about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EOS 1D Mark IV

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
41 71446 Oct 20, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
85% of reviewers $4,729.65
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
10.00
8.73
9.7
canon1dmarkiv

Specifications:
Offering a comprehensive combination of speed, accuracy and image quality, the EOS-1D Mark IV is the perfect choice for professional photographers and subjects on the move. With a completely redesigned 45-point AF system including 39 cross-type points, a new AI Servo II AF focus tracking system with improved algorithm combined with 10 fps continuous shooting, the EOS-1D Mark IV can handle even high-speed situations with ease. An APS-H sized 16.1 Megapixel CMOS Sensor, Dual DIGIC 4 Image Processors, a spectacular ISO range of 100 - 12800 (up to 102400 in H3 mode) with an advanced noise reduction system helps ensure sharp, low-noise images even in low-light situations. Add advanced Live View shooting, Full HD movie recording with selectable frame rates and manual exposure control plus a host of new features that enhance every facet of the shooting process. The EOS-1D Mark IV is the choice of professionals looking for the ultimate in SLR performance.


* New 45-point Area AF sensor including 39 cross-type AF points with f/2.8 support plus new AI Servo II AF with improved algorithm.

* ISO 100 - 12800 (expandable to L: 50, H1: 25600, H2: 51200, H3: 102400) for shooting from bright to dim light with low noise levels.

* EOS HD movie with manual exposure control and multiple frame rates (1080: 30p (29.97) / 24p (23.976) / 25p, 720: 60p (59.94) / 50p, 480: 60p (59.94) / 50p).
* 16.1 Megapixel APS-H CMOS sensor and Dual DIGIC 4 Image Processors for high image quality and speed.

* 10.0 fps continuous shooting up to 121 Large JPEGS or 28 RAW using a UDMA CF card.

* 3.0-inch ClearView II LCD monitor, 160° viewing angle, 920,000-dot VGA, reflection resistance with multi coating and high-transparency materials for bright and clear viewing.

* Magnesium alloy body with shutter durability up to 300,000 cycles and exclusive dust- and weather-resistance.

* Fully compatible with over 50 EF lenses and a wide range of EOS System accessories.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next
          
bobbyboy uk
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 9, 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 81
Review Date: Oct 20, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Built like a tank
Cons:

Bought one of these for airshows and things that require a lot of frames.

I paid £1200 for one that had a high shutter count, its still going strong with 340,000 actuations.

I have a 5D3 for landscapes, and love the 1D4 ,


Oct 20, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add bobbyboy uk to your Buddy List  
sivrajbm
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Mar 15, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 3316
Review Date: Sep 5, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build Quality, Speed of AF, Speed writing to cards, Rear LCD, Video (who knew I'd like it), 16mpx, Images straight from camera, High ISO...
Cons:
Vertical grip buttons seem to be actuate easier & are more sensitive. (could be my paws)

Okay totally in LOVE with this camera. I've been playing with these for a couple of months now and I am TOTALLY happy with my purchase. This camera is crazy GOOD. All the things I liked about the Mk3's plus Better rear LCD, more megapixels & video. I didn't think I cared about having video, now I use it (Who Knew) Smile. I think I may keep these for a while, at least until a used 1Dx becomes reasonably priced :D...

Sep 5, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add sivrajbm to your Buddy List  
gambinof
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 17, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 14
Review Date: Feb 9, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,500.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Fast focus, Well built, Weather Sealing
Cons:
Low light Focusing not very good. Color bias a bit warm for my taste.

Mixed feelings about this camera i have owned them all. I just could not get over the poor low light focusing. In good light a stellar camera. I don't mind the 1.3 senor, since on a shoot I always have a few full frames. The extra reach is nice. The file from the 1D Mark III are beautiful and superior files, but the camera has too many other issues corrected by the 1V. Just my 2 cents. All and all a top pro camera. Many of my portraits were taken with it. Here is one http://aperturephoto.com/main.php#!/wedding-portfolio/portrait-gallery/click-to-enter-gallery/13

Thanks everyone I love to read your posts. There are so many talented people here and learn so much from you all.


Feb 9, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add gambinof to your Buddy List  
jonbrach
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Dec 22, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 896
Review Date: Jun 12, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast,great IQ,great AF,great high ISO,build
Cons:
I would normally say price but I bought it used!

I currently own both the 1d4 and the 5D3...the combo is perfect for me.I owned the 1D3 earlier and liked it but was always a little concerned about the AF issues...with the 1D4 I am confident of AF in all situations and the high ISO performance is outstanding!The increase in MP is a positive as well...the 1D4 has all the attributes of the 1 series and is a great versatile tool for photographers needing to be able to shoot sports as well as portraits etc.....since this may well be the last 1.3 crop body canon makes I am glad I got one now....

Jun 12, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jonbrach to your Buddy List  
Tredders
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 4, 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 530
Review Date: Dec 11, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: High ISO performance More MP (over mk III) means better cropability Auto focus performance is astounding Easy-to-learn upgrade from 1D mk III
Cons:
Price, but hey, you get what you pay for

Upgraded my 1D mk III and bought this, and from day one, it's made me realise that this is the camera that I wanted the mk III to be. I shoot hockey and it's lightening fast, acquires focus lock in the blink of an eye, and tracks the subject for as long as you want. On my mk III, I'd shoot a series of 10 shots, and (maybe) 2 or 3 would be randomly out of focus. With the mk IV, all 10 are tack sharp. (And yes, my mk III had the sub mirror fix)

ISO performance is way better than the mk III, too. I comfortably shoot 2500 with no PP noise reduction in an arena where I'd begrudgingly go to 1600 on the mk III.

One other observation is the learning curve from the mk III is pretty much non-existent. I was anticipating all sorts of trial and error shoots until I was comfortable with the settings, but it's been pretty much perfect from day one for me.

At the moment (and until the 1DX hits the streets), it's the ultimate Canon sports camera.


Dec 11, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Tredders to your Buddy List  
x0SiN0x
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 10, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 81
Review Date: Dec 5, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The thing is built like a tank focuses fast and many many options for focusing which is great.
Cons:
price? you get what you pay for though so cant really complain too much there

excellent camera, the 1d series has spoiled me though just as the L lenses have so it will be hard to go back to the prosumer bodies.

Dec 5, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add x0SiN0x to your Buddy List  
slowdad
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 4, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 106
Review Date: Dec 5, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,999.70 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Built like a tank. Iso performance is insane. 6400 is so clean its not even funny. Af system does not miss. What can you say. we got it for ISO performance for our wedding business plus sports and birding that i like to do as a hobby. Cant wait to get a 100-400 on this thing. Best camera Ive used to date. Read reports about low light racking issues in servo at ISO 3200 and your down near 1/30. Have not had a chance to test this. I think canon is being foolish to stop production on this camera. I grabbed it now because i did not want to spend $7000.00 for the 1Dx. This one i got was a Canon CPS Refirb. Had a shutter count of 397 and was brand new damaged box return. Got it for $3999.70 so I'm way past ecstatic. I would not hesitate to get this camera if you are considering it. Best canon camera to date prior to 1Dx release.....Perfect camera
Cons:
NONE. Best camera canon has produced.



Dec 5, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add slowdad to your Buddy List  
dustnet
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 30, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 20
Review Date: Apr 27, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: jump from 10MP to 16MP, new screen (to judge detail immediately), and video.
Cons:
No change on weight, could do better in high ISO ?

For my last trip, Canon kindly provided a Canon 1D Mark IV. I was used to 1D Mark III so I can compare both cameras pretty easily and judge the gap between the bodies. Weather sealing is not a joke, trust me the Mark IV and I went trough hell in the tropical forest, 100% of humidity every day, the Mark IV has been dripping for hours ! However, every nights, the camera was sleeping in a weatherproof case with tons of silica gel.

Here are my takes on the main changes from the Mark III to Mark IV :
- Obvious but important, the gap from 10MP to 16. It may sounds like something not that important for some but for me it’s a big thing since I like big print (30 inches – 80cm – and above) for exhibition. I think it is a nice number of megapixel for an APS-H sensor size, it give f/9.1 as diffraction limited aperture, so basically, above f9.1, we’re “loosing pixels”.
- The screen (and the menu), like the one of the 5DII of 7D, is a joy to use. OK, this is not the most important thing in the world, but still, when you spend 20 days looking at a 3 inches screen, you want it to be good.
- I couldn’t really test the new AF system, since in the majority of the case with action I only used the center point in AI Servo, and it acted pretty well.
- Something I really like ? basically NO changes in the buttons positions, this is very important, especially when you pick up the camera 24 hours before starting your coverage (!).
- ISO sensibility is better but it didn’t blow my mind.
- Battery life is really good on 1D cameras, I could have made the entire coverage with only 4 batteries.

Things I would like to see in the next release :
- Please Canon don’t change the video command on each camera ! the way to record on a 5D II is different from the way you do it on a 7D and different from the way you do it with a 1D IV.
- Couldn’t we think about a new system to change AF mode ? I would like a very fast system with only one button, and also I would like this information to be in the viewfinder, instead of like the battery check or the JPEG icon…
- Something I would love ? a Nikon’s like system where you can change the sensor size on the go, like shooting at full frame at 25MP and then being able to shoot in the APS-H format at 16MP.
- 1.4kg (including the battery) is too much, not sure how to fix that though…
- Better integration of the video feature, for now it really looks like a last minute feature.
More video features, for a start I would like 1080/60p.

Check my blog and gallery for samples :
http://blog.emmanuelrondeau.com
http://photography.emmanuelrondeau.com

All the best,
Emmanuel.


Apr 27, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add dustnet to your Buddy List  
Johnny Bravo
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 2, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 8869
Review Date: Mar 26, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Low light/high iso performance on this camera is simply incredible. Speed, reliability, build quality--image quality! This body has it all.
Cons:
It's a bit heavy

I've used the Mark IV since it was introduced and recently returned from a 90 day venture into the jungles of Panama where I used the Mark IV almost exclusively.

Build: Built like a tank. My friend dropped his on the street and it bounced twice. And worked without a hitch after we were able to breathe again!

Performance: About as good as it gets.

Image Quality: My Mark III 's' model has slightly better dynamic range, and more pixels, but I hardly used it on my trip as the speed and low light performance of the Mark IV is just sooooo sweet.

Price: This body is worth every penny.

Video: Especially amazing in low light. Give it a try when it's so dark that stills are a challenge. You'll be amazed.

Conclusion: Beats the socks off every previous Canon body as a wildlife/action camera. For 'still life' the 's' and the 5D2 have the edge in image quality, but it's a slight edge.



Mar 26, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Johnny Bravo to your Buddy List  
tanikon58
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 2, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 679
Review Date: Mar 19, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast focus and accurate. Produces better pictures. Love the click sound.
Cons:
Heavy with 70-200

This body built like tank and heavy especially with 24-70 and 70-200. However, I feel more balance than with gripped 7d and 5d2. The 1D4 produces exceptional better pictures than 7D and 5D2. i owned 1D2n before but this one I like the most. I feel more confident with this body after taking and processing the pictures.

Mar 19, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add tanikon58 to your Buddy List  
Keith Flood
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 25, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 381
Review Date: Feb 15, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,699.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Image quality, auto focus, High ISO performance, battery life, build quality
Cons:
Movie mode cumbersome, easy to mess up customization if you don't fully understand the function you are a changing and how it affects the other custom functions.

I moved up from a 1D Mark II which has been a stellar camera for me but now after patiently waiting for Canon to straighten out the Mark III fiasco, I got the Mark IV. I've shot competitive swimming and AI servo focus at 10fps was spot on for 99% of the shots. Pretty much everything is much improved over the Mark II which at the time when it first came out was back ordered for months and was state of the art for quite some time. So far I am VERY pleased with the IV. I like the crop factor for wildlife and the speed for weddings. A 1Ds or 5D would make for a great pair of bodies for weddings.

Feb 15, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Keith Flood to your Buddy List  
pjbuehner
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jan 10, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 429
Review Date: Nov 25, 2010 Recommend? | Price paid: $4,999.00

 
Pros: beautiful IQ. NO loss of high ISO ability compared to the mark III. Much better AF than the mark III. tank-like build.
Cons:
very pricey. Auto ISO not really useful for me without exposure compensation.

The Mark IV is fantastic. I use it for 90% sports and the rest is freelance assignment work or wedding and portraiture. The interface is almost identical to the mark III so there was no learning curve.
The most useful and important upgrades for me are:

better high iso performance (2/3 stop IMO) despite a 50% increase in MP

orientation sensitive AF point. This is a huge plus for a sports shooter.

video and auto iso might be huge for some but not a factor for me.

beautiful images. I loved the mark III and the IV continues with beautiful files.

Excellent AF especially in comparison to the III. The custom functions are predictable where I didn't see such a difference with the mark III. Some hate the complicated AF of the IV. for me, once I figured it out...it gives me the ability to set the AF to do what I want in the style I want. You just need to buy into the idea that AF needs to be managed (versus the Nikon approach of good but not as customizable AF)

It has been worth the money to upgrade.


Nov 25, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add pjbuehner to your Buddy List  
John Daniel
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Jun 6, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1343
Review Date: Nov 18, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Focus, speed, IQ, adaptable, reliable, choises. The best camera i have used in 35 years
Cons:
Still some problem with focussing on moving white subjects, but that's a Canon problem; don't know about other brand.



Nov 18, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add John Daniel to your Buddy List  
willis
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 23, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 478
Review Date: Nov 11, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Resolution, Colour, AF, speed, build, fantastic overall image quality. A camera which can truly do it all.
Cons:
Price, slightly clumky video implementation. Not FF (but I'd only want FF if I could keep the same pixel density, IQ and frame rate so for me it's a worthwhile compromise and one I'm used to).

This has replaced my 1DIII and happily it is very similar ergonomically. It's a big step up in resolution and a sizeable improvement in the already excellent high iso performance. AF is even better and noticeably more usable straight out of the box but AF settings are even more complicated.
So far it does everything well, no real weak points. I'm not terribly interested in video but quality is very good. The implementation of video is less easy to access than on the 7D however. For me it hits a real sweet spot for resolution/reach and image quality. Yes 102000 ISO is only good for 6x4s (after NR) but that literally allows shooting in the dark and turns night into day.


Nov 11, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add willis to your Buddy List  
Delpartal
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 3, 2010
Location: Spain
Posts: 1
Review Date: Nov 2, 2010 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Extraordinaria herramienta, para cualquier tipo de creación fotográfica.
Cons:
Muy compleja, dominar al 100% esta cámara, viene a ser como hacer un doctorado ;-).

Se trata de una cámara excelente, parafraseando a un amigo (voicelab) si de lo que en este momento hay en el mercado, debería escoger una cámara para el resto de mi vida sería esta, es versátil y polivalente, cumpla a la perfección en todas las situaciones, os paso unos ejemplos de fotografía de paisajes en combinación con el Canon 70-200mm f2.8 L IS MkII:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/arojo/5140516218/

Se trata de una gran cámara, pero muy exigente en objetivos, su maridaje con el antes descrito es extraordinario.

Con respecto a su combinación con el Canon 14mm f2.8 MkII, tambien es impresionante, gracias al factor X1.3 hace perfecto a un objetivo ya muy bueno en FF, un ejemplo:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/arojo/5064353196/

Saludos a todos.


This is an excellent camera, to paraphrase a friend (voicelab) if what is currently on the market, you should choose a camera for the rest of my life would be this, is versatile and multi-purpose meeting to perfection in all situations, I spend a few examples of landscape photography in combination with Canon 70-200mm f2.8 L IS MkII:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/arojo/5140516218/

This is a great camera, but very demanding objectives, matching with that described above is remarkable.

With respect to its combination with the Canon 14mm f2.8 MkII, is also impressive X1.3 factor makes it perfect for an objective and very good in FF, an example:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/arojo/5064353196/

Greetings to everyone.


Nov 2, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Delpartal to your Buddy List  
Liquidstone
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 13, 2005
Location: Philippines
Posts: 1479
Review Date: Oct 7, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very fast and accurate AF, 10 fps, image quality, low noise, deep buffer
Cons:
I prefer the video UI of my 7D

I primarily shoot birds and the 1D4 is my BIF specialist.... amazing camera for action photography.

Here are some bird photos taken with the 1D4:
http://www.pbase.com/liquidstone/1d4_test

Romy Ocon


Oct 7, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Liquidstone to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EOS 1D Mark IV

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
41 71446 Oct 20, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
85% of reviewers $4,729.65
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
10.00
8.73
9.7
canon1dmarkiv


Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next