about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
165 193795 Mar 26, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
90% of reviewers $2,655.13
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.80
8.79
9.3
5DII_1_

Specifications:
• 21.1 Megapixel Full-frame CMOS sensor, 14-bit A/D conversion (16,384 colors/each of 3 primary color), wide range ISO setting of 100-6400 (expandable L: 50, H1: 12800 and H2: 25600).
• Automatic peripheral illumination correction.
• Magnesium alloy construction with 'additional' environmental protection
• Full HD Video capture at 1920 x 1080 resolution for up to 4GB per clip with HDMI output for HD viewing of stills and video.
• Next generation DIGIC 4 Image Processor for faster processing of fine detail and color reproduction as well as reduced image noise.
• High performance with 3.9 fps continuous shooting, new shutter with a durability of 150,000 cycles and improved weather-resistant body.
• Live View Function for stills (Quick, Live and Face Detection AF modes) and video.
• 3.0-inch Clear View LCD (920,000 dots/VGA) monitor with anti-reflective and scratch-resistant coatings for improved viewing and smudge protection.
• Updated EOS Integrated Cleaning System specifically designed to work with a full-frame sensor.
• 9 AF points 6 Assist AF points.
• UDMA memory card compatibility: Maximum 310 large JPEG images in a single burst with a UDMA card.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next
          
dkyeah
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 10, 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 26, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,000.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great IQ, FF, good in low light, good video quality, awesome silent mode, great color rendering, good AF system, great grip
Cons:
Flimsy built, spot metering not linked to AF points, flash sync speed of 1/200th, 2nd card is an SD, not really weather sealed, no rear curtain sync with non E-TTL flashes or triggers, no continuous AF in video mode

The positive and negative points above say it all. This camera is great but it feels like a 1D X that was restrained.
*The AF system is good but not as great as it could be (outer points aren't all that good, outer cross points don't work with every fast lense, the tracking isn't great)
*The metering isn't linked to the AF points like on the 1DX or Nikon's cameras which is quite annoying when shooting in Av or Tv
* The camera is very flimsy… The top of my mode dial came off when I took out of my camera bag… The painting is scratched on top of the camera, on the sides, in front of the shutter release and below…
* The flash sync is good but why not push it to 1/250th like on the 1DX?
* The 2nd card option is a great addition, but having SD card in makes the camera write pictures reallllllly slowly… Forget about sport photography if you have an SD card in for backup
* Nikon has the possibility of activating rear curtain sync with PW and such triggers, but Canon still doesn't have it… I don't get that

Don't get me wrong, this is an great camera, but I just feel like Canon misses a few points to make it great. Might be just a marketing strategy to sell more MKIV though…

Feel free to visit my blog if you'd like to see how it performs in different scenarios (studio, weddings, sport, concerts, etc.): http://quentindecaillet.com/blog


Mar 26, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dkyeah to your Buddy List  
alexdi
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 5, 2004
Location: N/A
Posts: 341
Review Date: Feb 7, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,475.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Gobs of detail, full-frame is way more fun, and it's very good in low light if you're sticking to center-point AF
Cons:
Missing a decent auto-ISO, blue channel noise even at low ISO, Rebel-class AF system with inaccurate and inconsistent outer points, feels sluggish relative to any of the non-Rebel crop bodies

If this camera had a decent AF system, nobody would have upgraded to the 5D III. I like most everything about it. It is, like the 50D, an excellent refinement of the Canon form.

It has more noise than I expected. In another review, I cautioned not to expect 'magical darkness performance'. Pulling the shadows up even at low ISO (200ish) reveals a surprising amount of noise. Leagues ahead of the crop bodies though.

Movie support is an afterthought. There aren't any software focusing aids and the files lack detail relative to, say, a Panasonic GH2.

The key problem with this body is that shooting with wide aperture lenses requires a lot of focus-recomposing and refocused safety shots, which can cause backfocus. The outer points lie, work slowly, and occasionally don't work at all. Not a big deal in good light or where no one's paying you. Much more important when you're trying to get that 70-200 to track the bride walking down the aisle.

Plenty of professionals rely on this camera and its (equally AF-deficient) predecessor. I'm sure you can make it work too, but in 2013, too many other bodies can do better. If you're planning to drop money on a serious kit, I would save for a refurb or sale 5D III instead of buying this body.


Feb 7, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add alexdi to your Buddy List  
Todd Klassy
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 27, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 290
Review Date: Nov 12, 2012 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros:
Cons:

Please disregard the review immediately below. I thought I was on the 5D Mark III page, not the 5D Mark II page. Sorry.

Nov 12, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Todd Klassy to your Buddy List  
Todd Klassy
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 27, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 290
Review Date: Nov 11, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,499.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Updated auto-focus system, image quality, low-light performance, low noise, etc.
Cons:
Auto-focus point illumination changed (and changed for the worse), inability to auto-focus with lenses + teleconverters at f/8, price is higher than it should be.

Simply put, the Canon EOS 5D Mark III is a superb camera in almost every regard. I've owned the Canon 20D, 50D, 5D, 5D Mark II, and 1D Mark III and I am very pleased with this particular camera; more so than the 5D Mark II.

Let me start by talking about the things I don't like, because they really get under my skin. For starters, the 5D Mark III is incapable of being able to use auto-focus when you use a combination of lenses and teleconverters at an aperture of f/8. This is especially odd because Canon has killed off its 1D line. One would think that they expect photographers now to use the 5D Mark III to shoot wildlife and sports, especially with its revamped auto-focus system. However, when you use a f/5.6 lens + a teleconverter you can NOT auto-focus. Huge bummer.

ALSO, and most troubling for me, is the revamped AF point illumination method. I learned after getting the camera that it uses a AF illumination method similar to that of the 7D, but it is radically different than any previous xxD series, 5D series, 1D series, and/or 1Ds series camera. What makes it so troublesome? The AF point is no longer highlighted in red when selecting an AF point and it is not solid red when using AI Servo mode. In low light circumstances and when you have to rapidly change AF points to change composition you get lost in the viewfinder trying to find the AF point. Even in brightly lit scenes where the subject is dark it is difficult to see easy. I do a lot of Montana photography and western photography which includes fast moving cowboys, native Americans dancing in powwows, wildlife, etc. and this issue affects every type of photography I do. Making cowboy photos is especially difficult compared to my 5D Mark II. It just is not nearly as intuitive as the method was with any of my previous cameras. It is VERY annoying.

These two issues are disappointing because if Canon had not erred in these matters the 5D Mark III would be one of the best Canon cameras I've ever owned. Now it is a camera that causes me to curse at times, especially in low-light circumstances when it is very hard to see the black AF point.

Now for the positive things; the camera's auto-focus is VERY snappy. Image quality is superb. Colors, contrast, etc. are awesome. I've owned dozens of Canon lenses, and when this camera is mated to one of Canon's newer zoom lenses it shines, so much so I no longer miss the image quality of my prime lenses.

To see how this camera shines, here is a small sampling of images I've taken with this camera (most with the Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L II IS USM:

http://toddklassy.com/canon-5d-western

Click on the images to see a larger version.

Would I still recommend this camera? Yes. But if most of your photography is sports or wildlife I would encourage you to know what you're getting into.


Nov 11, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Todd Klassy to your Buddy List  
polizonte
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 25, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 15
Review Date: Aug 21, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: resolution, color, dynamic range
Cons:
ergonomics, MLU,

This camera paired with the 135mm f2L, 35mm f1.4 L and 50mm f1.4 USM is amazing and at the current close-out price the 5D mkii is a bargain.
I do not take action photos so speed is no drawback for my photographic needs.


Aug 21, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add polizonte to your Buddy List  
Nezza
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 24, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 470
Review Date: Jun 6, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Image quality. High ISO persformance. Handling
Cons:
Occasional focus errors. Slow frame rate

I loved my 5D. I love this more. It builds on the strengths of the old 5D. I have had the camera for a couple of months now and have taken the sharpest images I have ever done with it. The combination of the 5d II with the new canon macro lens is a killer. You can crop images heavily and still do A3 prints and images have the same feel as from the 5D. It is the first camera I have used that lets the "L" series lenses really shine. Focussing is not the best and this is all that stops me giving it a 10. HD video is a nice bonus. The camera also feels well made and handles nicely.

Jun 6, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Nezza to your Buddy List  
ivofreriks
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 27, 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 22, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very good picture quality: high resolution, high dynamic range and good signal to noise ratio Full HD video camera that dleivers you a shallow depth of field Bright viewfinder and a 920,000 pixels display Accurate and fast AF (especially the center point)
Cons:
Viewfinder information of the Canon 5D MK2 is difficult to read in bright light The AF Canon 5D MK2 lis ess suitable for autofocus tracking Central AF sensor works faster and more reliable than the other AF sensors White balance @ tungsten can be improved

Even two years after its launch, the Canon 5D MK2 is still a very fine camera. Resolution, dynamic range, color reproduction and signal to noise ratio of this camera are all very good, even at today's standards. You'll achieve the best performance at ISO 50, though the quality differences with 100 ISO are minimal. For a full-frame camera, the Canon 5D MK2 has a compact and lightweight construction. The menu is userfriendly and the buttons are placed at the right positions.
Owners of an APS-C camera who consider to buy a full frame camera, definitely will get a higher image quality as return on their investment. But only if you also use very high quality lenses!

see full review at:
http://www.camerastuffreview.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=107:canon-eos-5d-mk2-review&catid=14:camera&Itemid=25


Mar 22, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ivofreriks to your Buddy List  
Cinepixtor Media
Offline
Image Upload: On

Registered: Nov 2, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 202
Review Date: Sep 13, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image Quality & Video Quality
Cons:
None

This camera was the cause of my photography demise - paving the roadway to becoming a videographer. I had no desire to shoot video until I purchased this body . As a portrait, event, and sports photographer for 10+ years, I bought the 5D Mark II because of the quality of the files the camera produces and was going to use it as my main portrait body. But after testing out the video around the house, I was hooked and haven't looked back. Compared to my 1D Mark III that I used to have - the files from the 5D Mark II were definitely better... more vibrant - sometimes even 3D'ish for lack of a better term. Build Quality is excellent being that I have put it through the ringer... while filming, it was mounted on a bicycle and the rider fell over, with my 5D taking the entire force of the fall. Yes it was scratched and had a tiny dent but continued to record and still works flawlessly.

Fall can be seen at 8:11 of this video: http://vimeo.com/24087671

If you are considering it, stop considering and just buy it!


Sep 13, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Cinepixtor Media to your Buddy List  
David Baldwin
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 28, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2830
Review Date: Aug 26, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: IQ! High ISO performance in low light is amazing. Batteries last a long time between charges Lovely white balance with studio flash. Anti dust features work well.
Cons:
Prefer the AF on my 7D

I was a relatively early adopter of the 5D2 which I bought for night landscape/architectural photography. I have been very impressed with the camera's low light, high ISO performance. Pairing a 5D2 with a 24L f1.4 results in a wonderful night outfit for my purposes:

http://www.nightfolio.co.uk/subpages/sm001.html
http://www.nightfolio.co.uk/revisit/pges/ch005.html
http://www.nightfolio.co.uk/revisit/pges/ch009.html
http://www.nightfolio.co.uk/revisit/pges/ch002.html
http://www.nightfolio.co.uk/revisit/pges/ch004.html

I am very pleased with the camera, and consider its price to be money well spent. I do prefer the AF on my 7D however. Very pleased with Canon's anti-dust technology as the sensor has required very little cleaning.


Aug 26, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add David Baldwin to your Buddy List  
Chococat
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 26, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 171
Review Date: Jun 22, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,699.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Image quality is a 10, or even a 10+. Autofocus is about a 5.
Cons:

Kudos to Canon for creating the finest manual focus digital camera ever designed!!! Oh wait--you bought it as an autofocus camera? Well, tough luck.

Maybe the center focus point will work with a high speed lens half the time. Forget about the outer points.


Jun 22, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Chococat to your Buddy List  
jirok12944
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 22, 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 18, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: FF, IQ
Cons:
AF, build

this is excellent camera which can deliver spectacular results in static environment - landscape, city, product, studio. IQ is stunning, you would see big difference in compare to 12mpx.

drawback is AF - slow and outdated. what's the point putting such a good sensor behind 10 years old AF?


Mar 18, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jirok12944 to your Buddy List  
AutoMotoMedia
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 11, 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 13, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,700.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great Quality, FF, 1080p
Cons:

Here's some sample video and pictures I ahve taken with the camera.

http://automotomedia.net/showthread.php/91-Canon-5D-MKII-Love-this-camera!

It's a great camera and only looking forward to the next version so I can make this my 2nd FF body (I only cary primes, so having two bodies would be optimal). Love this camera!


Mar 13, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add AutoMotoMedia to your Buddy List  
martinpperry
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 21, 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 27, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Image quality, low light capabilities. Brings out the best in Canon's L lenses.
Cons:
Auto focus limitations.

I love many aspects of this camera and, most inportantly to me, the image quality is, IMO, the best around at anywhere near the price. It brings out the best in the canon L range of lenses. My only criticism is the auto focus which is a bit slow and I find I have to nail the focus using the centre spot and then worry about composition of the photo whilst post processing, and probably cropping much more as a result than I would need to do if I could rely on the other focussing points while taking the shot. Great camera and second to none for portraiture, landscapes etc.

Feb 27, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add martinpperry to your Buddy List  
garydavidjones
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 20, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 437
Review Date: Jan 31, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,400.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Full-frame, high ISO, small size (at least compared to 1D series), high-resolution. complements my Canon 7D and 1D Mark IV well.
Cons:
auto focus problems and low fps, which is why I bought the 1D Mark IV.

Used mainly for macrophotography. am

delighted with results.


Jan 31, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add garydavidjones to your Buddy List  
Hudsons
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 8, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 18
Review Date: Jan 29, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Produces great images
Cons:

I have owned the 5DII for almost 2 years now and have been very satisfied with the results. In fact on a recent landscape photographers workshop I attended all participents owned this model.

I have used it for landscape and travel photography here in England and also in the Alps, Scottish Highlands and in the High Arctic. Images are great with fine detail and rich colour. Exposure is good. I have not used it where fast focus is vital but focus could keep up with a running polar bear.


Jan 29, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Hudsons to your Buddy List  
adamo99
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 21, 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 427
Review Date: Jan 14, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Fantastic image quality, resolution, LCD display, sensor performance at high ISO.
Cons:
Archaic AF system- only the centre point is usable in all but the best lighting conditions. Flash metering is hit and miss (mostly miss). BG-E6 grip feels chunky, and not very well integrated with the camera.

After owning only 1-Series bodies, I wanted to pick up something smaller and lighter for travel, candids, etc. After reading all of the glowing reviews of the 5DII, I picked one up.

The sensor is certainly capable. The colours and detail hold up very well, with ISO6400 being very usable. Unfortunately, if you shoot anything that is moving, this is not the camera for you. The AF system is horrid, and only the centre point is adequate. The outer points are not dependable at all- especially as light levels dip.

I ended up selling it, and getting a 7D instead, and am much happier with it. While the 5DII has a one-stop advantage in noise, the 7D has a much better AF system, more accurate for tracking moving objects, and more fine tuning ability within the AF system. Combined with the built-in wireless flash transmitter, it's a fantastic backup, lightweight travel body.


Jan 14, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add adamo99 to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
165 193795 Mar 26, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
90% of reviewers $2,655.13
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.80
8.79
9.3
5DII_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next