about | support
home
 

Search Used

Zeiss 25mm f/2 Distagon T*

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 12282 Oct 7, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $1,375.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
10.00
8.25
9.5
zeiss25f2

Specifications:
Focal Length 25 mm
Aperture Maximum: f/2.0
Minimum: f/22
Camera Mount Type Canon EF, Nikon F
Format Compatibility 35mm Film / Full-Frame Digital Sensor
Canon (APS-C)
Angle of View 81
Minimum Focus Distance 9.84" (24.99 cm)
Magnification 0.43x
Maximum Reproduction Ratio 1:2.32
Groups/Elements 10/11

______

The wide angle Distagon T* 25mm f/2.0 ZE Lens for Canon EF Mount is the most advanced version of the legendary Distagon, a high-performance manual focusing lens with close focus capabilities, first introduced in 1961. The Distagon T* 25mm f/2.0 ZE is a recalculation of this design, with an exceptionally fast f/2.0 maximum aperture, for use with modern SLRs and DSLRs using either full-frame or smaller sensors.

This manually focusable ZE lens features electronic shutter control and additional electronic contacts to the camera. All existing exposure programs (P, AV, TV, M) and the AF confirmation function of the camera are supported; lens information (focal length and speed) is passed on to the camera. Certain functions that require the use of AF lenses (various scene modes, A-DEP) are partially unavailable.

Increasing the versatility of this 25mm f/2.0 lens is its close focusing distance of only 9.8", providing a wider perspective than usual. Combined with a digital SLR with a 1.5x crop factor, the lens has an effective focal length of 38mm and becomes a moderate wide angle lens.


 


      
Carles77
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 19, 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 7, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: sharp, colors, contrast
Cons:
difficult to find the focus, mine infinity point it's not at the end on the focusing ring (just 5mm before)

I have the 21, 25, and 28 Zeiss. The last is the 25mm. Now I'm not sure about which one to sell:

-The 21mm is too heavy and also it's just for landscapes.

-The 25mm seems difficult to find the correct focus, I lost many photos by that. Also the infinity is not at the end on the focusing ring, it's about 5mm before. (don't know if this is a problem of my lens or normal with the 25mm). Colors are stronger and constrast too. Has a tendency of being more redish/magenta than the 2 others. Has a lower chromatic aberrations but it have a little. The 28 and 25 are really similar in sharpness, the 21 is maybe lower but not too much.

-The 28mm is very good at f/2 for special shots, has a strong 3D effect, but for landscape it's not the best one. Anyway it's a very artistic lens.

None of this are perfect, maybe the 25 is in middle of 3 and more useful in any situation.


Oct 7, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Carles77 to your Buddy List  
Scott Stoness
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Sep 10, 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 9992
Review Date: Feb 24, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,850.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: 1) Hard stop at infinity, 2) Small and Light, 3) Very good IQ at f2
Cons:
1) No Auto Focus, 2) Poor cheap lens cap that never gives me confidence that it is secure.

This is my go to lens for northern lights photography. All my canon's are frustrating in the dark. You have to find a bright object to live view focus. But the zeiss 25 f2 is sharp, hard stop at infinity and that makes it really easy to use in the dark.

I still use my 24 TS f3.5 in the light to remove the bowing of the trees but for quality, the 25 f2 is not to be beat.

High quality.

The only thing I don't like about this lens is the cheap lens cap.

For night shooting, there are none better.


Feb 24, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Scott Stoness to your Buddy List  
ic2foto
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 19, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 14, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Top Notch Image Quality
Cons:
Price - but at least you get what you pay for.

I'm currently renting this lens and several others for another round of testing ahead of my next purchase. On my 5Ds the IQ is very strong and does not disappoint. I'm also renting the Canon 24-70 LII which has almost equal IQ and may be a better buy, but for my work this MF lens is probably the better choice and easy to recommend to the most critical users.




Oct 14, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add ic2foto to your Buddy List  
philber
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: May 20, 2008
Location: France
Posts: 7583
Review Date: Aug 5, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Tremendous IQ, build quality, f:2.0, nice balance on a Canon 5D
Cons:
A few extreme corner pixels are not quite sharp

For those with exposure to Zeiss' recent Distagon z* 35 f:1.4, Z* 25 f:2.0 will be familiar territory. It exhibits the same formidable performance and rendering as its elder, larger, longer-focal-length, faster brother. Temendous detail, fantastic colours and colour differentiation. Spatial placement is awesome, even in OOF areas.
Is it a perfect lens? No. A few extreme corner pixels are not sharp. This, of course, has been magnified by the Internet turning molehills into mountains. How bad is it? It hasn't lost me a single shot, and is totally invisible unless you know what to look for in a 100% crop, and those few pics can always be cropped out if it matters that much.
Also, compared to the 35, which has set a new standard for bokeh smoothness in its class, the 25 has great bokeh, but maybe not quite as remarkable.
Otherwise, it is just pure bliss. I did a shootout with the Distagon 21 f:2.8, regarded as maybe the world's best wide-angle lens, and the 35 f:1.4. The 25 showed that Zeiss do not release a lens unless it is better than its predecessors, and the 21 started to show its age. So I sold it and kept the 25. Enough said?


Aug 5, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add philber to your Buddy List  




Zeiss 25mm f/2 Distagon T*

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 12282 Oct 7, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $1,375.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
10.00
8.25
9.5
zeiss25f2