about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon D3

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
37 67616 Jun 28, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $4,984.20
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.81
9.00
9.7
d3

Specifications:
A Nikon-original 12.1-megapixel FX-format (23.9 x 36mm) CMOS sensor, in concert with Nikon's exclusive digital image processing system, delivers breathtakingly rich image quality, while also reducing noise to unprecedented levels with even higher ISOs

Continuous shooting at up to 9 frames per second at full FX resolution and up to 11fps inthe DX Crop mode, offers uncompromised shooting speeds for fast-action and sports photography

Extreme Low-noise ISO range with Advanced Noise Reduction enables photographers to confidently select from 200-6400 ISO with an expanded range that includes Lo-1 (100 ISO)Hi-1 (12,800 ISO) and Hi-2 (25,600 ISO)

The 3.0-inch super density 920,000-dot VGA color monitor with 170-degree wide-angle viewing and tempered-glass protection makes it possible for even more critical image review

Fast, accurate 51-point autofocus with 3D Focus Tracking and three Dynamic AF modes deliver exacting autofocus precision at blazing speeds

Two LiveView shooting modes, Hand-held or Tripod, are perfect when shooting in a studio, remote situations or from challenging angles

Nikon's exclusive Scene Recognition System (SRS), with an improved 1,005-Pixel 3DColor Matrix Metering II, provides even more intelligent auto exposure capabilities, along with smarter auto white balance detection and faster, more accurate AF performance

Nikon's Self-diagnostic shutter system, tested to 300,000 cycles, is a clear indication of advanced engineering and durable construction

New Picture Control settings give photographers dramatically advanced color control with 4 preset options: Standard, Neutral, Vivid and Monochrome, as well as 9 customizable settings


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 
          
D.K. Owens
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 6, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 18
Review Date: Dec 29, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,875.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The sheer joy of a Nikon FX (full-frame) camera is enough to excite the most listless, unenthused photographer. The D3 has all of the basic features of the D2Xs and is three "Flights up" from the D300. Exceptional color and contrast; remarkable resolution and detail set this on a pedestal all alone. Live-View is a bonus, along with the dual card slots for the JPEG and NEF files. The ISO, the "retouch menu," and the fact that all of the older Nikon lenses can go back into the bag without regard for DX is, in my book, a reason to get this camera. Nikon has united the reliable past with the high-tech future in the D3.
Cons:
While I find no fault, additional mega-pixels would have been nice. However, that will surely come in time. This camera premiered before its predecessors had celebrated any real time on the market. Suffice it to say, Nikon probably won't let this one get much circulation before they unveil and debut another "masterpiece" with all the mega-pixels one will ever need.

Without a doubt, the resolution and detail on this camera are tops! I just purchased the 135mm f/2-DC for a major portrait project. After a few tests and switching back and forth with the 70-200mm f/2.8 VR and the 28-70mm f/2.8, I've concluded that this camera is spectacular.

The new Nikon lenses made exclusively for this FX camera (14-24mm and 24-70mm) are great lenses, but compared to the tack sharpness and overall quality of the old faithful FX film lenses like the 17-35mm f/2.8 and the 24-70mm f/2.8 you are basically "splitting hairs."

While I cannot say for sure, I'd risk a few dollars in betting that the older lenses will soon be rising in production and price. Its a blessing to know that 20mm is actually 20mm and so forth and so on!

The D3 features the FX/DX format (the ability to use the array of Nikon lenses created for the Digital SLR). However, why would anyone want to shoot in the DX format mode with a FX camera? I think that the DX format maybe useful to those who already own DX lenses or who cannot afford to buy several lenses and don't wish to empty their bags and replace them with FX lenses. Nevertheless, the DX format only allows for 5MPs vs. the 12 in FX format.

As a Nikon owner of the D300, D2Xs and D200 cameras the D3 is not something we talk about or write about, its something that is to be experienced. All I can say is that if you get one you won't put it down.


Dec 29, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add D.K. Owens to your Buddy List  
Josh Bennett
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 2, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Review Date: Dec 23, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,999.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: FX sensor, signal strength and clarity of pixels - image quality is very high, screen is amazing and very useful, autofocus is great and the new invisible overlay is awesome. Viewfinder better than DX. Dual CF compartment.
Cons:
Price could have been closer to $4k IMO. But I am grateful they didn't go higher than $5k! I wish they had implemented an on-board RF signal controller to wirelessly control their (hopefully-one-day-radio-controlled) CLS.

I really was amazed at the amount of leeway the D3 files give you in regard to pushing. The Dynamic range is improved and helps but the ability to pull shadows back up after shooting to save the highlights is incredible.

Sometimes when the image is really out of focus and the camera does hunt, it will stop while it is OOF and just hang there. All of my other cameras do the same thing but it would have been nice if they had made it more actively/enthusiastically pursue focus. It's like they search and then if the camera can't focus, it gives up. "Well, I tried. I'm done."

That said, the new AF module is pretty awesome. It is very fast and much more reliable (than the D200). The outer focus points are VERY much improved. I am sorry, I can't compare it with the D2Xs as I never owned one. I am sure their cross-type sensors on the outer edges performed much better than the line-type the D200 had. I do like the new grouping even though it doesn't reach the far edges of the frame. I was very critical of it when I first saw the viewfinder display and the AF layout but after using it, I don't find myself wishing they were further out (yet.)

I have been waiting for a full 135 sensor Nikon body for a long time. I am glad they provided and did so in a VERY well executed manner. The D3 is simply SUPERB. The framerate, build quality, user interface, and especially image quality are almost more than I expected. Nikon definitely did it right the first time.


Dec 23, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Josh Bennett to your Buddy List  
smhphoto.com
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 18, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 73
Review Date: Dec 19, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Unbelievable High ISO performance, Awesome AF, FF, dual CF card slots, AF fine tuning, Accurate and repeatable AF that works excellent in WAY low light conditions (ISO6400, 1/80th, f/2.5), great ergos, awesome LCD, excellent highlight and shadow recovery, 14 bit RAW images, 12 MP (and not more!), automatic lateral CA correction, the list goes on and on.
Cons:
None. It's finally THE perfect camera.

An awesome body! This is the perfect wedding body period! The images produced by this body and the 200 f/2 AFS VR are out of this world. The high ISO performance sets a new standard, the DR is great. 12 MP is the perfect balance of enough detail, not too large of file sizes, and crop-ability.

The ultimate wedding camera. Well done Nikon! I wish I could give this a higher rating.

Now, if we can just get Fred to add the 200 f/2 VR lens to the Nikon primes I could review that also, but alas, my request of nearly a year goes unfulfilled.


Dec 19, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add smhphoto.com to your Buddy List  
mdeni
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 14, 2007
Location: Macedonia
Posts: 13
Review Date: Dec 15, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: FX sensor, High ISO noise, Top AF, Working speed, Buffer, Screen, Ergonomics, DX lens compatible, Flash CLS... and lots more.
Cons:
Price.



Dec 15, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mdeni to your Buddy List  
erikff
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 8, 2002
Location: South Africa
Posts: 1281
Review Date: Dec 14, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great camera overall. The autofocus and high ISO performance is out of this world! One hell of a camera!
Cons:
Personally, I would have liked a few more pixels squeezed in there somewhere



Dec 14, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add erikff to your Buddy List  

   



Nikon D3

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
37 67616 Jun 28, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $4,984.20
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.81
9.00
9.7
d3


Page:  1 · 2 · 3