about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
97 152489 Nov 12, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $956.55
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.33
8.70
9.6
ef10028lmisu_586x225

Specifications:
Canon's newest "L" series lens is its first mid-telephoto macro lens to include Canon's sophisticated Image Stabilization. With the highest quality optics available, combined with near-silent Ultrasonic focusing and life-size close-up capabilities without an adapter, the EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM is simply unrivalled.

This is the first lens on the market to incorporate Canon's new Hybrid Image Stabilization Technology. Hybrid IS effectively compensates for both angular and shift camera shake during close-up shooting. The lens was developed to expand users' photographing range and allow a wider range of users to easily enjoy macro photography.

* Focal Length & Maximum Aperture: 100mm 1:2.8
*Lens Construction: 15 elements in 12 groups
*Diagonal Angle of View: 23.4°
*Focus Adjustment: Inner focusing system with USM. *Full-time manual focus available.
*Closest Focusing Distance: 0.99 ft./0.3m (maximum close-up magnification: 1x)
*Filter Size: 67mm
*Max. Diameter x Length, Weight: 3.1 x 4.8 in./77.7 x 123mm, 22.0 oz./625g


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7  next
          
aestiva
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 17, 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: Nov 12, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Razorblade sharp, bokeh, fast AF for a macro, image stabilizer
Cons:
non

Amazing lens! I use this as a macro, close up and portrait lens!
Just figure out which of the three macro stands you have to use and it's almost fast enough for everything. Even sport. Only the closest focus range is slow. All macro pictures on http://facebook.com/totaalfotografie are made with this amazing lens.


Nov 12, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add aestiva to your Buddy List  
Klipsi
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 27, 2011
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 4
Review Date: Jul 12, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp. macro. bokeh.
Cons:

nice lens for macro video... and if used on an EOS 600D ( T3i ) cou can zoom in even more ( crop zoom ) , resulting in huge magnification with great play of focus .
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=07eAA488t80

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wsYr1MvzRnc


Jul 12, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Klipsi to your Buddy List  
bsteels
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 19, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1382
Review Date: Mar 15, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super Sharp, Fast USM Autofocus with range selection optimized for macro, Hybrid IS, creamy Bokeh, includes hood
Cons:
needs Macrolite adapter for ring/twin flash, cost, no tripod mount

Bought this lens to replace the 100 2.8 USM macro, that I've had for many years. It is very similar in terms of optical characteristics (i.e. fantastic), but the Hybrid IS and USM AF optimized for macro work blew me away when I finally decided to upgrade to the 100L. IMHO essential for anyone who does hand held macro work. I give this lens top marks.

Mar 15, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add bsteels to your Buddy List  
caMARYnon
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 29, 2013
Location: Romania
Posts: 16
Review Date: Nov 18, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Impressive IQ, excellent IS, very acurate AF
Cons:
almost nothing

Nothing new to add. 10 for IQ and 9 for build quality.

Nov 18, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add caMARYnon to your Buddy List  
israeljruiz
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Apr 12, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 344
Review Date: Apr 28, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light weight, easy to handle and super sharp!
Cons:
None

I'm just gotten into macro and I love this lens!!!!!!!!

- sharp
- price is fair
- weight ( not bad ) I carry 500 around all day...
- very low post production work

Get it you'll love it!

Tempted to try sigma, changed my mind. Glad I did!
It's one of my fav. Lens!


Apr 28, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add israeljruiz to your Buddy List  
rbussmann
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 11, 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Apr 23, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image quality, sharp, color rendition, tough build
Cons:
None I can find

Best macro I have used in 25 years botanical exploration. Goes on every expedition. Color rendition and overall sharpness are excellent. Plastic construction makes it pretty light, but lens is still incredibly tough. Fast af makes it useful for non-macro work.

Apr 23, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add rbussmann to your Buddy List  
rater
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 26, 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 22
Review Date: Apr 19, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, good IS, versatile: not just a macro lens.
Cons:
Build materials does not feel L grade

Let's start with the bad news: for being an L lens its build quality feels a bit plastic. Having said that, the optics are great, sharp, IS works fine and price is not absurdly high compared with other L lenses.

Nice thing about this lens is that the front element does not rotate or extend, all focusing happens internally. The manual focus ring also is big enough and smooth.


Apr 19, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add rater to your Buddy List  
Gunzorro
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Aug 27, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 6839
Review Date: Sep 26, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: A near-perfect lens. Amazing package: incredible IQ, macro, smooth AF, great IS.
Cons:
Bulky and overly large lens hood.

A must own lens for anyone looking for top image quality in a medium telephoto. Good for all sorts of subjects, not just macro.

Sep 26, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Gunzorro to your Buddy List  
nelvayut
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 26, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 104
Review Date: Aug 29, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IS, fast auto focus, nice bokeh, sharp
Cons:
the hood is too long, heavy compare with sigma



Aug 29, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add nelvayut to your Buddy List  
Delpartal
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 3, 2010
Location: Spain
Posts: 1
Review Date: Jul 28, 2012 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

He tenido, todas las versiones, incluida la no USM, sin duda, esta es la mejor, pues si bien no supera al anterior en nitidez, su IS, es de lo mejor que ha hecho Canon en IS.

Con la Canon 1DX se comporta muy bien y es capaz de hacer cosas como estas:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/arojo/7666447782/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/arojo/7603605898/in/photostream
http://www.flickr.com/photos/arojo/7518943450/in/photostream
http://www.flickr.com/photos/arojo/7513564516/in/photostream

Saludos a todos.

I've had, all versions, including non-USM, no doubt, this is the best, for while the former does not exceed in sharpness, the IS, is the best that Canon has IS.

With the Canon 1DX behaves very well and is able to do things how are you:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/arojo/7666447782/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/arojo/7603605898/in/photostream
http://www.flickr.com/photos/arojo/7518943450/in/photostream
http://www.flickr.com/photos/arojo/7513564516/in/photostream

Greetings to all.





Jul 28, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Delpartal to your Buddy List  
Hulot
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 21, 2012
Location: N/A
Posts: 210
Review Date: Mar 8, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: superb IQ, boke, IS, price
Cons:
short focus throw, plastic feel (build quality)

With a longer focus throw this lens would be even more useful for those who like to fine tune their pictures

Mar 8, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Hulot to your Buddy List  
sehdata
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 22, 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 20, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IQ- Speed - IS
Cons:
Non

I bought this lens after owning the pre version 100 2.8 USM - and also the 50 2.5 the EF-S 60 2.8 and the 180 mm Macro
I was happy with the old one but man what a different in the new IS version - before i should always use flash but the integration of IS in this model makes is possible to handheld the camera go produce useful pictures of both macro and street photo - its also a very good lens for portraits - because go this quality i sold my EF-S 60 - my 180 Macro my 200L and my 135L - :-) i always use the 100 IS - its just phenomenal


Feb 20, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add sehdata to your Buddy List  
annoh
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 15, 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 15, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very good sharpnes Very low distortion, CA and vignetting Equal image sharpnes over the entire image Nice bokeh Effective image stabilization at normal distances
Cons:
Sensitive to backlight Limited effectiveness of image stabilization in the closer area High purchase price

I use this lens on a 5D MK 2 and on a 600D. This report is based on the combo lens + 5D MK2.

The Canon 100 mm IS Macro performs very well on almost all points. The resolution is very high and things like distortion, vignetting and CA are very low. In addition, important in macro photography, the bokeh is very nice. The lens is very solid and the AF works fast. The image stabilization is effective but not in the nearby area. Only in terms of sensitivity to backlight, the Canon performs only moderately.
Mu complete review:
http://www.camerastuffreview.com/en/component/content/article/12-objectieven/103-laatste


Feb 15, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add annoh to your Buddy List  
Alanu
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 8, 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 578
Review Date: Feb 15, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Incredible colour rendition. Contrast and sharpness is on par with the new 70-200 f/2.8IS mk2. Bokeh on this lens is exceptionally creamy for multi purpose macro and portrait lens. UV filters are extremely cheap to buy due to small size.
Cons:
For a red ring lens it has a plastic like feel. Depending on the focus range settings on the lens you may possibly see some hunting in AF.

Easy decision to choose between L vs Non L 100mm macro. For my particular application hand holding the lens was a must. The price difference between the two lenses was well justified since I can use 1/15 shutter speed with the 100L due to hybrid IS.

For the reasonable price of this lens you can get stunning results.

The weight of this lens is very light so its a nice addition to my Thinktank lens bag on my spider holster.

I can walk around with a 5dmk2, 16-35Lmk2 and 100L and cover decent ground from UWA, normal perspective, portrait and macro.

Very happy with this purchase.



Feb 15, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Alanu to your Buddy List  
evannuil
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 15, 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: Sep 16, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: IS, build quality and sharpness
Cons:
Only the price, but still worth it.

I had the older model at first and that is still a great lens. But because a lot of my photo's are typical macro's I really liked the IS and the fact that it's weather sealed.

The image quality of this lens is amazing, great sharpness and beautiful bokeh and the colors are faithful.

See here a set of example shots, including portraits and non macro's: http://nuil.eu/49 (Flickr)


Sep 16, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add evannuil to your Buddy List  
mspringfield
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 1, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 781
Review Date: Sep 12, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $840.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Extremely sharp Quick AF 1:1 Macro IS really helps with handheld macro shots Excellent build quality Pleasing bokeh makes it a good lens for portraits
Cons:
Pricey.. Not sure it is really 2x as good as the non-IS version.

I picked this one up lightly used. The IS really helps with handheld macros. The AF is quick and accurate. I am really impressed by the sharpness, especially on a full frame camera. I have borrowed a friend's non-IS version and this one is slightly sharper but I am not sure that it is enough shaper to warrant a $440.00 premium. If you can justify the price it is a great lens if not then look to the non-IS version.

Sep 12, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mspringfield to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
97 152489 Nov 12, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $956.55
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.33
8.70
9.6
ef10028lmisu_586x225


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7  next