about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon D300

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
53 85289 Jul 18, 2010
Recommended By Average Price
92% of reviewers $1,674.34
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.70
8.96
9.5
d300

Specifications:
A new 12.3-megapixel DX-Format CMOS Sensor combined with Nikon's exclusive digital image processing system advances DX-format image quality to all new levels

The 3.0-inch super density 920,000-dot VGA color monitor with 170-degree wide-angle viewing and tempered-glass protection makes critical image review possible

Continuous shooting up to 6 frames per second, and up to 8 frames per second* with the new optional MB-D10 Multi-power Battery Pack, makes the D300 a powerful performer for a wide variety of shooting disciplines
* When using the EH-5a AC Adaptor or the MB-10 Multi-Power Battery Pack with batteries other than Rechargeable Li-on En El3e

Fast, accurate 51-point autofocus with 3D Focus Tracking and three Dynamic AF modes deliver exacting autofocus precision at blazing speeds

Nikon's exclusive Scene Recognition System (SRS), with an improved 1,005-Pixel 3D Color Matrix Metering II, provides even more intelligent auto exposure capabilities, along with smarter auto white balance detection and faster, more accurate AF performance

Dynamic Integrated Dust Reduction System with self-cleaning ultrasonic sensor unit minimizes degradation of image quality due to dust particles

Two LiveView shooting modes, Hand-held or Tripod is perfect when shooting in a studio, remote situations or from challenging angles

New Picture Control settings give photographers dramatically advanced color control with 4 preset options: Standard, Neutral, Vivid and Monochrome, as well as 9 customizable settings

Rugged magnesium-alloy construction, advanced dust and moisture protection and a durable shutter mechanism tested to 150,000 cycles make the D300 a perfect choice for photographers who demand high performance and handling agility


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 
          
chickpiper
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 12, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 840
Review Date: Dec 31, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,799.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 100% viewfinder. Super color options with the Picture Control feature. The MB-D10 is perfect.
Cons:
I would love to see ISO 50 as the base instead of 200.

The D200 is a great camera and the D300 is even better. It takes off where the D200 quit. It has more fine tuning options especially for the color palettes. You can tweak the settings and get colors just where you want them right out of the camera. The build is super and the camera just feels right in your hands. Noise control and resolution is also better.

Dec 31, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add chickpiper to your Buddy List  
paparazzinick
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 8, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 7417
Review Date: Dec 26, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,700.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: built tough, uses the same batteries as my d3 so I can take one battery type an charger with me on shoots, clean high iso (reminds me when I shot canon but better), af fast and accurate, wb better than d2x, d-lighting is cool for weddings in dark churches where strong light comes in some windows... the list could go on.
Cons:
not many except for the fact the grip costs and arm and a leg.

What can I say except Nikon hit it on the head with this one. I havent seen a Nikon this good since my D1h. The D2x was ok but the D3 and D300 rock. I shot a fashion show, hockey game and a few studio shots with it so far and it out performed my Fuji S5, D2x and D2h. Autofocus was better, WB was better and the images just felt so right. I say get one, or two.

Dec 26, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add paparazzinick to your Buddy List  
mark petri
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 24, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1006
Review Date: Dec 18, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,799.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent build and feel, much the same as the D200 was. However, rock solid AF, live view, improved speed, and noise performance make this 12MP body a monster. Many folks dismiss live view, but I find it one of the nest new features in quite a while-- looms large in macro work.
Cons:
Coming from a 5D, the images appear a little soft, but sharpen well with USM. Besides that, Nikon should include the software for tethered shooting... Many kudos to canon for that.

Said it all in the pros/cons. Exc body and will perform...

If your in the nikon camp, you won't be disappointed one bit with this camera.



Dec 18, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mark petri to your Buddy List  
DavidWEGS
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 15, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 3799
Review Date: Dec 14, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,799.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Auto Iso that works as advertised; great AF when using center/recompose; Fine tuning for individual lenses point of focus; frame rate; shutter life estimate 150k; Feel (subjective); weather sealing; battery life; rear LCD.
Cons:
High ISO (3200) is crippled by the fact that Nikon has failed to offer some wide fast primes (20/1.4, 24/1.4) and have quit selling the 28/1.4.

I have had this for a couple weeks now and am still adjusting to it. I find myself reaching for it over the 40d and even the 5d at almost every turn. I like the look of the noise produced, more film like and less bandy than Canon's.

The layout is great and the thoughtfulness of UI is as good or better than the 40d's.

It feels quieter and more responsive than the d200 and smaller Canon bodies. Not quite a D3 or D2x, but very close to them. I love the battery life. Kudos on that one Nikon.

All in all (and having shot other camera brands from time to time), I think this one feels as good to use as the 5D's when I first got those a couple years back. I find myself liking what I see in just about every situation and the files are great.

Would like to see this with a dual card option and would be willing to pay the piper for it too. Add $200 more and I would be happy to pay it for this one with that dual card slot.

Nice job Nikon, this is the DSLR I have waited since '02 for.




Dec 14, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add DavidWEGS to your Buddy List  
ghamden
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 10, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 121
Review Date: Dec 13, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,799.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: An amazing camera right out of the box ready to go picture quality excellent ease of use excellent speed excellent
Cons:
None

An amazing camera right out of the box ready to go
picture quality excellent
ease of use excellent
speed excellent


Dec 13, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ghamden to your Buddy List  

   



Nikon D300

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
53 85289 Jul 18, 2010
Recommended By Average Price
92% of reviewers $1,674.34
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.70
8.96
9.5
d300


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4