about | support
home
 

Search Used

Zeiss 21mm f/2.8 Distagon T*

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
37 46567 Mar 31, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
97% of reviewers $1,579.29
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.97
8.53
9.6
21mm

Specifications:
The new horizon
This legendary super wide angle lens will set new standards in its focal length class. Exceptional color control allows for extraordinary high contrast pictures without any color fringes. Thanks to the Carl Zeiss T * anti reflection coating and its outstanding attenuation of stray light, the Distagon T * 2,8 / 21 provides brilliant results under all lighting conditions. With a close focusing of only 0.22 m (0.72 ft) it is as attractive for landscape photography as for subjects with dramatic perspectives. The Distagon T * 2,8 / 21 with F bayonet (ZF), EF bayonet (ZE) and K bayonet (ZK) is suitable for analog or digital full-frame SLR cameras. The large front fi lter diameter even allows for the use of standard screw-in fi lters when combined with the standard lens shade.

Focal length 21 mm
Aperture range f/2.8 f/22 (1/2 steps)
Focusing range 0.22 m infinity
Number of elements/groups 16/13
Angular field, diag./horiz. 90/81
Coverage at close range 18 x 12 cm
Filter thread M 82 x 0.75
Dimensions (with caps) 87 mm, length 109 mm
Weight 600 g
Camera mounts F Mount (ZF & ZF.2) EF Mount (ZE) K Mount (ZK)


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next
      
dstraton
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 17, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Review Date: Oct 22, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,732.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Outresolves my sensor (5DMk2), amazing color and clarity, presence. Sublime build. Amazing.
Cons:
Seriously? None. Maybe AF but I don't miss it.

I have had a number of wide angles, and this mops the floor with them. It is a special lens. The "3D" effect posted by almost all users does exist. Sharpness is exemplary, right to the corners pretty much from 2.8 up.

My poor, poor 17-40 didn't stand a chance. While sharp in the center, the edges are no match for this lens...the 21 is in fact so sharp that even a tiny bit of sharpening cuts through the anti-alias filtering and you can't start to see some pixelation on very very fine details - I have no doubt that this lens is "future-proof" in terms of resolution.

Green and blues are amazing, and I find this lens renders colors much more accurately in the subtle tones than even my L lenses. Hard to explain, but it's there.

Price? Well you get what you pay for.


Oct 22, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add dstraton to your Buddy List  
dave chilvers
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 11, 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1691
Review Date: Oct 13, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Simply the best
Cons:
None

This is the original version of the lens just for comparison in case any body is thinking of getting the old Contax MM version.

There is absolutely nothing I have ever used to touch this lens at that focal length. I did have a chance to try out the latest upgraded version and they are very close but IMHO I still come down on the side of the old magic. I was lucky and managed to pick up a new lens, still boxed and unused and although I had to pay the premium I will never regret it.


Oct 13, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dave chilvers to your Buddy List  
PratyushPandya
Offline



Registered: Sep 28, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14
Review Date: Sep 26, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,843.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: SHARP, Dreamy Bokeh, Great Contrast and Colors, MF is so easy to get used to on this one.
Cons:
Nothing for me personally. Some people may not like that it lacks AF, or its price.

Just a few short weeks ago, I couldn't have imagined buying a non-Canon optics. Once I came to know about Zeiss, however, it was an easy decision.
I don't mind not having AF, since it's really not needed on an UWA lenses such as this.
Selling Canon 16-35L II for this was relatively an easy decision. And I don't regret it at all. Zeiss 21/2.8 is THE BEST UWA lens available for a Canon FF system. Period.
If you're on the fence, jump the fence. You'd be glad.


Sep 26, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add PratyushPandya to your Buddy List  
pilmanok
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 24, 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 0
Review Date: Aug 24, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,840.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: colors, sharpness
Cons:
expensive

i am happy with this lens :-)

Aug 24, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add pilmanok to your Buddy List  
rji2goleez
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Jun 24, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 4427
Review Date: Aug 23, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,500.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Incredible sharpness, rendition is like no other. Very quickly my favorite lens. I have the ZE mount and now thinking I might sell my 16-35mm f/2.8L II. I can't wait to go out and shoot with this lens. Suffice to say, I have the Zeiss bug.
Cons:
None to date



Aug 23, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add rji2goleez to your Buddy List  
adam_j
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 5, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 14
Review Date: Aug 11, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,700.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Solid Construction, Smooth Focus Ring, Sharpness
Cons:
Large Front Element (fingerprints or worse)

So far so good, I'm still getting used to having to manual focus again but that will come back. Sharpness is great and the almost circular aperture blades make for some cool out of focus bokah. It's really the build quality and smoothness of it that stand out at the moment, you can see they really take pride in the construction and usability of the lens.


Aug 11, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add adam_j to your Buddy List  
mahonet
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 30, 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 0
Review Date: Aug 11, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: excellent image quality, colour, contrast and bokeh
Cons:
big, quite heavy, expensive.

Best wide angle lens for Canon body! Especially for FF. Excellent sharpness already at f2.8. also in borders. There is distortion, but usually it doesnt bother or it is not easy to find.

Aug 11, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mahonet to your Buddy List  
Schoenberg
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 29, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Review Date: Aug 9, 2010 Recommend? no | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 6 

Pros: Fast. Built like a tank!
Cons:
1. Bulky 2. distortion. I can see distortion on this lens. 3. Over-priced. It should be priced same as 35mm f/2. 4. Not really sharp at corners. Many people say that it is very sharp. But at this price, such a prime lens should be better than it is.



Aug 9, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Schoenberg to your Buddy List  
JORDI350D
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 7, 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 31
Review Date: Jul 1, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Best wide angle lens for Canon bodies. Incredible difinition even at 2.8.
Cons:
Lens cap. Litle vigneting and distorsion if your use is architecture or similars; not my case.

As many lens users know, nothing to comment about this lens, just excellent.
Best wide angle for Canon body so far.

B/R,

Jordi


Jul 1, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add JORDI350D to your Buddy List  
Ajay C
Offline
Buy and Sell: On

Registered: Apr 30, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 674
Review Date: Jun 29, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: incredible image quality and sharpness, close focussing and exceptional build.
Cons:
wave distortion, hard to correct.



Jun 29, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Ajay C to your Buddy List  
denoir
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 11, 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 4205
Review Date: Jun 14, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: the ultimate UWA. sharpness, colors and contrast
Cons:
wave distortion

The 21/2.8 is the master of fine detail. It is amazing how much this lens picks up. Coming from a Canon 16-35 UWA zoom, this was a massive improvement. Sharpness across the frame wide open both in terms of resolution and micro contrast. The colors and overall rendering style is in line with the rest of the Zeiss Z* line.

The only optical drawback is that it has a wave distortion which may affect architectural photography. I have personally never had any problems with it and it is difficult to find examples where it is apparent.

Up close it can produce some very cool painterly bokeh that basically look like van Gogh on drugs. I absolutely love it, but that's a personal preference.

The bottom line is that it's a first class UWA prime that has no equal when it comes to superb performance at all apertures. Its ability to pick up fine detail is just remarkable.


Jun 14, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add denoir to your Buddy List  
zombii
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Apr 10, 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 1062
Review Date: Apr 18, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,500.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Stunning images that make you feel like you're there. Wonderful color. Super sharp.
Cons:
Size

If you're considering this lens and are unsure whether it's worth it, rent one or try one on at your local camera store. Even relatively mundane scenes will show its ability. I find myself looking for reasons to use it which I've rarely done with a lens this wide. Had I bought this before the ZE 28, I probably wouldn't have bought the 28. The 28 is an excellent lens. The 21 is spectacular.

I've only barely seen the infamous mustache distortion. All other distortions typical of UWA's are very low. Used correctly, this lens can fool you into believing it's not as wide as it is.


Apr 18, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add zombii to your Buddy List  
teh_rebel
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 2, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 699
Review Date: Apr 13, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,699.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: color rendition, sharp all the way through, IQ, etc ...
Cons:
distortion (like others have mentioned)

legendary sounds about right for this lens. MF is not a problem with this lens and sharpness is just amazing. Not to mention the colors and "3-D". Not just for landscape, this works great as well for that wide angle portraits which I have used alot on.

Apr 13, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add teh_rebel to your Buddy List  
burningheart
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 20, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 2289
Review Date: Apr 12, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp including corners, excellent colors, no CA
Cons:
Distortion

Its been said by the others. A top notch lens.

I had an Oly 21 F2 that I sold after I got the ZF 21.
For IR shooters this lens starts hotspotting at F5.6


Apr 12, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add burningheart to your Buddy List  
Xavier Rival
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 21, 2004
Location: France
Posts: 3957
Review Date: Apr 5, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Excellent image quality (sharpness, contrast, color, absence of CA), perfect built quality.
Cons:
Moustache distortion...

This lens delivers fantastic shots in a very wide range of conditions. It is very hard to criticize the image quality (sharp from center to corners, even at wide apertures, contrast). The lack of CA is very impressive, even in shots where I would expect to see quite a bit of it. The bokeh is pretty nice too, which makes some creative shots possible (even though such a wide angle is not prone to reduced DoF photograpy, we can still create some nice effects).
The only issue is the moustache, but it is not a big issue at all, unless one plans to use it for architecture only. Compared to my Canon lenses with similar focal length (17-40L and 24-105L), this lens represents a very dramatic improvement.
The build quality is second to none.
It is expensive, but obviously we get what we pay for here, so it is well worth saving up for.


Apr 5, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Xavier Rival to your Buddy List  
charles.K
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Nov 6, 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 3483
Review Date: Apr 2, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp and detailed, but beyond that is the amazing rendition of color and contrast. A very well engineered product.
Cons:
MF only if you do not have alternative focusing screen installed.

I recently resonated with the expression on how the lens "draws", a feeling that is unique, beyond the sharpness and detail that is normally focused in forums. This lens is amazing as it sees colors and bring them to life, in a landscape without the PP. I still have the 24L, but I find I'm exclusively using the ZE 21.

Great engineering, and accurate focusing mechanism. Although the lens is not light, it is compact.


Apr 2, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add charles.K to your Buddy List  




Zeiss 21mm f/2.8 Distagon T*

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
37 46567 Mar 31, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
97% of reviewers $1,579.29
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.97
8.53
9.6
21mm


Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next