about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EOS 50D

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
90 109479 Feb 7, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
83% of reviewers $1,282.95
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.19
8.72
9.1
50D_1_

Specifications:
New 15.1 Megapixel CMOS sensor with improved noise reduction, wide range ISO 100-3200 (H1: 6400, H2: 12800), 14-bit conversion for smooth color tones and gradations.

Next generation DIGIC 4 Image Processor for faster processing, 6.3 fps up to 90 JPEGS using UDMA CF cards; 60 consecutive JPEGS or 16 RAW using standard CF cards.

3.0-inch Clear View LCD (920,000 dots/VGA) with multiple coatings for improved viewing and smudge-resistant protection.

Enhanced Live View shooting includes Face Detection Live mode.

9 cross-type high-precision sensors for accurate target subject acquisition and diagonal center cross-type AF point with f/2.8 and faster lenses.

New Lens Peripheral Illumination Correction setting to automatically even the brightness across the image.

Updated EOS Integrated Cleaning System with a fluorine coating for better resistance to dust.

Creative Auto goes a step beyond full auto with on screen setting display.

HDMI (High Definition Multimedia Interface) output for displaying full high-resolution images on a High Definition TV.

Compatible with over 60 Canon EF/EF-S lenses and most EOS System accessories.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 
      
brimo
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 28, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 80
Review Date: Oct 25, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Good fast AF performance, accurate colour output, images sharpen up well.
Cons:
Only minor niggle is the LCD screen smears easily

Good overall performance for what is an excellent do it all camera, it produces nice clear images which sharpen well; the picture styles seem A LOT better than those from the 40D which from neutral were ok but the other styles seemed unnatural.
Final image quality from 50D raws seems as good as from the 5D and a tiny bit ahead of those from the new 1Dmk111 that i returned.
This is the first xxxD body that i would happily use the small JPGs from for web display.
The only caveat i would add is that this body at 15mpx really benefits from using a top performing lens on it, cheaper kit lens,s do not do this body justice.


Oct 25, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add brimo to your Buddy List  
jlg84
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 1, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 136
Review Date: Oct 25, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,335.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Excellent feature mix, great IQ, reasonable price, works with all those Canon lenses.
Cons:
None stand out so far.

I had not planned on getting this camera; I was happily using my 5D while traveling in Xi'an, China, when it got stolen from me one night at dinner (oops). Not wanting to go camera-less for the rest of my stay, and unwilling to buy another 5D when the new one is due out soon, I bought the 50D to tide me over and also serve as my alternate camera (and my partner's camera) for future outings. But as I used the camera I found that is holds its own against the 5D in many respects. The photos turned out very well and several annoying little quirks of the 5D have been eliminated in the 50D (hope the same will be true of the 5DM2). As a former 20D user I can also report that the 50D is leaps and bounds beyond that camera, so if you were contemplating an upgrade from that generation, I think now is a good time to consider it.

Oct 25, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add jlg84 to your Buddy List  
Jamin2804
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 17, 2008
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 23, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Great screen, Canon rear thumbwheel, easy to use right out of the box and more importantly great images.
Cons:
None.

I've made a big jump and upgraded from the 300D (Rebel). After 3.5yrs a few times round the clock it still performed perfectly but the release of the 50D prompted the upgrade.

I've tested with 17-40F4L, 70-200F4L and 50mm 1.8 Mk2 and all perform perfectly, no ERR99 codes. Nicely balanced with this range of lenses.

Ergonomics are great, I would say I have normal sized hands and everything falls into reach during your shot composition.

Checked calibration of lenses before starting use, both L's didn't need any tweaking, as I'd hoped, but the 50mm needed 3 points (of +-20 available) back focus to be accurate. To be honest if I hadn't have checked I would never have known.

Focus is very quick and so far its had no problems in low light in places where the 300D could struggle.

High ISO performance is great in low light, very little grain when going up the range.

The rear screen is excellent, the colour and resolution shows off a lot of information and is easy to pan around. Menu system is easy to use and settings all in a logical order.

The flash is not able to see over the lens hood of the 17-40F4L when wider than 35mm and casts a shadow, that said its not a criticism of this camera, it seems to be with them all. With my 420EX (or take the hood off) again its perfect.

A real plus is that it uses all the same batteries/cards/charger as my previous body.

The feature to be able to control virtually all the cameras functions including taking pictures via USB seems very useful. If you want to use a tripod to take product shots or position the camera for wildlife and operate remotely via USB from a laptop. The only things you cant operate are mechanical buttons on the camera..ie changing mode Ap Sh M Pr etc and obviously zoom and manual focus. However you can change the focus point and then autofocus again.

Although Liveview appears to work well, the autofocus method is a little clumsy. You have to use a separate button instead of the half press of the shutter, the mirror flips, screen goes black, it focuses, beeps and the screen comes back on. Prob about 1 sec max. This doesn't worry me as its not a feature I think I'll be using except extreme cases. For me Canon could have left the whole Liveview feature off a camera at this level.

The only negative comment I could make is that is not full frame ...but thats why the 5D exists at higher price tag.

Would highly recommend.

Hope this helps in your hunt for your new camera.




Oct 23, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Jamin2804 to your Buddy List  
NinaS
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 13, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1210
Review Date: Oct 23, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,399.99 | Rating: 10 

Pros: ISO performance, LCD screen, shares batteries with the rest of my bodies
Cons:
none yet, I just need to read the manual to fine tune some things

I have the 30D, 20D and 300D, only upgraded to the 50D for more ISO options as I shoot indoor sports & dog agility

I've read others having issues, have not had a single problem (ER99 etc) with my 50D and have done 6 sessions to date.

WOW was my first impression after viewing the images from my first senior ... beautiful portrait camera Smile

I've used it in studio & outdoors with the 70-200 f/2.8L IS and the 24-70mm f/2.8L and it is a great combo


Oct 23, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add NinaS to your Buddy List  
jonbrach
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Dec 22, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 896
Review Date: Oct 23, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: fantastic LCD,15MP ,live view,snappy and accurate AF
Cons:
High ISO pretty much on par with 40D

Excellent upgrade to the 40D,image quality is top notch...the improved LCD alone is worth the upgrade....

Oct 23, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jonbrach to your Buddy List  
SONYBOY
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 6, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 227
Review Date: Oct 22, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,398.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Works with 20D/30D accesories. An up grade from the 30D that was worth the cost for me, not sure I would make that statement if the upgrade was to a 40D. LCD screen is fantastic, be careful though it may lead you to believe your image is better than it actually is while in the field. Auto focus is an improvement over 20D and 30D. Good camera for the money.
Cons:
Error 99 two out of three outings.

All in all this is a camera that I really enjoy. Used my 20D for three years error free, a bit of a disappointment to receive error 99 on the 50D so soon after purchase. Sold my 20D body and retained the 30D as a back up body. The menu lay out is similar in the 50D as the other bodies and in my opinion an improvement. Live view is useful in akward situations such as close up and focus confirmation on stationary subjects. Purcased the 50D 10 days ago and if it serves my purposes as well as the 20D has and I believe it will, it should be a great camera. I've noticed a definate improvement in auto focus performance with two lens that I own, the 100-400 5.6L and the Sigma 150mm 2.8 macro. Both seem to respond much better on the 50D body compared to the 20D and 30D. This reason alone makes owning and using the 50D with the Sigma more enjoyable and changes my opinion concerning the lens, i.e. was not happy with the lens while attached to the 20D/30D bodies.


Oct 22, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add SONYBOY to your Buddy List  
Charlier26
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 24, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 204
Review Date: Oct 22, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Great AF response with my 70-200 2.8L IS, High ISO quite usable to 6400. Fantastic LCD.
Cons:
ISO 12800 not of much use, but it's nice that it is there for have-to-have shots. Not sure it was worth that much more $$$ than my 30D but still glad I made the move.

I shoot almost exclusively indoor action sports (competitive cheerleading). Even with fast lenses, sometimes the lighting is so poor that shutter speeds suffer. I just shot a competition this last weekend with the new 50D in a convention center WITHOUT any stage lighting, and went to ISO6400 just to see what happened. WOW!!! Shutter speeds back into the 1/500 to 1/640 range and quite acceptable noise levels. This is the first camera I have felt comfortable shooting in JPG. The results were great, and while I probably wouldn't want to blow up prints to posters at that high an ISO, at 8x10 or full screen web shots, they are perfect.

With all the complaining I heard about the AF sensors, it sure does a great job for me. MUCH more accurate than the 30D, and for the FIRST time, AI SERVO is usable for low light applications. I don't even want to TRY the 1D now, if its that much better......I can't AFFORD to upgrade again so soon. :-)

All in all, a worthy upgrade from my 30D (which is now my new backup).


Oct 22, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Charlier26 to your Buddy List  
apdieb
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 28, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1412
Review Date: Oct 22, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,250.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Great LCD, super quiet shutter, AF system seems to work well in combination with DIGIC 4, Magnesium Alloy body, AF in Live View, Fast fps for a 15mpix camera.
Cons:
Still not a fan of Canon's Add-on grips. They feel cheap compared to the rest of the body. Noise levels are good, but I was hoping for a little better. Current Raw processors (minus DPP) don't handle color rendition (particularly skin tones) very well (at this point in time).

I have shot about 500 frames with the body so far. Mainly at sporting events (hockey and football). I have FW 1.0.1 and have not experienced any of the err99 that have been talked about. Overall, I really like the body. I bought it to compliment my MKIII for sports and give me a little more effective reach when needed. It has not disappointed me yet. I would like for the high ISO files to be a bit less noisy, but they print exceptionally well, clean up easily and comparing 100% crops at 10mpix vs. 15mpix isn't a true test due to magnification differences. Comparing similarly rez'd images shows that the ISO performance is actually quite good. I think people get a bit too preoccupied with 100% zoom down to pixel levels. In print, these files will look exceptional.

I think it's definitely a fine camera that will serve well for those that don't require full frame or 1D specs.



Oct 22, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add apdieb to your Buddy List  
tanglefoot47
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 12, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 14843
Review Date: Oct 22, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Awesome camera love it, fast AF and accurate. LCD, micro adjust, 15MP great for cropping I love this. there are many thing I like about this camera including the menu. I started out with the rebel then the 10, 20, 30 and the 40 and this camera is the best upgrade of all
Cons:
My neg is I just sent mine back because of power loss when installing the CF card. I had to take bat out and put back in and all is ok. But I like this camera so much I am exchanging

I guess I did in my pro but I am so excited about this camera, shooting BIF I am getting the best I have ever gotten, did I mention I am happy LOL

Oct 22, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add tanglefoot47 to your Buddy List  
PeepingTom
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 4, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 609
Review Date: Oct 22, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,599.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Big beautiful LCD, clear menus, improved image playback, same grip and batteries as 20D, 30D, 40D, image quality, digic 4 processor, on switch is improved. Probably the best bang for the buck in the Canon line
Cons:
9 point autofocus compared to Nikon's 51 point, cheap feel (not robust) compared D300 or Canon 1 series. Not a pleasure to use like the Nikon D300 or D3 (feels competent at best)

1) My reason to buy: waited for 2 years to get the 5D upgrade and was disappointed with the 9 point AF system of the 5Dm2; the 50D promises similar feature set and image quality except for full frame and video (at half the price)

2) Compared to my 20D(about 25K shots): I detest the 20D, particulalry the LCD; the 50D beats the 20D in all respects at the same price point (at timne of release)

3) Compared to my 1D MIIN (after 25K shots): I love the feel and shooting pleasure of the 1 series; but it is heavy for everyday use/ travel etc. The 50D is lighter and more likely to be used for casual occasions. For sports etc the 1DM2N will still be my preferred body

4) I have shot about 600 images with almost every Canon lens; the balance is not close the the 1D body, particularly with long lenses. With the grip (from the 20D, which actually fits) it is much easier to use than without grip. Menu system is easy to use, auto iso is great (but only up to 1600), image playback is a drean compared to 20D and 1Dm2N.

5) I have not tried live view seriously and do not expect to use except in very low or high shots where viewfinder is not psooiblke to use. Focus in live view seems slow

6) Kit lens (28-135) is an imposition (feels like a toy though day time images are quite good) for those who are used to L quality, I bought the kit as it was not available without it.

7) A/F is not bad though it has no significant improvement. Metering is OK. In my opinion, Colors do not pop like in the Nikon D3 (have test shot D300 and D3 and made quick comparison). The Nikons are better bodies (a real pleasure to use) if you have Nikon Glass. Unfortunately, I am heavily invested in Canon glass and cannot switch witout losing thousands of dollars.

7) I am surprised that others have not reviewd the 50D yet. Except for 1.6 crop factor, it is a decent upgrade to the prosumer line. Probably the best bang for the buck in the Canon line.


Oct 22, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add PeepingTom to your Buddy List  




Canon EOS 50D

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
90 109479 Feb 7, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
83% of reviewers $1,282.95
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.19
8.72
9.1
50D_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6