about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon D700

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
49 84424 Jan 11, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
92% of reviewers $2,471.10
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.74
8.69
9.5
D700

Specifications:
• 12.1 megapixel full-frame sensor (8.45΅m pixel pitch)
• Image Sensor Cleaning (vibration)
• ISO 200 - 6400 (with boost up to ISO 25600 and down to ISO 100)
• Also supports DX lenses, viewfinder automatically masks (5.1 megapixels with DX lens)
• 14-bit A/D conversion, 12 channel readout
• Same ultra-fast startup and shutter lag as D3
• Nikon EXPEED image processor (Capture NX processing and NR algorithms, lower power)
• New Kevlar / carbon fibre composite shutter with 150,000 exposure durability
• Multi-CAM3500FX Auto Focus sensor (51-point, 15 cross-type, more vertical coverage)
• Auto-focus tracking by color (using information from 1005-pixel AE sensor)
• 95% coverage, 0.72x magnification viewfinder
• Auto-focus calibration (fine-tuning), fixed body or up to 20 separate lens settings
• Scene Recognition System (uses AE sensor, AF sensor)
• Picture Control image parameter presets
• 5 frames per second continuous with auto-focus tracking*
• Optional MB-D10 Battery Pack (same as D300), increases burst rate to 8 fps
• UDMA compatible single CF card slot
• 3.0" 922,000 pixel LCD monitor
• Live View with either phase detect (mirror up/down) or contrast detect Auto Focus
• Virtual horizon indicates if camera is level (like an aircraft cockpit display)
• HDMI HD video output
• 'Active D-Lighting' (adjusts metering as well as applying D-Lighting curve)
• Detailed 'Control Panel' type display on LCD monitor, changes color in darkness
• Magnesium alloy body with connections and buttons sealed against moisture
• Improved Info display on main screen


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4  next
          
smokeyjoe
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 7, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 7
Review Date: Dec 28, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: High ISO performance, fabulous resolution, excellent FPS, and many many more!
Cons:
O.K. I'm nitpicking here: 95% viewfinder, weak auto white balance, button placement....

Easily the best DSLR I've ever owned -an I've owned a few. I'm pretty sure this will be the last (never say never) SLR I'll own.
It's not absolutely perfect, but it's definately changed the way I think about photography, and after all these years, that's really saying a lot!


Dec 28, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add smokeyjoe to your Buddy List  
advan031
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 26, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 176
Review Date: Dec 24, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,399.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build, High ISO performance, IQ
Cons:
sub-par Auto WB, 95% viewfinder but it's not that big of a deal to me.

I absolutely love this camera and it'll probably be the only camera I would need for a long long time. Next step would be buying better glass.

Happy shooting!


Dec 24, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add advan031 to your Buddy List  
Grognard
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 11, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2143
Review Date: Dec 12, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, light, excellent response time, great viewfinder, stunning High ISO capabilties, Great flash handling
Cons:
Terrible Auto White Balance

This is a great camera, and a worthy offering from Nikon. The High ASA/ISO capabilities are staggeringly great. I cannot but help endorse this camera as among the best of the best. Handles flash better than my D2X.

Dec 12, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Grognard to your Buddy List  
Marvincheong
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 13, 2008
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 95
Review Date: Nov 22, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 1st look............make me crazy.... Touch it...........Like stick on my hand, hard to let it go. Just buy it and bring it home. So D700 is really a good camera and the image quality is perfect. ISO.................I can say King of ISO
Cons:
bit heavy......... But still manage to handle it.



Nov 22, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Marvincheong to your Buddy List  
kreativbuero
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 8, 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 4
Review Date: Nov 19, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great ergonomics & buildquality, nice high ISO IQ, highly customizeable, all in all made for the photographer
Cons:
ISO switch and using the viewfinder at the same time feels complicated

I switched from Canon after beeing a Canonist for about 8 Years. The D700 feels very balanced in every way. I really like the ability to adjust the most important preferences without using the menu (like exposure and autofocus). All buttons are easily to operate even when wearing gloves.

The camera is very well build, feels like a solid brick except of the build-in flash unit.

Imagequality and High-ISO is very nice, high ISO noise looks more like filmgrain.
12 MP is enough for my purposes.

All in all I should have switched earlier. This camera should serve me for years.


Nov 19, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add kreativbuero to your Buddy List  
misanthropic a
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 26, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 448
Review Date: Oct 22, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,750.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Built like a tank, controls are superb, weather-sealed, FANTASTIC AF, metering is very good, incredible low-light abilities, great LCD, overall fantastic camera.
Cons:
Heavy for its class, only 95% viewfinder (though it is very bright and the status LCD inside is VERY bright and easy to read), thats about it.

This camera is about as perfect as a camera can get. Its lighting fast, built like a rock and has more features than most anyone could possibly use. I moved from a 5D, and the AF on this thing leaves that camera so far in the dust its amazing, and its dead-on accurate. This is a shooters camera, true Nikon fashion.
Some will claim that 12mp is too low, well unless you need something over a 20x30 or crop like a fiend, 12mp is plenty for most any type of use. More mp means more file size, using a fresh 8gig card and NEF lossless+Fine JPG, you can only squeeze 274 pics onto a card. Double your resolution with say the A900 or near double with the 5DII, and your talking 150-210 pics per card. For weddings, that could be well over 40gigs/wedding, time to get a could terabytes a season....
Truly, I have yet to find ANYTHING I don't like about this camera, there are a few quibbles such as it's heft, and it is noticeably heavier than a 5D. You can't bind the Fn and DofP button to two different things (1 bind is for just a press, another press+control wheel movement), liveview is kinda slow, though I have used it twice in the 2 weeks I have owned it, both times just to show it off.
In low-light, the AF at ANY point is better than the 5D even at the center, and the center points beat the socks off that camera, low-light for me being in a poorly lit gym or church. Brighter light, the thing is uncanny at tracking.
Overall, of all the sub 3k cameras out there, I can think of none that will keep up with this hotrod of a camera, either in speed or in low-light. Get off the fence and jump into the pool, the water is fine!


Oct 22, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add misanthropic a to your Buddy List  
albertino
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 22, 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 15, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Velocitΰ - controllo totale- Pulizia delle immagini-senso di robustezza-
Cons:
piccolo neo WB su luci al tungsteno

Sono passato dalla D5(ne ho vendute 2) alla d700 e francamente non me ne pento.
Le sue prerogative:
Velocitΰ
controllo totale sulle modalitΰ di scatto
Eccellente pulizia delle immagini sopratutto negli alti iso
Inseguimento soggetto in scatto continuo anche in base al colore
D.L.
Qualche perplessitΰ soltanto sul bilanciamento del bianco in presenza di luci artificiali. Ma cmq. facilmente superabile in P.S.




Oct 15, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add albertino to your Buddy List  
Carl Feather
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 26, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 578
Review Date: Oct 14, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,955.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Full frame, outstanding high ISO performance, wonderful handling
Cons:
Price, lacks video, only 95 percent viewfinder

Nikon finally delivered, albeit three years late, a full-frame camera for the semi-pro. This camera builds up on the very successful D300 body, giving us most of the D3 features in a very user-friendly package.

I am always amazed at just how well this camera does in low light as well as good light. The portraits with my 85mm f/1.4 are just outstanding in bokeh and smoothness, skin tones are the best of any Nikon I've ever used, MUCH better than the D300. Metering and AF are much better than the D300. My D300 has not taken a back seat to this camera; it's in the trunk. I should have skipped the D300 altogether and waited for this. It's that good.

ISO 800 is simply stunning; even 6400 is usable. This is a wedding photographer's dream camera if ...

it had video. There is no reason for Nikon not to have included that; the D90 has it at 1/3 the price. That would make it competitive with Canon's new 5D replacement, except for the megapixels. I don't find the 12.1 mp limiting, however; would much rather have great high ISO than more mp.


Oct 14, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Carl Feather to your Buddy List  
alex_86
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 25, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 35
Review Date: Oct 4, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Feel great in the hand, built like a camera should be, SUPER clean at high ISO ratings, fast AF... pretty much, there is nothing wrong with this camera unless there is a particular feature it does not have that you need. But, if its in the camera it does its job as you would expect.
Cons:
Um, ahh... It does not come in multiple colors? There is not really anything I can complain about. The most I can do is say that I wish Nikon and 3rd party software developers would have gotten on the ball quicker to provide support in the various RAW converts.

In one word, Perfect! It does what it was designed to do 100% and has 98% of the features found in the D3 with a few advantages.

Oct 4, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add alex_86 to your Buddy List  
svx94
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Mar 25, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 657
Review Date: Sep 5, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,998.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Solid build, full function, very customizable, excellent high ISO performance, friendly function switchs (vs. using menu), very practical pixel size for prosummer use
Cons:
Lack of tilt LCD, RAW converter is not included, soft jpg sharpening, poor VR lens selection, lack of prosummer grade lenses, removing battery is not so smooth, MLU can't use with selftimer.

I'm not a Pro.

After using Canon 20D and 5D for years, I finally got a Nikon that can say that Nikon knows how to build UI, and the imager with high ISO really performs. It is better than Canon on the basis and advanced functions. E.g. AE links to all AF points rather than only the center one on Canon; and build-in wireless command...

The build-in flash is very handy (compare with the 5D); VF is large, bright with a useful grid. AF is fast with any of the AF points, the LCD is a pleasent to use; High ISO pictures turned out beautiful !

Lens is my only concern. Nikon can't beat the EF 70-200/4.0 L IS (yet), and don't have a competitor for the 24-105/4 L IS.

Although, this camera deserves higher price than the 5D, I still think it is over priced. But in the end, I paid for it.

The complaint is the Capture NX. For a $3000 body, Nikon still won't include a RAW converter!


Sep 5, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add svx94 to your Buddy List  
mholdef
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 25, 2005
Location: France
Posts: 1121
Review Date: Aug 28, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: - Delivers images that have beautiful, accurate color and which are very sharp - 14 bit RAW offers greater dynamic range in shadows and highlights - Outstanding image quality up to ISO 6400 - Superb body construction and handling - Large number of custom functions allowing you to "personalize" the camera to your needs
Cons:
- Very minor, but can only bracket up to 1 stop! (would like to go to 2 stops for HDR series)

I owned a Canon 5D for 3 years and loved it, but was looking for a step up in various areas. The D700 delivered on all these points and it has been a real pleasure to take pictures with it.

When I shot film I had owned a Nikon F100 and I always preferred Nikon to Canon for the body ergonomics but until last year Canon offered a better sensor with better image quality over Nikon. This all changed with the D3 and now the D700.

12 million pixels may seem to be a bit on the low side, but I know from experience with the 5D that you can produce large, beautiful prints, having recently done an exhibit with prints sized at 80x120cm.

The key thing is to have a clean, well exposed image from the start. With the 5D, this was possible up to ISO 800 but with the D700 there is a 1 to 2 stop advantage, so the same should hold up to ISO 3200...

Digital technology will continue to grow but the D700 is well rounded, and amazing camera across the board that I highly recommend.

Mark

________________

www.pbase.com/mholdef


Aug 28, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add mholdef to your Buddy List  
Andrew Ball
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 1, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 23
Review Date: Aug 27, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,999.95 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great Image Quality, Very Sharp, ISO performance is great
Cons:
Price? but i think i got what i paid for.

Got this as an upgrade from my D200, so glad i went with this rather then the D300. The ISO performance is great, Dynamic range is surprising. Its very fast, the LCD is great. I really have no complaints at all. The only down side is that the camera is so good you couldnt get away with putting cheap glass on ti if you wanted it. You would see every flaw immediately. My 50mm is actually a very useful lens again. it was always too long on my D200. If your looking for great image quality and speed but dont want to drop your life savings on a D3, Get this.


Aug 27, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Andrew Ball to your Buddy List  
ghamden
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 10, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 112
Review Date: Aug 15, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,699.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: excellent Camera No noise Very well built
Cons:
none so far

1- Better built than d300 feels more solid
2- Image quilty with standard settings looks ok
3- IQ with portrait and landscape pictue controls great
4- Need to customize picture control to personnel liking
5- Focus is good
6-image compression is better my 4g cf on d300 197 images on the D700 around 205 varies
7- Buttons and switches feel more solid durable
8- NO Noise big improvement over D300 which you could find noise even at 200 iso.
9- Battery grip to me is a must
10- Seems like NX2 is sluggish with D700 nef's i see a patch coming?
11- Viewfinder is excellent very large and clear and bright also has a built-in shutter to block stray light when using tripod
12- No blown out reds an issue i had with D300

My humble opinion once you get used to the feel of the D700 and its settings this will most likey be a long term keeper Nikon will have to offer something pretty amazing to get you to replace this camera.


Aug 15, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ghamden to your Buddy List  
tomjwu
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 22, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 61
Review Date: Aug 13, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,000.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good AF in low light at 12800 & 1/30. Excellent combo with 24-70mm f2.8. Image quality is really high. AF is better than D300 in low light.
Cons:
24-70mm combo is very expensive but quality is what you pay for.

My first one arrived from the mail was DOA (dead on arrival). I went ahead and bought from my local dealer who just got a new shipment. For 24 hours, I played around with it and very happy with my 24-70mm combo and 50/1.4 lenses. The IQ is very good at 3200 and even 6400 with proper exp. Focusing is the best comparing to D300 and D200. All and all it is easier to pick up and go since it's pretty much the same functionality as D300 & 200s. Highly recommended.

Aug 13, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add tomjwu to your Buddy List  
Jack White
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 12, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 867
Review Date: Aug 12, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,995.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image quality, low light AF, handling/ergs, build quality, LCD, sensor cleaning, exposure/WB accuracy for most situations pretty good, customization of controls/menus
Cons:
Would have been nice if they offered a free version of Capture NX1.X or free upgrade to NX2 from NX

Manual focus of my AIS Nikkors has been a pleasure with the D700. The lack of a slower wide-to-tele f/4 VR zoom lens to accompany the D700 is my only wish, something like an updated 24-120 VR or new 24-105 f/4 VR. I haven't found any significant departures in exposure and AF-speed/acquisition in comparison to my prior experience with the D3 or D300. With the great lens options for DX format users I think the main advantages in the D700 are brighter viewfinder, 1-2 stop cleaner ISOs at the high end, more robust thumb-wheel selector and a form factor in between D3 and D300.

Aug 12, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Jack White to your Buddy List  
DavidWEGS
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Apr 15, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 3793
Review Date: Aug 12, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,999.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very accurate AF on all my lenses (better than the D300 here for some reason). Obviously excellent 6400 iso. Wonderful color reproduction in most lighting. Lighter than a D3. Great battery life.
Cons:
No dual card slots.

Having shot a few events and several portrait session with it, I have to say I will be letting go of my trusty old 5D's. This is what I have waited for from Nikon for 6 years.

Great camera, great feel and excellent results.


Aug 12, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add DavidWEGS to your Buddy List  

   



Nikon D700

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
49 84424 Jan 11, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
92% of reviewers $2,471.10
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.74
8.69
9.5
D700


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4  next