about | support
home
 

Search Used

Sigma 85mm F1.4 EX DG HSM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
36 76992 May 21, 2015
Recommended By Average Price
97% of reviewers $871.76
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.11
9.43
9.1
image_copy


Specifications:
Designed for use with full frame digital cameras. May also be used with smaller APS-c size sensors with a corresponding effective increase in focal length to about 127.5mm with most cameras
HSM (Hyper-Sonic Motor) ensure a quiet, high speed autofocus and full-time manual focusing capability
SLD (Special low Dispersion) glass element and glass mold elements for superior optical performance
Minimum focusing distance of 33.5

Lens Construction 11 Elements in 8 Groups
Angle of View 28.6
Number of Diaphragm Blades 9
Mininum Aperture f16
Minimum Focusing Distance 85 cm / 33.5 in
Filter Size (mm) 77mm
Maximum Magnifications 1:8.6
Dimensions
(Diameter x Length) 84.7x87.6 mm/3.3x3.4 in


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 
      
Breitling65
Offline



Registered: May 31, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5265
Review Date: Nov 21, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $899.00 | Rating: 4 

Pros: Size, price, fast apperture, good bokeh, good build and small hood
Cons:
AF jerks lot no meter low lights or not trying to lock, no weathersealings.

After 5 days of testing I return it back to BH. Main problem for me is AF jerks lot trying to lock. I tried low lights, good lights. I tried different cameras (5D2 & 1D mk IV). All bodies and conditions are same, jerky AF. I asked on FM same issues for most owners of this lens. I am upset since I would need 85mm lens and i can't see any alternative to 85L mk II so far which is twice more expensive.
Otherwise good lens and might work better on Sigma body vs Canon, however I am not sure about.


Nov 21, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Breitling65 to your Buddy List  
Matt Kerby
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 9, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 513
Review Date: Nov 2, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $899.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp contrasty lens with very accurate AF and solid build. New rubberlike coating on barrel of lens.
Cons:
MF ring isn't dampened very well. Can't fit the cap on the lens unless you take the hood(s) off.

What a great lens...From the moment I mounted it on my 7D until now (about a week later) I've been blown away...first, by the build...It's solid and has a new rubberlike coating that just feels really good.

Next was the AF....I was really amazed at how fast the AF was (after owning multiple 85L's). It's twice as fast as the mkII and maybe more importantly....Just as accurate.

The image quality is a bit of a mix between near as good as the L.... to... better than the L. It seems about as sharp as the L while the CA and fringing is much better controlled than the L. The bokeh is Signature Sigma 9 blade smoothness, like the EX50/1.4..It's very similar to the L. Very nice...Also....handles flare like a champ using the suplied hood.

All in all, a really nice lens


Nov 2, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Matt Kerby to your Buddy List  
KKFung
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 19, 2008
Location: China
Posts: 1122
Review Date: Nov 2, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $840.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Best picture quality in low price
Cons:
none

I still cannot find the PQ different between 85L II except when 85L at f/1.2. This lens even have better PQ at f/4.

Nov 2, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add KKFung to your Buddy List  
mmari
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 20, 2008
Location: Singapore
Posts: 21
Review Date: Oct 24, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,173.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: sharp, quite fast & accurate af, nice built, petal shaped hood, nice finish.
Cons:
quite visible color fringing on out of focus, high contrast area when wide open.

sigma nailed it this time...


used on 550D & 5D2, results are stunning...


on par with 85L2 for half the price...


Oct 24, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mmari to your Buddy List  




Sigma 85mm F1.4 EX DG HSM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
36 76992 May 21, 2015
Recommended By Average Price
97% of reviewers $871.76
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.11
9.43
9.1
image_copy


Page:  1 · 2 · 3