about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon D3

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
37 68183 Jun 28, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $4,984.20
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.81
9.00
9.7
d3

Specifications:
A Nikon-original 12.1-megapixel FX-format (23.9 x 36mm) CMOS sensor, in concert with Nikon's exclusive digital image processing system, delivers breathtakingly rich image quality, while also reducing noise to unprecedented levels with even higher ISOs

Continuous shooting at up to 9 frames per second at full FX resolution and up to 11fps inthe DX Crop mode, offers uncompromised shooting speeds for fast-action and sports photography

Extreme Low-noise ISO range with Advanced Noise Reduction enables photographers to confidently select from 200-6400 ISO with an expanded range that includes Lo-1 (100 ISO)Hi-1 (12,800 ISO) and Hi-2 (25,600 ISO)

The 3.0-inch super density 920,000-dot VGA color monitor with 170-degree wide-angle viewing and tempered-glass protection makes it possible for even more critical image review

Fast, accurate 51-point autofocus with 3D Focus Tracking and three Dynamic AF modes deliver exacting autofocus precision at blazing speeds

Two LiveView shooting modes, Hand-held or Tripod, are perfect when shooting in a studio, remote situations or from challenging angles

Nikon's exclusive Scene Recognition System (SRS), with an improved 1,005-Pixel 3DColor Matrix Metering II, provides even more intelligent auto exposure capabilities, along with smarter auto white balance detection and faster, more accurate AF performance

Nikon's Self-diagnostic shutter system, tested to 300,000 cycles, is a clear indication of advanced engineering and durable construction

New Picture Control settings give photographers dramatically advanced color control with 4 preset options: Standard, Neutral, Vivid and Monochrome, as well as 9 customizable settings


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next
          
nick53097
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Apr 19, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1715
Review Date: Jun 28, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: I have a D3s, best camera ever (for weddings and dance photography)
Cons:
none

Moved from D700 to D3s and was amazed by the difference: AF speed, buffer, high ISO results, ergonomics, rtc.,
This camera is the winner (especially considering the great price for used D3s)


Jun 28, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add nick53097 to your Buddy List  
Oskar
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 16, 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 16, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great camera simple to use fast great in low light tested D3s and D3 side by side in low light ,no difference,so still use d3 I have shot just about everything on mine and have Aquatica underwater housing as well. it's fast rugged cheep and pro qualitity.
Cons:
There are none but 16 mp would be better so will go with D4 on order as well but keep the D3



Mar 16, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Oskar to your Buddy List  
RRRoger
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 10, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1265
Review Date: Aug 11, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $5,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Full Frame Image quality, Extreme reliability, very accurate, strong and fast focus motor; build quality and ergonomics. Very high percentage (over 95%) of my shots are keepers
Cons:
none; D3s is even better

I also have a 5D2
The 5D2 gives me better pictures 5% of the time and is better for Video, Hiking and Landscape work but not action where I throw away 80% of my shots. And, I much prefer the D3 for weddings.

The Nikon D3 is a real work horse for a Professional.
The D3s is a must have for very low light.


Aug 11, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add RRRoger to your Buddy List  
haringo
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 7, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Review Date: Feb 28, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: AF Speed, built quality
Cons:
colors tend be unnatural, sensor dust removal feature, price compared to Nikon d700, Not as sharp as Canon 5D,

I have always been a Canon shooter. Probably that's why I compare the D3 to the 5D and 5D Mark II.

I was a little bit disappointed with the image quality, to tell you the truth... I think the Canon 5D images are sharper! Focus is fast but images are still not as sharp as the images coming out of my 5Ds. I like the Nikon look on certain images but I can't 100% trust my D3 during weddings. The Canon 5D gets the most important pictures during daylight. In low light the Nikon's AF is clearly better. I mainly use the D3 in low light. I am still learning how to get the most out of it but I wouldn't go to a wedding only with this one.

In addition, I am a little bit disappointed with the Nikon lens selection. I don't see any similar lenses to the Canon 50mm 1.2, 85 1.2 etc. I use a 50mm 1.4 lens on the D3 but the quality is far from what you get out of a Canon 50mm prime lens. You can see some weddings here: www.haringphotography.com Look for the Jewish wedding I have shot recently. I used the Nikon about 35%.

I am thinking about the D3s. At least I could take advantage of the High ISO capabilities of the D3s...


Feb 28, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add haringo to your Buddy List  
spxxxx
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 26, 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 534
Review Date: Jan 6, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Typical great Nikon build quality - superb high ISO AND low ISO quality files - great battery life - fantastic focusing speed
Cons:
Shutter a little noisy

After using this for a complete wedding season I am as impressed now as when I first got it.

Great build and quality files - and the file size is easily enough for most applications

See some of the shots at http://www.simonrevill.com

If you want a pro series body coupled with fantastic lenses then look no further


Jan 6, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add spxxxx to your Buddy List  
bellyface
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Mar 17, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 5091
Review Date: Oct 24, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,799.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: low noise, fast speed, 35mm FOV, 5:4 FOV, DX FOV, Dual card slots, multiple non CPU presets, multiple programmable function buttons, full user info in-finder, massive 3" LCD, Live view, M-UP, HDMI out, programmable image parameters, in-camera editing, weather sealed, 51 focus points, 12mpx, film like, buttery exposures.
Cons:
Quite honestly, there is nothing negative about the D3, except the weight. Get a D700 if you want a smaller FX totable camera.

Come late 2007, I had $5000 to spend on nikon equipment, the choice was D300 with a couple of lenses, or a D3 body. Best choice I ever made, choosing the D3.

This is the one. Literally. I know there is a D3s, which might be the new "one" but this it for now.

ISO 25,000, looks like tmax 3200, it will blow your mind. The color will blow your mind. Everything, the way it can take dim light and turn it into daylight, will amaze you.

take a closer look:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/ivanaguiar/sets/72157603401693219/

just get one, you'll agree with all my points.


Oct 24, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add bellyface to your Buddy List  
overhere2000
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 20, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Aug 5, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: has 90% of what you need to get the job done.
Cons:
price to value is off



Aug 5, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add overhere2000 to your Buddy List  
zuman
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 28, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 58
Review Date: Jul 17, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,879.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Speed; ISO flexibility; FF (FX format); fast access to operating functions; flexibility
Cons:
None

The Nikon D3 is flat-out worth the money you invest in it, the weight you have to lug around, and the space it takes up in your bag, IF you absolutely need to get the shot. If reliability is not critical, if speed of focus acquisition is not important, if wide ISO flexibility doesn't matter, if high frame rate is irrelevant, if ruggedness is a negative, then get something else. If, on the other hand, these attributes might determine whether you get the shot or not, there is no substitute for the D3.
I also carry a D40X, and nine times out of ten I could nail the shot with it. But the tenth shot is usually the winner.
For example, I wouldn't bet on my ability to get this (in the middle of nowhere) with anything else:
http://www.pbase.com/zuman/image/114982560

(Also, even as a wildlife photographer, I've never missed the "DX reach advantage)...

More of my work at http://www.pbase.com/zuman/wtwp





Jul 17, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add zuman to your Buddy List  
Alistair Watson
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 21, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5871
Review Date: Mar 26, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: AF Speed and Accuracy, especially in burst shooting.
Cons:
Why couldn't they just have a battery that included the mount, a la Canon.

Others have used the word 'awesome' quite regularly to describe the D3 and I have to say I agree 100%. I was a long time Canon 1D series owner who finally lost patience with both Canon and the 1D3, demo'd a D3 and was utterly impressed! AF speed and accuracy is superb, AF during burst shooting is also incredibly accurate and this is very very important for the shooting I do.

Build quality is superb and while I always liked the ergonomics of the 1D series it wasn't too difficult to get my head around the D3 layout. Dual CF slots are an excellent idea, no more messing around with small SDHC cards. Matrix exposure is also superb and very accurate and where I would be constantly changing the exposure compensation of the 1D3 this just nails it. High ISO is also excellent but then again so was the 1D3, but I do prefer the 'look' of the Nikon noise.

Overall very very impressed.


Mar 26, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Alistair Watson to your Buddy List  
beatus80
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 31, 2003
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 13
Review Date: Feb 6, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great build quality, speed, FX, low light capability, long exposure noise control, lots of focus points and easy navigation in between them, digital horizon line view, and so on... too many!
Cons:
sensor dust removal feature, selectable grid view finder just like D700. etc very small things

I've been nikon shooter for a long time and I moved to canon because of my needs. but D3 made me come back to nikon and I have never been happier with the body quality, and the image quality both at the same time.

I was hoping to see grid in view finder selecable from the menu just like lower class nikon bodies, but maybe that was too much hope.

I was also hoping to see nikon putting sensor cleaning feature to their flagship model and I was very jealous about sony's new A900 because of that. But you need to manually clean the sensor regularly (not that often with current DSLR models though) anyway, so this is just another small thing.

This camera gave me a whole new perspective to low light shootings in many situations. Events shooting has never been easier and image quality is nothing I've ever seen before.

I've also done few long exposure shots... say about 45 mins - 1 hour long exposures. And I was blown away with the amount of noise!

Overall, I'm so happy with this camera and I don't think I'll be changing to any other camera unless nikon releases another camera which is as good as this and have dust removal feature.
(Yes, I change lens a lot and I'm just so sick of cleaning sensor all the time)


Feb 6, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add beatus80 to your Buddy List  
clew
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 8, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 2844
Review Date: Feb 5, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,995.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: same great ergonomics of the D2 generation. high ISO easily two to three usable stops better than D2x.
Cons:
The shutter release is still loud. White balance still crummy in mixed lighting.

This camera will probably be it for me for the foreseeable future. It offers everything I need in terms of image quality, low light capability, and general do-it-all cameraness. Great file size for wedding photography!

Feb 5, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add clew to your Buddy List  
albertino
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 22, 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 4, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Macchina solida, veloce, bilanciata, ricca di opportunità di lavoro.
Cons:
prezzo un pò elevato

Possederla ed utilizzarla è un vero piacere-il sduo scatto è simile ad una fucilata-ho avuto la necessita di scattare a 6400 iso e sono rimasto sbalordito per la sua grande qualità e il ridottissimo rumore digitale.
Un macchina veramente fantastica


Oct 4, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add albertino to your Buddy List  
SoundHound
Offline
Buy and Sell: On

Registered: Jan 14, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5325
Review Date: Sep 30, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Superb performance at ISO 6400! Fast fps and effective focus modes. A fine partner for the latest zoom Nikkors. Wonderful LCD VF with which you can verify ultimate focus. etc. A, long awaited, breakthrough for Nikkon and wonderful competition for Canon.
Cons:
Too small buffer which can be upgraded for too much. Not enough Nikkor fast primes.

Nikon's sensational 24-70 and 14-24 can't be equaled. The D3 falls between the Mk III and 1Ds Mk III in features becoming a more versatile camera than both. I now have both Canon and Nikon systems to have the best of both.

Sep 30, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add SoundHound to your Buddy List  
PJ Fish
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 24, 2006
Location: Denmark
Posts: 18
Review Date: Aug 30, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: This is a high end pro camera made for the pros ! its the best on the market,period.I can not think of any complaint all in all together regarding speed,fastness and simple versatility for a working PJ like me,im so impressed.BUT,the files is actually worser and not up to Canons 5D in sharpening right out from JPEGs -trees dont grow into heaven.But all in all it is a very very competent camera with few faults.
Cons:
Limited buffer in NEF/RAW -shame on Nikon ! this upgrade costs more than USD 750 from where i come from-its totally nuts for such an expensive camera and should be done for free or low money service from Nikon.I would like the camera to BEEP if you have forgotten your cards or just a red lamp blinking.well,i could make a long list for upgrades but im satiesfied for now and ENJOY.Go and buy one !

Well,This is a pure to joy to work with every day,it is my loveable pro toolfor the first time i wake up in the morningand think ooo yes !!

This camera solves my nightmares with the prob of no light on ansignments,i sometimes just leaves my flash at home on a photosession while the other guys having the white pibes just flashing and scowling at me with envy!
and believe me guys;the files is useable for newspaper prints and alike, even at iso 6400! they are awesome.

Its a pleasure to work with >old>fixed Nikkor lenses again; 20 mm,35mm,50mm and the wunderbaun 180mm and 300mm
i love to work with it and its crazy to think that a 50mm 1,8D costing 100 box smashes the big zooms in terms of fastness clearity,sharpness , i do lately remember one asignment ; an Olympic athlete training Ping Pong,the colleague beside me tried sohard to get the shoot and i just machinegunned away w my tiny Nikkor 50mm and got 95% correct and sharp !! In short; Nikon D3 rules.

I could go on and on and with a positive list, but instead i will listen to the music and be happy.

Im one of the guys who says > They all say thanks !********


Aug 30, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add PJ Fish to your Buddy List  
Dustoff06
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jan 28, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 204
Review Date: Aug 26, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Low light is absolutely amazing. Opens possibilities I would have never tired with my D2x (or any other). Same build quality as the D2x, and when combined with the extended ISO capabilities, Live View, frames per second and the new FX lens, Nikon as hit this one out of the park!
Cons:
None, Zip, Nada, especially if you currently own a D2x. Learning curve is almost flat, except that you have to become accustom to shooting in the dark.

If you own a D2x, believe me it is worth the upgrade. Essentially the same size and weight, but oh the difference.

When was the last time you where in a beach bar, at night, no flash, shooting at 1600/3200 and the pics were actually worth printing? I'm finally back to Tri-X type thinking.

Two CF card slots is much more practical than two different cards. Shooting NEF RAW with two 8GB cards, the D3 can handle well over 800 shots. JPEG Fine = 2,000+ exposures.

3 inch LCD - simply awesome.

If you're sitting on the fence, don't waste any more time.


Aug 26, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Dustoff06 to your Buddy List  
Remy
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 9, 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 177
Review Date: Jul 18, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Superfast, huge amount of features, thorough ergonomics, great build and durability
Cons:
a bit on the heavy side

Coming from a history of a D70, F5 and lastly a D200, the D3 is in a whole different league of its own. From the great output the sensor offers (be it jpeg, nef or tiff) to the handling, speed, battery life and so many options, it will never let you down.

Did I mention the low and high ISO performance? Be it at ISO 200 or ISO 6400, it shows remarkable accurate colour and white balance registration. No more doubting to go above ISO 800 or 1600 if necessary like with the D200: ISO 3200 not enough? The D3 can go 3 stops higher.

FX gives you the option to play with shallower depth of field, 50 is 50 again, and wide is wide again.

For sports and wildlife shooters who need much reach, a D300 is probably a better option.


Jul 18, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Remy to your Buddy List  

   



Nikon D3

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
37 68183 Jun 28, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $4,984.20
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.81
9.00
9.7
d3


Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next