time if you are shooting wide open. While this matters, it has not lost me a single shot, so it sould not be made into a major issue at all. Then, wide open, there is a slight loss of contrast, which can be mistaken for loss of sharpness, which it isn't.
What is fantastic about this lens is its almost total lack of visual signature. Its rendering can stretch from the austere to the lush, from neutral to spectacular. That is something very few lenses can do (the newer 25 f:2.0 does it as well, showing that this pair is a new generation for Zeiss).
Overall, probably the best lens to date in the ZE/ZF.2 line, with the exception of the more recent ZE 15. In a direct comparison, even the formidable ZE 21 shows its age.


Oct 12, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add philber to your Buddy List  
VisualLifeLine
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 31, 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 23
Review Date: May 31, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, bokeh, color rendition, Zeiss look
Cons:
size, price

The Distagon 35/1.4 is a truly great lens. It is razor-sharp and provides the exceptional color rendition with the tangible zeiss look and feel.
One of the downsides for me is the size and weight. It is not that big or heavy, but I would have appreciated a more compact design (probably not possible from the engineers point of view).
The second downside is the high price, especially when you compare it to the Samyang 35/1.4 for 400 bucks which is caomparably/equally sharp (they say).


All things considered I'm very happy with this extraordinary lens.


May 31, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add VisualLifeLine to your Buddy List  
dimitris77
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 28, 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 535
Review Date: May 2, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,650.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp across frame, bokeh, colors.
Cons:
Thin dof takes a lot of time to get used to

I upgraded to this model from the f2 version. At the beginning I thought I made a mistake but after using it for a while I got used to its narrower dof. It is this feature that makes it stand out. I use it a lot as a portrait lens.

May 2, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dimitris77 to your Buddy List  

   



Zeiss 35mm F/1.4 Distagon T*

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
6 15526 Jan 23, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $1,667.50
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
10.00
8.33
9.8
35f14