about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 200mm f/1.8L USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
50 282332 Aug 31, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $3,231.73
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.86
8.57
10.0
ef200mmf_18l_1_

Specifications:
The world’s fastest 200mm telephoto lens. Three UD-glass elements eliminate secondary spectrum for sharp images at all apertures. The optics have been designed to give excellent background blur. Try it with the maximum aperture’s shallow depth of field.

Lens Construction (group): 10
Lens Construction (element): 12
No. of Diaphragm Blades: 8
Minimum Aperture: 22
Closest Focusing Distance (m): 2.5
Maximum Magnifcation (x): 0.09
Filter Diameter (mm): 48
Maximum Diameter x Length (mm): 130 x 208
Weight (g): 3,000


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 
          
Bmeister
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 20, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 465
Review Date: Oct 21, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: - Fast AF - Works exceedingly well with the 1.4x-II - the f1.8 aperture of course!
Cons:
- Monopod mount is too far forward causing imbalance - Hood is BIG and doesn't fit into bags easily (need special telephoto bag) - Buttons on side too easy to move when handholding

I switched to Canon just so I could use this amazing lens for shooting indoor gymnastics and volleyball. It's the sharpest lens I have ever used on either the Nikon or Canon sides with wonderful bokeh (I would have expected no less). It's excellent wide open and breathtaking stopped down 1/3 to 1 stop. Add a 1.4x or 2x TC and you have a versatile focal length selection in a compact package. I think it makes a great portrait lens too.

My only complaint is that it's a bit unbalanced on a monopod due to the monopod mount foot being too far forward. I can see that the design forces it to be where it is, but if the foot was made ~2 inches longer (to the rear) then it would balance much better. Aside from that, the AF is extremely fast and focus locks quickly thanks to the f1.8 aperture. I use the 200/f1.8 + 1.4xII when shooting night football instead of using the 300/f2.8 and have no regrest whatsoever.

This is the end-all-be-all gymnastics lens and is an absolute pleasure to use indoors. It's also a kick to get dirty looks from the Nikon shooters when I pull it out in dim lighting. I highly recommend this lens to anyone shooting gymnastics or indoor volleyball; you'll wonder how you ever got along without it once you get it.


Oct 21, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Bmeister to your Buddy List  
SportsPix
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 17, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 151
Review Date: Apr 6, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Incredibly fast lens that can be used wide open and only gets better by f/2.8. Incredible contrast and sharpness to the corners.
Cons:
Cost!

This is possibly the sharpest lens Canon has made for the EF mount with real competition from the EF 135 2L. I've owned two different EF 300 2.8L's and EF 300 4L and two EF 300 4L IS lenses, have rented the EF 400 2.8L and the EF 200 1.8L is flat out the sharpest of the bunch!

The EF 200 1.8 produces 3D images on chromes and with its shallow DOF and fast AF action this is a great sports shooters lens for isolation of subjects at short distances. It also seems to work well with the EF 1.4X and makes a great portrait lens if a bit heavy for most. Can be used wide-open with excellent results but be prepared for the pop you will get by f/2.8 and f/4. Outstanding optics but the only way I can justify it is to rent it for a shoot,


Apr 6, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add SportsPix to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 200mm f/1.8L USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
50 282332 Aug 31, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $3,231.73
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.86
8.57
10.0
ef200mmf_18l_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4