about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
165 195903 Mar 26, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
90% of reviewers $2,655.13
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.80
8.79
9.3
5DII_1_

Specifications:
• 21.1 Megapixel Full-frame CMOS sensor, 14-bit A/D conversion (16,384 colors/each of 3 primary color), wide range ISO setting of 100-6400 (expandable L: 50, H1: 12800 and H2: 25600).
• Automatic peripheral illumination correction.
• Magnesium alloy construction with 'additional' environmental protection
• Full HD Video capture at 1920 x 1080 resolution for up to 4GB per clip with HDMI output for HD viewing of stills and video.
• Next generation DIGIC 4 Image Processor for faster processing of fine detail and color reproduction as well as reduced image noise.
• High performance with 3.9 fps continuous shooting, new shutter with a durability of 150,000 cycles and improved weather-resistant body.
• Live View Function for stills (Quick, Live and Face Detection AF modes) and video.
• 3.0-inch Clear View LCD (920,000 dots/VGA) monitor with anti-reflective and scratch-resistant coatings for improved viewing and smudge protection.
• Updated EOS Integrated Cleaning System specifically designed to work with a full-frame sensor.
• 9 AF points 6 Assist AF points.
• UDMA memory card compatibility: Maximum 310 large JPEG images in a single burst with a UDMA card.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next
          
emilior
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 28, 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Review Date: Jan 31, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,099.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Imagine quality, 21.1 MP full-frame sensor, 98% viewfinder coverage, quick control screen, full HD Video capture at 1920 x 1080 resolution, outstanding ISO performance, 3" high resolution screen, 3 camera User settings, low price I can go on and on.
Cons:
loose card slot cover (for me anyway), a few more autofocus points for better coverage would be nice.

I purchased this camera for what it could do for me and not for what it can not and it has more than delivered. After 600 actuations and testing all is well except for one or two issues, I will also like to mention that some features performed much better for me than what others have complained about in their reviews.

One issue I had is the amount of play in the card slot cover; a little extra weather sealing resolved quickly but admittedly should not have been necessary to do.

I find the camera very user friendly I really like the 3 custom settings and controls are well placed. The quick control dial is large enough to use while still keeping your eye on the view finder and combine this with a good location for the ISO/Flash exposure compensation button and I am happy guy, when on a tripod I like the quick control screen feature.

The auto focus system works well even in low light (low enough for me to want to shoot in), I tested all modes with good results. The only thing I would like is a few more autofocus points for better coverage, more cross AF points would also be nice and make a big improvement.

When I purchased the camera I joked about never using the video feature, now the joke is on me, I use it and I enjoy having it available, I am going to spend more time with it.

I added the extended warranty on this purchase; this protects my investment and extends the exchange policy. This option also gives me more time to review the performance of the camera for myself, something for everyone to consider. So far it's producing high quality high resolution pictures and definitely a keeper and I will keep it and continue to enjoy it.

cheers,


Jan 31, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add emilior to your Buddy List  
peppertixa
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 29, 2009
Location: Portugal
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 29, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image quality. I don΄t want it heavier nether more expensive so I don't ask for more weathersealing and other things I don΄t need and I don't want to pay! I got what I have payed for and I am happy!
Cons:
None for the moment!

I have it for three weeks now. Big improvement after my 5d!
I am in love with this camera! Wonderful photos!


Jan 29, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add peppertixa to your Buddy List  
Daan B
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 15, 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 7591
Review Date: Jan 28, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,500.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: see below
Cons:
see below

Don't like (limited to photography - I don't need/use HDVideo):

- limited/crippled AF
- long VF black-out
- long shutter lag
- slow FPS
- unreadable VF info in bright light
- bleeding AF points
- small grip without enough room for my pinky - uncomfortable to hold without grip for longer periods of time
- I have to upgrade to LR 2.2 (which is much slower in performance than LR 2.1 on my iMac (?) - not Canon's fault, but still annoying)
- not 100% VF
- no pop-up flash
- no AF assist light
- questionable weathersealing

What I do like:

- resolution
- IQ in general but especially at high(er) ISO's
- LCD / LiveView
- Micro Adjustment
- Battery life / info system
- ISO button next to shutter release

Conclusion:

For shooting still or posing subjects/objects and when you can take your time, the 5D2 is sufficient and will give you great IQ. So, for landscape/product/macro/studio photography and when you need the 21MP resolution, this cam is a great value.

For shooting subjects/objects that move (fast) and/or when you must respond quickly to your surroundings (reportage, news, events, sports) the 5D2 isn't very capable, mostly because of its limited/crippled AF and slow responsiveness (VF black-out, shutter lag and FPS).

The funny thing is, for the areas of photography where the 5D2 excels, clean high ISO performance isn't of much use. And for the areas of photography where clean high ISO performance is a must, the cam is severly limited by its AF and responsiveness...


Jan 28, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Daan B to your Buddy List  
JohnBrose
Online
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Aug 6, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1840
Review Date: Jan 28, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Quality high iso pictures, great resolution and details, quality feel and construction, video capability, lcd resolution, focus micro-adjust, Live-view focus magnification and resposiveness.
Cons:
no audio tag capabilty on files.

Very good all-around camera for the price. I was hoping for a few more 1-series features, but for the price I can understand why Canon left them off. I am just amazed at the amount of details that can be found in a well-focused image. I really like the ability to magnify the image on live-view for manual focusing. High iso image quality if very nice, I have no problem shooting 4000 and even 6400 for sports. Perfect wedding camera and also great for portraits and landscapes and even the odd sports coverage.

Jan 28, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add JohnBrose to your Buddy List  
Cemalina
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 15, 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 26, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Ease of use Post image processing(almost none!) Simplicity Weight
Cons:
Error 20 messages Lack of pop up flash

When I first got this camera after 2 months wait I was a bit dubious with all the reviews. But after a few days of work it is simply amazing. Coming from the 40d to this is a huge step. If you hate post processing then this is a camera you will love. I use aperture & the program now has nothing or very little to do! The camera reads light incredibly well. I shot a few swans on water in 2 locations & the results are so good that I will now put them in for the club exhibition in April. Also did a shadow shoot in a local forest with a relative & he now wants to buy the shot. Again almost zero post processing. Weight is great for hiking if you mix the 24-105mm with the 100-400mm lens with a decent monopod you have a great combination for a multi day trip.

For the amateur photographer this camera mixed with the anti dust tech & great sensor & lightmeter it is a great buy.

The one big negative is that when I first got the camera I got a lot of error 20 messages but these are now dying off. I have my brothers wedding to shoot next month & now I am looking forward to it.


Jan 26, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Cemalina to your Buddy List  
tito trelles
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 29, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Review Date: Jan 26, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The camera is fantastic.
Cons:
none.

The camera is incredible, here are my opinions:
I don't mind the video (it's superb) if I wanted a good video camera I would've buy a good video camera, so, for me a good video as part of the package is a plus.
The weather seal is enough, this is not an underwater camera, the Hasselblad is not weather sealed either, and in NY an umbrella cost $5.

I don't mind either a small difference in color or contrast, I shoot RAW, Neutral and Custom Color Balance, I can do almost anything in Photoshop, but my view of images is not to reproduce the colors exactly as they are, I'll leave that to the Labs, I twist the colors until I get the image to tell what I want, but I can, if needed, because the camera allows it, to print any image with the almost exact colors.

For me the price is right, the equivalent in other brands cost twice this much. I shot with a Rebel XTi for years, until I made enough money to buy a more complex camera, like this one.

I think a better camera makes your life easier, not your work better, and there is a limit you can ask an equipment, the rest is up to the photographer.

As an unknown friend I will recommend to the 5D Mark II owners. Stop counting pixels, do not try to shoot Oscar movies, just grab your camera, put any lens, go to the street and make the most of an engineering marvel.

Here is a sample, how I see this image, no sharpening (I never do)
with a Sigma 12-24, in Coney Island... one cold afternoon.
Thanks. Tito Trelles

http://thecaretakersofparadise.com/THE-FEAST.jpg


Jan 26, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add tito trelles to your Buddy List  
maverick666
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 16, 2008
Location: N/A
Posts: 725
Review Date: Jan 24, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,699.95 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Low light capability, resolution, AF, VF, LCD, HD video, weather sealing, too many things...
Cons:
Creaky CF slot, I wish the ON/OFF is not on the bottom.

I really enjoy this camera. The AF is nice, very quick, per my intensive research before buying this camera, the AF has improved a lot better than the Mark I. The VF is awesome, large and very clear. I've tested the low light capabilites and it's amazing. Ergonomic is normal Canon's standard..outstanding except I don't really like the ON/OFF power button (just nit picky stuff).

I have just played a little bit with the video and it looks very nice, not sure when I have a chance to really use it seriously but for family videos I'm sure I'll use shortly.

I have to complain about the CF card door, the first 3 hours it's ok after that it creaks, it's not loud but sometimes it's annoying.

I have a little bit of hot pixels but none of them affecting my shots.

The resolution is outstanding, great for wildlife, landscape, portrait and requires details.

I highly recommended this camera for people that are serious into photography.


Jan 24, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add maverick666 to your Buddy List  
nazdravanul
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 1, 2008
Location: Romania
Posts: 170
Review Date: Jan 20, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IQ ; IQ ; did I mention IQ ? Superb 21 mp detail, superb 3200 ISO, FF.
Cons:
None for the money.

Coming from a 1d3 I expected 2 major areas of disappointment : AF and ergonomics. AF is definitely slower than 1 series, with all the weaknesses that everyone is obsessing about, but it's perfectly useable. You'll probably miss more shots because you're a bad photographer than because of inappropriate AF. Remember, this in neither a sport nor a BIF body, it never was, nobody promoted it as such, nobody designed it as such. There are other tools for those applications.
Ergonomics - 2 nice surprises : my 85 1.2 mk2 and 200 2.8 mk2 balance in my big hands a lot better with this body than with my 1d3, which results in definitely lower shutter speeds for hand holding the 2 lenses. Nice, little, unexpected bonus Smile.
I'm in love with IQ. It's amazing, in this day and age, to be able to get this photographic tool, for this amount of money.
I'm going to keep also my 1d3, just in case you were wondering Smile. The two make a very sweet and powerful combination.


Jan 20, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add nazdravanul to your Buddy List  
stargazer78
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 18, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 383
Review Date: Jan 19, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,500.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Resolution; High ISO performance; Video; Ergonomics & Interface feel very refined;
Cons:
AF system; Creaky CF Car Door; Mediocre dynamic range;

Negatives:

-- Autofocus system did not improve from the 2005 model
-- CF Card Door creaks loudly whenever I grip he camera
-- Lacks any kind of lamp, either pop-up flash or AF Assist
-- Dynamic range is poor when compared to the FF competition
-- Canon withheld manual controls from Video Mode to cripple it



Positives:

-- Excellent image quality up to ISO 3200. ISO 6400 is decent
-- Per-pixel sharpness is impressive, even with 21 million of them
-- Best implementation of Live View in a digital SLR
-- Build quality is great (except for CF/Battery doors)
-- New battery system now indicates charge as in percentage
-- Menu system is arguably the most intuitive of any camera
-- Excellent ergonomics and interface, without button clutter
-- Canon's software package is far better than competition's
-- First digital SLR to feature full HD 1080p video recording
-- Option for small RAW for those who prefer it
-- Silent Mode allows shots to be taken discretely




Jan 19, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add stargazer78 to your Buddy List  
Christobel
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 26, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Review Date: Jan 18, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,699.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Superb IQ, dust removal system, large LCD, highlight tone priority, auto ISO.
Cons:
Sraw1 is disappointing and very sluggish in DPP.

Is the 5d Mark II worth the upgrade? Absolutely, especially with its improved technology in terms of dust removal, large LCD, auto ISO, and highlight tone priority. There is not a huge difference in IQ between the 5d and 5dII, but it’s there nonetheless in improved dynamic range, color depth, and detail. You can shoot comfortably at ISO 3200, and the images clean up beautifully in DPP. I’m so impressed with DPP that I no longer use ACR.

For those who may be hesitant in purchasing this camera because of the huge files, sraw1 is very disappointing because the conversion in DPP is very sluggish and the IQ suffers a bit; however, I’ve found that shooting in raw at 21mp, converting in DPP, and reducing the size of the image via DPP’s batch processing produces beautiful, clean images with no loss of IQ whatsoever. You will get a much cleaner image using this process rather than reducing the size of the image later in Photoshop, at least that’s been my experience.

Highly recommended!


Jan 18, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Christobel to your Buddy List  
abam
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 25, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 4201
Review Date: Jan 17, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,700.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: IQ of the 1DsIII for $2700. modern features. micro af adjustments. high-iso capabilities. micro af adjustments.
Cons:
af not improved over the 5D. sad little cluster of af points at the center of the screen. not weather sealed like the cheaper nikons.

fantastic camera for the price.

canon had to cripple it a bit so as not to take sales away from their 1-series'. fps, build, af-points, af-module, weather sealing, squashy-feeling buttons.

that said, it's astounding that we have such resolution at such a low price.

micro af adjust is a great feature, as is the new menu system.

very much recommended, but not perfect. (9 rating)


Jan 17, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add abam to your Buddy List  
dave chilvers
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 11, 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1691
Review Date: Jan 16, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The 5D comes of age
Cons:
Weather to poor to use it as much as I would like to.

I`m fussy, I`m not going into loads of words here but this is honestly the first DSLR that I have really clicked with. It could easily be my only camera.

Canon Cameras owned

D30
D60
20D
400D
450D
1dsmk1
1dsmk2
1dsmk3

enough said really!


Jan 16, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dave chilvers to your Buddy List  
beepclick
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 31, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 170
Review Date: Jan 15, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,499.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: High ISO, Image Detail, Dynamic Range, 10x Focus option, 21.1mp, Still Image from Video, Low Light Still/Video Performance, Responsiveness, top LCD light button * moved next to shutter, My Menu
Cons:
If this camera was $5000, I might say something. At $2700 it has no shortcomings.

I waited 6 weeks before posting my review here. This camera lives up to the "Vincent Laforet Hype" and more. I rarely use the video, but when I have used it, the performance is stunning considering this is a dslr.

I should note that I do hang out at a couple dslr forums (including, obviously, FMForums, but more often I hang out at a Canon forum that most of us are familiar with). The bashing of and whining about this camera that I have witnessed is truly inexplicable. While it is simply the law of averages that there will be a certain number of people with a negative personality in any group, it is still disappointing to see, as there are still undecided potential buyers reading this stuff.

I also shoot an EOS 1N PB-E1, XTi (just sold) and 40D. I tell you, 21mp full-frame images with 'L' lenses is something else! The detail is stunning - the more you zoom in, the detail just keeps getting sharper and sharper. I am going to order some large prints just for the fun of it.

This camera just seems to know what to do with high-contrast scenes. In low light, Auto ISO selects 3200 and the scene looks like it was lit with studio lights - almost.

With the BG-E6 grip it's like handling a chunk of granite - and the grip provides improved handling with my 135L, 70-200L, etc. When I put my 85mm 1.8 on, it's pretty puny attached to such a chunk of magnesium alloy.

They could have had any camera they wanted for Barack Obama's portrait - they chose this one. Good call.

Full-frame, 21mp, HTP, ALO, really clean ISO3200, easy and quick menu changes if you're accustomed to Canon layout, sharp and vivid LCD, 150K shutter, 1080p video in H.264, locks focus right NOW, firmware updates, fits like a glove and stellar service from my local dealer.

I'm good, thank you.




Jan 15, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add beepclick to your Buddy List  
jonbrach
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Dec 22, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 896
Review Date: Jan 15, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,650.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: beautiful image quality,great high ISO performance,great LCD,better battery life..video is interesting feature
Cons:
AF is excellent but could have been made better

outstanding camera....huge improvement over the already excellent 5D

Jan 15, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jonbrach to your Buddy List  
Mikkel Tschern
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 12, 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2
Review Date: Jan 14, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,359.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:



Jan 14, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Mikkel Tschern to your Buddy List  
diafragma.gr
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 14, 2009
Location: Greece
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 14, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: High ISO performance, 1080p video, battery life, price
Cons:
It not entirely perfect...

In April of 2007 I bought the original 5D. I thought "OK, how much better can it become?". Well, it became MUCH better. I could not resist.

I have made some shots at ISO 3200 in extremely low light, f/2.8 and 1/20s. I double check the EXIF and say "No, this is not possible!".

I always looked down to video. Until I was given the capability to shoot video with lenses like the 70-200 f/2.8 IS...

It is able of amazing video. But this is NOT a video-camera. The controls, due to its shape, are somewhat difficult to handle. You either need a third hand or a tripod. I often use a monopod, which is a very good compromise. Keep in mind that in order to get the best results with video, you have to focus manually. And here is where lenses like the 70-200 shine. You can zoom without losing focus, as with cheap lenses.

And it costs less than what the original 5D cost, 16 months after its introduction!



Jan 14, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add diafragma.gr to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
165 195903 Mar 26, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
90% of reviewers $2,655.13
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.80
8.79
9.3
5DII_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next