about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
52 185288 Jun 27, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
88% of reviewers $228.09
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.45
9.75
8.9
efs55-250_f4is_586x225_1_

Specifications:
This telephoto zoom lens is designed with Canon's Optical Image Stabilizer technology while retaining compactness and lightness, in response to demands of photographers. This high zoom ratio lens is equivalent to a focal length of 88-400mm in the 35mm format (when used on Canon EOS cameras compatible with EF-S lenses), and the image stabilizer effect equivalent to a shutter speed about 4 stops faster than the same size lens without Image Stabilizer. In other words, if the slowest shutter speed you could formerly hold a 250mm lens steadily was 1/250th of a second, with Canon's 4-stop stabilization correction, you could hand-hold at shutter speeds as slow as 1/15th of a second. It also uses a UD-glass lens element to correct chromatic aberration for excellent image quality throughout the zoom range. This new EF-S telephoto lens with great features delivers excellent performance at an affordable price for all photographers.

Focal Length & Maximum Aperture: 55-250mm f/4-5.6

Lens Construction: 12 elements in 10 groups, including one UD-glass element

Diagonal Angle of View: 27 50'- 6 15' (with APS-C image sensors)

Focus Adjustment: DC motor, gear-driven (front focusing design)

Closest Focusing Distance: 3.6 ft./1.1m (maximum close-up magnification 0.31x)

Filter Size: 58mm

Max. Diameter x Length, Weight: 2.8 in. x 4.3 in./70 x 108mm (maximum lens length); 13.8 oz./390g


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4  next
      
EOS20
Online
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 6, 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 13638
Review Date: May 14, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Cheap, Light weight, Sharp, IS, 58mm filters.
Cons:
Slow Auto focus, Hunts in low light, No full time manual focus, Front element rotates, Manual focus ring rotates when auto focusing. Some CA, No focus limiter, no lens hood included.

Got this lens as a part of a 500D twin lens kit to use as a light weight kit.

This lens has good optical quality and is better then the other kit lenses I've owned (55-200 and 75-300 III). Build quality is ok, but not as good as Canon's "Gold Ring" consumer grade lenses.

The all plastic construction means it is very light weight, and when combined with one of Canon's plastic d/SLR's makes a nice light weight setup.

The IS does seem effective and offers about 2-3 f/ stops of hand hold ability.

The lens does seem to hunt allot in low light and the autofocus is noisy and a bit slow, if you plan on shooting anything that moves you should look at one of Canon's USM lenses.

The front element rotates when autofocusing, so using a polarising filter means you need to adjust the filter after you've focused.

There is some chromatic abbreviation, but this is easily corrected in post production.

There is no focus limiter so the lens can become very out of focus and also results in the lens hunting. But this is only a small issue and wouldn't really be a problem for the shooters that Canon is aiming this lens at.

Colours and sharpness seem good for a consumer lens and better then the older non-IS kit lenses.

Overall it's a decent lens for those looking for something lightweight, or are on a budget.






May 14, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add EOS20 to your Buddy List  
Diamond Dave
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 16, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 105
Review Date: Apr 29, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: price, weight, size
Cons:
autofocus hunts in low light

I'm new to the DSLR world, so take this for what it's worth. This has become my "walk-around" lens for outdoor shooting. I love the added range. Compared to the low-end Tamron and Sigma super zooms, the Canon is by far the best value. The IS is great. Don't even try to shoot without a tripod without the IS on.

The AF does hunt in low light, though. Like anything less than full sun. Not a major deal, just be aware of it.


Apr 29, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Diamond Dave to your Buddy List  
dalephill2
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 26, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 739
Review Date: Mar 6, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $210.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: it blows me away how darn sharp this lens is without adding any sharpness, I like it better than the 70-200f4
Cons:
little slow focusing, easy to work around

This is an outstanding lens, the 70-200f4 and 2.8 have more saturation or added color, but this lens is on par with both as far as the sharpness, yet the 50-250 is way more versatle and the is gives me way more keepers, and the saturation or color that i do not get in it lightroom 2.2 fixes it right up, and for half the cost or less than the 70-200f4 its a bargain.



Mar 6, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add dalephill2 to your Buddy List  
Tony Fletcher
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 10, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Review Date: Jan 9, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $225.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Price, light
Cons:
None worth noting.

After finally coming to grips with the fact that the 70-200 L is not in my immediate future, I purchased this lens to pick-up where my terrific 17-55mm EF-S lens leaves off.

I decided that a good real world test would be the NHL Winter Classic at Wrigley Field, January 1, 2009. This lens did not disappoint.

Take a look at the results: http://tonyfletcher.com/images/winterclassic

Note that the first few shots of the entire park were taken with the above mentioned 17-55mm EF-S. When we arrived at our seats, I switched to the 55-250mm.


Jan 9, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Tony Fletcher to your Buddy List  
aVOLanche
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 7, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 159
Review Date: Jan 1, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $229.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: sharp cheap VERY light
Cons:
none at this price!

Canon finally is buiding worthy consumer lenses at bargain basement prices.This lens is terrific.

Jan 1, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add aVOLanche to your Buddy List  
bilga
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 17, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Dec 22, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $200.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Very good image quality, IS works
Cons:
Little Jittery focus lock

I have this lens for about 2 months now and I can say that this may be the best value lens. The image quality is actually very good. I'm not a professional but in last one year, I have tried a lot of highly rated lenses and I will say that with respect to image quality, this is surprisingly very good.
I had the highly regarded 70-200mm f/4 L lens and I will go on a limb to say that with respect to image quality and sharpyness, I can "almost" compare to the L lens with added IS which actually really works.
The one problem I noted with the lens is that there is some kind of jitter when you press the shutter. I'm not sure if this is how IS works or it is something else; but that results in focus shift a lot of times between when you press the shutter half-way to when you press it fully. If you wait for a split second and then press the shutter fully, the focus remains good.
Otherwise, highly recommended lens. Actually I compared the pics at 85mm with my 85mm prime lens and I was surprised at the quality. Of course, the prime lens just rocks when it comes to focusing.


Dec 22, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add bilga to your Buddy List  
quikstephen
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 17, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 11
Review Date: Dec 7, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $260.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Lightweight, very compact, IS
Cons:
plastic mount and overall feel is not very good. rotating front element.

If you dont want to get the 70-200 L then this is the lens for you. I use it when i go to sports events where I am shooting just for fun and where you need a press pass to shoot. The IS is noisy but works great and makes some sharp photos. Definitely worth the price.

Dec 7, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add quikstephen to your Buddy List  
Burk Young
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 27, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 454
Review Date: Nov 25, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $230.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Light, fairly sharp, inexpenseive, IS works very well...
Cons:
For the price non really...

Great intermediate lens, IS works well... exceptionally sharp for being a budget lens (no, not near L sharp but its not an L). I plan on using this until 70-200 2.8 L



Nov 25, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Burk Young to your Buddy List  
1canon1
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 9, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Nov 9, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: IMAGE STABILIZATION ! 250mm. Great price ! No visible CA !
Cons:
Build quality is not of a $1000 + L lens, but then you aren't paying that either. Rotating front element / CP ND filter hassle.

First let me say that you get what you pay for. Of course lenses that cost thousands of dollars will take awesome photos, and deserve high rankings. In my opinion just because a lens does not take L grade pictures, should not disqualify it from a high rating. That is why I rated this lens a 10 overall. The value for the money is incredible. This is the best Canon zoom lens in this low price range I have seen to date, no exception. The image stabilization is a fantastic addition to this lens, and I am glad to see Canon using it in this price range. The IS works great as well as the focusing is fast and accurate. The lens pushes F5.6 at 250, so bright light is a must for hand held shots. If you need lower light shots, shell out $1800 for a F2.8 L lens or $1000 for a F4 L. Picture quality is sharp, and colors are great. Lens is lightweight and it will not drag you down. There is no CA which is fantastic also. Great walk around lens ! Highly recommended.

Nov 9, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add 1canon1 to your Buddy List  
wrwhite76
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 29, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 51
Review Date: Oct 16, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $279.99 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Nice sharp pictures. Zoom is great!
Cons:

Highly Recommended for the price.

Oct 16, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add wrwhite76 to your Buddy List  
Vishal
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 3, 2008
Location: India
Posts: 30
Review Date: Aug 29, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $237.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Price, Image Stabilizer, Very Handy Range/Focal Length, Size, Light-Weight, Good Image Quality.
Cons:
Rotating Front Element.

Its not just "A" particular factor but a combination of all of the little good things this lens encompasses which make it value-for-money.

Unlike others who see a plastic make as negative, I infact like it :thumb: as it makes this lens lightweight enough to leave the camera with the lens attached dangling with the strap on your neck which i wouldnt dare to do if i had a 70-200 or a 100-400 :naughty:

Image Quality is indeed Very Good

ONE VERY IMPORTANT THING I'D LIKE TO STRESS ON is that like most lenses that i've personally used, they all tend to produce excellent & very sharp images of objects which are close & zoomed-in on at maximum focal length (refer the photos in the link below of airplane nose close-ups) whereas, upon zooming-in on objects at a distance to fill a frame at max focal length they tend to lose a little sharpness depending upon the haze in the air as well as the temperature - heat haze if you are shooting in warm conditions at a high focal length. This lens is no exception.

The Image-Stabilizer is perhaps one of the best feature of this lens, you can actually make-out the IS stepping-in when shooting at high focal length or slow shutter speeds.

Chromatic Abberation (CA) is extremely low to non-existant.

Another thing i like about this lens is its fantastic range from 55mm to tele-photo (250mm) which is quite brilliant.

Auto Focus (AF) is almost always accurate, except in low-lighting where it will hunt a bit at times.
You have a choice, either let it hunt & find the focussing point or switch to Manual Focus (MF).

Fun lens to own & play around with given its economical price.

Thumbs Up! Click here to view my photos shot through this beautiful lens.

Cheers - Vishal Jolapara :thumb:


Aug 29, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Vishal to your Buddy List  
huberta
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 25, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1579
Review Date: Aug 22, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros:
Cons:



Aug 22, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add huberta to your Buddy List  
marconis
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 12, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Aug 12, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $265.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: The IS works well. People who complain about the 4:1 not working may not be factoring in the 1.6 crop factor. (Or perhaps they are very shaky.) The images are fine for serious amateur use.
Cons:
Perhaps due to the extent of focusing range, it won't focus easily fully extended. You first have to focus at a shorter range and then extend. The other is an obvious - it is at least f5.6 at the 250mm. So you will need the image stabilizer and a high ISO most times for hand-held.

I love shooting with my Canon prime lenses. But my longest prime is the 85mm f1.8. I wanted something with more reach for those occasional photos at public events and nature shots.

Although this is an EF-S lens, it is worth the money for an amateur. I do prefer it to the EF 28-135mm IS just because it has more reach and does a fine job of IS.

It also gets good close-up shots. You can photograph a bee in flight near a flower without getting stung because you're not near it, and the bee and flower will fill the frame.

I have used it to photograph hand-held a niece performing in a string ensemble at the front of a good-sized church all the way from the back in the evening with only the church lights on.

For the price, it's one of cheapest long range telephotos for an amateur.


Aug 12, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add marconis to your Buddy List  
divamum
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 13, 2006
Location: N/A
Posts: 128
Review Date: Aug 2, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $249.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: sharp, sharp, sharp, lightweight, value for money
Cons:
AF occasionally hunts; not as quiet or fast as USM

I just acquired the 55-250 is yesterday and I am BLOWN AWAY by this lens. I have a 50mm 1.8, 28-105 USM and an old (pre-USM) 70-200 from my 35mm days, and the new lens puts them all to shame for IQ clarity and sharpness. Yes, faster would be even better (although I'm sure it would up the price), yes the AF may hunt a little sometimes and it's noisier than USM and yes, it's plastic (which I consider a bonus rather than a drawback for the more casual user, since this thing is beautifully light and well-balanced on my Rebel XT) but for the price? It's a winner - the IQ on it is stunning. The IS seems to work fine - I've experimented a little with it, and so far, so good as far as I can tell; even without it on, the pictures are stunningly clear.

I wish this lens had been around last year when I first got my Rebel XT - I'd have skipped the 28-105 completely and gone with this and a "thrifty fifty" instead. As it is, if the 18-55 is anything like its longer-reach sibling I will definitely consider trading in the 28-105 for one.

At last, the kind of IQ I've been looking for in my price range!


Aug 2, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add divamum to your Buddy List  
LeO78
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 23, 2008
Location: Hungary
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 23, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $230.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Price-performance ratio, small, lightweight therefore portable, acceptable image quality, very good price. Good range. Focus is reasonably fast considering the micromotor drive.
Cons:
All plastic build, including lens mount, front lens filter thread and manual focus ring rotating during focusing.

A good color and contrast with a bit above average resolution in a lightweight, compact and not too expensive package. I got mine used at 115 GPB which is great price for this range and portability.

I have tried 2 examples and was not able to reach the above mentioned 4 stop IS effectivity. Maybe it is somewhere between 1 or 2.5 stops, but as the shutter time goes under the 1/focal lenght rule visible loss of sharpness appears on the pics - maybe I have a bad technique or I am expecting too much from the IS system. In my opinion it helps to avoid blurred images at a price - this price is we are loosing some of the sharpness.

I will practice further because I am going to use this lens as a travel lens together with my 11-16 tokina.

All in all, a good performance for the price paid.


Jul 23, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add LeO78 to your Buddy List  
j scott b
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 14, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 14, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $299.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: pretty quick focusing, pretty accurate focusing too, nice size lens, I.S. is very good, nice colors and contrast
Cons:
Plastic mount, no full time manual focus, no gages or windows, too lite not enough weight

So far I have had this lens for less than 1 month, but the pictures I'm getting are a lot better than my 28-135 IS kit lens ! I have sent my 28-135 IS in to Canon in Calif. once and once to New Jersey. And still, straight out of the box the 55-250 IS out performs the 28-135 IS in speed, focusing, color, contrast, smoother zoom ring turn, just everything is better !

Jul 14, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add j scott b to your Buddy List  




Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
52 185288 Jun 27, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
88% of reviewers $228.09
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.45
9.75
8.9
efs55-250_f4is_586x225_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4  next