about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon TS-E 24mm f/3.5L II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
41 70874 Dec 20, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
93% of reviewers $2,088.47
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.81
8.62
9.8
24tse

Specifications:
A superb refinement to a true Canon classic, the new TS-E 24mm f/3.5L II offers enhanced functionality and image quality in its most popular tilt-shift focal length. Designed with UD glass to minimize and compensate for chromatic aberrations and a specially coated aspherical element for the highest possible glare-free image quality, this tilt-shift lens features an angle of view of 84 on a full-frame camera.

New TS rotation lets users freely combine tilting and shifting within the range of /- 90 in the direction of movement. The Tilt function has an enhanced range of movement of up to /- 8.5, a revolving construction for both portrait and landscape shooting modes, locking, ergonomically-designed and easily operated tilt and shift knobs, uses a circular aperture for beautiful out-of-focus areas, and is constructed using only lead-free glass and has an SWC lens coating that controls ghosting and flare to a far greater degree than earlier coating technologies

Focal Length & Maximum Aperture: 24mm 1:3.5
Minimum Aperture: f/22
Lens Construction: 16 elements in 11 groups
Diagonal Angle of View: 84 (without tilt or shift)
Image circle diameter: 67.2mm
Focus Adjustment: Manual focus, rear focusing system (no floating system)
Closest Focusing Distance: 0.69 ft./0.21m (maximum close-up magnification: 0.34x)
Aperture Control: EMD with 8 blade iris diaphragm, circular aperture
Filter Size: 82mm
Max. Diameter x Length, Weight: 3.5 x 4.2 in./88.5 x 106.9mm, 27.5 oz./780g
Lens Cap, Lens Hood & Pouch


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next
      
CarusoPhoto
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 30, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 54
Review Date: Dec 27, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: It does what it was meant to do with aplomb and elegance. Ability to revolve the tilt and shift for greater flexibility. Image quality.
Cons:
None.

This is not a lens for someone just starting out in photography as it has a highly specialized use. But for the photographer who NEEDS a tilt-shift lens, I can't imagine one can do any better than this beauty. The image quality is top-notch, and the redesigned version II is truly a fine lens. The ability to rotate the tilt and the shift mechanisms is amazingly useful and freeing.

Sure, there is a learning curve to fully understanding--and, therefore, utilizing--a tilt shift lens, but once one scales that curve, the possibilities are boundless. And this lens can take tilt-shift photography even farther.


Dec 27, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add CarusoPhoto to your Buddy List  
ViscaB
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 9, 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 507
Review Date: Oct 1, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharpness, no CA, contrast, no distortion, build.
Cons:
Balancing act of stopping down for corners and diffraction. See below.

A fantastic piece of engineering by Canon. I also own the 17 TS-E and both lenses are fantastic. For an architecture photographer it should be a reason to consider Canon especially paired with a 5D mark II (or 1dsMark III). In my opinion using live view is vital for focussing especially when using tilt.

If there is one minor drawback that I found it's the fact that you need to stop down significantly to get "sharp corners". The corners on the 17 TS-E seem to hold down better. A related quibble is that you seem to lose sharpness when stopping down more than on the 17 TS-E. Therefore I sometimes combine images using the "stopped down version" for the corners only.

Images speak louder than words. You can find a high resolution sample here. Reasonable amount of shift used. Taken at f/10.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/xavibarca/5031119973/sizes/o/in/photostream/


Oct 1, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add ViscaB to your Buddy List  
trigrad
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 26, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Review Date: Sep 13, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharpness, flare resistance, contrast. Great optical performance.
Cons:
None.

What a great lens. The focus and movements are smooth, build is solid, and optical quality is fantastic. If you need this FL, I don't think you could do better right now.

Sep 13, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add trigrad to your Buddy List  
Rajan Parrikar
Online
Image Upload: On



Registered: Sep 9, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1451
Review Date: Aug 24, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,199.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Fantastic optical performance, Tilt-Sift capability, Mechanical construction.
Cons:
None.

Along with the TS-E 17L, this is the finest wide-angle lens in the Canon line-up. Edge-to-edge sharpness is exemplary, as is the minimal CA. For those wanting the very best from their glass, this is it!

Aug 24, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Rajan Parrikar to your Buddy List  
waterboiler
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 15, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 149
Review Date: Aug 3, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: IQ now up with the best and with movements
Cons:
Cost but if used to it's full potential 'good' value

I used the mark I version for years and loved it but found it lacking in may optical ways on FF digital.
The TS-E are the reason I got into Canon and am still here as a landscape shooter.
This lens takes time to master and if you do not use the tilt and shift function a lot then there is equal glass for less money. The price will keep the casual shooter away but it one of those unique items like the 85/1.2L that is a gem in the Canon lineup.


Aug 3, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add waterboiler to your Buddy List  
Jochenb
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 24, 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1831
Review Date: Jun 8, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharpness, contrast, no CA, flare resistance, tilt&shift, great build quality,...
Cons:
none

This (and maybe the TS-E17mm) is the absolute best wideangle lens from canon.

The image quality is incredible.
The sharpness of this lens is stunning. Great color and contrast. No CA!

Being able to correct perspectives and to put your plane of focus where you want it to be is great.





Jun 8, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Jochenb to your Buddy List  
rpope
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 31, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 3599
Review Date: May 3, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Extremly sharp, Build, Color, No CA, excellent for architecture and landscape
Cons:
None

I was very hesitant about buying this lens, but after using it for the last month I'm convinced it was worth every penny. I own 3 Canon "L" lens', the 70-200 2.8L IS, the 17-40 F4L and the 28-70 2.8L, all excellent lens', but this lens blows them away. Paired with the 5DII it's a combination that can't be beat. Manual focus is not a problem with live view and 10x magnification, precise focusing anywhere in the scene is a snap. Setting exposure with live view is not a problem either when using exposure simulation and live histogram.
This lens is extremely sharp and the IQ is superb. As a tilt/shift or straight 24 it can't be beat.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/richpope/sets/72157623725502795/


May 3, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add rpope to your Buddy List  
thedigitalbean
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Jun 24, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 6258
Review Date: Apr 5, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharpness, CA levels, smoothness of focus, super rotator design, build, colors and contrast
Cons:
none

I've been using this lens mostly for landscapes for about 4 months now. Its is quite simply a spectacular optic. Even fully shifted, it is sharp in the corners with little CA. The colors are superb and all the build and controls exude quality.

After using it a few times, I can't complain about the price either. Its expensive but you get quality for the $$$.


Apr 5, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add thedigitalbean to your Buddy List  
Alan Goldstein
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 20, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 30
Review Date: Apr 2, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,199.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Incredible - almost too good to be true.
Cons:

There isn't much to add to the other reviews except to say it is hard for me to believe a lens can be this good.

I have been an architectural photographer for almost 30 years. I used the series I version of this lens for about 7 years and just received this series II version a few days ago. My series 1 version was a pretty good sample being quite sharp. I tested the two versions against each other in a variety of situations and found:

There is no c/a in the version II lens - the old lens had quite a bit but I could remove it in the raw conversion stage.

The new lens has much less vignetting - straight and when shifted.

The new lens can shift a bit further.

The new lens is sharper at the edges.

The new lens seems to have no distortion. The old lens had a bit.

The new lens is quite resistant to flare. (The old one was pretty good too.)

I shot a job with it today and the images are really great.

I also have the 17mm TS-E lens and that also is incredible. It is really hard to understand how they could make a 17mm lens with such a big image circle with such great results.


Apr 2, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Alan Goldstein to your Buddy List  
Dietr
Offline
Image Upload: On

Registered: Feb 11, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10
Review Date: Feb 13, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,135.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Colors, Contrast, Build quality, Sharpness.
Cons:
None

Simply amazing as a prime or as a Tilt Shift. Love the improved perspective control. Sharpness is truly astonishing. Price is worth every penny. No regrets on this one.

Feb 13, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Dietr to your Buddy List  
george malamis
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 9, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 781
Review Date: Feb 12, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros:
Cons:



Feb 12, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add george malamis to your Buddy List  
berni123
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 25, 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 15, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,050.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very sharp, wide and excellent for architecture and landscape. Tilt and shift similar to what was only possible with Sinar / Cambo etc. EXCELLENT !!
Cons:
Price, but worth every cent, no filter or hood. You must be carefull with lens

Because of TS-E 24mm, TS-E 17mm and EF 14mm, I bought the Canon (before was a Nikon fan) and start shooting architecture in "leica" format. Before I was using Cambo and Hasselblad. If you shot architecture or landscape that's for you and you would not regret!! My Hass. is waiting for "normal" priced ful format digital Back. Hope it will come in 2-4 years.

Jan 15, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add berni123 to your Buddy List  
dimitris77
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 28, 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 535
Review Date: Jan 5, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,000.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Excellent sharpness, no CA, great focal distance.
Cons:
None. Maybe a bit bulky but thats what you get for the increased angle of coverage

I have used the old version and this one is much improved. There is no CA at any tilt or shift variation which is amazing. Coupled with the lens sharpness you have a killer wide angle from Canon. I have considered getting the 17mm but this one is much easier to use since you can mount filters on it. Build quality is superb as you would expect from such an expensive lens.

Jan 5, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dimitris77 to your Buddy List  
Bikeshooter
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 21, 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 377
Review Date: Dec 15, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharpness, tilt and shift, lack of CA
Cons:
82 mm filter

I've had the old one and was never realy happy with it. It was soft with loads of CA. The new one however is a league of it's own. Sharp even in the corners, only with extreme shift you notice some softness in the corners. CA is practically absent. Must have lens for architecture!

Dec 15, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Bikeshooter to your Buddy List  
John Mills
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 23, 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 379
Review Date: Oct 24, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Build Quality, Sharpness, Rectilinear
Cons:
Cost

I have the TSE 17mm and now the 24mm Series II, I prefer the 17mm, but the 24 sure comes a close second. Sharpness is fantastic, so is the contrast. Thanks again Canon for a gem.

Oct 24, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add John Mills to your Buddy List  
Stephen Byard
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 4, 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 12, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp, good conrast and colour, no flare, independant shift and tilt, less vignette when using filters than Mk I version. tilt lock at zero
Cons:
Price, knobs still small and fiddly (Winter will be fun). No shift lock at zero

I used the Mk I version for my landscapes for 18 months, producing sharp results with good IQ.

The new Mk II version moves the standard on, with good control of flare and excellent IQ and sharpness all round.

Everything is just that little bit better, although I have minor gripes about the small knobs, which will be worse in Winter!

Could not find one in the UK for love nor money, and ended up getting one from Hong Kong.

82mm filter thread not an issue as I use Lee filters, so it just meant getting the correct ring. I use a 2-filter holder and Lee 105mm polariser. Vignette start at higher levels of shift, but quite acceptable. As with a plate camera, larger tilt will cause under-exposure on the side opposite where the lens is further away from the sensor - so you just grad for this if required.

The metering can be out by up to three stops, so best to use Live-View when metering. For non live-view cmaeras, set expsoure prior to tilt/shift


http://www.flickr.com/photos/pixelda/3981972634

http://www.flickr.com/photos/pixelda/3980985633

http://www.flickr.com/photos/pixelda/3998447261

http://www.flickr.com/photos/pixelda/3998497995/


Oct 12, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Stephen Byard to your Buddy List  




Canon TS-E 24mm f/3.5L II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
41 70874 Dec 20, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
93% of reviewers $2,088.47
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.81
8.62
9.8
24tse


Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next