about | support
home
 

Search Used

Zeiss 50mm f/2 Makro-Planar T*

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
27 48158 Nov 5, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $1,163.50
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.85
9.08
9.9
50macro

Specifications:
The Universal High-speed Macro
This macro lens provides a normal perspective and allows for close focusing down to 1: 2. The Makro-Planar T* 2/50 uses a new lens design which incorporates fl oating elements to ensure high performance across a wide focusing range. As a result, the lens can be used for non-macro applications and becomes a versatile ‘standard’ lens when used with a full frame camera. The fast f/2 aperture and distortion-free performance enables wide-open photography with a short depth-of-field without compromising the image quality. The Makro-Planar T* 2/50 is available with the F bayonet (ZF) and K bayonet (ZK) lens mounts and is designed for use with full-frame SLR and DSLR cameras. Combined with a DSLR with a 1.5 crop factor, the lens becomes a focal length of 75 mm.

Focal length 50 mm
Aperture range f/2.0 – f/22 (1/2 steps)
Focusing range 0.24 m – infinity
Number of elements/groups 8/6
Angular field, diag./horiz. 45°/38°
Coverage at close range 72 x 48 mm
Image ratio at close range 1 : 2
Filter thread M 67 x 0.75
Dimensions (with caps) ř 72 mm, length 88 mm
Weight 530 g
Camera mounts EF Mount (ZE) F Mount (ZF & ZF.2) K Mount (ZK)


 


Page:  1 · 2 
          
Rajan Parrikar
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Sep 9, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1448
Review Date: Dec 12, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,283.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build, Sharpness, Micro-contrast, Bokeh
Cons:

I am a Canon shooter and this was my first Zeiss lens. There are many Zeiss & Leica fanboys, most of them great gearheads and mediocre photographers. I did a good bit of research before deciding on the ZE 50 f/2 Makro Planar. All I can say is, it lives up to its hype and reputation. Sharpness and micro-contrast are outstanding and the bokeh at f/2 is delicious. Build is world-class. This is a versatile lens, serving Macro, street and landscape photography. I am glad to have made this purchase.

Dec 12, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Rajan Parrikar to your Buddy List  
dstraton
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 17, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Review Date: Oct 23, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,283.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, sharp, sharp - outresolves my 5DMK2 at f5.6 - f8.0. Color POP. Wonderful rendering from sharp to blur. Manual focus, quality.
Cons:
I suppose price or AF, but that's not why you're reading this, right?

I bought the 35 f2 and 21 f.2.8 the same day - originally I was just going in for the 21, but bought the 35 f2 on a lark. Suffice to say, I now LOVE the 35 f2 more than any lens I have.

So, the 21 did not disappoint either...and I officially had the bug. So I bought the 50.

I am not going to reiterate everything you've already read, beyond that it is all true. Compared to the razor-sharp eye-bleeding sharpness at f8, f2 seems a tad soft, but it is still I can affirm, very sharp. Colors are to die for - my Canons are all warmer and less realistic - these pop out of the camera just right.

use Unsharp Mask or any other sharpening method at your own risk, you may find you don't need it.

BTW, I am selling every Canon lens I have save the 24-105. Who needs them?


Oct 23, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add dstraton to your Buddy List  
mahonet
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 30, 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 0
Review Date: Aug 26, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Awesome lens! Excellent sharpness, color, contrast and bokeh.
Cons:
None, but it is macro which must be taken into consideration when focusing to infinity. Focusing ring is made for macro use.

Simply said, In my opinion, the best 50mm I have ever used and, I think, one of the best you can ever get. Very solid performer. Compared with Zeiss 1.4 planar the rendition is more contrasty and sharpness is better in apertures 2.0-2.8. That said I don´t blame Zeiss ze 1.4 planar in any way. They are just different tools for different purposes.

Aug 26, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mahonet to your Buddy List  
JORDI350D
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 7, 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 31
Review Date: Jun 20, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: All.
Cons:
Front cap. Dificult to focus bteween 5/10 mts to inf, but not worse that others.

Best 50 mm that I have ever tested.
I have tested 50 1.4 / 50L 1.2 / Sig. 50 Macr. 2.8 and others.



Jun 20, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add JORDI350D to your Buddy List  
denoir
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 11, 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 4214
Review Date: Jun 2, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, contrast, colors, build quality
Cons:
Focusing near infinity can be difficult as the focus ring is primarily designed for macro shots. Bokeh can be so-so in some situations.

Fantastic lens. It's the 'little brother' of the remarkable 100mm Makro Planar and shares many of its traits. Before I got this lens I had never found a 50mm lens that I liked - including Canon's 50L. I thought I simply did not like the focal length.

Not so apparently. The 50 MP is a great to use and the images it produces are fabulous. Sharpness, colors and contrast are all superb. It really brings out the fine detail in images. It also has a very graceful DOF falloff where the in-focus parts just melt away out of focus. The result is a feeling of depth in the images.

On the negative side is that it can be difficult to focus near infinity - slight movements of the focus ring result in large changes in focus distance. You learn it soon enough though and the excellent focus ring helps a lot.

Bokeh can range from truly amazing to mediocre depending on distance to subject, background and aperture.

There is no such thing as a perfect lens and that holds for this one as well. It is however excellent and probably the best 50mm you can get today.


Jun 2, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add denoir to your Buddy List  
Jochenb
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 24, 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1831
Review Date: May 25, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, beautiful rendering of colors and contrast, micro-contrast, well built,...
Cons:
Nothing the compitition does better.

This is the best 50mm lens available for canon (ZE mount).

I've had all the canon 50's (1.2/1.4/1.8) and they all bite the dust.

The rendering of this lens is great. The zeiss look. Very well built. The focusring feels nice. Already very sharp at f2.

If you don't NEED autofocus this is the 50mm to buy.



May 25, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Jochenb to your Buddy List  
burningheart
Online
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 20, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 2485
Review Date: Apr 17, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Strong contrast, sharp from f2.8 including extreme corners, build, colour, flare control, bokeh, macro or distance shooting, smooth focus
Cons:
CA with intense bright white reflections

I found my lens is sharp on the extreme corners starting at F2.8 as long as the corners are within the DOF. The contrast is terrific. Smooth focusing, flare is controlled very well, can be used as a macro or scenic lens. Good Zeiss colors. Flare is strongly controlled. Bokeh is smooth especially with macro shots. Onion effect for bright oof highlights.

The only issue is in the intense white highlight will have CA associated with it.


Apr 17, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add burningheart to your Buddy List  
Lotusm50
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 26, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 6228
Review Date: Apr 6, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp wide open, and sharp across the frame, excellent bokeh, excellent micro-constrast, great Zeiss color and 3-D imaging qualities, excellent build quality with super smooth, nicely-damped, focusing ring
Cons:
Very few, and even these are generally better than the competition, and nearly all 50mm lenses -- a touch of CA wide open, the last millimeter of the frame in the most extreme end of the corner soft until f8, distortion better htna most 50mm, but not a good as some macro lenses.

Probably the finest 50mm lens available. If you don't need f1.4 there is no reason to own any other 50mm lens. It's sharper close-up and at infinity with excellent bokeh (better than most 50mm lenses) Compared to the Zeiss ZF 50mm f1.4, it's better (contrast, detail, and 3-D) close-up and at least matches it at infinity, plus it has better bokeh -- of course, the ZF 50 Makro costs about twice as much as the standard ZF 50/1.4 but worth it. Produces crisp, clear, vivid images -- you'll want to use it all the time. Not cheap, but very good value -- you really get what you pay for. (prices have unfortunately, increased recently).

Apr 6, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Lotusm50 to your Buddy List  
MichaD
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 29, 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 407
Review Date: Apr 1, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very consistent across the field (except the extreme corners) at all apertures, near or far. Excellent build. 1:2 at f/2 without tubes. Very precise focus ring.
Cons:
A bit of CA wide open. Extreme corners not critically sharp until f/8. A tad high distortion for a "macro" lens. Less than stellar bokeh. No rounded aperture blades. Focus ring quite stiff. Price.

This is a extremely good general purpose lens. While there's quite a list of cons there are no worse than it's peers, except for the bokeh. So for my initial intended use as close-up and macro lens it's falls a bit short. But as a general purpose 50 it's pretty hard to beat. Price is a bit high but you were expecting that when buying a Zeiss.

Apr 1, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add MichaD to your Buddy List  
pkupcik
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jul 27, 2006
Location: N/A
Posts: 268
Review Date: Apr 1, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super sharp wide open, nice Zeiss colors and rendering, mechanically well built, convenient 1:2 magnification. Great multi-purpose lens.
Cons:
No weather sealing.

I've had this lens for about 2 months now on my 5D and it is my most used lens for the moment. It is a very convenient lens to have due to its 50mm focal length, great IQ wide open at f/2 and its close focusing capability. It produces beautiful close up portraits or the occasional macro.

The colors and contrast are typical Zeiss. It's very unique and provides a nice variation to the usual Canon rendering. The lens has significant vignetting below f/2.8, but it actually adds a nice mood to the photos, e.g. portraits.

When used indoors, the lens produces great clarity and neutral colors. Outdoors, especially on sunny days, the lens produces typical contrasty Zeiss colors that look as if polarizer was used.

The handling is very good. The lens is neither small nor large and balances well on the camera. The focus ring is smooth and precise. The lens correctly communicates with camera to report aperture and focus confirmation. The front lens element is really small and recessed way back in the barrel, thus eliminating the need for protective filters. The inside of the lens barrel is not smooth and therefore catches any dust on its way to the front lens element - very smart.

There are only two negatives I can think of. 1. The lens is not weather sealed. 2. Sometimes I have to re-press the shutter button to trigger the AF confirmation light/beep.

I would highly recommend this lens to anyone looking for a versatile 50mm lens with one of the best IQ and who is willing to manual focus.


Apr 1, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add pkupcik to your Buddy List  
nazdravanul
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 1, 2008
Location: Romania
Posts: 170
Review Date: Apr 1, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The most amazing 50 ever.
Cons:
Soft extreme corners up to f8, but it's not really an issue. Excellent, consistent sharpness right up to those little, tiny extreme corners :). Kicks the living hell out of both the Canon 50 L (a good copy of that lens :) )and the Nikon 1.4 G lens.

Do not confuse this with the 50 1.4 Zeiss Planar which is not so good, in my opinion. Very different animal.

Apr 1, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add nazdravanul to your Buddy List  

   



Zeiss 50mm f/2 Makro-Planar T*

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
27 48158 Nov 5, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $1,163.50
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.85
9.08
9.9
50macro


Page:  1 · 2