about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
96 150950 Jul 12, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $956.55
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.33
8.69
9.6
ef10028lmisu_586x225

Specifications:
Canon's newest "L" series lens is its first mid-telephoto macro lens to include Canon's sophisticated Image Stabilization. With the highest quality optics available, combined with near-silent Ultrasonic focusing and life-size close-up capabilities without an adapter, the EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM is simply unrivalled.

This is the first lens on the market to incorporate Canon's new Hybrid Image Stabilization Technology. Hybrid IS effectively compensates for both angular and shift camera shake during close-up shooting. The lens was developed to expand users' photographing range and allow a wider range of users to easily enjoy macro photography.

* Focal Length & Maximum Aperture: 100mm 1:2.8
*Lens Construction: 15 elements in 12 groups
*Diagonal Angle of View: 23.4°
*Focus Adjustment: Inner focusing system with USM. *Full-time manual focus available.
*Closest Focusing Distance: 0.99 ft./0.3m (maximum close-up magnification: 1x)
*Filter Size: 67mm
*Max. Diameter x Length, Weight: 3.1 x 4.8 in./77.7 x 123mm, 22.0 oz./625g


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 
          
widyhs
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 29, 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 45
Review Date: Oct 28, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,049.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: IS, Sharp pics, Great bokeh from compression at the focal length, nice for portrait shots, lightweight.
Cons:
Slow focusing speed relative to non macro lenses, excessive use of plastics feel cheap, rather expensive for IS and L ring.

I waited almost 4 weeks before getting my first L prime lens. The focal length makes it great for taking portraits outdoor. I like how it focuses much faster than a sigma 150 macro that I traded this one for. The build quality is too plasticky for my taste considering this is a $1000 lens. Canon should make it look and feel expensive. Without the red ring, it could well have been mistaken as a non L lens. That said, the weight is a welcome change from 24-70 that I normally have on my lens. I have yet to try the lens with tubes but I think it will help with the mediocre focal length for serious insect photography. Noticeably sharper pictures than zoom lenses is expected from a prime lens and in this regard the macro 100mm doesnt disappoint. With nighttime shooting, the IS compensates for the shake coming from my unsteady hands, a welcome change from non IS lenses. If you are looking for a decent medium focal length lens with ability to shoot macro and IS, then the 100mm Macro L2.8 will not disappoint. If, on the other hand you already have a non IS macro 100mm and shoot mostly on tripod, you'd be better off saving the money for something else as this lens has essentially the same bokeh, sharpness as the non IS with the addition of stabiliser and red ring.

Oct 28, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add widyhs to your Buddy List  
mahonet
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 30, 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 28, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: excellent resolution even wide open, fast af, good colours, excellent bokeh, new IS.
Cons:
expensive compared to non IS -model

Excellent macro and portrait lens because of itīs bokeh quality. The lens is exceptionally sharp even wide open, which with new IS is a very good combination.
I prefer the colours and especially the fast auto-focus compared to non is version. I think I will sell my 135L IS, because this lens is in my opinion as good but with IS. I have tried almost all possible 100mm macros and this is a keeper!


Oct 28, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mahonet to your Buddy List  
GeraldTew
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 27, 2009
Location: Singapore
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 27, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $965.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Lightweight, Sharp, Focuses VERY fast, good at both macro and general photography
Cons:
Plastic build, very un-"L".

This is one excellent lens. I was deliberating buying the 135 f/2 when I saw this lens. Tested both on the spot and the IQ was brilliant for both, but the Macro, Hybrid IS and lightweight won me over. This lens is a permanent feature on my 5D MkII now. Absolutely brilliant. I think the reviewers who had bad experiences merely picked up bad copies of the lens. Go change it! It is BRILLIANT!

Oct 27, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add GeraldTew to your Buddy List  
sunpole
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 3, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 320
Review Date: Oct 27, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $960.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Focus is fast and silent, good color and contrast, tack sharp. sharp enough for any purpose of photography. Mighty 4-stop hybrid IS, every useful for portrait and macro works. Build feels solid and light material. Price is just about right.
Cons:



Oct 27, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add sunpole to your Buddy List  
victoriae
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 13, 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 26, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Almost silent AF and IS, Fast AF for a macro, Razor sharp, IS makes possible sharp hand held shots, Dust and weather proofing. Very nice backgound blur.
Cons:
Don't like the hood and no Mount ring

The lens i have been waiting for. I have found this lens superb to use and razor sharp with none of the problems other reviewers have had, maybe there is a bad batch out there?
IS, makes for great hand held shots. Insects don't exactly hang around waiting for you to set your tripod up so this has to be for me the best macro i have ever used.
Don't use AI focus for hand held shots as it will hunt (sorry if i'm stating the obvious).
Price is not cheap but is also not over expensive.
Think this is going to be one of my most used lenses.


Oct 26, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add victoriae to your Buddy List  
Jman13
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: May 1, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 10690
Review Date: Oct 26, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,049.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Exceedingly sharp at all apertures, beautiful color and contrast response, good smooth bokeh, sharp both at macro distances and infinity, extremely fast AF for a macro lens, and with the focus limiter, very fast for any lens, weathersealed, solid build, outstanding IS.
Cons:
Doesn't include the tripod collar.

I have owned 43 lenses at one point or another in my life, including three macro lenses. The 100 f/2.8L IS Macro might be the sharpest lens I have ever used. At the very least, I have never used a lens sharper. The 135L and Zeiss 50/1.7 Planar may have been just as sharp, but none have been sharper. This lens is just razor sharp, at all focus distances, and all apertures. Ok...I should have a caveat...only the center 85% is that sharp from f/2.8...it takes till about f/5.6 for the corners to get super tack sharp, but they are still plenty sharp at f/2.8 for most any size print.

Color and contrast are wonderful, and the lens suffers no contrast loss wide open. The build is solid and weathersealed, though the plastic shell may leave people wanting for those good old days of solid metal lenses (with their extra weight).

Autofocus is extremely fast for a macro lens. Now, if you're going from 1:1 to infinity, no it's not fast, but flip that focus limiter to 0.5-infinity, and it's every bit as fast as my 100 f/2 and very nearly as fast as the 135L. Remember that 0.5m is much closer than any other non-macro lens in this range can focus, so you're really not limited with that switch set when not shooting macro. I have found autofocus to be extremely accurate as well. The only down side to the AF is that servo with non-cross type focus points in dim light will cause the lens to hunt...but that's pretty extreme lighting.

At macro distances, it performs like most any other macro lens: very well. At non-macro distances, it's as good as the very best primes in this range.

The image stabilizer works very well. With good hand held technique, I get pixel level sharp shots at about 1/13 sec most of the time, and have gotten over half my shots at 1/8 sec sharp. I have even, with bracing against a surface handheld, gotten a sharp shot at 1/2 sec. The IS works well at macro distances too, allowing handheld shots at between 1:1 and 1:2 magnification around 1/50-1/60s, which is very good for those magnifications (I usually need a minimum of 1/250-1/400s for those magnifications without IS).

I have to think the negative reviews here had bad copies of the lens, as I can't think of any possible reason to give this lens any sort of a negative score...it's a gem in every way imaginable.


Oct 26, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Jman13 to your Buddy List  
wencules
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 26, 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 26, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Extermly shapr, Easy to carry all the day, AF is quick and reliable even for non macro pictures, Bokeh,
Cons:
Hood is to big, IS has no panning mode

After reading the first news, I was actualy expesting price over 1000Eur.
Tripod collar is not included, but you know this before you buy this lens (as well as the filter size).
IS is perfect for common shooting, in macro distances you will need times over 1/200sec even vith IS on.
Lack of panning mode results in suden moves in movie mode (for video turn the IS off).
The IQ is wonderfull! On my 5DmkII this is the sharpest lens I've used. This is perhaps not a lens I will use on my 450 to much. Croop sensor cut off a lot of quality.
Feels not as solid as most of L lenses, but its nice to have such a easy to carry around lens.


Oct 26, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add wencules to your Buddy List  
jonbrach
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Dec 22, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 896
Review Date: Oct 25, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,049.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp,quick AF,terrific IS,better build quality
Cons:
price

this is a terrific lens...tack sharp with very quick focus and fantastic IS..it is a bit pricey but for me the iS makes all the difference in the world.

Oct 25, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jonbrach to your Buddy List  
BradleyGibson
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 28, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 46
Review Date: Oct 25, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,050.00

 
Pros: Nice build quality, IS, weather-sealing, reasonable weight
Cons:
For a macro, AF speed is quick, but not as fast as Canon's fastest (that should not be a surprise to anyone)

A razor sharp lens. Incredibly flat field, just about aberration-free! Beautiful, smooth bokeh. One of the best of Canon's offerings.

Doesn't snap into focus like, say the 300/2.8 IS, but as a macro lens the helical has much further to travel. That being said, as a macro, I still consider it a quick focuser, at least on par with 135/2's AF, for example.

I'm not sure whether the Hybrid IS makes it more effective than Canon's previous generation 4-stop IS, but the IS is very effective. Tack-sharp handheld macro photography makes for a more spontaneous and free-flowing creative shoot.

Highly recommended!
-Brad


Oct 25, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add BradleyGibson to your Buddy List  
JTS0719
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 13, 2009
Location: China
Posts: 40
Review Date: Oct 24, 2009 Recommend? no | Price paid: $1,029.00 | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Better built than the non IS version
Cons:
not as sharp as the non-IS version

I either have a bad copy or it's not nearly as sharp as the non-IS version. I'm sending it back to the store and will try and get a replacement.

Oct 24, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add JTS0719 to your Buddy List  
antonyyip
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 7, 2005
Location: China
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 23, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $840.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, as light as old non-IS version, well built (including the hood), 4-stop IS, slient and fast USM
Cons:
None

I owned non-IS 100 marco before buying this lens. The difference I have to pay for this lens is around $440. But what extra I can get includes "L" lens optical quality (sharp!), new hybrid IS fuction, more slient and faster auto focus, and better build of lens and hood.

Oct 23, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add antonyyip to your Buddy List  
Mr.Jsph
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 22, 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 23, 2009 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: sealed.
Cons:
Size of filters, no tripod ring, AF doesn't works perfect, IS is not usable with insects in movement, you need a tripod, no buld as others L series lens, cromatic aberrations.



Oct 23, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Mr.Jsph to your Buddy List  
Deniss
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 22, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 22, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,020.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: L series, weatherproofing.
Cons:
Plastic, no tripod ring, IS not operative in movement situations, Cromatic Aberrations perceptible much as earlier 100mm. Not so excellent as I was expecting



Oct 22, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Deniss to your Buddy List  
anorphirith
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 13, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1117
Review Date: Oct 22, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,050.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent build quality, Hybrid IS very effective, bokeh is just fantastic, razor sharp, lightweight, very silent focus and IS
Cons:
a little pricey, limited for insects but perfect for flowers, it is not possible to remove the lens cap while the hood is on

My first Macro lens, I always wanted to option to shoot close, and I learned that this lens can be used for many more purposes, portraits indoor/low light shots, the hybrid IS is a BIG difference from the regular IS
the image couldn't be sharper
very good lens, I recommend it to anyone as a 100mm lens AND a s a macro lens


Oct 22, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add anorphirith to your Buddy List  
jojomon11
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Sep 6, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 7376
Review Date: Oct 22, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,049.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Light, fast-focus, IS, High quality plastic, Quiet
Cons:
Price, No tripod ring

Good performer, in terms of IQ the very same as the 100 2.8 version. Handhold ability is very good in good lighting. Build quality although mostly a plastic body, the feel and quality is very good. A light weight lens with excellent results. This is a great lens for people who don't use a tripod, although it can be used with a tripod like I use also.

Oct 22, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add jojomon11 to your Buddy List  
B Culbertson
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 6, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 16
Review Date: Oct 21, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,049.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, faster focus than earlier model, Excellent Image Stabilization, f/2.8
Cons:
None

I have used both the second generation Canon 100mm macro (non-IS) and the Canon 180mm macro. This lens is a great performer. The only thing I miss is the reach of the 180 when shooting insects. But the new generation IS significantly helps with handheld macro and makes this a great lens for close portrait. It is clearly sharper than my 70-200 f/2.8 IS and focuses almost as fast (when you use the focus limiter to remove macro focus). It is also quite light (very similar to the 100mm non-IS) but well built. I realize that it is pricey but the ability to use the lens for more than macro sealed the deal for me.

Oct 21, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add B Culbertson to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
96 150950 Jul 12, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $956.55
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.33
8.69
9.6
ef10028lmisu_586x225


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6