about | support
home
 

Search Used

Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 AT-X 116 PRO DX SD

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
65 141393 Jun 25, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
89% of reviewers $596.21
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.43
9.17
9.2
atx116

Specifications:
The new Tokina AT-X 116 PRO DX is an ultra-wide angle lens with a fast f/2.8 aperture for better photography in low-light situations. Many photojournalists consider having an f/2.8 aperture a must for any lens in their camera bag.

Based on the award-winning optical design of the AT-X 124 PRO DX (12-24mm f/4) lens, the new AT-X 116 PRO DX has a slightly shorter zoom range to maintain optical quality at wide apertures.

Tokina’s exclusive One-touch Focus Clutch Mechanism allows the photographer to switch between AF and MF simply by snapping the focus ring forward for AF and back toward the camera to focus manually. There is no need to change the AF-MF switch on Nikon cameras** and there is no second AF/MF switch on the lens for Canon, everything is accomplished by the focus ring.


Mount availability: Canon and Nikon APS-C

Focal length: 11 - 16mm

Maximum aperture: f/2.8

Minimum aperture: f/22

Optical construction: 13 elements in 11 groups.

Coatings: Multi-layer

Angle of view: 104°~82°

Minimum focus distance: 0.3m

Reproduction Ratio: 1:11.6

Focusing Mode: Internal Focusing

Zoom Mode: Rotary Zoom

No. Aperture blades: 9

Filter Size: 77mm

Lens length : 89.2mm

Lens Hood: BH-777

Weight: 560g

Accessories: Flower design Bayonet lens hood (BH77A)


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5  next
          
sixsigma
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 29, 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jun 25, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $495.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: One of the few W/A for DX. Excellent wide open. The f/2.8 is very useful in dim places where a f/4 simply won't cut it.
Cons:
Minimal distortion (still there but small). Somewhat weak work against light, not bad but can see it.

Great for places where you can get a great foreground, middle and background elements or cannot back up enough.

Optics are great as is the build, its a tank.

The short zoom can be an issue but only time its been a concern is when I need to switch lenses to take a portrait.

The lens is sharp at 11mm f/2.8 to 16 f/2.8 but resolution peaks about f/4 to f/5.6. My copy is not soft at f/2.8.

There is barrel distortion at the wide end, but is mostly fixable. However be aware some remains. No issues in places like the Colosseum in Rome, or of a lighthouse. Photograph of a door will leave the picture somewhat distorted, note that you have to look for it.

Its my go to lens in European cities and places where I choose to fill the frame. Have shot everything from Rockefeller center, the Colosseum, Cinderellas castle in Disney, to Trajans column. Detail and rendition are stunning. It is a lens that I am keeping in my DX arsenal.


Jun 25, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add sixsigma to your Buddy List  
aVOLanche
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 7, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 159
Review Date: Oct 11, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, very well made, relatively inexpensive, fast.
Cons:
None, so far

I'd been using the Sigma 10-20mm UWA and it was only fair (decentering, as seen on many of them). This Tokina just mops the floor with that Sigma........MUCH better and a not much more $$. It's a best buy among UWA lenses. Buy one!

Oct 11, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add aVOLanche to your Buddy List  
bytanco
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 23, 2013
Location: United Arab Emirates
Posts: 2
Review Date: Sep 23, 2013 Recommend? | Price paid: $750.00

 
Pros: Great piece
Cons:
None
Sep 23, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add bytanco to your Buddy List  
bytanco
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 23, 2013
Location: United Arab Emirates
Posts: 2
Review Date: Sep 23, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $700.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great Product
Cons:
None

It is used by -
<a href="https://www.zaask.pt/taskers/fotografia-audiovisual">fotografos casamento</a> &
<a href="https://www.zaask.pt/taskers/fotografia-audiovisual">fotografos baptizado</a>


Sep 23, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add bytanco to your Buddy List  
oldshutterhand
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 24, 2012
Location: Hungary
Posts: 0
Review Date: Sep 13, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent build quality, sharp and contrasty with nice colours
Cons:
chromatic aberration, price little high


This is perhaps the best Ultra wide angle currently for Canon mount. Sharp and has very good contrast, not big distortion.


See in more detail at:
http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/tokina-11-16mm-review/


Sep 13, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add oldshutterhand to your Buddy List  
scott_scheetz
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 31, 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 3, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, Great Contrast, accurate AF, Amazing Build Quality, Colors are fantastic.
Cons:
CA, Corner Sharpness on Full-Frame

I got this lens when it first came out, which is why I paid so much for it. This lens is very sharp wide open across the frame, and produces wonderful colors. This lens also has very good contrast, even when pointed at a light source. It is also fairly resistant to flaring.

Its biggest downside is fairly noticeable CA, but that can be easily removed in post-processing.

Added bonus: It works on Full-Frame! Thats right. I said full-frame. I regularly use this lens on a Canon 5D, and from 14mm-16mm it fills the frame. Corners are a little weak wide open on full frame, but it works very well.

Photos taken with this lens using a 400D (Crop-Senor):
http://www.flickr.com/photos/scottscheetz/7927062180/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/scottscheetz/7018235539/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/scottscheetz/6077575144/

Photos taken with this lens using a 5D (Full-Frame):
http://www.flickr.com/photos/scottscheetz/8336865944/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/scottscheetz/8323643667/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/scottscheetz/8323673001/


Feb 3, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add scott_scheetz to your Buddy List  
jeremytf50d
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 20, 2010
Location: N/A
Posts: 57
Review Date: Dec 19, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $650.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image quality is generally excellent. Great build quality. 77mm filters are common.
Cons:
A little soft at f/2.8. Has some CA and flare.

This was my primary ultra wide angle lens for almost 4 years. I did not use it extremely frequently because of its limited zoom range, and having the 15-85mm for about half of the 4 years. It was more of a specialty lens for me. But when I needed it, I was very pleased with the results. Image quality was very good, although pixel peeping showed some softness when wide open. At normal viewing sizes, it was good and certainly very usable.

Every review on this lens mentions some chromatic abberation and flare, and this is true. I didn't mind too much since I could fix the CA in post-processing and I didn't shoot into the sun very often.


Dec 19, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jeremytf50d to your Buddy List  
andyjaggy82
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 25, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1345
Review Date: Aug 2, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Build Quality. 77mm filters. Reasonably sharp.
Cons:
Corners still a bit soft. Iffy quality control. CA

I had to send my lens in for service after a few months due to a decenetered element and the inability of the lens to focus clearly on infinity. However to their credit the repair was done very quickly and the lens appears to be much better now.

This lens is of course built like a tank, the feel of the zoom and focus rings are nice and smooth. The lens is reasonably sharp across the frame but I have noticed the corners still exhibit some softness, especially corners that are near infinity. Possibly field curvature? The foreground elements still seem to be sharper than distant elements, even when focused on infinity, this seems to be a problem with a lot of wide angle lenses. Overall the IQ is very good considering the extreme wide angle nature of the lens, probably about as good as you are going to get.

CA is pretty bad, but this is easily fixed in post.


Aug 2, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add andyjaggy82 to your Buddy List  
JohnKraus
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jun 1, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 58
Review Date: Jul 26, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Good distortion control, sharp starting at 3.5
Cons:
A bit soft at 2.8

I just purchased the 11-16II, having never used the initial version. Testing on a D4 and D800 to use both in FX mode and DX mode.
This sample appears a touch soft at 2.8, sharpens up well by 3.5. Perhaps I'm just too used to the latest Nikon glass such as the 28 1.8 which is sharper at 1.8 than the Tokina 11-16 II at 2.8.
Will have to test more to decide whether to return or not. The reality might be that the latest cameras reveal issues more quickly than older models, and that this len's design, all points considered, is very good. Was still hoping, however, for more crisp sharpness at 2.8.


Jul 26, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add JohnKraus to your Buddy List  
bs kite
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 24, 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 351
Review Date: Jun 10, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 1. Very high-quality build, right there with the best. 2. Very sharp lens; one of the sharpest I have owned in nearly 40 years of photography. 3. Literally, this lens is as exciting to me as my Nikon 300 f2.8 VR. 4. The distortion is fun to work with, especially at close range. 5. DOF is so deep with an ultrawide that I have the freedom to grab shots handheld in most light WITHOUT EVEN USING THE VIEWFINDER OR LIVEVIEW THROUGH THE LCD.
Cons:
Just one: The autofocus motor is just a bit louder than I tolerate without complaining. It should have been quieter.

What else is there to say. I absolutely love this lens. I have had a bunch of lenses in 40 years.....and several pro-quality ones, including 3 different 300 f2.8 Nikkors. After owning and shooting this Tokina for 2 years I can now confidently rate it among the top 2 or 3 lenses I have owned and shot with in those 40 years. That is how good it is. It is among the very best lenses out there....period! And for the money, it is a real bargain. I will tell that if Nikon was selling it the price would be 3X what it is now. No exaggeration.....3X.

Jun 10, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add bs kite to your Buddy List  
Giancarlo D
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 21, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 18
Review Date: Feb 29, 2012 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Great build, 2.8
Cons:
not sharp

After reading all the glowing reviews of this lens on here and other websites, I decided to purchase this lens. Whether it was user error or a bad copy of the lens, I could not get a decently sharp exposure with this lens. I had it mounted on a tripod with a Canon Rebel T2i.

Obviously other people have had better luck with this lens than me. I returned it after a week.


Feb 29, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Giancarlo D to your Buddy List  
Sami Ruusunen
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 29, 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 703
Review Date: Dec 11, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: f2.8, quite sharp even wide open
Cons:
CA

I got this lens for shooting indoor events at low light and I'm quite satisfied for its perfomance. It also works for those uw landscapes I take now and then. Pretty sharp even wide open, very sharp corner to corner at f5.6.

Dec 11, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Sami Ruusunen to your Buddy List  
Kurt Huot
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 22, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 72
Review Date: Oct 18, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $649.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Close up focal ranges. Ultra wide angle.
Cons:
Takes a bit to get used to, but haven't really noted any negatives as of yet.

The lens is amazing. Love the distortion you can get from the lens. I fell in love with it my first full day using it on my 7D. I've used it on my old 1D and also yields great shots.

Oct 18, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Kurt Huot to your Buddy List  
wingdo
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 27, 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 35
Review Date: Feb 27, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: 2.8, SHARP
Cons:
Short zoom range, CA

Great lens, very sharp. Fast lens when you need a bit extra light for indoor work.

Feb 27, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add wingdo to your Buddy List  
Dirk Hiemstra
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 22, 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 25, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, very good IQ, less distortion as competitors. Built like a tank.
Cons:
Small zoom range

Sold my Nikon 12-24mm 4.0 to buy this. Says it all.


Jan 25, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Dirk Hiemstra to your Buddy List  
heinsite
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 29, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 64
Review Date: Oct 30, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent color and sharpness.
Cons:
Has only limited (16mm) utiity on full frame cameras.

I got one of these as soon as they became available in the USA and have never regretted it. This really is a lens Nikon should have built. And as others have mentioned it can also be used effectively at f/2.8 in low light conditions.

While I don't shoot my D300 much anymore, I'll always have this lens with me when I do.

Dave.


Oct 30, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add heinsite to your Buddy List  

   



Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 AT-X 116 PRO DX SD

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
65 141393 Jun 25, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
89% of reviewers $596.21
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.43
9.17
9.2
atx116


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5  next