about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
116 248749 May 8, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
97% of reviewers $3,728.32
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.93
9.17
10.0
ef300mmf_28_1_

Specifications:
Telephoto lens newly equipped with an Image Stabilizer enabling hand-held shooting for easier movement. The fluorite element and two UD-glass elements effectively correct the chromatic aberrations prone to occur with telephoto lenses. With the EOS-1v and EOS-3, the AF speed becomes the world’s fastest. To reduce the overall weight and enhance portability, the lens barrel and many other exterior parts use magnesium-alloy. Also, the detachable tripod collar revolves smoothly and locks securely.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 
          
Chris Anderson
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Dec 23, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 841
Review Date: May 4, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,899.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: What can I say, its my favorite lens!!
Cons:
Nothing yet!



May 4, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Chris Anderson to your Buddy List  
Ben Horne
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jan 9, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 11710
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Fast, Solid
Cons:
Mounting collar could move smoother

Of all the lenses I own, the 300mm f/2.8 is likely my favorite. It's very fast, sharp, and light enough to hand hold (though I would not want to do so for an extended period of time). It works very well with the 1.4x converter (420mm f/4) and works ok with the 2x converter (600mm f/5.6) so long as the subject is very large in the frame.

This lens is very sharp through the aperture range, though I do notice a slight drop in contrast wide open. The amazing thing is that the loss of contrast clears up with 1/3 of a stop! At f/3.2, it has nearly the same sharpness as at f/8. When using teleconverters, I would recommend stopping down 2/3 to 1 full stop for maximum sharpness.

This is a great lens for both outdoor and indoor sports. I use it to shoot basketball and tennis without any teleconverters, and I add the 1.4x or the 2x for baseball.

With regard to the size --- it's a big lens, but it's not huge by any means. When the hood is removed or reversed, it will fit in just about any reasonable camera bag.

I highly recommend this lens --- if you are shooting sports, this is a must-have lens.
lens.


Mar 30, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews View gallery Visit Homepage Add Ben Horne to your Buddy List  
GrizzlyMike
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 23, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 403
Review Date: Mar 29, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,950.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpnesss, Beautiful color rendition and contrast
Cons:
None

The sharpest lens in Canons lineup?(or the 200 1.8 perhaps?). Very very sharp. With a digital camera that has a 1.4x FOV and combined with the use of the 1.4x and 2x extenders this lens is all you will really need for wildlife work(accept for birders perhaps).

The contrast and color rendition is superb and wide open this lens produces very smooth and finely textured backrgound blur(bokeh I guess its called).It is expensive but worth every penny.


Mar 29, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add GrizzlyMike to your Buddy List  
rebel300
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 30, 2001
Location: United States
Posts: 13833
Review Date: Mar 29, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,990.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super sharp
Cons:
DOF difficult to manage

Beautiful color and exceptional detail. You can use the 1.4 TC with it and the detail loss is minimal. Incredible background blur can be achieved with this lens. All in all a superior lens. A monopod is advised as it is heavy.
I rate this lens at 4.7 on a 5 scale
LM


Mar 29, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews View gallery Add rebel300 to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
116 248749 May 8, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
97% of reviewers $3,728.32
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.93
9.17
10.0
ef300mmf_28_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8