about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
165 195839 Mar 26, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
90% of reviewers $2,655.13
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.80
8.79
9.3
5DII_1_

Specifications:
21.1 Megapixel Full-frame CMOS sensor, 14-bit A/D conversion (16,384 colors/each of 3 primary color), wide range ISO setting of 100-6400 (expandable L: 50, H1: 12800 and H2: 25600).
Automatic peripheral illumination correction.
Magnesium alloy construction with 'additional' environmental protection
Full HD Video capture at 1920 x 1080 resolution for up to 4GB per clip with HDMI output for HD viewing of stills and video.
Next generation DIGIC 4 Image Processor for faster processing of fine detail and color reproduction as well as reduced image noise.
High performance with 3.9 fps continuous shooting, new shutter with a durability of 150,000 cycles and improved weather-resistant body.
Live View Function for stills (Quick, Live and Face Detection AF modes) and video.
3.0-inch Clear View LCD (920,000 dots/VGA) monitor with anti-reflective and scratch-resistant coatings for improved viewing and smudge protection.
Updated EOS Integrated Cleaning System specifically designed to work with a full-frame sensor.
9 AF points 6 Assist AF points.
UDMA memory card compatibility: Maximum 310 large JPEG images in a single burst with a UDMA card.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next
      
jankson
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 4, 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 0
Review Date: Sep 4, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Exellent photos,pretty easy to handle,good battery time,
Cons:
Old AF not fun,not fast,Why not sealed correct. Very,VERY bad NEW card door,it so bad constructed,my camera have get it replaced,it's better but it still make squeak sound,because it sag.

I get my camera in early Januari and it was okay for use,but all the grip make squeak sound.
Something in the front/down side of the grip was loose ?!
And also the card door was and still have(but better) a sag with sound.
I have get it better with a half ear plug(soft),that i put on the card button and than close the door.(Not that it push the button.On the side of it)
If i not have had Canon before,i have replace it with a well constructed Nikon D700.
All Nikon semi pro SLR's feels better in your hand,and i have never get this cheap feeling of my Canon's before either.
(Have never used old 5D)
Canon must get the next semi pro better,i hope this new Eos 7D is better.
If you need the big sensor,the new 5D is okay,but if you want a Canon camera that not have a cheap feeling and this odd on off turn(This location will never ever feel okay),try 7D.
AND the DPP program that follow all Cannon SLR's is very bad ,it make people think that them have a bad camera that not can handle big contrast situation,like Nikon.
DPP is free,but not good,try it and than ,if you understand me ,get something else.
It's hard to find anything that bad,also for free.

WARNING !!!!
Dont throw away too light raw photos that you only have try to fix with DPP.


Sep 4, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jankson to your Buddy List  
XAOC
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 29, 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 0
Review Date: Aug 23, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Great ISO, IQ, large LCD, HD Movies, Full frame, 21 MP
Cons:
None

Before buying 5D mark II I was using Rebel XT. Boy what an improvement:)
I'm shooting mainly for microstock and the IQ is great comparing it to my previous camera. I like the 21 MP file also because you can crop it a lot and still have decent size photo. The quality of the high iso photos is incredible. I can shoot at 1200 and still my photo gets accepted.

Overall I'm very impressed with this camera. Like the others said the battery grip is insanely expensive but I got around it by purchasing third party grip which is three times cheaper and works great.

http://antoski.com/tips.html


Aug 23, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add XAOC to your Buddy List  
Ralph Conway
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 30, 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 3933
Review Date: Aug 18, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Imo best IQ on the market available! At an affordable price. For me the AF fits perfect.
Cons:
Nothing. But the aditional battery grip is prised 1/9th of the cameras body. This may be acceptable at a 1000 $ Body. For one priced at $ 3.300 (here in germany) it`s just "robbery"!

I bought it 3 month ago and did 7500 shots now. No Problems!
Great IQ with my 24-105 (what became a 24mm again :-)), perfekt over all with the 70-200 4.0 IS USM L. The problems mentioned by some customers below did not happen to me (pressing my thumbs for the future). And I am not really carefull with my gear. They are just tools and have to work under extreme conditions.

In my opinion this camera is the best available one on the market for now. Nothing else beats it in IQ and low light situations (maybe D3x does in "normal" light conditions, I guess - but for its price I would prefere 2 bodys and 2 new "L" lenses.
I shot marriages in available light at ISO 3200 and after developing the raws, they where much sharper and did show more details and less noise than my 50D did at 1600 (what was even low). The fullframe sensor gave me back my analog lense ranges. 21 MP the full freedom to print out even HQ posters.

AF:
Since I started doing pictures 32 Years ago - for lightmesuring and later AF - I never used any else then the center point. And this one in my opinion is working perfect: Fast and accurate.

Complaints:
- the aditional battery grip is by far overpriced
- the memory card cover is cheap and bad fitting
- I do not see, why AutoIso is still not adjustable.
That would be very usefull in extreme fast lightchanging
conditions. Hopefully a firmware update will offer this.


Aug 18, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Ralph Conway to your Buddy List  
MarcyJillGood
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 19, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 997
Review Date: Aug 15, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Great features, easy to use, exceptional ISO range.
Cons:
Should have more focal points for this sophisticated type of model. Built-in flash would be nice. Wish you could set high/low ISO parameters.

This is a beautiful & impressive camera. No, it's not built like the hugely $$$ pro models, but it also doesn't cost as much. It's heavy, solid, has a great ISO range, is fairly easy to use (once you learn its basic functions), and has the 'extra' feature of doing HD video. I personally am not interested in the video feature, but families with little kids would love it, or anyone who wants/needs video.

FYI - I purchased the kit at the well-known camera store on St. Thomas. They were wonderful, the camera & lens both work great, and it was cheaper than the $3500 B&H lists if for (but it's out of stock & hasn't been available for a long while). Also no sales tax & apparently no duty fee on cameras. Overall, I am thrilled - had been researching the 5D MKII for several months & finally mustered the nerve to look for it while in St. Thomas. So glad I did. BTW, I had actually purchased the 24-105 L lens a few weeks before the trip (from a source on Amazon) & got a defective copy that front-focuses, so I returned it. Was fortunate to get a good copy with the kit, so I am a happy camper.

However, for all the hype over the camera, and with all the other bells & whistles, I do think Canon could have added more focus points and perhaps a little built-in flash. I know it's probably poor form to have a built-in flash on a FF body, but it would be nice. It would also be nice to have the ISO parameter feature (not sure what it's called - the feature that lets you set upper and lower ISO parameters). The added focus points and ISO parameter settings should be basic features on a camera of this type.

The above comments are not bad enough to reduce the ratings. This is a great camera, and I love it. I am sorry for those who have posted comments about getting bad copies; that's disappointing. I'd recommend this to anyone in a heartbeat, and I expect to use it for many years before I look for another body. (FYI - I also have the XSi - love it, but wanted a FF body).


Aug 15, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add MarcyJillGood to your Buddy List  
Doug Vann
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 18, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 51
Review Date: Aug 15, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Solid feel, large files for enlargements, video is a bonus, produces very sharp images, low light capability. Better deal if you buy it with the 24-105 lens.
Cons:
Canon keeps raising the price.

Had a 50D before getting the 5D mk II. Getting excellent clear, sharp printed pictures from the 5D. The 50D also produced excellent shots but I think with the 5D giving larger files it should be more capable in the enlargement area - especially bigger enlargements. The 5D layout is very similar to the 50D so it was easy to get used to. Really nothing negative I can say about the 5D or the 50D for that matter...... Highly recommend to anyone thinking of getting one.

Aug 15, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Doug Vann to your Buddy List  
lucas2009
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 13, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Review Date: Aug 13, 2009 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated

Pros: At the moment I do not have anything positive to say about this camera
Cons:
... a huge build (body) quality issue!!!

So much (usually good) has been said and written about the 5d Mark ii. I have been reading the reviews and looking at the sample pictures (some, to be honest I wasn't very impressed with the quality)...Since I have been a Canon enthusiast I took the dive and bought 5d Mark ii. I handled it with an utmost care as I never cared for any of my cameras. I took some 50 pictures with the telephoto lens (they were OK). I tried the video future but the buzzing from the telephoto's IS motor was unbearable. The video wasn't what I expected . The Canon Digital Photo Professional would not install on my computer. Then I couldn't open any of the RAW pictures... Anyway, for this much of money someone would expect a very solid camera! Two days ago I took the 5d Mark ii to get some outdoor pictures. I took off the lens cover, turned the camera on and looked into the visor. To my surprise I saw two black horizontal lines inside the viewing area. That puzzled me. I took the lens off and a piece of something white fell out on the sidewalk. It was the mirror. The black lines were the frame for the mirror. It has never happened to any of my cameras. This one I handled with an extra care. I has not been shaken, dropped or anything of this matter. How on earth it got out of the frame and fell out??? Immediately I returned it to the store for a replacement, which will come in in couple of weeks. I was fortunate it happened only after a few days after the purchase. Now I am debating if I should invest so much money in something that may bring so much grief at any time. Is Canon losing its quality??? Beware of the expensive lemons out there!!!

Aug 13, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add lucas2009 to your Buddy List  
Digital Fury
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 10, 2009
Location: France
Posts: 3
Review Date: Aug 5, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: IQ, good high ISO, FF, sensor cleaner, HD video, much better LCD and battery life than MKI, lens calibration, price.
Cons:
Construction and weather sealing could be improved, very dim viewfinder, low 3.9 FPS, limited AF points, limited C.Fn functions, crappy grip, AutoISO speed can't be changed.

Overall it's much better than the old 5D MK1 and quite an excellent body, but it's clearly not a 1D and neither is the price.

The 1D MKIV should be quite formidable, hopefully the price will not be insanely expensive like Nikon's 3DX.


Aug 5, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Digital Fury to your Buddy List  
Peter Kirk
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 25, 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 309
Review Date: Jul 26, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Resolution, weight of body, battery life, HD video, Hi ISO
Cons:
Could have more focus points.

Great Camera, excellent successor to the original.
More than i expected. The Focus speed is great, even for sporting events, files are amazingly detailed and Hi iso results are superb.
Also HD recording comes in very handy.


Jul 26, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Peter Kirk to your Buddy List  
mnsphotographe
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 7, 2009
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 8, 2009 Recommend? | Price paid: $2,350.00

Pros: A very capable full frame camera with lots of resolution. Well balance with 300mm f:4 L lens fitted on it.
Cons:
Poor QC fresh out from the factory. Mine gives out an error 20 after my 2nd outting into the forest. Canon have one of the circuit board replaced after I sent it back to them on the second time. The 5D Mk2 is a pricy piece of equipment and these QC issue should not happened on the 5D Mk2. Now, I keeping my finger cross that this won't appear again.

I used it mainly for landscape, macro and portrait photography so I don't really know the slight difference in attaining focusing.

Resonably solid body (inside electronic still questionable)
Very good ISO speed and soft shutter release.
It's a great full frame camera for jungle trekking due to its light weight body. The 21mp sensor has enough resolution for most prints sizes. It would be great if it has a pop out flash built-in and a wireless flash control trigger built into the body rather then mounting an ST-E2 to go wireless.

Canon should really relook into their quality control issue as I have some photographer friends also complaining about Canon quality control of late; if Canon wants to remain in the front line of the professional camera equipment sales.


Jul 8, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add mnsphotographe to your Buddy List  
mnsphotographe
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 7, 2009
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 7, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,340.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Very sharp and ease to use if you have been a Canon EOS user. Very well balance in the hand and light for a full frame body.
Cons:
Canon quality (QC) is on a decline. Mine show up Error 20 after taking it out on my 2nd trip to the outdoor in the forest. Send back to Canon twice before they change one of the circuit board. For a pricy camera like the 5D Mk2, I don't expect these to happen but it has happened as the previous person has reviewed. Canon must wake up before more damage to their reputation is done.

As mentioned, it a fine piece of equipment with exceptional resolution and reasonably price for a full frame. It's light and solidly built and I use to mount it on my tripod while I trek, not too heavy on my shoulder.
With a Canon 300mm f.4L mounted, it is still very well balance on my hand.

Canon should look into thier quality control like this pricy 5D Mk2. I have read many report and complain on the 5D Mk2 from friends and photographers on Error failure.

Will I recommend to photographer? yes, provided Canon improve on their QC.


Jul 7, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add mnsphotographe to your Buddy List  
Uracas
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 8, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 31
Review Date: Jun 30, 2009 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 2 

Pros: Great camera when it works...
Cons:
Came defective, broke today on the first week on a 3 month shoot in Eastern Europe. Can't get reasonable service... I have always been a Canon fan but am losing faith very quickly.

First no back wheel response in manual mode. I was told to send it in for repair but was on the way to a 3 month shoot so figured I could live without... Today, one week into the vacation the camera locks up with an ERROR 30. I have always been a Canon fan but I have every reason to believe that Canon quality control is severely lacking. If I can't get a replacement immediately in the next few days I will lose all faith in Canon. Search the internet and these types of breakdowns appear to be not uncommon.

Beware of reliability issues...



Jun 30, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Uracas to your Buddy List  
Keith Broad
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Aug 14, 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 122
Review Date: Jun 20, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Weight, menus, colour, high ISO, full-frame, LCD
Cons:
Weather-proofing needs to improve

I have a 1D3 and was considering buying another wide-angle lens. I decided on the 5D2 instead, figuring that the full-frame would achieve the same end. It hasn't been a disappointment. The 5D2 is much lighter than the 1D3 and the files are marginally better. Obviously, the 5D2 doesn't focus to the same standard as the 1D3, but I bought it knowing that. I'm really enjoying the colour that comes straight out of the camera and the extra resolution. I'm also enjoying improved bokeh on the 70-200 lens. The 5D2 has allowed me to use this a bit more as a portrait lens. The 17-40 is now a true ultra-wideangle and seems to be I haven't tried the 24mm TS-E yet on it, but I'm looking forward to an opportunity when I can. The 5D2 has an improved menu and I love the quick access shooting information menu. I use this more than any other menu. The LCD is fantastic (much better than the 1D3's).

Together, the 5D2 and the 1D3 are a great match.


Jun 20, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Keith Broad to your Buddy List  
mzemljic
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 25, 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jun 8, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: 920K LCD, Bigger VF, AF-On button, big files, more compact and solid than original 5D also better metering...
Cons:
RAW FILES ARE READABLE ONLY WITH ADOBE PHOTOSHOP CS4 !!!

Canon 5D II
Nice piece of equipment... I would even like to by another body !

But, I am really pissed because nobody told nothing about
problems with PS CS3, which CAN NOT read and preview files and thumbs
from 5D II RAW Files!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Adobe Update? Done!

Nothing... Dude, Go and by new PS CS4 for Mac and spend more $$$

I Don't know for any post on Fred Miranda Forum that mention this problem .

If my comp. skills are weak, and PS CS3 for Mac reads & might preview
5DII RAW files, please ignore my post.

Regards to All



Jun 8, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add mzemljic to your Buddy List  
mohamed alfari
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 5, 2006
Location: United Arab Emirates
Posts: 1125
Review Date: Jun 6, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,260.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: WOW what a camera, the still quality so amazing, the video incredible, light weight, the best camera by far.
Cons:
not really a negative but rather suggestion, i think build quality should be improved. faster fps 3.9 isnt enough, it should be at least 5.

this camera has alot of features, but the most amazing is video. especially if you have nice L lenses, with high aperture you can shoot video with bokeh something you dream to get without very expensive video gear. man when you see a portrait shot in video and the background is in bokeh, this by it self is worth it for me.

the image quality is beyond excellent, i saw images from Nikon by the best cameras, this is much better. yes Nikon beat Canon in build quality and features compared to price. but when it come to image quality nothing can beat the new 5D.

many of my L lenses didnt do good with canon 30D, but with this camera all of them are incredibly different. especially wide lenses like the 24-105 at 24mm used to suck with the 30D now is much better, i really dont know why.

i highly recommend this camera, if you love photography dont think just go get one.


Jun 6, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add mohamed alfari to your Buddy List  
Johnny Bravo
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 2, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 8869
Review Date: May 22, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Terrific image quality, hard to tell them from the images I get from my 1DsIII (which cost three times as much!).
Cons:
Give me the frame rate of a 1DMarkIII on a camera with this image quality and you'll be back in my good graces, Canon!!

This camera is phenomenal, especially when one considers the price point. The image quality is comparable to my 1DsIII, and the ability to take HD movies is really fun at times.

My photography is primarily birds and other wildlife. On a scale of one to ten:

Image Quality: 10
Low ISO performance: 10 (meaning--as good as it gets--but that will, of course, change with the next camera--ain't life wonderful?)
Frame rate: 7 (not bad, but more would be better)
Battery life: 9 (never needed more than one battery for dawn to dusk shooting)
Interface: 9 (the new menu structure is great. The live view button and the two button switch to HD movies is fantastic.)

As far as I'm concerned, Canon knocked one out of the park with this camera. It's versatile and a solid performer.

Weather seal one of these and up the frame rate, package it with the 'pro' battery and I'd buy a 'pro' version in a heartbeat.


May 22, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Johnny Bravo to your Buddy List  
Andre Goli
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 20, 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1819
Review Date: May 20, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,400.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: 21MP, New menu with full of new functions, Lens calibration ability, video, etc...
Cons:
none for now

I have had a 20D, then a 5D, and now the 5DII. Sure, I have kept my beloved 5D as my backup... I haven't seen any difference with the 5D in studio, appart of the huge resolution perfect for cropping. But for anything else... wow... noise is much better... the lens calibration, awesome... No more need to send the lenses for calibration... The video.. useful sometimes... This was a plus on a wedding, I was choosed among several photographers because of that little plus...
The screen is really good, and when I use my old 5D, I realize how good the new one is... Everyday I discover new functionnalities in the menu... there are ton of them comparing to the old 5D. The only thing I regret is its grip which is about the same than the one on the 5D. as bulky... Look at the Nikon's... They are so integrated to the body... Canon.. please... Hire some new designers....


May 20, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Andre Goli to your Buddy List  




Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
165 195839 Mar 26, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
90% of reviewers $2,655.13
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.80
8.79
9.3
5DII_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next