about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 8-15mm f/4L Fisheye USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
14 40526 Feb 5, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
79% of reviewers $1,432.50
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.25
8.25
9.3
EF8-15mmL

Specifications:
For filmmakers and photographers who want the look and feel only possible with extreme wide angle and fisheye photography, the new Canon EF 8-15mm f/4L Fisheye USM is a world-class choice. With its unique focal length range, the EF 8-15mm f/4L USM is the world's widest fisheye zoom lens. It delivers 180 diagonal angle of view images for all EOS SLR cameras with imaging formats ranging from full-frame to APS-C, and provides 180 circular fisheye images for full-frame EOS models. It features UD glass for suppression of chromatic aberration, a Subwavelength coating for reduced ghosting, a newly developed Fluorine coating that keeps soiling, smears and fingerprints to a minimum, has full-time manual focus for instant switching from AF to Manual operation, and is built to the standards of the amazing Canon L-series of lenses. This means the finest optics, the best construction and the best performance available, all in a lens designed to stimulate creativity and deliver stunning images every time.

Focal Length & Maximum Aperture 15mm 4.0
Lens Construction 14 elements in 11 groups
Diagonal Angle of View 180
Focus Adjustment Lens extension via inner focusing and focus cam plus floating mechanism
Closest Focusing Distance 0.16m / 6.2 in.
Filter Size Rear Gel Holder (accepts up to 3 pre-cut gel filters)
Max. Diameter x Length, Weight 3.1 x 3.7 in, 19.1 oz. / 78.5 x 83.0mm, 540g


 


      
Astrogeek
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 11, 2006
Location: N/A
Posts: 13
Review Date: Feb 5, 2014 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

Pros: More versatile than I originally imagined
Cons:
Lens hood, some chromatic aberration at the edge.

Here's (another) update after having used this lens for almost 2 1/2 years. This is one lens I always try to take with me just in case an opportunity presents itself. I have examples of this lens on a FF here:

http://www.pbase.com/pegsam/fisheye

Shooting at 8 mm is pretty straightforward and it does take some practice to minimize distortion when shooting at 15mm, also keeping the horizon straight. I like being able to crop to the center part of an 8mm circular image to create some interesting perspectives.

Re: lens cap/hood, I just take the whole thing off and don't mess with the hood.


Feb 5, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Astrogeek to your Buddy List  
rbussmann
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 11, 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Apr 14, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Image quality, size, built
Cons:
The hood is simply a pain

Great lens for fieldwork because it combines circular and 180 degree views. The hood is a mess- the cover easily falls off and leaves the front element exposed.

Apr 14, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add rbussmann to your Buddy List  
zincphoto
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 30, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 15
Review Date: Sep 13, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,349.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Excellent build quality, small size, great focal range (on FF), sharp, fast focus
Cons:
Lenscap/hood combo tends to fall off and on a FF its easier to just take the whole thing off

I tested this lens through Canon CPS and fell in love with the added options this gave me. After initially thinking it would only be used for the wow factor of the circular fisheye I realized that the lens shines in tight quarters. The wide field of view and short close focusing distance lets you get pull the viewer into the image like no other lens.
Manual and Autofocus both work excellently and I can't imagine needing a sharper lens.

Some other random comments-
-Working without a hood or front filter you have to conscious of how close you get to your subject to avoid bumping into it.
-I primarily used this with a FF camera and I think I would be frustrated with not being able to use the full range on a crop camera

Overall a great lens that adds a lot of functionality to my lineup.


Sep 13, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add zincphoto to your Buddy List  
markch
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 31, 2010
Location: South Africa
Posts: 0
Review Date: Apr 5, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Great IQ, sharp, a lot of fun, very different images
Cons:
Lens cap is a bit finicky

I took the lens on a business trip to London, WOW what a lot of fun. It adds a whole new dimension to the type of image you capture. From the tube to some of the architrecture to photographing at night - this lens is amazing. It was well worth it.

Some of the images can be found at http://photo.net/photos/markc
in the Fisheye in London section

Highly recommeded for the right applications.


Apr 5, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add markch to your Buddy List  
mitekphoto
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 17, 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 2, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Fun, image quality, weight, size, autofocus
Cons:

This must be the most fun lens in the whole Canon lineup. Coincidentally, it also has amazing IQ and decent dimensions and size.

Mar 2, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mitekphoto to your Buddy List  
dolina
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 4, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 3631
Review Date: Nov 16, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

Pros: Two in one lens for full frame SLRs like the 1Ds, 5D and 1D X
Cons:
Should sell for $1,100 Limited application as compared to non-fisheye lens

Pros

- L lens
- Full-frame fisheye lens for Full-frame (5D), APS-H (1D) and APS-C (7D) bodies
- Circular fisheye lens for Full-frame (5D) bodies
- 2010 lens design
- Will be supported for at least a quarter of a century if we were to assume Canon will produce this lens as long as the 1986 15mm Fisheye.
- Minimum Focusing Distance is 15cm
- Has USM
- Circular aperture
- Dust-proof and drip-proof

Cons

- Not a prime
- Not f/2.8
- Lens cap is easily removed
- Introduction price has not lowered from $1499.

If you want to see lens samples on full frame, APS-H and APS-C bodies go to http://www.flickr.com/photos/alabang/tags/canonef815mmf4lfisheyeusm/


Nov 16, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dolina to your Buddy List  
dolina
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 4, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 3631
Review Date: Nov 16, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

Pros: Two in one lens for full frame SLRs like the 1Ds, 5D and 1D X
Cons:
Should sell for $1,100 Limited application as compared to non-fisheye lens

Pros

- L lens
- Full-frame fisheye lens for Full-frame (5D), APS-H (1D) and APS-C (7D) bodies
- Circular fisheye lens for Full-frame (5D) bodies
- 2010 lens design
- Will be supported for at least a quarter of a century if we were to assume Canon will produce this lens as long as the 1986 15mm Fisheye.
- Minimum Focusing Distance is 15cm
- Has USM
- Circular aperture
- Dust-proof and drip-proof

Cons

- Not a prime
- Not f/2.8
- Lens cap is easily removed
- Introduction price has not lowered from $1499.


Nov 16, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dolina to your Buddy List  
Astrogeek
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 11, 2006
Location: N/A
Posts: 13
Review Date: Nov 8, 2011 Recommend? | Price paid: $1,499.00

Pros: Another update with more images on FF camera
Cons:
Nothing more than previously mentioned

Here are links to a few more images showing what this can do at its widest zoom setting on a 5DMII:

http://www.pbase.com/pegsam/image/139401105

http://www.pbase.com/pegsam/image/139497138

http://www.pbase.com/pegsam/image/139457079

A fun lens to play with. I now find myself looking for more opportunities to create some unique circular comps


Nov 8, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Astrogeek to your Buddy List  
Astrogeek
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 11, 2006
Location: N/A
Posts: 13
Review Date: Nov 1, 2011 Recommend? | Price paid: $1,499.00

Pros: This is an update from my first review. Still very impressed with the quality of the optics and build.
Cons:
The more I use this lens the less impressed I am with the lens cap and hood.

It's not a lens you will want to use all of the time, but the wide open FE on a FF camera is pretty impressive when you do want that effect. With 180degree FOV you really have to watch for stray elements getting into the image. I've caught my feet a couple of times when HH, and my head when doing a full sky on a tripod. Here's a link to an updated image, basically right out of the 5D except for re-sizing.

At 15 mm you can get a decent pano image with some image distortion at the left and right edges; the rest of the image looks great.

Here's another 8mm zoom on the 5DMII:

http://www.pbase.com/pegsam/image/139279683


Nov 1, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Astrogeek to your Buddy List  
tcallen
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jun 27, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 26
Review Date: Sep 2, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,349.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: An extremely fun lens to use. Sharp, even in the corners. Versitile can be used on different sensor sizes. Gives a very unique perspective. Worth the wait.
Cons:
Vulnerable front element. (to be expected on 180 degree field of view) CAs (easily corrected in DPP) Cap and hood somewhat clumsy.

The lens is a lot of fun to use. Sharp even at the corners. It was worth the wait.

Sep 2, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add tcallen to your Buddy List  
Astrogeek
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 11, 2006
Location: N/A
Posts: 13
Review Date: Aug 26, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,499.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Fun lens to have in the bag. Lots of versatility. Zoom limiter is helpful but not really necessary.
Cons:
Price, some vignetting

A little better than what I expected from this lens. Zoom limiter is helpful but not really necessary. I bought it to capture whole sky images but can see that I'll be using it a bit more than that for some creative perspective shots.

This isn't the greatest image but does give an idea of wide open on a FF.

http://www.pbase.com/pegsam/image/137560081


Aug 26, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Astrogeek to your Buddy List  
Canon Rumors
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Dec 14, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 285
Review Date: Aug 24, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Optics, it's extremely sharp throughout the range. The construction is terrific. I also have to give kudos to a very cool engineered product.
Cons:
There seems to be a fair bit of CA. The hood and cap are a bit clumsy, I prefer the sigma cap system.



Aug 24, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Canon Rumors to your Buddy List  
bateleur
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 25, 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 409
Review Date: Aug 16, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Superior optics on every type of Canon DSLR, "L"-lens construction far more usable than a fixed focal length fisheye lens.
Cons:
Maybe the steep price...., constuction of hood/lenscap

Superior optics, very clever design with the extra lock for usage with 1.3x and APS-C cameras to avoid vignetting. The way this lens can be used on every type of Canon DSLR is a real plus! On my 60D it is an ultra-wide to linear fisheye lens, swap it to my 5DmkII gives me the range of linear fisheye to circular fisheye.
Very sharp and contrasty esp. towards the corners.

Used on a IR converted DSLR (in my case an EOS 450D) this lens is hot spot free a real bonus over the old EF 15-2.8 fisheye lens which wasn't suitable for IR shooting


Aug 16, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add bateleur to your Buddy List  
Scott Salter
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 8, 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 25, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: I received this lens today and after the long wait. I hope to be able to make some really interesting shots with it. The detail even at the corners is good. Even after straightening in Lightroom.
Cons:
The lens hood gets in the image this is to be expected but you have to hold it as it wont fit on backwards out of the way and the lens cap is a joke I will get a hoodie to hold it on.



Jul 25, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Scott Salter to your Buddy List  




Canon EF 8-15mm f/4L Fisheye USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
14 40526 Feb 5, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
79% of reviewers $1,432.50
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.25
8.25
9.3
EF8-15mmL