about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
96 151008 Jul 12, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $956.55
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.33
8.69
9.6
ef10028lmisu_586x225

Specifications:
Canon's newest "L" series lens is its first mid-telephoto macro lens to include Canon's sophisticated Image Stabilization. With the highest quality optics available, combined with near-silent Ultrasonic focusing and life-size close-up capabilities without an adapter, the EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM is simply unrivalled.

This is the first lens on the market to incorporate Canon's new Hybrid Image Stabilization Technology. Hybrid IS effectively compensates for both angular and shift camera shake during close-up shooting. The lens was developed to expand users' photographing range and allow a wider range of users to easily enjoy macro photography.

* Focal Length & Maximum Aperture: 100mm 1:2.8
*Lens Construction: 15 elements in 12 groups
*Diagonal Angle of View: 23.4
*Focus Adjustment: Inner focusing system with USM. *Full-time manual focus available.
*Closest Focusing Distance: 0.99 ft./0.3m (maximum close-up magnification: 1x)
*Filter Size: 67mm
*Max. Diameter x Length, Weight: 3.1 x 4.8 in./77.7 x 123mm, 22.0 oz./625g


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6  next
      
winnipeg40d
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 3, 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 31
Review Date: Jul 9, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $955.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very sharp, Hybrid IS
Cons:
None



Jul 9, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add winnipeg40d to your Buddy List  
tororo
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 26, 2010
Location: Japan
Posts: 31
Review Date: Jun 2, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Tack sharp even at wide open, smooth bokeh, hybrid IS
Cons:
None

Really sharp already at wide open and bokeh is very pleasing smooth. It's fantastic for landscape photography, let alone for macro photography. Hybrid IS is very useful too. Highly recommended for all Canon users!

A few examples:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/ippei-janine/5730458266/in/set-72157626709556810
http://www.flickr.com/photos/ippei-janine/5564021359/in/set-72157626426796528


Jun 2, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add tororo to your Buddy List  
shroud72
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 11, 2011
Location: Spain
Posts: 79
Review Date: May 11, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Ive had this lens for a week and already I have noticed a huge improvement in colors and sharpness compared to my other Canon lenses. My flickr set is here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/glenn_shoemake/sets/72157626661434002/with/5708058738/ My photos require no post processing, the color is natural and the most I have to do is crop the photo on my 450d/XSi.
Cons:
I was originally put off on the cost but after owning it and seeing the results it is actually worth every penny paid.

Well worth the money paid as it feels like I have a new camera. Handheld macros are a reality and my friends do not believe that I have taken the photos.
The best upgrade that I have made since I have purchased my DSLR, even though this lens has cost more then my original DSLR purchase.
Color rendition and sharpness are absolutely fantastic.


May 11, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add shroud72 to your Buddy List  
nadandnad
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 5, 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 0
Review Date: Apr 7, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Tack sharp, light, New IS technology
Cons:
The hood is too long

This is an incredible glass, mounted on 7D. I found the hood is too long! it does not leave enough room, I remove it sometimes. This lens is inspirational - I would say, it opens new horizons.
very happy for this purchase. Highly recommended.


Apr 7, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add nadandnad to your Buddy List  
Alan Jones
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 24, 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2
Review Date: Mar 18, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: very Sharp, Great contrast and colour ,lightweight ,IS
Cons:
very expensive !!

Hi All
I recently purchased the 100mm L macro and the new 70-300L ..from the moment i saw the first downloaded pics i knew something wasn't quite right with the 100mmm Macro as the 70-300L at 100mm outperformed the macro lens at its min focus distance the 70-300L was stunningly sharp !! so after futher testing i returned the 100mm macro as it was very slightly soft .The second 100mm macro turned up a week ago... i now have the chrisp sharpness i was expecting a stunning lens.. out of 6 L lens i have bought this was the first bad copy ive had (tested on a 50D and 5d2 same results on both AF or MF) both these lens exhibit very similar images ,both stunningly sharp with great contrast and colour,
if you like the images from the 100mm L macro you will love the images from the new 70-300 F4-5.6 L they are the same all the way to 300mm and wide open too ..go buy it !!


Mar 18, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Alan Jones to your Buddy List  
agnesleung
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 12, 2010
Location: China
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 16, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharpness, color, contrast, AF, size & weight, built, IS, serves as macro and tele, price.
Cons:
Image quality in the tele range is not as wonderful as in the macro range.

This is a wonderful lens! The color, sharpness, bokeh and contrast is at least on par with my other L primes (35L and 200 f2.8L)!

The IS of this lens is REALLY useful, I can shoot macro in most situations (sunny and cloudy, except dim light) with good results, without using a flash or a tripod.

It rocks when you use it to shoot macro movies, especially on windy days. With the full shooting range (from macro to 100 tele) it works almost like a zoom! You can get really decent portraits and landscapes from this lens, too! It serves really well as an all-rounded lens. The built is solid, the size is small and the weight is light!

Highly recommended.

My photo album shooting with this lens:
http://agnesleung.com/tag/canon-100mm-f2-8l-macro/


Mar 16, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add agnesleung to your Buddy List  
ruffaandmike
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 16, 2011
Location: Philippines
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 16, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very sharp @f2.8! Superb image stabilizer, nice colors and bokeh and yeah it focus very fast.
Cons:
none

This is my sharpest lens! Im very satisfied on what I paid for.
It produced very nice colors even wide open.
Focus is fast enough to shoot portraits and small things.


Mar 16, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add ruffaandmike to your Buddy List  
gazzajagman
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 26, 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 172
Review Date: Mar 6, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: The IS System really works and is nearly silent too. Quick AF (fastest macro AF so far) and the IQ is just superb!
Cons:
A little pricey compared to the older non - IS version....but that's a pretty old lens now. It's a shame that the tripos collar isn't the usual 70-200/f4 unit.

Many reviews cite this lens as "sharp as the old version". I beg to differ, my copy is a lot sharper wide open than my non IS version. After 10 mins of using, my 2nd Potographer ran out and bought one...it's THAT good.

Hand held macro is now possible in good light...although tripodding for bugs is still neccessary. I use it for Ring shots at weddings and it's fantastic in this capacity.

It shares the same filter size as the 70-200/f4 IS L and my only gripe is that the tripod collar isn't the same...it's yet another design and isn't included in the price.


Mar 6, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add gazzajagman to your Buddy List  
Johnny Bravo
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: May 2, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 8869
Review Date: Mar 4, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $650.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Very sharp--the IS takes this lens to a new level. VERY usable in the field. Light, very fast focusing.
Cons:
No tripod collar

I've owned the Tamron 90, the Canon 180 and the MPE 65:

They've all been bought and sold, I expect this one to stay in the bag. It's utility, for those of us who are serious photographers but not macro specialists, wins this a place in the bag.

Amazing handheld macros--super easy to use--just put it on, get close and fire away. Life is good.

Makes a very nice portrait lens too!


Mar 4, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Johnny Bravo to your Buddy List  
mmari
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 20, 2008
Location: Singapore
Posts: 21
Review Date: Feb 24, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: very good optics, lightning fast af compared to non-L, nice built, good use of poly carbonate plastic body to lessen the weight
Cons:
tripod collar not included (what where you thinking canon? its an L lens!), IS less effective as it approaches 1:1, not working well with TCs compared to non-L

very satisfied with it. check my gallery > http://www.flickr.com/photos/engrmariano/sets/72157624932084653/

Feb 24, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mmari to your Buddy List  
sym5
Online
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 1, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Review Date: Feb 20, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: sharp; contrasty; nice colors; lovely bokeh; amazing 4-stop IS as advertised; solid build (the plastic is plenty sturdy and reduces weight)
Cons:
a bit long for its weight, so the balance feels a bit odd; a bit pricey

My current favorite lens. It's fun to shoot with, focuses fast enough to pull double duty as a macro/portrait lens, and produces beautiful images. The sharpness isn't quite as striking as, say, the 60/2.8 EF-S or the 135L, but it's still one of the sharpest lenses I've used, and is in fact probably better as a casual portrait lens because of it. Highly recommended!

Feb 20, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add sym5 to your Buddy List  
nadandnad
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 5, 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 21, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

Pros:
Cons:

Surprisingly, I have got a bad copy, Soft.
From the first few shots with my 7D I have realized instantly that it is not what is supposed to be. Tried to figure the focusing issue with fine focusing adjustments (available in the 7D), my old non-IS one outperformed the new comer.
returned it back the next day. I have noticed when it came that it was not originally sealed, I guess it was returned back before for the same reason. canon quality control for the Ls should be more strict. The same problem of bad copies in their 24-70 L.
I gave no rate, until I get the real thing.


Jan 21, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add nadandnad to your Buddy List  
gpchase
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Jan 3, 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 791
Review Date: Jan 17, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Only had this lens for a few days now. It replaces my old 100mm F2.8 and from what I've seen the images are very nice..IS will be appreciated.
Cons:
I had to replace the lens hood as mine mounted loose, a tripod mount would have been nice for macro work and time will tell if the new plastic body is a plus/minus or incidental. Cost is also on the high side I'd say

Here is a recent file as my daughter tripped in the house..very quick point and shoot and unfortunately cropped off the top of her head..

http://gpchase.zenfolio.com/img/s1/v20/p162059370-6.jpg


Jan 17, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add gpchase to your Buddy List  
phototroll
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 31, 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: Dec 31, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Good price for the quality (price dropped to 659 euros). Silent, fast focus. IS = effective to avoid blurred pictures. But also makes it easier to frame your picture. With non IS you spend energy to compensate (too much?) movements seen through the viewfinder
Cons:
Plastic. Probably no problem and the future for all lenses. But I just love the tough of my Contax Zeiss Planar f/1.4 50 mm. But this 100 mm is 10x better then my Sigma EX 500 mm macro. But my Sigma has a hood with a filter thread on the front to mount a 77 mm lenscap. Very smart. Canon your lenscaps sucks! Replaced all of them with $3 center pinch caps from Ebay. Will buy a neoprene lenshood to put over the hood. Tripod ring price is extremely overpriced. Will buy a JJC R-3 ring from Ebay for $11. Canon original is 145 euros! Perhaps goldplated under the black paint.



Dec 31, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add phototroll to your Buddy List  
MAC
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 10, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 1002
Review Date: Dec 26, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $884.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: -very sharp @ f2.8 and sharpest in the world at f5 -100 mm length on full frame for candid shooting inside to go along with your 50 mm --4 stop IS lets you shoot down to ss 1/8 on FF --minimum focus distance of just over 1 foot --faster to focus than the old macro --build quality really good --bokeh very good --macro to boot --$884 a value considering the IS and the sharpness
Cons:
None

The most fun lens ever on 5d

minimum focus distance just over 1 foot, very good bokeh, sharp as a tack from f2.8 up, and sharpest in the world at f5 across the frame; 4stop IS for portrait shooting without flash and 1-2 stops for macro shooting. Works great on FF with the 50 mm as the combo lens. F2.8 on FF blurs the backdrop nicely. This lens is my favorite all time fun lens for my 5d


Dec 26, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add MAC to your Buddy List  
Doug Vann
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 18, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 50
Review Date: Oct 22, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,179.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Quality, sharp images, good for macro and profile shots. IS is nice feature as well.
Cons:
A little pricey but you get what you pay for.

I have not had the chance to use it very much yet. However the few pictures I have taken made the price worthwhile. Too bad I waited until after all the insects etc were gone for the season before buying.....

Oct 22, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Doug Vann to your Buddy List  




Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
96 151008 Jul 12, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $956.55
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.33
8.69
9.6
ef10028lmisu_586x225


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6  next