about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon D60

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
3 21086 Sep 18, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers None indicated
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.00
9.00
8.7
Nikon_D60

Specifications:
• 10.2 megapixel imager
• Compact, ergonomically designed body
• Nikon Integrated Dust Reduction System
• Active D-Lighting optimization
• Three-point AF system
• Nikon 3D Color Matrix Metering II
• Quick 0.19-second power-up
• Fast continuous shooting mode enables up to 100 JPEG images at 3 frames per second
• Retouch Menus, including Quick Retouch, Stop-motion Movie and NEF (RAW) Processing
• 2.5-in. LCD monitor with viewing angle of approx. 170 degrees in all directions
• Information display in three formats: Classic, Graphic and Wallpaper
• Eye Sensor turns off the LCD monitor automatically when you look through the viewfinder
• Rechargeable lithium-ion battery - up to 500 images on a single charge
• Eight Digital Vari-Programs for scene-specific pictures
• Built-in flash with Nikon’s i-TTL flash control
• Supports the Nikon Creative Lighting System
• Nikon ViewNX PC software included
• Accepts Nikon F mount with AF coupling and AF contacts Type G or D AF
• Optional remote control


 


          
jsbeith
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 8, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 56
Review Date: Sep 18, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Lightweight, easy to use, good image quality, and inexpensive.
Cons:
Three focus points, you spend a lot of time digging through the menu, small size.

I have used my Nikon D60 for about five years. It has been a solid and relatively inexpensive learning tool which has allowed me to develop my knowledge of photography over the years. When combined with decent glass it allows the user to create images most beginning to intermediate photographers would be happy to display. The supplied kit lens (18-55 VR) is capable of handling most general photography duties the beginning photographer would ask of it. The VR works well on the lens and the lightweight 18-55 is a nice match to the D60 body.

I have added three items which have proven to be excellent additions to the D60:

Nikon 50mm 1.4G
Nikon 70-300 VR
Nikon SB-600

The addition of these two lenses and the flash have greatly increased the image quality and capabilities of the little camera. The lenses are my go-to glass for portraits and other subjects where high image quality is essential. The flash has opened up a new realm of photographic possibilities over the pop-up flash on the D60.

There are always negatives with any camera and with a beginner's camera such as the Nikon D60 there are a few:

1) If you want to change settings, you are going to be digging in the menu.
2) Three focus points means you will be working hard to properly compose your shots.
3) You don't want to reach beyond ISO 400 if you want to maintain any type of image quality.
4) The physical size of the camera makes handling a bit difficult at times.
5) Lack of a Nikon battery grip with controls for shooting in portrait mode.

There are quite a few positives to the D60:

1) The size of the camera makes it easy to haul around all day (you don't end up with great pictures if you leave your camera at home).
2) It served as an inexpensive entry into the world of DSLRs.
3) The image quality is actually quite good (when combined with good glass it is capable of creating really nice results).
4) It handles flash units the size of the Nikon SB-600 well.
5) The Active D Lighting works really well.
6) There are a lot of options available in the menu to modify your images.
7) The in camera sensor cleaner works well - no dust issues in five years of use.
8) It provides for RAW, JPG, or RAW+JPG options.
9) It has a variety of "scene modes" which can be useful for a beginner prior to switching to S,A, or M as your experience grows.

Overall I am quite pleased with my purchase as it has served me well for a long time considering it is a simple beginner's DSLR. I have outgrown its capabilities and will be moving to either the Nikon D600 or D800, but as a starter setup the D60 has proven to be a capable companion for my photographic studies. It has the same drawbacks as other beginner DSLRs, but it was a worthwhile purchase as an introduction into the world of photography.


Sep 18, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jsbeith to your Buddy List  
sehdata
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 22, 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 13, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: It's a perfect walk around camera, handling is perfect and weight is low
Cons:
Considering the price, not a single point



Jan 13, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add sehdata to your Buddy List  
philber
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: May 20, 2008
Location: France
Posts: 7498
Review Date: Aug 11, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Excellent IQ. Generally simple, hassle-and-fuss-free. Compact size, light weight, lots of features that make it easy for the first-time DSLR owner to get up and running. D-Lighting, on-board image processing.
Cons:
Too small for my taste. Small, rather dark viewfinder. Limited autofocus (3 points only). It feels like Nikon didn't wan't the D60 to cast a shadow over older, more up-market camera bodies. Only AF-S lenses allow autofocus, giving limited choice.

I used one for 2 weeks on a trip to Asia, with a 16-85mm VR, a 70-300mm VR and a 60mm f:2.8 macro.
On the plus side, the D60 consistently produced high IQ (but note that I was using it with much better lenses than the kit lenses it is commonly sold with). The very fact that differences between lenses were very clear shows its resolving ability.
Also on the plus side, the D60 is a good "point-and-shoot" camera for first-time users. They will find preset settings for most common types of shots, and D-Lighting is a big help to get useable results in tricky, high-contrast situations. Beyond that, the D60 offers on-camera software to optimize shots, which can be a bonus for users who have no intention to use photoshop-type post processing.
Also as a positive, while the camera body is small, I found ergonomics to be intuitive and easy, and it felt light, plasticky, but well-engineered and reliable.
On the minus side, the D60 is small, even for my average-sized hands. Some might say very small. That makes it less easy to handle than one would like, and less stable than one would like.
Also as a minus, and for me a big one, the viewfinder is small and rather dark. It compares poorly to its direct competitor the Canon Xsi/450D. Within this viewfinder, the autofocus only has 3 points, compared to the Canon's 9 points. Similarly, its LCD screen is 2.5", Vs 3" to the Canon. A function again of Nikon's choice to make it so compact as to be almost small.
In other areas as well, Nikon's reluctance to let the D60 eat into the sales of its larger breathren is palpable. As such, only AF-S lenses get autofocus, which means, for example, that the D60 cannot autofocus with the excellent 50mm f:1.4 and 50mm f:1.8 lenses, which would otherwise have been no-brainers for owners wanting to go one step further than standard zooms.
Overall, the D60 is IMHO a good camera, which, with the right lenses, can produce very good pictures. I recommend it if the compact size appeals to you, if you like the idea of owning a Nikon, or if you want a "point-and-shoot" DSLR. But when you look at the list of what competitors offer, it is by no means the only choice.


Aug 11, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add philber to your Buddy List  

   



Nikon D60

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
3 21086 Sep 18, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers None indicated
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.00
9.00
8.7
Nikon_D60