about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EOS 60D

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
9 31046 Jun 17, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $766.33
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.22
9.56
8.7
canon_60D

Specifications:
18.0 Megapixel CMOS sensor and DIGIC 4 Imaging Processor for high image quality and speed.
ISO 100 - 6400 (expandable to 12800) for shooting from bright to dim light.
Improved EOS HD Video mode with manual exposure control, expanded recording, Movie Crop recording in 640 x 480, sound recording level adjustment and an external microphone IN terminal for access to improved sound quality.
Vari-angle 3.0-inch Clear View LCD monitor for shooting at low angles and 1,040,000-dot VGA with reflection reduction using multi coating and high-transparency materials for bright and clear viewing.
5.3 fps continuous shooting up to approx. 58 Large/JPEGs and 16 RAW.
96% viewfinder coverage allowing you to see more of your image in the viewfinder.
Enhanced iFCL 63-zone, Dual-layer metering system; and 9-point AF system utilizing a high-precision, f/2.8 cross-type center point.
New convenient in-camera features allow you to convert RAW images into JPEGs and set the images to a 3:2 aspect ratio.
Compatibility with SD/SDHC/SDXC memory cards.
Compatible with the full line of Canon EF and EF-S lenses.


 


          
drzhao
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 17, 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 41
Review Date: Jun 17, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Feels solid, easy button access, battery life, great price.
Cons:
High ISO lacking

Positives:
I purchased this camera as a refurb from Canon a while back, and it was a great bargain, at only $50 more than a t4i.

Construction is much more solid than my previous rebel—it's not heavy, but feels fantastic in the hand. the shutter and aperture dials are also very convenient, as most canon dslr's are.

The battery is very good. Once, I accidentally forgot to turn the camera off for a little over 3 weeks. But after the 3 weeks, the camera still had half battery left. When shooting, I can go the entire day without the battery indicator moving a bit (I turn flip the screen inside, and only use the top panel LCD).

Autofocus is fast with the right lens, but only 9 points.

Negatives:
At high ISO, the camera is a bit disappointing. Anything over ISO 400 I think is too noisy.

Overall, it's a fantastic camera.


Jun 17, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add drzhao to your Buddy List  
scott_scheetz
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 31, 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Sep 9, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Nice screen, reasonable fps, average iso performance for a crop, great video quality
Cons:
average iso performance for a crop, sub-average af system, plastic based body but still good build quality.

This makes a good second second body, and a wonderful camera for video. It handles well, and the movable screen is very useful for video. The screen has a high-resolution, and you can actually see details on it.

The AF system is pitiful. 9 points? Really Canon? How long have you been using that stupid 9 point system? The 60D's don't seem to be as accurate as the 5D, and the files don't look anywhere near as sharp as the 5D Mark 1. (yes, full frame compared to crop. Its like apples and oranges) But, the 60D has 18mp, so you'd think it would be pretty sharp, but its not. It just isn't. Maybe I got a bad copy, but I've never been impressed. Its good enough, but thats it.

The video however looks wonderful. I bought this mainly as a backup camera/main video camera. The video is sharp, with great colors and contrast.

Other than the AF system and my pickiness towards sharpness, this actually is a pretty good little camera, with wonderful video functionality.


Sep 9, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add scott_scheetz to your Buddy List  
rbussmann
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 11, 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 29, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Weight, AF speed, color rendition, comparatively solid built
Cons:
Shutter noise

This is an excellent little backup camera, especially for the price. The built is pretty rugged - min has so far survived more than 2 years of expeditions all around the globe. The only thing I don't like is that the shutter is very loud. Otherwise this is really an underrated camera!

Jul 29, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add rbussmann to your Buddy List  
vsg28
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 7, 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 1227
Review Date: Aug 12, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Weight, Articulated Screen, Cost, Live View, AF
Cons:
Construction, No Micro-adjustment

If people stop comparing this as a supposed successor to the 50D and just look at it in comparison to the recent APS-C's of the time (650D, 60D, 7D), it is clear this is a winner. I have had no need for MA but I would of course prefer it on any body I have. I absolutely love the articulated screen, and the large viewfinder not to mention the AF system with 9 cross-type points.

For the current price in 2012 (~600-700 for a good, used condition), I would definitely recommend this over the T4i.


Aug 12, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add vsg28 to your Buddy List  
ivofreriks
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 27, 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 7, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Signal to noise ratio Color rendition at daylight Dynamic Range Fast and reliable autofocus (less with moving objects) Handy tilt swivel screen, low weight and easy to use menu
Cons:
Less easy to use in comparison with the 50D No AF micro adjustment Color rendition at tungsten

The image quality of the Canon 60D will be more than sufficient for most amateur photographers. Color accuracy at daylight is good, even better than the color accuracy of the Canon 5D MK2. The auto white balance performance at tungsten light leaves (as for many other camera) room for improvement.

See my complete review @: http://www.camerastuffreview.com/en/component/content/article/14-camera/115-canon-60d-test


Mar 7, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ivofreriks to your Buddy List  
EOS20
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 6, 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 13638
Review Date: Oct 6, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Light Weight, Pentaprism viewfinder, Articulating screen, wireless flash controller, Top LCD Screen, Comfortable grip.
Cons:
Mode wheel lock, No dedicated video mode button, Introduction of dedicated "B" Mode.

I've had the opportunity to use the 600D and the 60D for a while now so I thought I would just do a quick comparison between the two cameras. Both are decent cameras the main reason to get a 60D over the 600D would be for the brighter viewfinder, the bigger and more comfortable grip, the rear scroll wheel and more precise autofocus and faster frame rate other then that, there really isn't anything to different between the two cameras.

What I liked from the 60D is the better hand grip which makes the camera feel allot better to hold and the Pentaprism viewfinder is better when shooting in low light/night, when the light is good there isn't really a noticeable difference.

The 60D feels a bit more solid then the 600D, although the build quality of the 600D is also pretty good! The plastic body doesn't feel any worse then any of the previous XXD cameras I've owned (20D, 40D, 50D) the 60D still feels solid, and is also lighter then the previous XXD cameras with the metal bodies.

What I didn't like from the 60D was the new lock on the mode wheel, although this does stop accidental changes to your shooting mode, which I find happens when shooting with the 7D, but now you have to hold the button down, and then turn the mode wheel which does slow things down a bit.

I also don't like the "B" (Bulb) mode that Canon has now introduced to the XXD series which means if you want to shoot longer then 30 second exposures, you now have to turn the mode wheel to the "B" mode rather then just going from 30" to B when shooting in the PASM modes, I would like to see Canon add exposure settings down to 1 minute (or more) just like Olympus offers on their cameras.

As for the Articulating screen, after using it on both cameras I have to say that I'm not really that keen on it, the side hinging screen makes it a bit awkward to work with when shooting hand held, and I found I only really ever used it when shooting on a tripod. I think the design on the new Sony A77's LCD is much better.

The new multi controller located inside the rear scroll wheel isn't as good as the old joystick controller.

I also don't like the lack of a dedicated video mode button, to shoot video, I mainly shoot in Manual (M) mode and to shoot video means I have to turn the mode dial all the way to the other end to access the video mode, why couldn't Canon put the video mode just after the Full Auto mode and before all of the "Picture Modes" instead which would make accessing video quicker for both beginners who use the "Picture modes" as well as those who use the PASM modes! (It's the same on the 600D).

In conclusion, I would say getting the 60D over the 600D would come down to personal preference, there really isn't that much difference between the two, and picture quality is pretty much the same, if you have big hands or shoot fast moving subjects and need the better autofocus and faster burst rate, or need the brighter viewfinder for low light work then go with the 60D.

If your after a smaller camera that's light weight, and your just starting out, I would say go with the 600D and spend the saving over the 60D on lenses instead.




Oct 6, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add EOS20 to your Buddy List  
castlekeeper01
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Feb 14, 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 506
Review Date: Jun 24, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $899.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Compared to Rebels: faster FPS, faster buffer, longer life battery, better AF, pentaprism instead of mirror, top deck LCD, QCD, back mount control wheel, metal reinforced body, cost - within $100 of a T3i. Uses SD cards.
Cons:
Larger and heavier than Rebels, little more cost, dumb mode lock.

This review is more of an overview than a technical report. Having just purchased a 60D, I have to say it's easy to become buried in comparative product details and miss the forest for the trees. Here's my purchasing reasoning.

I come to the Canon 60D having recently owned both a Rebel T1i and a 5D Mark II. It's Goldilocks all over again. The T1i was too small and simple, the 5D2 was too big and complicated (and expensive). The 60D is just right. It has most of the 5D2 features I find most useful. It is lacking the 5D2's full frame size, 3 megapixels, the micro adjustment, and some convenient features - especially the 3 customizable settings on the mode dial. And I like the protruding joystick on the 5D2 and 7D better than the 6D's wheel. But the 60D is a great performing value - the 5D2 is nearly 3x the coin.

My favorite 60 D features: The alignment of button controls with their corresponding displays in the top mount LCD is intuitive. While more options are menu driven rather than dual purpose buttons, the learning curve of which is where is shortened with this arrangement. It makes sense. The articulated LCD is a big advantage in awkward shooting positions - neither the 7D or 5D2 have it. Being able to activate an off camera flash means no additional actuating device necessary - anyone with a separate flash now has two synchronized light sources. How easy is that? The SD cards are cheap, direct HDMI connection eliminates an adapter, and who doesn't love a long lasting battery?

So it isn't a full frame and doesn't have blazing speed. It's faster than the Rebels, and has a better AF system. It isn't built with magnesium alloy like the 50D, 7D and 5D's, or quite as weather sealed. Unlike the Rebels it has a metal body, is larger (better feel for my hands), and has some weather protection.

I think it's a great value and well positioned in Canon's current camera line. For me it's "just right".


Jun 24, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add castlekeeper01 to your Buddy List  
mgkaplan
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jan 23, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 135
Review Date: Apr 4, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Lighter than the 7D or 5DII, Responsive, Excellent Video Capability, Articulated Screen (major positive), Excellent Image Quality, Outsanding value for the $$$
Cons:
Video mode is accessed via mode dial rather than by dedicated buttons (as on the 7D and 5DII)

This is the third camera in my current arsenal. I have a 7D and a 5DII. This camera holds its own among its bigger brothers.

The camera is very responsive. Image quality is comparable to the 7D.

Even though the camera does not have the magnesium body of the 7D, it is solid and feels good in the hand.

The camera is smaller and lighter than the 7D and fits well into my "light" pack for travel.

For video the articulated screen is a welcome addition. Although the video function is more cumbersome to access (mode dial rather than dedicated buttons), the video quality is outstanding.

I am very pleased with this very capable camera.


Apr 4, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add mgkaplan to your Buddy List  
ken billington
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 4, 2010
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 2, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: 18.0MP APS-C CMOS Sensor, HD Video Capability, In camera RAW processing, attractive price
Cons:
Slower frame rate and smaller frame bursts compared to EOS 50D, Build quality not as solid as EOS 50D, only partial weather sealing

Advantages

1) 18.0 - megapixel APS-C CMOS Sensor - those remote bird shots can now be cropped even more without losing image quality. This is a big advantage compared to the older Canon models 50D (15.1MP), 40D (10.1MP) or 30D (8.2MP).

2) Full 1080p HD video capture with NTSC or PAL frame rates of 24p, 25p or 30p (50p or 60p at 720p HD and SD). This is the first of the Canon top end DSLR's to feature video capturing capability. In combination with a good telephoto lens this can be a key advantage provided the equipment will be mounted on a solid tripod.

3) In camera RAW processing. This new feature is maybe nice to have but most professional photographers will continue to prefer to do the RAW image processing on the computer.

4) Price - 25% cheaper than the Canon EOS 50D.

Disadvantages

1) Partial Weather Sealing - only the Canon 1-series bodies are weather sealed. The 60D has the same level of weather sealing as the 50D but slightly less than the 7D. Better not to get your 60D wet!

2) Slower Frame Rate - the processor can only shoot up to 5.3 fps, in bursts of up to 58 JPEGs - somewhat slower than the Canon 50D, which has 6.3 fps with bursts of up to 90 JPEG's, a definite disadvantage when shooting birds in flight.

3) The 60D does not have the magnesium alloy chassis and does not feel as solid as its predecessor the 50D. This for me is a definite downgrade in the quality of the camera, and I don't understand Canon's reason to sacrifice cost in this way.

Summary:

The Canon EOS 60D 18.0 MP Digital SLR Camera offers some advantages over the Canon EOS 50D but also some disadvantages.

I guess it all depends whether you really want video capability in your DSLR. If not then it may be better to wait for the "70D".

Ken Billington is the owner and webmaster of the website FocusingOnWildlife.com aaccessible on the link http://focusingonwildlife.com


Mar 2, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add ken billington to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EOS 60D

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
9 31046 Jun 17, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $766.33
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.22
9.56
8.7
canon_60D