about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon 60mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Micro-Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
9 30809 May 22, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $558.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.00
8.78
9.9
pic_001

Specifications:
# Nikonís exclusive Silent Wave Motor ensures fast, quiet autofocus operation
# Internal Focusing (IF) design allows faster, smoother autofocusing and eliminates changes in lens barrel length, for consistent handling
# Two aspherical elements virtually eliminate coma and other types of lens aberration, even at the widest aperture
# M/A mode allows rapid switching between autofocus and manual focusing
# ED (Extra-low Dispersion) glass element for superior sharpness and color correction by effectively minimizing chromatic aberration
# Nano Crystal Coat and high-performance Nikon Super Integrated Coating delivers superior color reproduction, while substantially reducing ghosting and flare
# Closest focus distance of approximately 0.185 m (0.6 ft.)
# Rounded nine-blade diaphragm opening makes out-of-focus objects appear more natural
# Accepts 62 mm filter attachments


 


       †††
PHPhotography
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 22, 2014
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: May 22, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $450.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very sharp at all apertures, fast accurate focusing
Cons:
You have to be very close to your subject to achieve 1:1

This is my favourite lens. Itís sharp, razor sharp, right across the frame (DX in my case) at all apertures. Iíve heard people say that it focuses slower than the Nikon 105mm macro lens but when I tried the two side by side in the shop before buying this lens I found that on a D7000 or D7100 the 60mm was far superior for focusing. The 105mm lens just wouldnít autofocus below 18Ē or so, I just hunted continuously. The 60mm lens focuses quickly and accurately from its closest distance right up to infinity.

The only thing I would say is that this isnít the lens for 1:1 insect photography because you have to get the front element of the lens within a couple of inches of the subject to get 1:1 magnification. Other than that though itís superb lens, one of Nikonís best and reasonably priced for what it delivers.


May 22, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add PHPhotography to your Buddy List  
Mark K
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 15, 2003
Location: China
Posts: 115
Review Date: Jul 15, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $879.99 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharp, fast focusing
Cons:
expensive

Disappointed by my 60/2.8D macro, my web surfing lead me to this newer version
It is very fast, as fast as Canon 100/2.8 L macro.
Sharpness and saturation are the best I can find


Jul 15, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Mark K to your Buddy List  
asamimasa
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 28, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 199
Review Date: Jan 24, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp at every distance and aperture (some macros in my experience aren't as good at infinity; e.g. the 60 2.8D). Focus speed on par (even better at times) with other AF-S G lenses Negligible aberrations
Cons:
Working distance a bit close; fine for product stuff, not great for anything that might retaliate
Jan 24, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add asamimasa to your Buddy List  
the dane
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 1, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 86
Review Date: Dec 18, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $425.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very nice colors out of this 60mm afs micro. Very fast auto focus. My copy is as sharp as my jointer knives.
Cons:
This is my first "Plastic Nikkor" Seems to built ok. But hard for me to get use to a plastic lens.

Having had the 55 mm ais micro i was a little concerned about this lens with all the plastic parts, but having shot with it for a week is seems to work very well.
This 60 mm afs is very fast in its focus ability even on my Nikon D40 camera. Absolutely spot on with auto focus and easy to focus manually, also spot on.
I purchased this lens, mainly for shooting Products and Furniture in the studio as I really like shooting with a 85-90 mm FOV lens for this application and this 60 mm on 1.5 crop gives me a 90 mm FOV.
And as another FM"er has stated the flair reduction etc, is much better because of the N coating while shooting with backlighting and ED glass gives just beautiful colors. But use the supplied hood.
I most always will shoot this lens on MF and on a Tripod because of the product shooting.
So I am really liking this lens and the only thing i would change would be to have Nikon put this same N coating, ED glass etc in a Metal AIS mount CPU chipped lens. Zeiss has done it ,Nikon are you listening ? But am I dreaming now.? And by the way I could have purchased the 50mm zeiss macro but the FOV was too short for me.
All in all I give it a 10, for colors and sharpness, with reservations, because of all the plastic.


Dec 18, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add the dane to your Buddy List  
e_dawg
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 14, 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 117
Review Date: Oct 21, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $550.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: sharpness, contrast, clarity, resistance to flare and ghosting, AF speed, bokeh
Cons:
almost none

The image quality from this lens is exceptional. Among the best lenses i've used. Right up there with the Olympus 14-35 and 35-100 f/2 zooms, the Sony Zeiss 85/1.4 and 135/1.8, and Nikon 24-70, and better than the other macros i've used (Tamron 90/2.8, Sony 50/2.8, Sigma 50/2.8, Olympus 35/3.5 and 50/2).

The sharpness, contrast, clarity, resistance to flare and ghosting, and bokeh are excellent across the board. You can use this lens at any aperture and any focus distance and you'll get great results.

One of the more compelling features of the lens is its flare and ghosting performance. Compared to the other macros i've used (Tamron 90/2.8, Sony 50/2.8, Sigma 50/2.8, Olympus 50/2), it is less susceptible to flare and ghosting when i use them in a bright light tent and the front element is awash in light bouncing off the white surfaces of the tent.

This last point is something that most lens tests and reviewers don't discuss in their reviews, but i think it's important since many people use macros in strong / bright lighting. Some people say that "Nano coating" is marketing fluff, but whether it's due to that or just good old fashioned lens design, it handles bright lighting conditions better than the average macro.


Oct 21, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add e_dawg to your Buddy List  
Kit Laughlin
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Mar 7, 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3529
Review Date: Jul 16, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $599.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Extremely sharp wide open. Excellent OOF quality. Useful normal lens on FX.
Cons:
None

This is the very sharpest Nikkor I own, on DX (and it is a perfect portrait lens on this format, being 90mm EFOV).

I own some of the other "sharpest Nikkors, too (see my profile) so you can bank on this assessment. A stunning lens.

I use this as a normal lens on FX, and shoot quite a bit of product work with it. I have had faster lenses around this focal length before but, frankly, with FX sensors working beautifully at ISO 6400, the fact that this lens is É2.8 is no drawback at all. And even for portraits on DX, I tend to use É2.8Ė4 anyway, so that there is an acceptable wedge of sharpness.


Jul 16, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Kit Laughlin to your Buddy List  
Kittyk
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 29, 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 4405
Review Date: Nov 3, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: better than anything on market, almost perfect
Cons:
wish it to be f2

i got the lens because i wanted replacement for my walkaround 55 micro i used in film days. Nikon really made something almost perfect here. The lens is awesome and gives 100% results at every setting. Focal lenght is awesome for walkaround and macro feature makes it versatile - you can shoot whatever you want at the time.
I wish it to be f2. I use af-s 50 1.4 as walkaround lens now and often finding limits where it can focus. If that lens would focus to at least 1:2 or this lens would be f2 or faster, i would scream happy.


Nov 3, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Kittyk to your Buddy List  
---XR---
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Oct 30, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1428
Review Date: Nov 3, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $480.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: sharp as a katana, small and versital, AF-S, the front element stays where it is unlike the most other macro's when focusing
Cons:
if there were any, i'd tell you.

The only reason i sold this lens was to go to a longer lens for insects photography, and honeslty as much as i like that lens, I don't think i've ever owned as Sharp or as good a general purpose lens as the AF-S 60m micro. this girl has a gorgeus bokeh, and could be used for portraits aswell as alot of macro work, bravo nikon!

Nov 3, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ---XR--- to your Buddy List  
Richard GT
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 18, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 145
Review Date: Nov 2, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $480.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp at f2.8, very nice bokeh, very fast AF, light weight, good build.
Cons:
At macro distance lens can be too close to subject.

The AFS 60 f/2.8 is a terrific lens that's great for closeup work and as a all around lens. I like using it for photographing running (playing) dogs and the auto focus for this purpose is great. Very very fast AF.
For flowers and other small things the lens is just about perfect giving sharp images with good contrast, color and a beautiful bokeh. You probablly do better with another lens for photographing bugs or other tiny and shy creatures as this lens will get too close to the subject and can interfere with lighting. That being said, this well built but light lens will not let you down. An excellent and versitle choice.


Nov 2, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Richard GT to your Buddy List  

†††



Nikon 60mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Micro-Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
9 30809 May 22, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $558.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.00
8.78
9.9
pic_001