about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR DX -Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
11 40103 Aug 1, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
82% of reviewers $250.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
6.80
8.78
7.4
pic_001-1

Specifications:
* DX-format, high-power 5.8x zoom lens with focal length ranging from 18 to 105mm
* Broad picture angle range approximates the perspective of a 27-157.5mm lens on a 35mm-format film camera or Nikon FX-format digital SLR
* Covers diverse shooting situations from wide-angle landscapes and interiors to portraiture and medium-range sports
* Vibration Reduction assures sharper handheld pictures while shooting at shutter speeds up to three stops slower than would otherwise be possible
* Built-in Silent Wave Motor delivers quiet, swift autofocus with superior accuracy
* High-performance optical system featuring an ED glass element and an aspherical lens element realizes superior image reproduction capability
* The rounded 7-blade diaphragm opening renders out-of-focus elements more naturally
* Leather texture matches Nikon digital SLR’s body high-quality exterior design


 


          
oldshutterhand
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 24, 2012
Location: Hungary
Posts: 0
Review Date: Aug 1, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp, good range, Vr, light, nice colours, price
Cons:
plastic mount, distortion at wide end, brightness


This lens is not bad for the price. The range is very good and with a Nikon d5200 body the autofocus is surprisingly quick. Recommended as a travel lens, or for beginners. With some post processing can make very nice images.

See my review at more detail at:
http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/nikon-18-105mm-vr-review/


Aug 1, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add oldshutterhand to your Buddy List  
coferg
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Jan 28, 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 118
Review Date: Feb 22, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $250.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Convenient range, has VR, reasonably sharp mid aperatures with good contrast. Inexpensive. Lightweight.
Cons:
Lacks the manual focus override (MA). Plastic mount, plastic feel, plastic look, etc.

Mine is a Nikon refurb. I use this as my walk around lens on my d7000. It covers 80% of my casual shooting. I have successfully enlarged to 20x30. Although it is a plastic kits lens, it performs well for casual photography. I know some get nervous about the plastic mount, but they have been around for many years and appear to work well for the designated amateur audience. I get decent focus speeds and color rendition and contrast are all good on my copy. I am very satisfied for what it is, an inexpensive zoom with a convenient range and decent optics, but I don't push it, if I need something for early morning landscapes or I'm at absolute max/min zoom, I'll select a different lens for the shot.

Feb 22, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add coferg to your Buddy List  
EOS20
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 6, 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 13601
Review Date: Dec 28, 2011 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Cheap, good zoom range, VR.
Cons:
Plastic mount, soft, vignetting, CA, barrel distortion, slow focus in low light.

Got this lens as a part of a D7000 kit since I couldn't buy a body only.

The lens was very soft, had allot of barrel distortion and vignetting. The build quality was ok for a kit lens. The lens hood supplied wasn't that great and is comparable to a cheap knock off hood you find on ebay and it is tight to fit and remove.

VR works well, but the focus is slow and tends to hunt in low light.

Overall, I can't really recommend this lens based on the copy I owned, If I was going for a kit lens, I would choose the 18-55 VR instead which is a smaller and sharper lens. The 16-85 VR is a much better lens if you need a good walkabout lens for your DX camera.



Dec 28, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add EOS20 to your Buddy List  
piotrek636
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 10, 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 10, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $200.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: sharp, VR
Cons:
bad CA's, plastic, cheap quality

VR is the only real bonus of this lens. Perfect walkaround lens. Sharper than 18-70. However the plastic build, cheap SWM motor from 18-55 kit lens, and quite bad CA's made me get rid of it. It's a good lens for most average users on D90 (which corrects some of the CA's). This is a new Nikon Kit lens, nothing else.

Feb 10, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add piotrek636 to your Buddy List  
hackmann
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 19, 2010
Location: Brazil
Posts: 1
Review Date: Oct 19, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Impressive Image Quality at 70mm f5.6, vr effective and silent, walkaround lens
Cons:
Some chromatic aberration at wide agle, focus hunt at dark (need flash led to focus), too much vignete at 105mm

This is the best affordable walk around lens.

Only problem I found it tends to give too much cool
temperature shots, some chromatic aberration at wide agle and too much vignete at 105mm.

Despite that is a impressive lens, 80% of my shots i use this lens, even having some expensive ones. Very good for portraits.

Check some awsome shots i had with this at my webpage:

http://carloshackmann.smugmug.com/Landscapes/Landscapes/14214801_Xvmfw#1050422248_WCZ6v
http://carloshackmann.smugmug.com/Landscapes/Landscapes/14214801_Xvmfw#1050421209_Zz5MR
http://carloshackmann.smugmug.com/Landscapes/Landscapes/14214801_Xvmfw#1050401443_MQ7yN
http://carloshackmann.smugmug.com/Landscapes/Landscapes/14214801_Xvmfw#1050399814_VU2Dy


Oct 19, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add hackmann to your Buddy List  
Distract
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 15, 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Aug 15, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp, range, price
Cons:
Distortion @18-25mm

Great kit lens. Way better than anything I "received" with a camera in the past.

Aug 15, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Distract to your Buddy List  
byteseller
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jun 18, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 1837
Review Date: Jan 19, 2010 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Sharp, compact, spot on focus, quick and quiet AF.
Cons:
A bit more vignette that I would like at the tele end (for stitched panos).

Easily the best kit lens I've used (Nikon or Canon) including much more "expensive) ones (Canon 18-55mm IS or not, 28-135mm IS, 17-55mm f2.8 IS or Nikon 18-55mm VR, 18-70mm, 18-200mm VR, etc)

Jan 19, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add byteseller to your Buddy List  
byteseller
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jun 18, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 1837
Review Date: Jan 19, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, compact, spot on focus, quick and quiet AF.
Cons:
A bit more vignette that I would like at the tele end (for stitched panos).

Easily the best kit lens I've used (Nikon or Canon) including much more "expensive) ones (Canon 18-55mm IS or not, 28-135mm IS, 17-55mm f2.8 IS or Nikon 18-55mm VR, 18-70mm, 18-200mm VR, etc)

Jan 19, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add byteseller to your Buddy List  
labradford
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 16, 2009
Location: Turkey
Posts: 10
Review Date: Nov 8, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: The best kitl lens arround. Zoom range. CA control
Cons:
Slow in the dark.

Comparing 18-105 with 18-135 the main difference is CA control. The d90 kit controls those sunset killer CA very well. One of the best walkarround lens.

Nov 8, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add labradford to your Buddy List  
spentomuch
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 3, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 525
Review Date: Oct 31, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp,sharp, good price ,lite,VR, 18-105 what a great range.
Cons:
distortion on the wide end

I have 2 of these and love 'um. Try one out against the 18-135 none VR in the store, this lens is faster to focus and sharper too.
Very sharp with some distortion on the wide end, can be fixed in post.
I've moved on to faster and much more expensive glass but my wife still uses it at weddings because she loves the range that this lens gives, with very good results

Get this kit lens with a D90 and let the fun begin


Oct 31, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add spentomuch to your Buddy List  
aradilon
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 21, 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 21, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Versatility, price, vr and af-s.
Cons:
Distortion at 18mm.

I got this in a kit with my D90, and though i thaught i was gonna hate it (cuz of the reviews) i absolutly love it, u can get very wide to farely close.
The vr works great and the af-s focus is handy to also front element doesn't move so u can use all filters u want.
Only thing i don't love is the distortion it is alot more prominent in this one than in the 18-55mm that i used before.


Oct 21, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add aradilon to your Buddy List  

   



Nikon 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR DX -Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
11 40103 Aug 1, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
82% of reviewers $250.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
6.80
8.78
7.4
pic_001-1