about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon 10-24mm f/3.5-4.5G ED AF-S DX -Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 29940 Nov 4, 2011
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $833.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.25
7.00
8.5
pic_001-2

Specifications:
* DX-format, ultra wide-angle 2.4x zoom lens with focal length ranging from 10 to 24mm (picture angle is equivalent to a focal length of 15 to 36mm in FX- and 35mm formats)
* Newly developed optical system features two ED glass and three aspherical lens elements
* Superior reproduction capability, with the distortion that is common with ultra wide-angle lenses dramatically reduced
* Silent Wave Motor (SWM) ensures smooth, quiet AF operation
* Two focus modes available M/A (manual-priority autofocus) and M (manual focus)
* Seven-blade rounded diaphragm for natural blur effects
* Internal focusing (IF) system means the lens barrel length does not change during focusing


 


      
DavidWEGS
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 15, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 3799
Review Date: Nov 4, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $700.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Range, usefulness for Architectural photography on a crop body. The focus is dead on (rare for this type of lens IMO).
Cons:
CA, distortion (although I don't care too much as it's easily correctable).

Good little lens for its purpose. I have used it with a D7k for interiors and if you stay away from flare points and shoot with a little care, the CA is not too bad (manageable with software corrections).

The range is great and is reminiscent of when I shot Canon with the 16-35. About as sharp too.

Wish it was a little more robust for the price.


Nov 4, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add DavidWEGS to your Buddy List  
OCphotography
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 23, 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 284
Review Date: Aug 9, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

Pros: Build quality
Cons:
Too much chromatic aberration, a bit too expensive compared to other alternativers.

Overall a good lens. Works fine, however i found the chromatic aberration way too much. Price is a bit too high compared to other alternatives.

Would i recommend it? Yes, if you are a DX user and want 15mm wide angle, this is a good choice. Just be aware of chromatic aberration, which tends to show. If you can find a used copy, then i wouldnt hesitate.

If you plan on going for FX in near future, save up for the 14-24mm instead.


Aug 9, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add OCphotography to your Buddy List  
ryankarr
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Sep 25, 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1014
Review Date: Mar 30, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: -Wide -Nice walk around range. -Sharp -Easily fixed distortion -Wide
Cons:
-A little slow -Barrel extends while zooming

I purchased this lens when it first came out and never looked back. Great lens, nice and sharp, pretty uniform distortion and very wide on DX.

I struggled choosing between this lens and the Tokina 11-16mm 2.8 and it all came down to speed vs focal range. I find it very useful to be able to go all the way to 24mm, and frequently only bring this lens when heading out with my camera because of it.

I don't pixel peep, but the IQ has always looked great to me.

As a side note, it also works on full frame or film from about 15mm onwards.


Mar 30, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ryankarr to your Buddy List  
subidiom
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Nov 24, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 169
Review Date: Nov 24, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $899.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Very sharp across the focal-length range when moderately stopped down. Absolutely stellar performance between f/8-11 at all focal lengths. Small and light and takes 77mm filters. Best in class DX performance for an ultra-wide zoom.
Cons:
Expensive. Variable aperature. A little softer wide-open (but not bad).

The lens balances nicely on the D300 at just over a pound. The zoom ring is a little stiff yet smooth, but I like it that way. The build quality is very similar to the Nikon 16-85mm which is to say very good, but is definitely at the high end of the prosumer range vs. professional.

At 15mm, the front element is fully recessed and extends out about 1/8" zoomed to 10mm and 1/4" when zoomed to 24mm.

The lens is nice and sharp with surprisingly little distortion, especially considering the focal length range. Very resistant to flare, even shooting into the sun.

An overall better performer than the Nikkor 12-24 f/4 in my opinion across the range, although I prefer the build quality of the 12-24. A nice upgrade from the Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 - which I have a lot of experience with better ergonomics and a much more solid feel and build quality.

While it's more expensive than similar options, it's the best thing going in this range for DX.


Nov 24, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add subidiom to your Buddy List  




Nikon 10-24mm f/3.5-4.5G ED AF-S DX -Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 29940 Nov 4, 2011
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $833.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.25
7.00
8.5
pic_001-2