about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
110 140644 Jan 26, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $2,374.81
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.94
8.73
9.9
ef70-200lisiiu_586x225

Specifications:
Improving upon one of the most celebrated lenses in the Canon EF line is no easy feat, but Canon has done just that. The all-new EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM increases the speed, performance and optical quality of the EF 70-200 f/2.8L IS USM while maintaining all of the characteristics that have made it a legend for professionals and advanced amateurs alike. The EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM features one fluorite and five UD elements for increased optical quality and reduced chromatic aberration. It has a minimum focusing distance of 1.2m/3.9 ft. at all zoom settings, which is useful for photographers in smaller spaces trying to get closer to a subject. It features a next-generation Optical Image Stabilizer, providing up to 4 stops of correction at all focal lengths. And as with all L-series lenses, the EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM is dust- and moisture-resistant and designed for use in the challenging environments typical of rigorous professional use.

Focal Length & Maximum Aperture: 70-200mm 1:2.8
Lens Construction: 23 elements in 19 groups (1 Fluorite and 5 UD elements)
Diagonal Angle of View: 34° - 12°
Focus Adjustment: Inner focusing system with USM. Full-time manual focus available
Closest Focusing Distance: 1.2m/3.94 ft. (maximum close-up magnification: 0.21x)
Filter Size: 77mm
Max. Diameter x Length, Weight: 3.5 x 7.8 in./88.8 x 199mm; 52.6 oz./1490g
Lens Cap, Lens Hood & Pouch: Lens Hood ET-87


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7  next
          
GoGo
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Apr 17, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 732
Review Date: Dec 26, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, great color and fast focusing and accurate tracking.
Cons:
Price is steep, but this is how Canon pays for R&D.

OK,
Here is the rub, I have had 4 copies of this lens in various flavors. I likes all but one. And I sold off all but one.

This version II is a keeper, it actually does everything well. The big difference I have found is not only the sharpness at all apertures that I use but this lens is killer accurate at tracking a subject and keeping that subject sharp.


Dec 26, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add GoGo to your Buddy List  
x0SiN0x
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 10, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 81
Review Date: Dec 24, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,006.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Immediate improvement over its predecessor on my 5d markII.
Cons:
price is a little steep, but as with the other high dollar lenses you get what you pay for.

Sold my first version of this lens after reading many reviews, didn't think it could be that much better. Turns out to be a quite a difference, happy I upgraded for sure.

Dec 24, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add x0SiN0x to your Buddy List  
NicoNico
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 17, 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: Dec 17, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Optical quality is excellent, superb IS. Great build quality
Cons:
hefty price, big and white

de fluorite element really makes it match the primes. Fantastic optical quality for a zoomlens. So much better then de 70-200 mark I.

Dec 17, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add NicoNico to your Buddy List  
wanderinglens
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 9, 2010
Location: N/A
Posts: 2
Review Date: Nov 10, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast and accurate AF, solid as a rock, internal zooming, super useful range, super useful IS, much less heavy than I thought. Weather sealing, Iris with 8 rounded blades, prime-level sharpness with heavenly bokeh. Zero chromatic aberration.
Cons:
None, You'll love it.

I love the lens. Not that heavy at all. If you can handle the 24-70L, you can tame this one as well.

First of all, it is a good looking piece of glass. Feels good too. Never seen a fucusing ring so smooth. No play at all on the rings. The new hood is much more resistent to scratches and locks nicely. It's well balanced and produces beautiful, deep color. The reds are especially vivid.

Sharpness is more than enough: comparable to primes. Bokeh is super smooth. Subject isolation is something amazing. Didn't found any scenario where OOF zones were harsh.

I was about to buy the 135L and with the spare money I could have had the 35L too. But I'm glad I didn't! Never shot anything longer than 85mm on a crop body until now, and I gotta say, it's kinda hard. If you are moving a lot, kneeling, standing, walking fast, your hands get shaky with the faster heartbeats. IS is a great help at weddings and photoshoots!

In my experience, weddings and photoshoots are events in wich people are either posing (and therefore, they can cooperate with you, and usually, can hold a pose still enough) or are unaware of you, and you're trying to get candid shots (you have to wait for the golden moment and usually it's not fast action) In those scenarios, 4 stop IS beats the 1 stop advantage, big time.

About the white color, I don't care about it being attention-grabbing. I am proud to own such a fine lens, I don't mind anyone to see it. Stealth photography is not my thing, thou. If it was,the lens color and size might have been a concern.


Nov 10, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add wanderinglens to your Buddy List  
shaunknee
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 2, 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
Review Date: Nov 10, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, contrast & colour
Cons:
High introductory price

This lens is so sharp at 2.8 it causes pixel-peeping overload. I was always disappointed with the first IS version wide open at 200mm. Isn’t this the reason we buy a 2.8 over a 4 ? Indoor sports & events.
Weight difference between first & second version is not noticeable but the hood improvement is. The zoom ring feel was another annoyance in the first version as it always felt gritty. I did find other posts complaining of the same thing. The zoom ring feel on the new lens is as it should be. The IS on the new version has the same start-up jump and “un-pinning” noise but definitely smooths shake a little better.
It cost me $1000 to upgrade. No regrets, other then my 85L purchase a couple of years ago as the 70-200 2.8 II resolves like a prime.
They got this lens right


Nov 10, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add shaunknee to your Buddy List  
Chris Walker
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 29, 2007
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 30, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Splendid bokeh, fast autofocus, sharp wide open at 2.8
Cons:
None. The price is worth for what you get.

Currently it's the shapest zoom from Canon you can get. The difference to the first version is amazing. Canon put a lot of improvements into this lens.

The versatility of this superb lens has nearly no limits.

Have a look at this sample pictures: http://photo-walker.ch/index.php?option=com_phocagallery&view=category&id=8%3Aef-70-200mm-f28-l-is-ii&Itemid=160&lang=de

All 7 pictures are taken at f/2.8 and you can download the original pictures size of 16 Megapixel (EOS 1D Mark IV). I tooked it RAW and converted them with Capture One Pro to JPG. I did not sharpen the images!
The quality of this lens is visible on the details of the cat's tongue in the picture IMG_8227, if you zoom it to 100%.

If you can't afford it, save your money until you can afford it. You will defenitely not regret your decision.





Oct 30, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Chris Walker to your Buddy List  
Ody1
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 28, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 50
Review Date: Oct 14, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,299.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp images and great colors
Cons:
Pocketbook still hurts

I traded two non-IS versions (2.8 and 4.0) of this lens to upgrade to this version. I'm extremely pleased with my results so far. Fabulous upgrade for me and highly recommended (if you're willing to afford it).

Oct 14, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Ody1 to your Buddy List  
Delpartal
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 3, 2010
Location: Spain
Posts: 1
Review Date: Oct 8, 2010 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Cuanto más lo utilizo más me gusta.
Cons:
Peso y precio.

Bueno, veo con placer que sigue siendo el zoom más popular de Canon, creo que lo es con todo merecimiento, ahora en combinación con la Canon 1D Mk IV me tiene muy gratamente sorprendido son una pareja maravillosa, aqui una muestra:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/arojo/5061071823/

Saludos a todos y los que estéis pensando, que es caro, en absoluto, vale más de lo que cuesta.


Oct 8, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Delpartal to your Buddy List  
311erin
Online
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 26, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 158
Review Date: Oct 8, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Razor sharp, crazy clean contrast
Cons:

Unbelievable. Get it. The best Canon lens I have ever used. I also own 24 TSE II, 50 1.2, 85 1.2. I could list negatives about those three lenses but not a single word about this one, I was beyond impressed when I received mine.

Oct 8, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add 311erin to your Buddy List  
flowtation
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 4, 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 3
Review Date: Oct 2, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: crazy sharp
Cons:
weight, but hey.

i traded in my 135L for this baby, so that should say something.
i use it for video too.

a test shot;

http://www.flickr.com/photos/flowtation/4912883307/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/flowtation/4974292179/


Oct 2, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add flowtation to your Buddy List  
willis
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 23, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 472
Review Date: Sep 24, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp and contrasty edge to edge at all apertures and FLs, excellent IS, Fast AF, nice bokeh, great bulid, hood's a little nicer.
Cons:
Expensive (though price is falling a little), weight.

No question this is a superb lens. 70-200 f2.8 has been a staple lens for many for a very long time and this is an all round upgrade which most improtantly is bitingly sharp wide open.
I don't own it and am not sure I will because I value lightness a lot. I have become a fast prime and f4 zoom kind of shooter. Having said that if it suited my requirements I've no doubt it's the best available and really enjoyed trying it out. It provides what the f4 IS provides but at f2.8 and without the slight softness at MFD. Highly recommended.


Sep 24, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add willis to your Buddy List  
B Culbertson
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 6, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 16
Review Date: Sep 14, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharper, faster focus, better color rendition than predecessor.
Cons:
Can still accidentally turn off AF and/or IS while handling the lens (although lower profile switches than b/4)

The mark II is a huge improvement over an already good lens. I heard great reviews but was blown away by the sharpness wide open at every focal length. I haven't used it on a full frame body, but it is sharp to the corners on H and C sensors. Low light focus hit rates (even using a 50D) were much improved. It was hard to get an OOF shot until I accidentally switch off AF. This is a great lens that is worth saving your pennies to purchase. Suprisingly it even took quite sharp shots with a 2x extender and focused FAST.

Sep 14, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add B Culbertson to your Buddy List  
Rav13
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 30, 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 201
Review Date: Sep 13, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharpness, colours, AF speed, no CA
Cons:
Weight

I've got a selection of 'L' lenses (16-35L, 24-70L, 70-200 2.8L IS, 35L, 85L MK II, 135L) this lens is awesome! its fast, sharp and IQ is amazing!

This is one lens that has to be in a photographers bag, its like a sniper and the images it produces are a lot better the the mk 1 version. I have to do very little PP, the price is crazy high, but its a must have for sure.

If you have it in your bag, you can use it as a weapon too! Smile


Sep 13, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Rav13 to your Buddy List  
photosbyjay
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 12, 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Sep 12, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: beautiful creamy bokeh, razor sharp at all apertures, excellent flare control, zero purple fringing
Cons:
none

I upgraded from the mark I a few weeks ago to this lens.

Here's a recent wedding I shot using it - you should be able to recognise the photos that were made using this lens. http://blog.photosbyjay.com.au/2010/09/tim-and-lindas-wedding-vaucluse-house-tearooms/

- Much creamier, smoother bokeh than the original - almost looks like an f/2 prime. everything has a dreamy look to it with sharpness exactly where you want it. it certainly has a signature look that i have not seen with any other lenses.

- sharp all through the frame, even wide open and at all focal lengths. very impressive. i'm a pixel peeper and was wowed even when viewing at 100%.

- very accurate skin tones - almost no post processing done to the images in the wedding above

- a lot more keepers - the extra stops of IS definitely make a difference especially in fast moving situations (weddings) where you may not have time to stabilise yourself in favour of catching a moment

- the shorter minimum focusing distance of 20cm may not seem like much but it makes a world of difference when shooting in tight spots

- the improved flare resistance is a god send - the wedding above was in mid-afternoon sun with lots of light bouncing around and i still ended up with contrasty, crisp images with flare only when i wanted it (such as the one of the bride walking up the aisle)

It's definitely a lens that will stay in my bag for a long time.


Sep 12, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add photosbyjay to your Buddy List  
jcmedeiros
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jun 30, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 760
Review Date: Sep 1, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,299.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, great color and contrast
Cons:
cost

I've owned numerous EF zoom lenses and this one is easily the best. My EF 70-200 f/2.8L IS was a phenomenal lens and I was skeptical when I heard the preliminary glowing reports on its successor. Well, everything everyone has been raving about is true. This lens rivals primes throughout its focal range. Add to this the improved IS, fast as lightning focusing and a much appreciated new hood lock design and you have the new benchmark standard for telephoto zooms.

Meet the new boss: the EF 70-200 f/2.8L IS II.


Sep 1, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add jcmedeiros to your Buddy List  
malla1962
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 25, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2
Review Date: Aug 30, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast Focus, very sharp @f2.8, new hood,Updated Stabilizer and handles converters like a dream.
Cons:
None at all.

This is the best zoom I have ever had and I have had a lot over the years, in fact all the canon 70-200's.This lens is extremely sharp wide open, focus is lightning fast and the 4 stop stabilizer is near silent.
I have been using it with a 2X and the results shocked me as the images wide open with the 2X are superb.Focus slows down a lot with the 2X if going from the MFD to infinity but if you are somewhere near its fast.


Aug 30, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add malla1962 to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
110 140644 Jan 26, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $2,374.81
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.94
8.73
9.9
ef70-200lisiiu_586x225


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7  next