about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED DX AF-S

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
6 33823 Apr 7, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $200.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
6.33
9.33
7.8
18-135dx

Specifications:
18-135mm focal range (7.5x zoom) for use in a wide variety of situations (equivalent to a 27-202.5mm lens in the 35mm format)
One ED glass and two aspherical lens elements

Incorporates a compact SWM (Silent Wave Motor) for quiet focusing

Two focus modes, [A] and [M], are available

Enables focusing from as close as 45cm (17.7 in.) from the subject through its entire focal range

The IF design provides a constant lens length and eliminates rotation of the front lens element, facilitating the use of circular polarizing filters

Seven-blade rounded diaphragm opening


 


          
E.Kase
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 12, 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Review Date: Apr 7, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $250.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp throughout the range. Cheap
Cons:
Bad distortion on the wide end, no VR for the long end.

This is a sharp lens with a great range, but I sold mine due to a couple things I couldn't get over. The distortion at the wide end is horrible. I shoot alot of landscape/seascapes so this really bothered me. Corners are a bit soft wide open at 18mm too. Focus is fast and sure. Slow, so you generally need good light or a camera that can handle higher iso's. Not quite long enough to really make useful for many of natures applications, such as birds, wildlife, etc.

It is cheap on the used market and plenty sharp though. That given the extra range makes it a good one to keep on the camera for awhile.


Apr 7, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add E.Kase to your Buddy List  
jessi74
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 22, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Review Date: Nov 5, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $150.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: A very useful range.
Cons:
The falloff never bothered me; it bothers some people. Lacks VR.

It's an absolute bargain at ebay prices these days. The lack of VR does make it mostly a daytime lens.

Nov 5, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jessi74 to your Buddy List  
like_this
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 3, 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 93
Review Date: Jun 4, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: sharp, even at f:3,5/5,6; fast AF-S, low-priced.
Cons:
built quality, distortion, vignetting

This lens negate my reservations about Superzooms.

Sharp even wide open (contrary to the AF-S 3,5-4,5/18-70mm).

Good all-round-lens.


Jun 4, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add like_this to your Buddy List  
uccmmcpo
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 22, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 2596
Review Date: Oct 27, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: A sharp and contrasty (18-105 vr lens) that delivers in spades. No review heading (category) for this new VR lens so I thought I would include it here.
Cons:
None, Given it`s price point and since it`s obviously a consumer (kit) lens it would be rediculous to think you could get more than this lens offers for the price . ($275.00)

Hey! What more can any reasonably person ask for in a kit lens.
I`ve had very good copies of every Nikon 18-XX(X) consumer grade lenses and this one is the very best.
Previously my favorite was the 18-135 but at the long end it was hard to hand hold and get consistantly sharp images.That lens needs VR badly.
The 18-105 simply makes more sense with the range and VR. .
Build quality is equal to the 18-135 . The VR is fast and super accurate.
If you really have to have faster apertures and better bokeh you should be looking at lenses that cost 4-5X more.
In summary it`s an excellent general purpose walk about lens that just can`t be beat for the money.




Oct 27, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add uccmmcpo to your Buddy List  
murdocklawless
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 23, 2008
Location: Turkey
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 23, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: cheap, performance between average and good
Cons:
rarely recognize problems occurs becuase of plastic mount (I think)

I bought this lens for my d300. sometimes recognize problems occur but very rarely. I think this recognize problem happens from plastic mount. I've also 50mm lens and there is no problem with my d300. I prefer this lens to the beginners.

Jul 23, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add murdocklawless to your Buddy List  
Matt Hancock
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 20, 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 17, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: cheap
Cons:
cheap

Bought as a replacement for the 18-55 D40 kit lens. Also bought to replace the TWO 24-120 AFS VR lens I bought and returned (both soft and Nikon advising "There is not a 'softness' problem with the above lens, there can be variations in overall performance between different focal length lens,whether they be zoom or prime lenses;this is normal optical physics." Regardless, the 24-120 was less sharp than the kit lens throughout the range.

So, back to the 18-135, I love it. Faster to focus than the 18-55, more solidly built (but still plasticy). Pictures clear and sharp. A little distortion at the wide end.

Overall, this lens cost me less than 1/3rd the price of the 18-200VR so I am happy.


Feb 17, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Matt Hancock to your Buddy List  

   



Nikon 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED DX AF-S

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
6 33823 Apr 7, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $200.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
6.33
9.33
7.8
18-135dx