about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EOS 500D / Rebel T1i DSLR

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
10 20943 Mar 31, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
90% of reviewers $726.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.90
9.60
9.4
canon-eos-t1i

Specifications:
* 15.1 Megapixel APS-C CMOS sensor
* Full HD movie recording with HDMI connection for viewing and playback on an HDTV
* ISO 100-3200 (expandable to 12800)
* 3.4 frames per second continuous shooting
* Max. 170 large JPEG images in a single burst
* 3.0 ClearView LCD with Live View mode
* 9-point wide area AF with cross type centre point
* High speed DIGIC 4 performance and superb image quality
* EOS Integrated Cleaning System
* Full compatibility with Canon EF and EF-S lenses and EX-series Speedlites, including new Speedlite 270EX, TS-E 17mm f/4L and TS-E 24mm f/3.5L II


 


      
veroman
Online
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Aug 19, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 3812
Review Date: Mar 31, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Image quality, image quality and image quality
Cons:
None

In two words: exceptional product. I had tried the t2i and t31, but didn't like the output from either one. A friend of mine had recommended the t1i to me as an ideal travel camera for one who normally and regularly shoots full frame. I found one on KEH in great condition and at a great price ($299).

The is by far the best of the Rebel series I've ever worked with, which includes the xsi.

I've just returned from a trip to Washington DC, where I really put the t1i through some paces ... indoors, outdoors, base ISO and up through ISO 1600. I brought only two lenses: the Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 and Canon's 35mm f/2.

Every pic is a keeper, technically. Every shot was in focus, every shot was clean, every shot had the kind of color and "glow" that often eludes most digital cameras ... a "glow" that cameras like the Fuji S2 Pro and Leica M8/9 cameras are well-known to exhibit.

I agree with the previous posted that you should run, not walk, if you find one of these and you're looking for a lightweight travel body that one reviewer said is 2nd only to Canon's 5D Mark II.

I am super-impressed.


Mar 31, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add veroman to your Buddy List  
MVSchenk
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 18, 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 59
Review Date: Aug 15, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Great photo quality!!!! I rarely use the 15 megapixel, since I'm happy with what I get with 8mp. You can actuallys set this to record at different megapixels, and 15 is just not needed for my portraits. I sell up to size 20x30. Shoots video (720P) for up to 18 minutes... that's awesome!
Cons:
None

If you see one on Craigslist, get it. Run!!!! This camera is awesome, especially now, for the price they're selling. I was one of those who said, "no videos for me. Don't need it." But now that I have this camera, I know there are some things that just are more precious when taken as a video instead of still images (like the kids song recital or piano recital, or the football game when your son makes the touchdown). This camera is loaded with features, and I've even shot a whole 18th birthday at ISO 1600+ with awesome results.

Aug 15, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add MVSchenk to your Buddy List  
rideklein
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 2, 2010
Location: N/A
Posts: 18
Review Date: Jun 11, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $750.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Great Picture Quality with HD Video Capability in a Small Package at an Affordable Price.
Cons:
None.

I purchased my T1i, 2-lens kit in November '09 (new).

I'd been a very happy Canon P&S user for years. With a toddler and a baby on the way, I was ready to step up to DSLR. The T1i brought HD video to the mix, which at the time still wasn't commonly available on cameras.

I have thoroughly enjoyed this camera. It has served as a great foundation for learning photography (f/stop, SS, ISO, etc), and the image results far exceed what I was getting before with P&S. I use the camera a lot more for stills than video. Still, it's nice to have HD capability for when I want to shoot a movie.

Honestly, I don't think this camera has any real negative aspects. Probably most people are just listing "missing" features that are otherwise available on higher-priced Canon models. Let's not lose sight that this is a very high-feature Rebel at a very reasonable price.

Now, perhaps with the release of the T2i, the T1i won't be available for much longer new. Who knows. Regardless, there will be many used copies out there, hence why I think it's worth the time to review. (I cannot believe that there are only 7 reviews on this camera!)

I would recommend this camera, without hesitation. Great IQ. Great price. Smaller Rebel size is a whole lot easier to carry and pack than Canon X0D and XD bodies.


Jun 11, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add rideklein to your Buddy List  
GrimsbyJonesy
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 1, 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 38
Review Date: Feb 20, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $799.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: The combination of High ISO capability and High Megapixel make this a great body when shooting in low light and then downsampling the image for playback on a HDTV at 1080. Better image quality than a 50D at the same resolution.
Cons:
Controls need to be updated even the sx20is has a dial, time for Canon to improve the controls on their rebel series.



Feb 20, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add GrimsbyJonesy to your Buddy List  
inski94
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 21, 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 64
Review Date: Jan 26, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Decent High ISO performence, 15.1mp, decent video options,
Cons:
1080p @ 20p SERIOUSLY (just a marketing gimmick), no weathersealing (cant expect it), small (too small)

I really like this camera, although the video option is a bit of a rip-off, this is essentially a 50D without gapless microlenses and superior build quality. For the price it is absolutely unbeatable. At 15.1 mpix, the high ISO performance is actually quite good, useable until ISO 3200.

Jan 26, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add inski94 to your Buddy List  
siberslug
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 24, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Review Date: Oct 28, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $719.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: high ISO performance, IQ, 920,000 LCD Screen, Light weight, 720p Video
Cons:
A bit to small, no manual control in video

Great camera for the price.


Oct 28, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add siberslug to your Buddy List  
WT21
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 1, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 650
Review Date: Oct 28, 2009 Recommend? no | Price paid: $799.00 | Rating: 7 

Pros: Shoots video! Also has spot metering and ISO3200. Small and light. Big, high Res LCD. SD card support.
Cons:
Common rebel issues (plastic build, small). I don't mind this, but some do. What I really did not appreciate was the controls lay-out. No EV control in video. Large RAW files with no sRAW.

It was fun to play with the video, but having to move the mode dial to video was an irritant. Especially because there were so many settings between PASM and movie mode (scenes and CA), so you really had to look at the camera to move back and forth. A dedicated video button would have been a help.

Personally, I'm not sure I like movie mode on these DSLRs, as you use live view, which means you're holding a large-ish camera out in front of you, and it's unstable. Also, AF in Live View is slow, so it's better to go MF, and the live view screen is not great for MF in full day light. But that's not a knock on the T1i itself, but for most video DSLRs.

What I REALLY didn't like in the T1i was the stills controls. In my XTi there are five "thumb" buttons (four in a circle and the set button in the middle) from which I could access ISO, WB, AF mode, metering mode and use set for flash compensation, all right at my thumb.

The T1i isn't like that. ISO is now behind the shutter and (for me) ergonomically uncomfortable to access. It may be different for others.

Additionally, they've added "picture styles" (natural, vivid, etc. -- a jpg setting) and burst mode to the four buttons in a circle -- meaning you have to leave out either flash compensation or exposure compensation from your thumb settings, and instead access one or the other from the menus section.

For me, I lost my common settings, with ISO going to an inconvenient location (for my hands) and losing one of the compensation settings in favor of a jpg setting.

Also, I really like having the "play" button for review on the left side. Hold the camera in my right hand, and flip through shots with my left. This re-arrangement of buttons was done to make room for the larger LCD, so that's just trade-off.

I didn't see any appreciable up-tick in IQ over my XTi in RAW (not sure about jpg).


Oct 28, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add WT21 to your Buddy List  
jones_666
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 1, 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 1, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $815.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Pretty good high ISO performance, sharp with good glass, perfect size for my hands, great layout
Cons:
no full time dedicated video button, live view slow to auto focus (much to my wife's chagrin!)

First time post, however I purchased this camera based on a lot of the reviews read on this and other similar sites so I am putting something back.

Reviewed this camera in the flesh at HN and liked it straight off (needless to say I didn't buy it there). Have owned the 350D and 400D and just recently came off a PS SX1 IS which got me hooked on the HD video but I was bitterly disappointed in the very very poor higher ISO still performance. Video was excellent however. Was tempted by the D5000, however my love affair with Canons won out.

At any rate - I was sorely tempted by the 5D2 and the 7D, however for what I do, the 500D seemed to fit the bill, and I figured to spend the difference in price on good lenses. I found a good copy 17-85mm and dropped $1350 on a 70-200mm f4 IS. Never regretted that decision for a second. Overall the camera is quick, flexible, produces excellent photos, esp high speed sport shots through the 70-200 and I couldn't be happier.

Nothing is perfect however and the slow Live Mode (as per all cameras) and the lack of good, fast AF in Video Mode (as per Live) is a pain - in saying that however I recently used it to video an indoor cricket game and the manual focus was extremely handy to get past the net pulling the focus. All the photos I shot at 1600 or 3200 and at a shutter speed nearly quick enough to eliminate substantial blur.

Would recommend this for the amateur enthus, like myself.

Cheers
Greg


Oct 1, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jones_666 to your Buddy List  
EOS20
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 6, 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 13639
Review Date: Sep 9, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Good picture quality, Light weight, Good LCD Screen, Easy to use with good set of features.
Cons:
Size (If you don't like small cameras) Dim viewfinder, No rear control wheel, Plastic body.

I bought this camera to serve as a light weight alternative and backup to my 5DMkII and to have as my crop sensored camera to use with my longer lenses. I was very unimpressed with my 50D, so wasn't willing to get another one, so chose the 500D just as it became available.

This is my second camera from the XXXD/Rebel line and the latest generation is great!

I have been very impressed with this camera, the picture quality is excellent, and the camera is easy to use for those who are just starting out, but is also a capable camera for the more experienced photographers too.

Paired up with the 18-55 IS kit lens, it makes a great light weight setup that is just begging to be used! The rear LCD screen is nice to work with, and I don't really miss the top LCD screen on this camera, and the long exposure timer on the rear LCD screen while shooting Bulb exposures is a great feature as it is much easier to see then the timer on the top LCD screens on the cameras higher up in the line-up.

The viewfinder is a good size, but is dimmer then the Pentaprism models, but it is still a good viewfinder, and much better then the cameras from a few years ago.

Overall, A great camera for just about everyone (maybe not those who don't like a small camera though) and highly recommended!

You can read my more detailed review here:

http://www.redbubble.com/people/eos20/journal/3057029-my-canon-eos-500d-mini-review







Sep 9, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add EOS20 to your Buddy List  
dave chilvers
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 11, 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1691
Review Date: Sep 9, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Plenty of features for the amateur to get to grips with.
Cons:
None really provided you don`t pitch it against a 5D2.

First of all my ratings are based on cameras of a similar place in the market.
One of the things that has been carried over from other Canon cropped cameras is the silky smooth and quiet shutter/mirror. I`m sure it helps when trying to avoid camera shake. If you can`t afford or don`t want to splash out for a FF Canon camera then this will certainly fit the bill. Very feature rich allowing plenty of room for anyone moving up from bridge type cameras to expand their talents.The movie feature is great fun and would take the place of a dedicated movie camera for most people. The ability to be able to shoot stills and video all in the same package is a big plus. It is a small camera and I have fairly large hands so stuck a battery grip on mine with a hand strap and I find handling to be well good enough. I was very surprised to see just how bright the viewfinder is.
As far as image quality goes it can`t compete with my 5D2 but at a quarter of the price then no surprises there then.I`ve had a 450D and IQ from the 450D is maybe just a touch better with slightly more detail but the positive side of the 500D is that the files sizes without up rezzing are closer to what I need for stock work so it sort of levels the playing field out and the bright finder and superb LCD are the icing on the cake.
I have been using my Canon 10-22 lens with the camera and to be quite honest the IQ is really good and I`m very impressed with the J peg quality out of the camera and find for general shots under normal lighting conditions they are very close to raw images which speeds up processing no end.
So! more than happy to have a small light go anywhere camera that doesn`t break the bank.


Sep 9, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dave chilvers to your Buddy List  




Canon EOS 500D / Rebel T1i DSLR

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
10 20943 Mar 31, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
90% of reviewers $726.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.90
9.60
9.4
canon-eos-t1i