about | support
home
 

Search Used

Sigma 17-50mm F2.8 EX DC OS HSM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
21 51588 May 22, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
81% of reviewers $614.31
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.42
8.63
8.4
583_17-50mm_f28_EX_DC_OS_HSM_copy

Specifications:
For use with smaller chip APS-c digital cameras only
Offers Sigma’s OS System (Optical Stabilization) allowing handheld photography even in low-light situation
HSM (Hyper-Sonic Motor) ensures a quiet & high-speed auto focus
FLD glass elements with performance equal to fluorite glass for compensate for color aberration
Ultra compact with overall length of just 3.6”

Lens Construction 17 Elements in 13 Groups
Angle of View 72.4-27.9
Number of Diaphragm Blades 7
Mininum Aperture f22
Minimum Focusing Distance 28 cm / 11 in
Filter Size (mm) 77
Maximum Magnifications 1:5
Dimensions
(Diameter x Length) 83.5x91.8 mm/3.3x3.6 in
Weight 565g / 19.9oz.




 


Page:  1 · 2 
          
nicklau81
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 3, 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1
Review Date: Oct 3, 2010 Recommend? no | Price paid: $700.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Sharp, very good IQ, OS works like charm
Cons:
AF is not working

I was put a very high expectation for this lens as I was a bit hard to decide this lens or Tamron 17-50mm, however at the end I put my choice to this lens. I bought it online though.

First impression after out of the box was the build seems to be good, however at rear lens I found there was an open hole for dust to come in Sad

Now the test, first test at 17mm AF worked like charm, super fast and silent, step up to 24-30mm AF still worked perfect However the nightmare begun from 35mm above, the AF didn't work at all, hunt hunt hunt and hunt *sigh*

OS was really work.

IQ was really superb, sharp from center to border but soft at corner especially wide open.

At the end I decided to sell this lens Sad



Oct 3, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add nicklau81 to your Buddy List  
Robert Kester
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 15, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 38
Review Date: Sep 19, 2010 Recommend? no | Price paid: $650.00

 
Pros: Cost, 6-year warranty, past positive experiences with Tamron lenses
Cons:
quality control

I did not give an overall rating or a build quality rating as I believe the copy of the lens I purchased was defective. The images were not sharp at any aperture setting and the auto-focus was both slow and noisy. I was influenced to buy this lens because I own another Tamron lens and couldn't be happier with it. I felt the 17-50 OS deserved a shot as an alternative to the Canon 17-55 IS based on both price and length of warranty but once I tried it out on a 7D I could not talk myself into volunteering to do further QC for Tamron so I returned it and bought the Canon. I still think it was worth a shot and will try Tamron products in the future.

Sep 19, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Robert Kester to your Buddy List  
vhsema
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 20, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 45
Review Date: Sep 18, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $669.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, well-built, good colors, fast focus
Cons:
Nothing that isn't listed in specs, like no FTM

Excellent lens so far. I'm really enjoying it. Nice and solid. Very sharp wide open at f/2.8, but extremely sharp at f/4.

Sep 18, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add vhsema to your Buddy List  
rmackphoto
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 7, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 122
Review Date: Sep 2, 2010 Recommend? no | Price paid: $660.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Sharp, HSM focus seems fast and accurate when it works. Decent build quality. OS seemed to work well.
Cons:
AF was intermittent, lens hood was so loose it would not stay attached. Maybe I was just unlucky, but I decided not to buy another.



Sep 2, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add rmackphoto to your Buddy List  
JoHowdy123
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 10, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Review Date: Aug 20, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, very sharp wide open Fast Focus Low Distortion Pleasent Bokeh New Finish! Smooth focus ring Silent Great Build Quality
Cons:
No FTM focus

Picked this lens up at a 10% discount from Abes of Maine. Very impressed. Great build quality, and well designed lens. HSM is very silent, but this variant of HSM does not do FTM override. Has focus lock, but have not experenced any focus creep even without using it. Very stable build. Focus barrel is one piece and built to very high tolerences.

Very sharp even wide open at all focal lengths. Focus is very accurate, and spot on again at all apertures and all focus lengths.
Contrast focus works very well with this lens also. Slower than phase, but works very well and again very accurate.

Compared to the Canon 17-55 the build quality of the sigma is much better. Built to much higher tolerences and zero zoom creep. I feel as though the sigma is noticably sharper in the center and mild edges than the canon, but the canon as the edge focus at 2.8-4. At F/4 the two are neck and neck with the canon taking the far edges while the sigma is sharper in the center and mild edge. Colors are a touch warmer on the sigma than the canon, and flare is MUCH better on the sigma than the canon.

HIGHLY Recommended, especially at this price! cant beat it!


Aug 20, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add JoHowdy123 to your Buddy List  

   



Sigma 17-50mm F2.8 EX DC OS HSM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
21 51588 May 22, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
81% of reviewers $614.31
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.42
8.63
8.4
583_17-50mm_f28_EX_DC_OS_HSM_copy


Page:  1 · 2