about | support
home
 

Search Used

Sigma 24-70mm F2.8 IF EX DG HSM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
9 42543 Dec 3, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
89% of reviewers $837.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.88
9.38
8.9
image-1_copy

Specifications:
Designed for use with full frame digital SLR cameras. May also be used with smaller APS-c size sensors with a corresponding effective increase in focal length to about 35 to 105mm with most cameras
HSM (Hyper-Sonic Motor) ensures a quiet & high-speed auto focus
Three Aspherical glass elements offer correction for distortion & to maintain its compact design
SLD (Special Low Dispersion) & ELD (Extra Low Dispersion) glass elements provide optimum color correction & sharpness throughout the entire zoom range
9 blade diaphragm creates a pleasant out-of-focus effect on backgrounds
Extremely compact design weighing only 28 ounces & measures only 4 inches in length.

Lens Construction 14 Elements in 12 Groups
Angle of View 84.1-34.3
Number of Diaphragm Blades 9
Mininum Aperture ff22
Minimum Focusing Distance 38 cm / 15 in
Filter Size (mm) 82mm
Maximum Magnifications 1:5.3
Dimensions
(Diameter x Length) 86.6mm mm/3.5 in
Extended Dimensions 94.7mm mm / 3.7 in
Weight 790g / 27.9oz.


 


          
ebiggs
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Mar 16, 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 314
Review Date: Dec 3, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $749.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Price
Cons:
If you are expecting a Canon 24-70mm f2.8 L, forget it.

Let's face the facts. This is not a Canon 24-70mm f2.8 L and if you expect it to be, than you will be disappointed. If you want a very good 24-70mm f2.8, that preforms very well, this is it!
It is not weather proof. It misses focus occasionally. f2.8 is not as sharp as f4 on. It is nearly 1/3rd the cost of the Canon! It is a very good buy and especially a very good buy if you are not a pixel peeper.
If you are planning on using it on a 7D or Rebel or other crop sensor body, most of the softness is gone.


Dec 3, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add ebiggs to your Buddy List  
nianys
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 24, 2006
Location: France
Posts: 115
Review Date: Nov 4, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent sharpness in center from max aperture Very fast and silent AF with HSM motor Affordable compared to rivals Size compared to rivals
Cons:
Size and weight Focus and zoom rings not nicely dampened (Manual focus lenses user) 82mm fllter thread, this lens is short but fat !

This is going to be a little untypical review, as I am using this lens in A (ex Minolta, now Sony, mount) with a motorized adapter, on a Sony NEX 7, and soon on a FF Sony A7.
The lens is very unbalanced on the NEX body, which I am used too, using many other DLSR optics on it, so not an issue for me. Just carry and operate the combo holding the lens, close to the adapter mount, and all is fine. The combo looks ugly, impressive, and certainly means business. It screams "serious gear".
One thing I am totally in love with about high end Sigma lenses is the HSM motor. It is virtually silent and very, very quick. It gives excellent performance on the NEX 7 body via the LA-EA2 adapter. DSLR like performance.
The build quality is good, the matte EX finish tends to wear off with time, but so far this unit I bought used is in mint cosmetic condition. The front element is not as large or gorgeous as on the 70-200/2.8 HSM (my favorite AF lens on Earth) but it is adequate for the size of this baby. The lens is a monster, 82mm filter thread is not ordinary, but it's way shorter than it's 24-70 siblings in other makes, be it CaNikon or even Tamron. It's fat, but short.
The optical quality is just awesome. I used to have several Tamron 28-75/2.8 lenses and they were optically great, but this is clearly above, with a very recognizable high end Sigma signature in both the razor sharpness (yes, even from max aperture in the center) and the gorgeous and unique creamyness of the OOF areas. This stark contrast between sharp and creamy is what I love so in those high end Sigmas. My unit is perfectly calibrated for my NEX 7 without any intervention or adjust on my part, which is great. Overall super impressed, and can't wait to add another 70-200 to my collection.


Nov 4, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add nianys to your Buddy List  
L.J.G.
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 12, 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 36
Review Date: Dec 11, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Centre sharpness, great colour, compact size and weight comapered to the Canon version
Cons:
Sometimes it will not focus at all (it has only done it twice)

I needed to buy a good 24-70 and nobody had any stock of the Canon mkI due to the impending release of the mkII. I waited for the mkII then the release date was put back. I looked at the Tamron but did not like the strong onion bokeh with highlights. That left the Sigma. Even though I was a bit apprehensive I figured with the warranty I would be OK anyway. It has turned out to be quite a little surprise packet. Blow up images to 100% and centre sharpness is as good as any of my L glass. It exhibits the slightly warm colours that all my other Sigma lenses show, which I like anyway. Bokeh is OK but has a very slight onion effect with highlights - nowhere near as strong as the Tamron though and is hardly noticeable. It is considerably smaller than the Canon and is also a bit lighter. The zoom ring is smooth to operate. The only downside is a couple of time it would not focus at all for some reason. It does not worry me as with the Canon 5DII I just manual focus until the focus point selected lights up and I get the beep for focus lock. If it keeps going I will send it back under warranty. I am certainly not sorry I went with the Sigma. For the cost it is well worth it.

Dec 11, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add L.J.G. to your Buddy List  
gwaww
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 20, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 426
Review Date: Mar 27, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Good value per cost. Sharp. Build. Nice look to images. Bokeh is great.
Cons:
Heavy. 82mm filter.

I read alot of reviews/comments about this lens and was a little hesitant to purchase it. It is my 4th Sigma lens and none of them have disappointed me. I had a Tamron 28-75 that I used before this that I was fairly satisfied with but it never wowed me like Tamron's 17-50. I use this as my walk around on my 5D MKII. it is great combination. I am most surprised with the quality of the bokeh. It is very good.

Mar 27, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add gwaww to your Buddy List  
dkmiles1
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Nov 19, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 602
Review Date: Oct 11, 2010 Recommend? | Price paid: $899.00

 
Pros: 2nd Review - I'd like to revise my rating - Great Color, Fast Focus, solid build
Cons:
Inconsistent focus, IQ on the edges of the frame not as good as they should be...

Every photographer has had this happen to them, you unintentionally leave a piece of equipment at home, even though you have prepared and prepared and prepared for the wedding day, you can forget something. It happens.

I grabbed my lens case for my trusty Canon 28-70 f/2.8 when I left the house, however when I got to the wedding and opened the bag the lens inside was none other than my backup Sigma 24-70mm... Oops. I made the lens switch from the ceremony to catch the ride from to the reception aboard a horse and chariot... Needless to say and left with no choice, I was forced and anxious to use the Sigma under any circumstance... Bottom line is, the photos came out much better than I thought they would have. Given my experience with this lens and its various focussing issues, it really came through for me. I even used it during the reception and I (as well as the bride) was pleased with the results.

You can check out some of the images here... These were from the ride on the chariot to the reception. Poor lighting - it was DARK - hence a lot of noise - but the focus was pretty good under the circumstances...

http://milesmemories.smugmug.com/Weddings/Danielle-and-Cedric-Ride-to/14078246_sMEUt/

I would now rate this lens a 9


Oct 11, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dkmiles1 to your Buddy List  
BlairWright
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 10, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Review Date: Sep 28, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $849.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: -2.8 is not as sharp as the Nikon equivalent but it's good. -This lens is very sharp above 2.8 -Fast quiet auto focus -Build is excellent
Cons:
-82 mm filters

I purchased this around 6 months ago and have taken ~2k shots with it by now.

Very good lens overall, my only issue is the sharpness at wide open, it's sharp but not as sharp as I would like. The auto focus is always spot on and silent. The fit and finish are excellent (as are all Sigma EX series).

As in life you get what you pay for, this is a US $900 lens, if you want sharpness all the way across get the US $1700 Nikon lens

This was a good purchase in my opinion


Sep 28, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add BlairWright to your Buddy List  
rsolti13
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Aug 31, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 3587
Review Date: Aug 25, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $650.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great colors, bokeh, speed
Cons:
Using on a D700 the corners are a little soft.

I used this lens on a D700. Excellent option for the price. Very fast and quiet lens. I did not have any focus issues as mine was spot on with my D700 and D90 from day 1....without focus adjustments. A few points:

Sharpness - On my D700 center sharpness was excellent and the corners did not get sharp until about 35mm. At 24mm they were a little weak until stopped down considerably. On the D90 sharpness was excellent from corner to corner.

Size - Excellent, much smaller than a 24-70 but fit very nicely on the D700

HSM - Very fast and quiet...as advertised

Bokeh - Very nice oof area. Bokeh is excellent!

All in all a great lens and a great alternative to the Nikon 24-70.


Aug 25, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add rsolti13 to your Buddy List  
dkmiles1
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Nov 19, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 602
Review Date: Aug 21, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $899.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Good color rendition, fast focus, versatile, *MUCH* better on a crop than the full-frame cameras it was designed for
Cons:
My first Sigma lens - major focusing issues - it wasn't even close, sent it in three times, the third time was a charm, focusses "good enough" "Most of the time"

I once read somewhere on a random review (I think on Amazon) - someone said that they would never use a Sigma lens on a paid assignment. My experience with this particular lens leaves me with the exact same feeling. When the focus hits (and it hits only about 70% of the time) the results are just stunning, REALLY stunning. I also find that focus is more reliable when I use the center focus point - which makes for more boring photos and more time in post processing to creatively crop the images - however, when I use any of the edge focus points (using a Canon 5Dc) I miss a lot more shots - maybe about a 30-40% keeper rate.

These focus issues still occur after this particular lens has been sent to Sigma service 3 times, TWICE with my 5D.

This is all the more disappointing because I want to love this lens and it has the potential to be something special. It has solid build quality, and focuses quickly and as previously stated when it hits, I simply LOVE the results.

It's a little soft at 2.8 but shines at 4.0 and higher - where depth of field is wider and makes it more likely to obtain an acceptable (in-focus) shot.

Given all of the reviews I've read, no one lens manufacturer suffers from this kind of production variance (focusing issues) more than Sigma. I am not opposed to 3rd party lenses, for example I LOVE Tokina lenses, and I've never had focussing issues with any that I've owned.

So when do I use this lens? When I am at an event that isn't paid and I'm taking photos for fun with family and friends when a lower keeper rate is more acceptable.

So gun-shy am I to bring this lens to a paid evet that I went ahead and bought a used EF28-70 f/2.8 L (Stellar lens, mine is just amazing) for the 5Dc and an EF-S 17-55 f/2.8 to go with my 7D. My Sigma collects a lot of dust unless I'm at a relative's birthday party...

If you're a hobbyist who can live with a lower keeper rate, there is nothing wrong with this lens per se, but given Sigma's EX designation (for Excellence, i.e. Sigma's version of "L" glass) and the price point - its not cheap - if you're a pro, with this kind of focus, its just not acceptable...


Aug 21, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dkmiles1 to your Buddy List  
degrutze
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 30, 2010
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 6
Review Date: Aug 18, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $750.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very Sharp, Very fast, Stunning colour
Cons:
heavy, random copy

I've been using this lense almost a year and i am really happy with it. i can say that 90% of my shoot was produced by this lense (well i am only have 2 lenses for now... Smile )
even though i got a bad copy of this lense (10mm front focus!!) but i still love it, since the it still can be fix by micro adjustment.

i've tried to compare it 'apple to apple' with canon 24-70 L, it is a bit softer at wide open, but better at f4 and above.... it is really amazing for the lense that almost half of the price of canon's.

so this lense highly recommended!!! if you can get a good copy.


Aug 18, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add degrutze to your Buddy List  

   



Sigma 24-70mm F2.8 IF EX DG HSM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
9 42543 Dec 3, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
89% of reviewers $837.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.88
9.38
8.9
image-1_copy