about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 200mm f/2L IS USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
50 127023 May 1, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $5,180.92
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.96
8.78
9.9
ef200_f2lisu_586x225_1_

Specifications:
This ultra-fast telephoto, a new member of Canon legendary L-series lenses, has totally new optics to provide better image quality. It uses fluorite and UD lens elements for excellent chromatic aberration correction and consists of 17 elements in 12 groups. The built-in Optical Image Stabilizer gives it up to 4 stops of stabilization correction. The inner USM and optimized AF algorithms result in fast and quiet autofocusing, and the circular aperture can even produce beautiful out-of-focus images. This ultra-high-performance lens also improves its durability - better dust- and water-proofing. The EF 200mm f/2L IS USM is outstanding for many available-light applications, including indoor sports, theater work, fashion, and candids at events.


Focal Length & Maximum Aperture: 200mm f/2

Lens Construction: 17 elements in 12 groups

Diagonal Angle of View: 12 (on full-frame sensor camera)

Focus Adjustment: Inner focusing system with USM, AF with manual focus option

Closest Focusing Distance: 6.2 ft. / 1.9m

Filter Size: 52mm (Drop-in Gelatin Filter Holder)

Max. Diameter x Length, Weight: 5.0 in. x 8.2 in./ 128mm x 208mm (maximum lens length); 5.6 lbs./2,520g


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 
      
Jug_ear
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 22, 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 0
Review Date: May 23, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Greatest lens if I ever owned in the EOS-system. Wunderful colours and sharpness. Stabilizer works perfect. Less heavy than the old 1.8/200 L.
Cons:
Again no practical cover for the front lens. Canon should work on this for all long telephoto lenses.

Got the 1.8/200 before and sold it when the new one was announced. After all the best thing I could do. The AF is even better, the colours are very great ... and most of all: Because of the (less) weight no it's THE lens in my bag. I even take it to assignments where I never thought to bringt such a "monster".
At soccer matches mostly my 70-200 stays in the bag now - the difference is to big ;-).
The best combination seems to be on a 1Ds MkIII or another fullframe camera. With a 1.4x converter it "replaces" a 2.8/300.
If you have the money go out and get this lens!


May 23, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Jug_ear to your Buddy List  
photomax
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 24, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 83
Review Date: May 22, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: This lens has a wonderful feel at hand. The image quality on the 1Ds III is spectacular. Bokeh works magic on images
Cons:
Would we all wish this quality costs less.

I have only clicked a few hundred images during the last three days. I can say that this lens meets or exceeds my expectations. With the extreme depth of field limitations at full 2.0 it will take some practice to get everything right. When my brain connects with this system it is hard to imaging anything better.
With the DOF sensitivity I am sure we will hear about focusing problems. This lens is much more critical that even the 85 f1.2. The DOF is about 1/6 the depth of the 85. Works great but get some practice. LOVE it. I have lusted after a friend's Nikon 200 f2.0 for some time. Glad to compete now.


May 22, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add photomax to your Buddy List  




Canon EF 200mm f/2L IS USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
50 127023 May 1, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $5,180.92
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.96
8.78
9.9
ef200_f2lisu_586x225_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4