about | support
home
 

Search Used

Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 AT-X 116 PRO DX SD

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
65 140130 Jun 25, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
89% of reviewers $596.21
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.43
9.17
9.2
atx116

Specifications:
The new Tokina AT-X 116 PRO DX is an ultra-wide angle lens with a fast f/2.8 aperture for better photography in low-light situations. Many photojournalists consider having an f/2.8 aperture a must for any lens in their camera bag.

Based on the award-winning optical design of the AT-X 124 PRO DX (12-24mm f/4) lens, the new AT-X 116 PRO DX has a slightly shorter zoom range to maintain optical quality at wide apertures.

Tokina’s exclusive One-touch Focus Clutch Mechanism allows the photographer to switch between AF and MF simply by snapping the focus ring forward for AF and back toward the camera to focus manually. There is no need to change the AF-MF switch on Nikon cameras** and there is no second AF/MF switch on the lens for Canon, everything is accomplished by the focus ring.


Mount availability: Canon and Nikon APS-C

Focal length: 11 - 16mm

Maximum aperture: f/2.8

Minimum aperture: f/22

Optical construction: 13 elements in 11 groups.

Coatings: Multi-layer

Angle of view: 104°~82°

Minimum focus distance: 0.3m

Reproduction Ratio: 1:11.6

Focusing Mode: Internal Focusing

Zoom Mode: Rotary Zoom

No. Aperture blades: 9

Filter Size: 77mm

Lens length : 89.2mm

Lens Hood: BH-777

Weight: 560g

Accessories: Flower design Bayonet lens hood (BH77A)


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5  next
          
egafx
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 30, 2010
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 30, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $726.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent sharpness. Good distortion. Smooth zoom and focus ring. Great price. Can be used on full-frame at 14mm (without filters). Very solid build.
Cons:
Only 1.45× zoom. No stabilizer (don't really care). No weather sealing.

I get excellent sharpness at all ranges at f/4 and above.
Still incredibly very good at f/2.8.
Color rendition is great, too.

For Nikon mount it uses in-body AF motor so it's great for high-end bodies, and pretty silent to me; but won't focus on low-end bodies. Distortion is very good but I've seen better. Zoom and focus rings are very smooth and give a very high-quality feel. Great price for the features. I can use on full-frame at 14mm (without filters). Build quality is very solid like a tank.
Bokeh is nice, too; I can focus pretty close to the subject, giving it a nice wide area bokeh.

I consider this as a prime lens (only 1.45× zoom).
It has no stabilizer but I don't really care.
It doesn't have weather sealing.


Oct 30, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add egafx to your Buddy List  
B Culbertson
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 6, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 16
Review Date: Aug 26, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $550.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: I've had this lens for almost a year. It is fast and sharp. I am impressed by the corner sharpness over the Canon 10-22. It performs great in low light and can be used wide open. Nice build quality. Reasonably fast focus. Takes a B+W UV filter with front threads (to hold lens cap) without vinetting at 11mm on my 50D. Great color and contrast. By far the best wide angle crop lens I have used.
Cons:
CA can be an issue in high contrast areas. Lens hood was loose from the beginning.



Aug 26, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add B Culbertson to your Buddy List  
mccc
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 23, 2010
Location: Portugal
Posts: 7
Review Date: Jul 24, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $750.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, good color reproduction, price for quality.
Cons:
Slow autofocus this is not a "L" Lense, but is perfect.

Is great to have this item.

All the china and Cambodia photos where made by a AT-X 116 Pro DX.(Mount Canon).

http://www.mariocaldeira.com/#/galeria_fotografia/


Mc



Jul 24, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add mccc to your Buddy List  
SteveTuerk
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 16, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 513
Review Date: Apr 10, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $585.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great feel to it; Smaller and faster than my Sigma 12-24mm (that's going on the block) Sharp lens and more than usable across the frame - even at 11mm.
Cons:
I'd love it to have a closer focusing capability. It'll focus at about a foot but it'd be awesome to get closer still. The MF to AF switch is done by sliding the focus ring back and forth with a click. I hope that used steel or allow for the clicklock or there will be problems if the lens is used both ways a lot.

I'll be trusting this one. It didn't need any microfocus fussing - sharp throughout right out of the box.

I like the build of it so much that I'm looking hard at my two remaining Sigmas. This one is no bigger than it needs to be, mounts regular filters without the shenanigans required by the sigma 12-24mm (77mm BTW).

I need more Tokinas!


Apr 10, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add SteveTuerk to your Buddy List  
skywalker11
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 30, 2010
Location: Japan
Posts: 25
Review Date: Mar 30, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: f2.8, sharp at all focal range, good IQ and good color.
Cons:
no.

This is also one of the best len produced by Tokina.

Mar 30, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add skywalker11 to your Buddy List  
dkmiles1
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Nov 19, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 596
Review Date: Mar 19, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $629.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 2.8, Sharp, Sharp, Sharp! My real estate clients think I am a genius, price, AWESOME Tokina build quality!
Cons:
Some CA on the edges

I use this lens regularly for my real estate shots. My clients see the pictures afterwards and think I am a genius! What you lose in range, you gain in quality! 11-16mm is very useful and the image quality compares favorably with primes. You can also use this lens on the FF 5D and 5D Mark II (but only at 16mm) - which is wider than the 1.6 crops the lens was designed for and the photos look great. I sold my Canon EF-S 10-22 (which is an excellent lens) to buy the Tokina (which is that much better, really, it is - MUCH MUCH sharper on the edges) - if you're on the fence, buy it, you won't regret it...

Mar 19, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dkmiles1 to your Buddy List  
saxologist
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 9, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Review Date: Mar 6, 2010 Recommend? | Price paid: $599.00

 
Pros: tokina 11-16 is a wonderful lens. I too am impressed and it stays on the camera. Build quality is awesome
Cons:
large filters. I bout cheap circ-pol and works nicely.

Rate it now a 9

Mar 6, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add saxologist to your Buddy List  
tmonzon
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 8, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Review Date: Feb 22, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $535.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Absolutely sharp wide open, wonderful color reproduction, fast autofocus
Cons:
focal range is a little lacking, but nothing a few steps forward or backward can't fix. Also, would like the minimum focus distance to be shorter.

I absolutely love this UWA lens. Once you get the hang of the exaggerated perspectives on the edges, or correct the slight distortion in post, this lens will probably stay on your camera for a while. I've used it for landscapes, group photos and low light situations and events, even portraits, and this lens does a bang up job of them all. Once zoomed out to 16mm, the distortion is hardly even visible to the naked eye.

After having tried both this and the Sigma 10-20mm, I'd have to stick with this one. While the 10-20 has a longer focal range and a closer focus distance for some really exaggerated portraits, the sharpness and low light ability of the 11-16 make it my preferred choice of lens.

If you're looking for a reasonably priced Ultra Wide, go with this one. And don't worry about the fact that it's not made by Canon/Nikon/whoever. Even though Tokina is a third party lens maker, their build quality is amazing. No plastic bodies and flimsy rings here.


Feb 22, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add tmonzon to your Buddy List  
blassox
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 31, 2008
Location: Italy
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 18, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $550.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Awesome lens in every aspect. Sharp @ f/2.8, ULTRASHARP @ f/4. It's the best lens in its class!
Cons:
None. Really none!

I've changed my lens bag a lot of time, but this always funny and useful lens is always inside. You can't imagine how many incredible pictures you can take with it before you try.


Feb 18, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add blassox to your Buddy List  
David Collomb
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 23, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 110
Review Date: Feb 17, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Impressed by the sharpness. Built quality is very good. AF is fast and sielnt enough
Cons:

Great to have such a lens, the focal length and the max aperture f/2.8 really open new horizons to creativity. CA are present in certain conditions but not a pb for me.

Feb 17, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add David Collomb to your Buddy List  
saxologist
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 9, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Review Date: Feb 13, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $599.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very well built. Sharp Sharp!
Cons:
Not sure how to use flash with this lens?

excellent lens I will keep it for a long time

Feb 13, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add saxologist to your Buddy List  
kresearch
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 19, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Review Date: Nov 9, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $550.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast, razor sharp, massive build, relatively light, works on FF
Cons:
nothing considerably big to mention

I figured out it is very good for low-light photography as well. At ISO3200 (5D2), it makes very sharp and nice looking night pictures on the city streets or indoors. I also used it in a cave where distances are frequently very short and light is low. It made very nice pictures. I prefer it before EF-S 10-22mm for its faster and constant aperture.

For a UW lens it takes some learning as the techniques to take pictures are different from the ones used with normal to tele lens. You have to frequently get very close to your subject in order to fill in the frame the way you want it. It can turn you into a nosy paparazzi before you know it. Also, you can use the resulting lens distortion in your advantage after some training. It can help you in getting different artistic or funny effects. For instance, try shooting at 1/25 while moving towards your subject. It will create the StarWars light-speed acceleration effect (or a dreamy one depending on your composition and speed).


Nov 9, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add kresearch to your Buddy List  
timpdx
Online
Image Upload: On



Registered: Feb 1, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1818
Review Date: Sep 11, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: A super-wide zoom at F2.8! Sharp.
Cons:
Wish it were built for FF, but can be used on 5D at 16mm. But as a F 2.8 prime on FF, well, it works pretty darn well.

Thought about selling this many times, as I already have a 5D and nice copy of Sigma 12-24, but can't bring myself to sell it. F 2.8 is the reason, the Sigma simply isn't great until F8. So it is a niche lens on my 40D backup cam, and it stays in my bag. Distortion is low, focus on the 40D is very responsive. There really is nothing at this f-stop that can match it. I find it better than the 17-40 F4L that I had once. So it goes, limited use, but when I need it, its priceless.

Sep 11, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add timpdx to your Buddy List  
Capeachy
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 18, 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Aug 19, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $660.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Fixed aperture, decent price, decent build, AF/MF clutch mechanism.
Cons:
Color fringing wide open at the edges Distortion near the edges Too bad it only works on a DX.

This is a great lens for those fun ultra-wide angle shots. The large and fixed aperture makes it a very good combo for low light work. The build quality feels solid for a 3rd party lens, much better than my Sigma 18-200 OS. AF is pretty good because of the f/2.8 aperture. The only down side is that it isn't a USM but the motor is pretty quiet: much better than the nifty fifty canon 50 f/1.8.

The AF/MF switching is done via a "clutch" mechanism, that means when it's spinning in AF, you don't have to worry that you'll jam up the motor or grab the wrong ring and hear that dreaded focus motor grinding noise Sad The included lens hood is always a bonus but it's kinda big so sometimes I leave it at home so I don't take up all my space in my bag.

There's a bit of distortion that you can see if you put a straight line (like a staircase) right near the edges of your images. Try to keep lines out or correct them afterwards if you like. The problem is with this wide of an angle lens (small movements can have dramatically different image effects) and with non-100% viewfinder coverage of a DX camera that you will miss this but I wouldn't sweat it.

An ultra-slim UV filter isn't a requirement, (although I did order one, be careful as the lens cover has a hard time hanging onto a threadless ultraslim.) I've tried my friend's 77mm UV filter off his 24-70 f/2.8 lens and I can't see any vignetting.

I would definitely recommend this lens.



Aug 19, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Capeachy to your Buddy List  
scooterapd
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 21, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 14
Review Date: Jul 19, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $579.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Ultra-wide angle, quick focus, very sharp, great colors.
Cons:
Lens hood does not lock in place very well.

My EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 has been my wedding workhorse for a couple of years now. It's an excellent lens on many levels, but on more than one occassion, I've needed more real estate. I pondered several options, from fisheye to other Ultra-wide zooms/primes, but when I happened upon this lens and checked the reviews, I called my local shop and they had two available, so I snagged one. A few test shots at home at ISO1600 and f/2.8 convinced me that this lens was quite sharp. So I brought it with me to my wedding on Saturday and it performed so well that I found myself shooting almost all the getting-ready shots and reception shots with it instead of my 17-55mm. In fact, at 11mm this lens has less distortion to contend with than my 17mm.

I was able to snag this shot of the couple leaving their reception at 11mm and f/4.5. It was pretty dark in the reception hall and the lens had absolutely no trouble nailing the focus.

http://charlotte-nc-photography.smugmug.com/photos/595283401_rTrcc-L.jpg

Only negative I have found is that the lens hood kept sliding off throughout the day. I'm not sure if it was the way I mounted it or if that will be par for the course with this lens. I did not have time to play with it yet.

I highly recommend this lens to anyone that needs a fast Ultra-wide. You won't be disappointed.


Jul 19, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add scooterapd to your Buddy List  
Arki_AJ
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 24, 2009
Location: Philippines
Posts: 5
Review Date: Jul 1, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $640.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, Good colors handling is good
Cons:
Exterior finish and texture of the body.

Got my Tokina 116 yesterday. I really wanted to see the hype about this. Testing it immediately i now know what the fuss was all about. At 2.8 sharpness at the focused area is really good and handy at low light in door situations. Stopped down at outdoor shoots gives its potential.

If your a landscaper i'd really recommend that you get this lens. Its built is a solid performer.



Jul 1, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Arki_AJ to your Buddy List  

   



Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 AT-X 116 PRO DX SD

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
65 140130 Jun 25, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
89% of reviewers $596.21
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.43
9.17
9.2
atx116


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5  next