about | support
home
 

Search Used

Sigma 17-70mm F2.8-4 DC Macro OS HSM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
14 46245 Jul 15, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
86% of reviewers $375.22
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.42
9.00
8.5
image_copy

Specifications:
Designed exclusively for use with smaller chip APS-c cameras
Offers Sigma’s OS System (Optical Stabilization) allowing handheld photography even in low-light situation
Close focusing down to only 8.7” away for a 1:2.7 magnification which is approximately ½ life size
Three aspherical & ELD glass elements provide critical sharpness & low distortion
A Super Multi-Coating is used to reduce the occurrence of flare & ghosting and delivers high performance across the entire focusing range

Lens Construction 17 Elements in 13 Groups
Angle of View 72.4-20.2
Number of Diaphragm Blades 7
Mininum Aperture f22
Minimum Focusing Distance 22 cm / 8.7 in
Filter Size (mm) 72
Maximum Magnifications 1:2.7
Dimensions
(Diameter x Length) 79-88.9 mm/3.1x3.5 in
Weight 535g / 18.9oz.


 


          
chromavis
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 15, 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 15, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $419.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Outstanding macro, sharp images, excellent OS
Cons:
none so far

I've had the lens now for 1 week and I've put it thru some basic macro and non-macro shots in both low-light, ambient light and sunlight conditions. The lens has performed exceptional in all instances. Paired with my new Canon T4i camera I am getting amazing images in my opinion. Here is a link to some of the photos I've taken with the lens so far:

http://www.dpreview.com/galleries/7495572491/albums/sigma-17-70mm-f-2-8-4-dc-os-macro-hsm

Like the other Sigma lenses I've owned, this lens feels sturdy and very well built. The 72mm filter size means the filters are not too pricey.

The official minimum focus distance is listed as 8.7" but as others have stated, that value must be from the sensor and not the lens for I am able to focus on objects 2" away from the lens (e.g. see the photo of the bug on the flower at the link above).

Image quality seems outstanding. The first image at the link above (the cat with its tongue out) is resized down to 1600 pixels but is otherwise untouched. The detail at 70mm, f/8 and 400 ISO is outstanding in my opinion.

Focusing is quite fast and accurate I have found.

My previous Sigma lens was the 24-70mm F/2.8 lens (the non OS and HSM) version. It was an excellent lens as well but this is far better. The extra 7mm on the wide-angle end is nice and I am not concerned about not having F/2.8 thru the entire zoom range. The truth is that I prefer to shoot at F/4 to F/8 for best sharpness results anyway. Also, at the close distances I am shooting at F/2.8 starts blurring too soon from the focal point. In addition, the high ISO quality of the images produced by the T4i allows me to shoot closer to F/8 in low-light conditions and not only get clean images but sharp images as well. The following image was shot at iso6400 (F/4 and 70mm) in a room with the curtains closed. Light was not good but I was still able to capture a good image:
http://www.dpreview.com/galleries/7495572491/photos/2088902/img_2938?inalbum=sigma-17-70mm-f-2-8-4-dc-os-macro-hsm

I definitely like the zoom lock but have found that the zoom is not "loose" and the lens does not zoom out if pointed down as I have noticed with other lenses.

I would definitely recommend this lens and am VERY happy with it so far.


Jul 15, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add chromavis to your Buddy List  
Tanegashima
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 20, 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 143
Review Date: Apr 7, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IQ is on par with the most expensive zooms (resolution, colors, contrast, CA's, distortion, flare, etc), very good build quality for the price, good close-focus proprieties
Cons:
It isn't free, neither says "canon" or "nikon" so snobs won't like

If you shoot DX/APS-C, you have just came to the right lens, buy one new and forget about the rest, this is the lens to have.

Apr 7, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Tanegashima to your Buddy List  
jasonpatrick
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jul 8, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 1403
Review Date: Dec 16, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $380.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great range on a crop, Excellent OS, faster than Canon equivelant
Cons:
no FTM, focus problems at 70mm MFD

The "walk around" lens discussion is highly debated, and there are a lot of really great lenses in this focal range - both canon and 3rd party. I've used almost all of them, both constant 2.8, and variable aperture. I decided for me, added focal length was more valuable to me than constant 2.8 aperture. I'll throw a flash on if I need it. That being said, this lens is still basically a stop faster than the Canon equivelant - at least 2/3rds at all focal lengths. OS is great. Canon's IS is probably a bit better, but it's splitting hairs. This lens gives 1:2.7 macro, which is pretty good. Canon's 50mm macro goes to 1:2

The one problem I found with this lens was in the macroish range at 70mm. The AF will lock and give you a pic, but I found them to be super soft. Even stopped down to f/8, those photo's didn't look good. All other ranges were fine, so I focused manually using liveview, and the photos were perfectly sharp. Just a weird thing there. At 4 feet, the lens focuses fine and gives you sharp results. Less than that, it starts to get dodgy. Something to think about if you want this lens to double as a macroish lens.



Dec 16, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jasonpatrick to your Buddy List  
matej42
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 5, 2011
Location: N/A
Posts: 0
Review Date: Dec 7, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $419.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: f/2.8 at the wide end and only f/4 at the longest; decent build; silent AF; good OS; hood included; price; 3 years warranty
Cons:
bit heavier given the small size; focus ring is quite close when you hand-hold the lens and when it rotates during AF your fingers may be touching it; no FTM



Dec 7, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add matej42 to your Buddy List  
Peter Burian
Offline
Buy and Sell: On

Registered: Feb 26, 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 116
Review Date: Nov 30, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: I don't know why the average price is shown as $369 since this lens routinely sells for around $500 retail in the US. It's $469 at B&H Sigma 17-70mm F2.8-4 DC Macro OS HSM Lens for Nikon Digital Cameras Price: $469.00
Cons:
No manual focus override in AF mode but that does not bother me at all

So far, I love this lens.

Nov 30, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Peter Burian to your Buddy List  
Jan Waumans
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 16, 2006
Location: Belgium
Posts: 21
Review Date: Oct 4, 2011 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros:
Cons:

Correction to my previous post: the zoom turns the same way as other lenses do, my apologies

The lens is very sharp full open from 17mm f:2.8 to 55mm f:4, I will keep it as walkaround lens.


Oct 4, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Jan Waumans to your Buddy List  
Jan Waumans
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 16, 2006
Location: Belgium
Posts: 21
Review Date: Sep 29, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $220.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: fast and correct AF, good image stabilisation, sharp on wide angle at f:2.8, short focus distance
Cons:
not sharp at f:4 on the long side, big and heavy, yellowish color tone compared to Canons

Since I was very pleased with the Sigma 30mm 1.4 EX and 180mm macro EX, I bought this lens second hand to see if it could replace my good old but dying EF 24-85 3.5-4.5 USM (own Canon 10-22, 70-200L f:4, 100-400L, 400L 5.6, 60 2.8 macro, 18-55 IS kitlens, use also 17-40L and 50 1.4).
Hesitated to buy the EF-S 17-55 f:2.8 since it is a lot of money for the short tele reach, I have an UWA, and the 30 and 60mm primes for low light.
Other candidate was the EF-S 15-85 but f:5.6 at 85mm is rather poor.
Used it 2 weeks on 7D and 40D (> 1000 shots).
Had to give AF microadjust +6 on the 7D (this is OK for my 40D since it has the same offset with other lenses).
The lens looks and feels solid and heavy, but the zoom ring turns not very smooth and the wrong way (certainly no need for the zoom lock).
The "HSM" AF is fast and exact, also in tracking playing children, but there is no override as with the a real USM.
Sharpness and especially contrast are better than the kitlens, and on the long end it is sharper than the EF 24-85.
Side by side the Sigma photos show a much warmer tone.
I also made some macros of butterflies, sharpness was very satisfactory for an occasional close-up and the IS can be an advantage.
This lens certainly replaces the kitlens and my 24-85 on the cheap, but it adds more volume and weight than justified for the quality.


Sep 29, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Jan Waumans to your Buddy List  
HoosierJoe
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 24, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 11
Review Date: Jun 1, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $450.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Lightweight, inexpensive, covers good range, quick focus, sharp.
Cons:
Macro is limited, but decent.

Bought this lens to replace two lenses. Tired of switching lenses. I replaced a good Tam 17-35 and a good Tam 28-75 with this one. Although it doesn't have a constant f2.8, I find that I miss that very little.

It performs great as my all purpose lens. Really find the OS useful.


Jun 1, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add HoosierJoe to your Buddy List  
dhphoto
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 15, 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9872
Review Date: Apr 6, 2011 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: Reasonably well built.
Cons:
Everything else. Soft, heavy, expensive for what it is

I wanted to love this and use it as a general purpose lens, but it's VERY soft, much heavier than it's non-OS predecessor and expensive for what it is.

Maybe I got a bad one (which seems to happen a bit too much to me with Sigma lenses).

Steer clear.


Apr 6, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews View gallery Add dhphoto to your Buddy List  
tanglefoot47
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 12, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 14826
Review Date: Mar 29, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Zoom range is nice, fast AF, OS is great, sharp man
Cons:
Can't think of any

First off let me tell you I don't like Sigma lenses, but this is a big butt I needed a lens of this range and the Canon are way to expensive. So I found this lens used but what can I say I love it. I was so surprised at how good this lens is, OS works great, HSM fast, sharp as can be and colors are great. I never thought I would be this happy with a Sigma lens

Mar 29, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add tanglefoot47 to your Buddy List  
Matt Kerby
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 9, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 511
Review Date: Feb 15, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $340.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: HSM is quick, silent and fairly accurate. Zoom range, macro, sharp, OS
Cons:
MF ring turns when AF'ing, not so great in low light non static shots.

The 3 reviews below mine sum up my thoughts pretty much dead on. It's a great walk-around zoom....The macro is awesome, you can pretty much touch your subject with the front element and achieve focus lock...pretty cool...

I don't use a standard walk-around zoom too often, I prefer primes, but sometimes you just need a zoom.....I feel like I stole this lens at $340, I sold my 17-55 for $900 because I felt bad having a $900 lens that I used 3 times a year...

I knew I was downgrading but was pleasantly surprised at the initial handling of the 17-70. I think the build might be better than the 17-55. When I downloaded the files I knew I made the right choice. Focus is spot on and for the most part it's a great alternative to the more expensive constant 2.8's out there.

What can I say....I decided to keep it....

The only problems I encountered was at a Taekwondo tournament I ran into some problems under the gym lights. Had a few more OOF shots than I expected...I think I was just expecting too much though as in every other situation I've shot in it's been great.

I set it to f4 and shoot though the range at a constant f4. Which....for $340.....seems more than fair Smile


Feb 15, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Matt Kerby to your Buddy List  
Derfman
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 25, 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 14
Review Date: Jan 24, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Lightweight, PRICE, decent macro, QUIET, no canon lens covers the same range, comes with a hood - OS - ZOOM LOCK
Cons:
Stiff focus ring, sharpest in the middle of its range, zoom lock only works when the lens is closed..

Use this on my 7d as a walk around lens, im more interested in tele so spent my money on l glass there, this lens is a great complement to the 70-200L - i use a flash if its lower light of use a prime - 50mm etc

Highly recommend this lens for travel and adventure shooting with the 7D, it packs light and covers a great range with excellent to good quality


Jan 24, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Derfman to your Buddy List  
Doug Weasner
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 24, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 221
Review Date: Oct 24, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $449.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Ideal zoom range for my usage, stabilizer gives a chance of usable results @ 70mm 1/10 exposure (and reliable results @ 1/20), very good across the zoom range wide open, useful close focus.
Cons:
No full-time manual focus, macro mode has VERY short working distance

My previous standard zoom of choice was the Nikon 18-70 AF-S DX. It is a very flexible and useful zoom lens, and I knew I wanted its replacement to be similar. However, I am not very good at handholding lenses, so I wanted the assistance of a stabilizer function. I considered the Nikon 16-85 VR as well as this Sigma lens, and tested both in-store. The Sigma won me over with more aperture. I like being able to treat this lens as a fixed f4 and shoot at f4 in a variety of situations.

Build and handling: This is a substantial lens (noticeably bigger than the Nikon 18-70) that balances better on the D90 size of bodies than the D40 size (I have both). The zoom ring feels great, and doesn't creep even when pointed straight down. The focus ring feels loose, but doesn't wobble. The front element does not rotate on zooming or focusing; focusing is internal, it does extend more than the 18-70 on zooming. Despite the HSM designation, manual focus override is not available.

Optics: The lens focuses absurdly close - you can have an in-focus subject within 2 inches (5cm) of the front element, and IQ is pretty good if you can light your subject that close. I have no problem using this lens wide open, and it leaves nothing to be desired closed down one stop.

Mechanics: Both the auto focus and stabilizer I would characterize as great, but not spectacular. During a recent event with this lens, it only failed to focus once and that was in a scene lit only by a small fire. AF accuracy is pleasing on both my D40 and D90. The stabilizer is good for about three stops of improvement from my normal handholding rule of 1 / 1.5 x focal length.

The bottom line: The combination of the 4x zoom wide to telephoto, close focusing (1:3 macro), aperture (f4 or better throughout) and stabilizer make this lens a unique and great value. There are lenses that have all but one of those things, but this is the only one with all. A worthwhile acquisition for the DX enthusiast; an excellent companion for the D80/D90 level cameras. Bravo Sigma for giving us compelling choices like this lens.


Oct 24, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Doug Weasner to your Buddy List  
warbandit
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 13, 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 169
Review Date: Oct 1, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: 17mm wide end, f/2.8 at wide end, zoom lock, fast and quiet AF
Cons:
Decent in low light

This is a great lens to cover a good range of focal lengths. The 17mm is wide enough when needed - even on my crop 50D - and can be quickly zoomed to 50mm or even 70mm for that extra reach. It's a great multi-purpose lens that I've left on my camera a lot of times.

The f/2.8 aperture is decent in low light but limited only to the 17mm end, as it quickly goes beyond f/3 the second you start to zoom. I find myself switching for my Canon 50mm f/1.4 for indoor, low-light situations. But f/2.8-4.5 is still better than the f/4-5.6 of most kit lenses!

Zoom lock is a nice feature but even without it I don't notice any zoom creep. Good quality build with a nice feel and texture to the barrell, and smooth but tight focus/zoom rings.


Oct 1, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add warbandit to your Buddy List  

   



Sigma 17-70mm F2.8-4 DC Macro OS HSM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
14 46245 Jul 15, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
86% of reviewers $375.22
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.42
9.00
8.5
image_copy