about | support
home
 

Search Used

Zeiss 35mm f/2 Distagon T*

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
37 52527 Jul 15, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
97% of reviewers $924.07
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.94
9.52
9.8
35mm

Specifications:
The Versatile Reporter
This classic focal length with a moderate wide-angle perspective
is perfectly suited for commercial, location and nature photography. The Distagon T* 2/35 is designed to provide very high image quality over a wide range of apertures and focusing ranges. The fast f/2 aperture enables hand-held photography under difficult lighting conditions and the short focus rotation is well-suited for fast action photography. The Distagon T* 2/35 is available with the F bayonet (ZF), K bayonet (ZK) and M42 (ZS) lens mounts and is designed for use with full-frame SLR and DSLR cameras. A special floating elements design offers constant high performance over the entire distance range.
Combined with a DSLR with a 1.5 crop factor, the lens has an effective focal length of 53 mm and can be used as a standard focal length for a natural viewing perspective.

Focal length 35 mm
Aperture range f/2.0 f/22 (1/2 steps)
Focusing range 0,3 m infinity
Number of elements/groups 9/7
Angular field, diag./horiz. 62/53
Coverage at close range 19 x 13 cm
Filter thread M 58 x 0.75
Dimensions (with caps) 64 mm, length 97 mm
Weight 530 g
Camera mounts EF Mount (ZE) F Mount (ZF & ZF.2) K Mount (ZK) M42 Screw Mount (ZS)


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 
      
surf monkey
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: May 23, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2718
Review Date: Apr 1, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $870.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp and contrasty across the full frame at all apertures. Like the color and saturation. Excellent build quality.
Cons:
Some CA in the corners at small apertures in high contrast areas. Stiff focus ring.

This for the ZE version for Canon EOS.
After getting my new Canon 5Dmk2 I wanted a good prime walkaround lens. This fit the bill perfectly with the best IQ of all my lenses. I had reservations about manual focus, but with focus confirmation and a little practice, this became a non-factor. It actually has made me a better photographer.
Although I don't use this lens the most, it's so good that I try to figure out more ways to use it. I would love to complete my Zeiss collection with the ZE21, ZE50 MP and ZE100 MP. Once you start using these lenses there's no turning back.
Mechanically solid and quite heavy for such a compact lens. Beautifully constructed. The focus ring is excellent, but a bit tight with a long throw which is a good thing for precise control.


Apr 1, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add surf monkey to your Buddy List  
Ajay C
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 30, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 674
Review Date: Apr 1, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Size, color rendition, corner to corner performance
Cons:

Probably the best 35mm prime I have ever used. Good value to price ratio and color rendition is superb. If you are in the market for a 35mm prime, get it. No questions necessary !

Apr 1, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Ajay C to your Buddy List  
Mike M. Kraus
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Jan 14, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 1344
Review Date: Apr 1, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: SHARP ! Image quality and zeiss look. A really great lens !
Cons:
None

I bought the 21 ze and and like it so much I got the 35 ze. The 35 has probably become my favorite lens. Its so sharp across the full frame and the pictures are fantastic. If you are thinking about this lens just go for it and you won't be sorry.
Hope to get more ze's and the manual focus is really no problem


Apr 1, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Mike M. Kraus to your Buddy List  
nazdravanul
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 1, 2008
Location: Romania
Posts: 170
Review Date: Apr 1, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Just like the 50 MP, this is the best 35 ever.
Cons:
Maybe some faint traces of CA here and there, but nothing really serious.

I hated the 35 FL but this particular lens makes me want to shoot there Smile . It is that good.

Apr 1, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add nazdravanul to your Buddy List  
burningheart
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 20, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 2456
Review Date: Apr 1, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Edge to edge sharpness, terrific color, well built
Cons:
Vignettes wide open, gone by F4

My first venture into Zeiss was a trio of ZF's 25 F2.8, 50 1.4 and 35 F2. The lens like all Zeiss is well built and has a nice feel to it. The focus is smooth accurate and hits infinity where is should.

The 35 soon became a mainstay in my kit and replaced my Canon 35L F1.4 for most shooting situations. The sharpness of the lens and colors it gives is just spectacular.

I don't see any noticable CA.

On my Fujifilm the colors really shine epecially when set to Landscape mode. Great contrast.

The only complaint I have is the vignetting wide open, but since I mainly use this as a landscape lens it is not an issue.




Apr 1, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add burningheart to your Buddy List  




Zeiss 35mm f/2 Distagon T*

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
37 52527 Jul 15, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
97% of reviewers $924.07
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.94
9.52
9.8
35mm


Page:  1 · 2 · 3