about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon 35mm f/1.8G AF-S DX Micro-Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
23 46723 Jan 10, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $197.25
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.55
9.36
9.4
pic_001

Specifications:
* DX-format, normal single-focal-length lens with 35mm focal length (picture angle is equivalent to a focal length of 52.5mm in FX and 35mm formats)
* Large maximum aperture of f/1.8
* Silent Wave Motor (SWM) ensures smooth AF operation
* High-performance optical system with aspherical lens delivers superior reproduction capability
* Compact, well-balanced design when attached to small SLRs
* Two focus modes available M/A (manual-priority autofocus) and M (manual focus)
* Metal mount
* Natural blur effect thanks to seven-blade rounded diaphragm


 


Page:  1 · 2  next
      
oldshutterhand
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 24, 2012
Location: Hungary
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 10, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: I would say for this lens in Nikon system as a "Must have" if you have a budget for it and like to shoot low light and indoors. Would be happy if Canon can offer something similar. Very sharp even wide open. 35mm f1.8 Dx I don't think is a micro
Cons:
Build quality not up to pro standards, but for this price no complain

This is a very useful lens with its brightness and optical quality. The 35mm is much more useful on Dx format than the 50mm according to my liking.
Highly recommended !

See in more detail at:
http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/nikon-35-1-8/
http://oldshutterhand.com/nikon-lenses/


Jan 10, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add oldshutterhand to your Buddy List  
williamkazak
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 8, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 6324
Review Date: Nov 23, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $200.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Nice focal length on crop body. Handles flare situations well.
Cons:
More distortion than Nikon 35mm F2D. This lens "hunts" the AF too much.

I tried liking this lens but I had the 35mm F2 AFD which I liked better for less distortion and less hunting in AF. This lens handles flare better but it "hunts' more in AF. Toss up!

Nov 23, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add williamkazak to your Buddy List  
paparazzinick
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 8, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 7393
Review Date: Nov 12, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $175.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: super light, tack sharp, cheap
Cons:
build quality sucks.

I got this lens when I shot FF and used it on a D700 even though it is not recommended to. If you like the natural vignette look, then this less will be a winner for you. It is tack sharp and one of my most used lenses. I shoot weddings in Pittsburgh and this lens has captured some of the best images I have ever taken. Check out some images on my site. There are a lot taken with this lens. http://nbombichstudios.com

Nov 12, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add paparazzinick to your Buddy List  
Nozzleforward
Offline



Registered: Jun 15, 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 785
Review Date: Jul 21, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $170.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Fast, silent, small, light weight, bang on perfect focus and colors every time.
Cons:
None whatsoever

*** Please note that the lens shown in the picture on this page is not the lens being reviewed ***

This lens is, without question, the best lens I've ever owned. It was inexpensive, fast, light, consistent, provided great image quality and the colors were always bang on.

If you shoot a DX Nikon, go buy one of these lenses. It's a fantastic deal and you'll love it.


Jul 21, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Nozzleforward to your Buddy List  
seagrove01
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 16, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 119
Review Date: Aug 16, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $200.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: small, lighweight, sharp, fast
Cons:
none for me

I have been using this lens for a little while now and have been more than pleased with its performance and capability. While others may find some outer edge loss in sharpness or chromatic aberration, all I see is an image that works for me. I care very little about what test charts say and prefer to use it in the field to see if it works for me. This one is a nice attachment to my "vintage" D2H bodies and it has become my low light lens of choice for the street.

Aug 16, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add seagrove01 to your Buddy List  
engedy
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 25, 2006
Location: N/A
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 16, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Small and light, sharp, big aperture, useful FoV on a DX Nikon DSLR, fast decent AF-S focusing. PRICE!
Cons:
No distance scale.

As mentioned above for its pros and cons. Travelled once with this lens and I've managed to get high IQ shots in RAW mode (D80). Also good for postprocessing and crop whatever is unwanted and still keep a nice sharp and good IQ photo.

But you can see right away it is a low budget lens because Nikon left it without the distance scale on the barrel. Maybe go the the FX version, the 35/2 AF-D.


Feb 16, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add engedy to your Buddy List  
piotrek636
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 10, 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 10, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $280.00 | Rating: 7 

Pros: sharp, sharp
Cons:
not wide enough, very bad CA's

This really is a great lens. It is sharp wide open and it very, very sharp stopped down a little. I ended up returning mine (after 3 tries) because the 35mm is really useless on a DX crop format. Its not wide enough for landscapes, and not zoomed enough for zoom in macro style photography either. Great indoors as most of the time 35mm will be enough for snapshots. Aside the zoom range my biggest complain was the CA's. Get ready for purple/green highlights around all shiny objects and drastic changes of contrast. It is overpriced for what it is. I cant justify almost $300 with tax for that lens. For half the price the 50mm 1.8 is a much better value, more useful and no CA's !

Feb 10, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add piotrek636 to your Buddy List  
Bjorns
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 30, 2011
Location: Iceland
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 31, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $200.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Lightweight, large f-stop, great focal length, good build quality
Cons:
Soft at its widest aperture (1.8), hood that comes with it not that great

This is an excellent lens and for the price i think one of the best if not the best DX lens for nikon. The focal length is great and it has a large f-stop, also the build quality is good.

Here are some samples:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/isbjorn/5157667797/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/isbjorn/4890356383/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/isbjorn/4808989192/


Jan 31, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Bjorns to your Buddy List  
Marsellus W
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 12, 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 0
Review Date: Nov 28, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: - One of the sharpest lenses I've ever used - Easily sharper than all DX kit lenses - Sharp wide open - Quiet focusing, nothing moves or extends - Good build quality - Affordable
Cons:
- Depending on aperture and focusing distance, occasionally harsh bokeh - Focuses slower than I expected

See above. A must-have lens for DX. One of the sharpest lenses I've used. 'nuff said.

It even works quite well on FX; only the extreme corners remain dark. A full-height square crop is easily possible.


Nov 28, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Marsellus W to your Buddy List  
sethny
Offline
[ X ]

Registered: Sep 6, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 361
Review Date: Oct 18, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: sharpness wide open. AF is accurate (fast enough but not the fastest)
Cons:
if "feels" a bit longer than 35mm

at 1.8 (wide open) is sharp. By 5.6 is first class, up there within the best. I have the feeling that since the lens is cheap still doesn't get the due respect. If the cost was in the $400-500 range then maybe this gem could get better reviews (dpreview included)

in other words if we take other primes and compare none will perform better (with the only exception of the 1.4 , maybe)

Dunno what the expectations are but this lens does everything a prime used to do, only better than everything I saw in the Nikon mount so far .

better than 50 1.8D, 50 1.4D, 35 f/2, 24 and 28 2.8D.

on DX the hood is useless, better to use the hood of the 55-200 first version (fits perfectly and gives more protection)




Oct 18, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add sethny to your Buddy List  
Doug Weasner
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 24, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 221
Review Date: Sep 27, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: IQ and AF of this lens are stellar for the price, it performs like a ~$500 lens. 52mm filters enhance the value proposition.
Cons:
At this price? Are you kidding?

Better, more consistent results than Sigma 30 1.4 DC (I have both, Nikkor's biggest advantage is vastly superior consistency in focusing).

I'm happy with this lens shooting at f2.0 on both a D40 and D90.

Has less aperture than Sigma 30 1.4, but is lighter and smaller. Aperture advantage on the Sigma is a misnomer, as the Sigma doesn't deliver usable contrast & sharpness until about f2.0 anyway.

I was ok with the Sigma 30 1.4, but this lens makes it look like a waste of $375. I will likely sell the Sigma.

This lens, along with the 85mm DX Micro, 18-55 II, and 55-200VR give me a kit that covers most photo situations with 52mm filters for under $1000. Bravo! Nikon, please make me a DX 16mm f2.8 and a DX 70mm f1.8 with this kind of value, and I will be pleased as punch.


Sep 27, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Doug Weasner to your Buddy List  
light and dark
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 18, 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 0
Review Date: Aug 19, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $200.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: IQ, value, size, weight
Cons:
Focus ring not really meant to be used...

I purchased this lense on the occasion of the birth of my son to get some newborn close-ups. IQ is phenomenal - I have been using the AF-S 17-55 f/2.8 DX for two years but wanted more speed than 2.8 and this little miracle really matches it IQ-wise. 90% of my images are taken wide open at 1.8 - sharpness, colour and contrast are astounding. Before buying, I compared it to the new AF-S 50 f/1.4 G but it couldn't hold a candle to the 35mm.

By now I find my 17-55 remaining on the shelf most of the time...


Aug 19, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add light and dark to your Buddy List  
Distract
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 15, 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Aug 15, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $200.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Sharp, price
Cons:
small focus ring, DX



Aug 15, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Distract to your Buddy List  
mrmagic9799
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 27, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Review Date: Jun 27, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $199.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Very Very Sharp....(did I mention sharp) fast.
Cons:
Vignetting but I do use it on an FX camera so I just crop it out.

This makes for a great walk around lens especially at Wedding Receptions.

Jun 27, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add mrmagic9799 to your Buddy List  
byteseller
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jun 18, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 1861
Review Date: May 20, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $199.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: SHARP, very, very sharp, great color saturation and contrast, AF-S, good close up capabilities, light and compact
Cons:
Won't work as full frame on my eventual FX body

Not sure who moderates or manages this section here at FM, but the photo shown for this lens here is wrong. The image shows a Nikkor 60mm f2.8 AF-S Micro, not the 35mm f2.8.

May 20, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add byteseller to your Buddy List  
fsiagian
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: May 23, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 1819
Review Date: Jan 14, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $195.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: IQ, dreamy pictures, contrasty, light, fast 1.8, price so affordable
Cons:
none

Superb lens at amazing price. Get it and have fun.

Jan 14, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add fsiagian to your Buddy List  




Nikon 35mm f/1.8G AF-S DX Micro-Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
23 46723 Jan 10, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $197.25
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.55
9.36
9.4
pic_001


Page:  1 · 2  next