about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EOS 7D

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
77 110308 Oct 5, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
88% of reviewers $1,616.72
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.58
8.66
9.1
canon_eos_7_d

Specifications:
With a host of brand new features designed to enhance every facet of the photographic process, from still images to video, the new EOS 7D represents a whole new class of camera.

Made to be the tool of choice for serious photographers and semi-professionals, the EOS 7D features an all-new 18.0 Megapixel APS-C size CMOS sensor and Dual DIGIC 4 Image Processors, capturing tremendous images at up to ISO 12800 and speeds of up to 8 fps. The EOS 7D has a new all cross-type 19-point AF system with improved AI Servo II AF subject tracking and user-selectable AF area selection modes for sharp focus no matter the situation. The EOS 7D's Intelligent Viewfinder, an entirely newly-designed technology, provides 100% coverage and displays user-selected AF modes as well as a spot metering circle and on demand grid lines. New iFCL Metering with 63-zone dual-layer metering system uses both focus and color information to provide accurate exposure even in difficult lighting. The EOS 7D also captures Full HD video at 30p (29.97 fps), 24p (23.976 fps) and 25p with an array of manual controls, including manual exposure during movie shooting and ISO speed selection. The EOS 7D features a magnesium alloy body that is dust- and weather-resistant and shutter durability of up to 150,000 cycles. Compatible with over 60 EF and EF-S lenses as well as with EOS System accessories, the creative opportunities - not just with stills but also with video - are beyond amazement.

* 18.0 Megapixel CMOS Sensor and Dual DIGIC 4 Image Processors for high image quality and speed.

* ISO 100-6400 (expandable to 12,800) for shooting from bright to dim light.

* 8.0 fps continuous shooting up to 126 Large/JPEGs with UDMA CF card and 15 RAW.

* Advanced movie mode with manual exposure control and selectable frame rates: 1920 x 1080 (Full HD): 30p (29.97) / 24p (23.976) / 25p, 1280 x 720 (HD): 60p (59.94) / 50p, 640 x 480 (SD): 60p (59.94) / 50p.

* Intelligent Viewfinder with 100% field of view, wide viewing angle of 29.4, high magnification of 1.0, intelligent viewfinder with glass pentaprism and an overlaid LCD display in viewfinder supports various shooting styles.

* New 19-point, all cross-type AF system equipped with dual diagonal cross-type sensors in center at f/2.8 and f/5.6 and AF area selection modes to match various shooting situations.

* iFCL Metering with 63 zone dual-layer metering sensor that utilizes AF and color information for optimizing exposure and image quality.

* Magnesium body with shutter durability up to 150,000 cycles and exclusive dust and weather resistance.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5  next
      
Fulcrum
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 23, 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 3
Review Date: Apr 19, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Zone AF, AF Speed, AF Accuracy, 18 megapixels, whopping 8 images in a second.
Cons:
Poor low-light performance, Image quality not on apr with 5D2..

I traded my FF 5Dmk2 for this, because I photograph mostly in situations where AF speed and reliable AF locking on target is the key. And that is what 7D delivers.

My keeper rate went from about 20% to 70% because of this.

What I miss most about the 5Dmk2 is the image quality, and especially the image quality when using high ISO sensitivities.
Then again, finding a decent wideangle for the 5Dmk2 is a nightmare and will break the bank.

Otherwise when compared to 5Dmk2, the 7D is a winner in all other departments than the general image quality and noise levels after ISO 400.

Well, perhaps the 5Dmk3 will fix the dinosaur of an AF system the 5Dmk2 had. For now I will have to wait and see. Ill be a relatively happy snapper until that happens.


Apr 19, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Fulcrum to your Buddy List  
haringo
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 7, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Review Date: Apr 13, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

Pros: AF!!!
Cons:
price, 1.6x

Really good!!!

AF - I have an old 5D and a 5D Mark II and this one.
The auto focus in the 7D is MUCH better than the auto focus on the Canon 5D and 5D Mark II! Canon built the good quality AF into the Canon 7D, the same auto focus they built into the 1D. I do wedding photography and lot of times I use the 7D in weddings rather than the 5Ds because I know that I won't miss the shot. Even the 5D mark II has the inaccurate AF and if I don't want to miss the shot I always use the 7D.

Colors are nice! Really nice colors, great contrast. Beautiful!

ISO - the image quality up to ISO 3200 is fantastic! Look at the pictures I took during the wedding ceremonies: http://www.haringphotography.com/blog
You can't take this with a 5D because of the lack of good AF even if the 5D can handle high ISO as well.

Lens - you can use good glass which you can't put on 5D or 1D. 17-55mm, etc. These are good lenses even if they are not L.

If you wan to see more picture click on the wedding section: http://www.haringphotography.com

All in all: One of the best!!! I love it. I use it more often than the 5Ds. I hope it helps.


Apr 13, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add haringo to your Buddy List  
tanglefoot47
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 12, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 14843
Review Date: Apr 11, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,700.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Well built, great AF, great high ISO for indoor sports, great IQ
Cons:
Cost and maybe not as sharp as my 40D

I love this camera and for me the high ISO is great for shooting indoor sports. I can use my 70-200 2.8 for wrestling matches and crank the ISO up to 4000 easy and get great shots. I could have never done this with my 40 or 50D. It's just a great camera that I have enjoyed very much

Apr 11, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add tanglefoot47 to your Buddy List  
Peter Kirk
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 25, 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 309
Review Date: Mar 21, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Solid Build, Fast Focus, Excellent Battery Life
Cons:
none yet..

Great camera, I use it for sports..NO PROBLEMS AT ALL.

Mar 21, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Peter Kirk to your Buddy List  
canon pants
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 12, 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1047
Review Date: Mar 16, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,899.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: custimizable button layouts, autofocus, smart viewfinder with grid and level, video, great FPS, wireless flash capable, great battery life, great screen, and many more.
Cons:
FPS drops to 3FPS in low light, to many megapixels slows down my computer. thats all I can think of.

would recomend, see above points.

Mar 16, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add canon pants to your Buddy List  
Peter Kotsa
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 1, 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 267
Review Date: Mar 13, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,000.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Lightweight, great quality, blazingly fast foucs
Cons:
none yet

First impressions of this body are:
Great features and build quality. It is my 10th Digital camera in 6 years.
I started with a D60, then 20D,30D,1D, 1DmkII, 40D,50D,1DmkIIn, 5DmkII and now a 7D.

I must say that the 7D had taken me by surprise, especially the focus..it is on par with my 1DmkIIn and that is a very good camera indeed.

Also the image quality up to ISO 3200 is fantastic, 6400 is more than usable especially if slightly overexposed.

WELL DONE CANON, this is the "3D" I have been waiting for...


Mar 13, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Peter Kotsa to your Buddy List  
waldr_p
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Apr 18, 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6199
Review Date: Mar 12, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Build quality, AF, when you get it right you can crop the images big time.
Cons:
expectation, if you underexpose you get noise.

I had a 350D, when I upgraded to a 40D I really liked the improvement in ergonomics. However, as a wildlife shooter I was looking for better AF, better high ISO and better cropability (= more quality megapixels).

When the 7D arrived it seemed to tick all the boxes. I was quite nervous buying it given some of the critical comments on the forums re: AF and ISO. Anyway, I took a risk and got the camera. It took me 3 months or so to convince myself that this is a significant improvement on the 40D.

When you have good light, I've really noticed the difference in terms of detail capture. The 7D excels here. When the light is bad, if you set the 7D to a +0.33 exposure setting you will get some great low light images (way better than anything I got with my 40D). Some images I have at 3200 ISO are incredible compared to what my 40D would have produced!

Ultimately, how do you judge a camera? Let me tell you one way, are you getting better images with your new camera than you did with your old? For me, my 7D is a leap ahead of the 40D. Highly recommended.

Paul.


Mar 12, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add waldr_p to your Buddy List  
fairtex
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 28, 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 65
Review Date: Mar 1, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: built-quality, autofocus, responsiveness, fast fps
Cons:
no big advantage in IQ compared to xxD cameras

The 7D is a very nice camera.
The new autofocus takes some time to get used to, but is very fast and accurate - I love it! Auto Iso in M-mode, fast fps-rate, decent built-quality, short shutter-lag, AF-Microadjustment, wonderfull LCD and many other smaller features make this camera a big step up from xxxD or xxD bodies.
Whether you really need those 18MP for cropping or the HD-Video feature is up to you (I'm very happy with it).

On the downside (except for the obvious MP-advantage), I don't think there's a big step up in IQ compared to cameras like to 40D. If you want ultimate image-quality, consider getting a 5D mk II.

Since I use my camera more for wildlife/nature/birding than for portrait/wedding/nude or landscape photography, I wanted the 1.6 crop, faster AF and higher fps. If the same applies to you, I can highly recommend the 7D.



Mar 1, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add fairtex to your Buddy List  
godfreyz
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 3, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1019
Review Date: Feb 23, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,699.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Solidly built, super AF and a host of great features.
Cons:
None as of now.

I have previously owned the 300D and the 40D. This camera provides many more features and performs flawlessly. Best feature in my opinion is the fantastic images at high ISO's.

Feb 23, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add godfreyz to your Buddy List  
VanklePhoto
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 19, 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 64
Review Date: Feb 17, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Quality build, 8f/s, crisp shots at 1600 ish (depending on subject) controls speedlights!!! Big bright viewfinder. Great autofocus system. Love it. 1080p anyone?
Cons:
Still noise at 1600 and above. Can't expect more from crop sensor at 18mp but there I said it.

Great camera. Had rebel, 40d and 50d now this. I live the new features and controls and af. Great camera building on the 50d and what Canon learned from that camera. This camera will test your lenses.....

Feb 17, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add VanklePhoto to your Buddy List  
PJ Fish
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 24, 2006
Location: Denmark
Posts: 18
Review Date: Feb 12, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Very robust and pro feel camera cabinet,very snappy and very very fast AF,good ergonomic feeling,good quality feeling.Good video.
Cons:
FAR Too expensive ! very noisy pics at iso 1600. dust at the pics.

For sports and fast action this is it, IF its sunny daylight and alike.
I love the fast AF in this snappy Canon 7D.Now where are getting into it,and it comes very close to the 1D series so close so i would be happy to solve any sports assignment on a day light basic ,BUT...hmm the files is a little too noisy for my taste.
The overall feeling is unbelievable ,it is like having a swiss watch on your wrist,the quality is soo nice and fantastic.

I still have some mixed feelings with the 7D,it is close to pro cams in some areas and yet not,i wish it was FF with only 12 MpX (?) -LOL.

It has some qualities that i still recomand it if you make sports and action,and i think is a good camera especially when you consider it has a good video in it.But im also a little bit dissapointed.


Feb 12, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add PJ Fish to your Buddy List  
Julius
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jan 26, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 946
Review Date: Feb 4, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,500.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Excellent design, professional built quality.
Cons:
Lack of Eyepiece shutter which is very handy for tripod use.

Canon really got it together this time on this camera. Excellent design with user friendly interface and loaded with features.
This is my #1 favorite Canon camera of all the Canons Ive had and currently have (5D MK II).
The professional 1D series which I had up to and including the 1D MK III are just too heavy for me to carry around. With this camera and my 5D MK II I am all set for just about any kind of picture taking.
The noise is very acceptable up to about 1000 ISO above which I do not use it since it needs fair amount of noise reduction resulting in image detail loss.
Love this camera.


Feb 4, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Julius to your Buddy List  
agallo
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 17, 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1
Review Date: Jan 17, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Great build, fast AF, solid 'all around' camera. The HD video is commercial grade. 100% view finder.... what else can I say.
Cons:
None yet.

I've climbed the EOS Canon ladder. Starting with the Rebel XT, to the 40D - and finally the EOS 7D. The EOS 7D is a wonderful camera. The build and use is masterful. The auto focus is fast and pin sharp. I found that using both my 50 1.4 and 70200 2.8 - the 19 points really does bring subjects into focus quickly. Switch to detail AF, and well, the AF is even tighter. Get this camera. Niconians do have the D700 and the D300s - and those are great cameras. But for us Canon shooters - the 7D provides a great tool to capture light.



Jan 17, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add agallo to your Buddy List  
dstraton
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 17, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Review Date: Jan 17, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,699.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Build, features, AF, great video and better ease of use
Cons:
Still need somewhat more simplified video use, but this is minor

After feeling a little let down by the 40D, I skipped the 50D to go for the 5D Mark II. I wasn't keen on the pedestrian AF and general pokiness of the 5D Mark II (plus it is a sensor dust magnet), but love everything else, including the massive 21 MP 14-bit RAW which make even radical edits achievable...but having a kid and photographing wildlife once in a while does make you crave some things (particularly when Nikon seems to have it).

When I heard 18MP, like everyone else, I thought BIG mistake, but guess what? This camera is great. Like all crops, it is a bit less forgiving to bad exposures, but if I do my job, it delivers really excellent files. The speed is fantastic, the AF is fantastic once you learn it. It really demands a lot of your lenses, but I really have no dogs (the 17-40 is the weakest, and it is still pretty good). You have to have good technique, it will show the slightest motion blur.

Diffraction is really a non-issue - yes it is there, but it is there in all sensors, they just can't resolve it. At comparable print or screen sizes, you will see no difference, and in fact, it is still resolving more detail in my experience.

Ergonomics are incredible, and I will gladly sell my 5D2 for a 5D3 if they include these goodies - it is a blast to shoot with, and as a camera I like it better. Great job to Canon for (finally) getting serious in this segment.


Jan 17, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add dstraton to your Buddy List  
angel_d_saint
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 9, 2008
Location: Philippines
Posts: 27
Review Date: Jan 11, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: New AF, wireless flash control, tough ergonomic body, great viewfinder, highly customizable, additional buttons
Cons:
Creaking CF door

I'd been eyeing the Nikon D700 and the D300s for some time and almost went to the dark side until this beast came along. Almost all of the features that I've been looking for as my ideal DSLR is here.

Credit goes out to FM forumers that cemented my decision to purchase this fast and tough body. =)





Jan 11, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add angel_d_saint to your Buddy List  
Ulan
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 14, 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 141
Review Date: Jan 9, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: very effective autofocus, very well built, good ergonomy and customizable buttons, level, nice viewfinder, exceptional metering system, 8 fps, reactive, good noise control up to 1600, handy menu, HD video, wireless flash control, high quality LCD screen
Cons:
DOF button in a difficult place to handle, not a dual CF/SDHC slot, no SDHC recognition with a CF adaptor, AWB still could be better in artificial light

I own a 50D, a very good camera that now gets better press or internet reviews than last year (price has dramatically dropped). OK, there were some problems and these got solved with successive firmware releases. Also there were dynamic range deficiencies in which highlights were washed out and output would be quite artificial. But now the Canon EOS 7D really is awesome and exceptional, a mile ahead of its predecesor 50D. I've been using the 7D for about two months, testing in various ways and settings and even doing pixel peeping (shame to me, but it was because of bad AF on some forums).

There is so much to say in favour of the camera that I don't with what feature to begin. Autofocus is great, acurate, very speedy. There are so many features and these can be controlled very handily in the wonderful viewfinder. With the mini-joy stick one can easily shift from one collimator to another, turning the camera from horizontal to vertical can change the AF point according to your programmation. One can follow the AF point travel in the viewfinder when in AI servo mode. By the way this AI servo enables you to take better handheld macro photos ! It's very sensitive and acurate.

Difficult to tell whether the body is fully tropicalized, I wouldn't dare experimenting. Anyhow the body seems to be strong. It's nice to hold it, there is a nice rubber feeling when holding the grip, the thum and the forefinger have their natural place. It's a pleasure using the control buttons, except for the DOF button that remains in it's same awkward position.

Image quality is awesome. The metering system means that you don't have to go through too many DPP RAW manipulations (this was not the case of the 50D that required a lot of DPP work). Noise is better controlled than with 50D and pictures are reasonnably good at 1600 ISO though I sometimes noticed some white points in dark areas (maybe due to excessive sharpening, I really can't explain).

All in all this Canon DSLR is a miracle of technology and quality.


Jan 9, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Ulan to your Buddy List  




Canon EOS 7D

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
77 110308 Oct 5, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
88% of reviewers $1,616.72
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.58
8.66
9.1
canon_eos_7_d


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5  next