about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon 500mm f/4G ED VR AF-S

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 28149 Mar 15, 2009
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $7,900.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
10.00
8.50
10.0
500VR

Specifications:
VR II operation realizes the equivalent of a shutter speed four stops faster.
New Tripod mode reduces vibration that may occur at shutter release when shooting with a super-telephoto lens attached to a tripod.
Enhanced optical formulas, engineered to produce exceptional sharpness, contrast and color, render outstanding image integrity.
Three ED (Extra-low dispersion) elements control chromatic aberration while enhancing sharpness and contrast, even at the widest apertures.
Exclusive Nikon Nano Crystal Coat and a Meniscus protective glass element combine to further reduce ghosting and flare for even greater image clarity.
High-performance Nikon Super Integrated Coating realizes superior color reproduction while minimizing ghosting and flare.
Nikon's exclusive Silent Wave Motor enables fast autofocusing with exceptional accuracy and powerful, super-quiet operation.
Rounded diaphragm opening (9 blades) makes out-of-focus elements appear more natural.
Newly added A/M mode reduces the possibility of unintentional switching from Auto to Manual.

Filter Size 52mm or gelatin filters via rear drop-in slot
f/Stop Range 4-22
Minimum Focus Distance 13.1' (4 m)
Magnification 1:6.9
Angle of View 4 (35mm format)
2 (Nikon DX format)
Groups/Elements 11/14
Tripod Collar Yes
Length 15.4" (39.1 cm)
Maximum Diameter 5.5" (14.0 cm)
Weight 8.6 lbs (3.9 kg)
Usable Nikon Teleconverter TC-14E II (maintains autofocusing), or TC-20E II, TC-301 & TC-14b (manual focus only)


 


      
johnmh
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 26, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 88
Review Date: Mar 15, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $7,900.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Astounding lens all around. VR allows hand holding for shots you couldn't have gotten previously.
Cons:
Expensive - but worth it. Supply seems limited and unable to meet demand. You may wait a while if you want one.

Nothing to complain about.

Greal lens, great IQ, works fine even with longer TC's.

Manageable size and weight for the reach but I can see this still being an issue as 'carry-on' for planes and longer back-country treks.

It's expensive but you're getting your money's worth and given recent events a safer 'investment' than Wall Street. Nonetheless, you should be realistic about whether you can justify spending what is a very substantial amount of money. In that sense this is a pro lens - or one for amateurs with disposable income.

This lens - along with other pro level glass - will be passed down in my estate, with my heirs fighting over it.



Mar 15, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add johnmh to your Buddy List  
maljo
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 1, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 458
Review Date: Dec 10, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $7,800.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Extremely sharp, excellent VR, excellent bokeh
Cons:
Expensive

Really love this lens. I've had it 2 months. Used it alot,
including at trip to the Everglades for a week.
Heavy and expensive, but otherwise a joy to use.
Image quality is superb.

Why is it $2500 more than the Canon equivalent?
Partly because of a 5 year warranty.



Dec 10, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add maljo to your Buddy List  
peachstate
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 22, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Review Date: Sep 8, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $8,000.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Resolution of images is superb. Weight of the lens for a 500mm f4 is most impressive. About 7.5lbs!! VR Function allows hand held shots---yes, even for a 500mm!
Cons:
The 8m-infinity limit focus is just too far for a minimum focus. I have been frustrated missing picture of birds that fly in relatively close in, only to try an focus---can't do it because the bird is less than 8m from me and by the time I get to side of the lens, switch it to FULL, the bird is long gone!

This lens has been a long time coming. VR in the fixed focal lengths of 400, 500, and 600mm are LONG OVERDUE. Current production is in no way keeping up with demand. Many were earmarked for the China Olympics, so now that they are behind us, hopefully more lenses will now be available to the 'common man'.

Picture quality is unchallenged. ( Price though is about $2,500 more than Canon's equivalent.) That said, this lens measures up to the highest of build quality standards, and the VR is amazing in that one can actually HAND HOLD shots and get clear, crisp images!!!!

I have tried using a monopod with this guy, but find carrying my carbon fiber Gitzo makes me much happier. With the Wimberly head, I can maneuver the camera and lens effortlessly.

I have been using Nikon's TC 14E II with excellent results. I will try a 2.0TC in the near future to compare. Moose Peterson is now only carrying the Nikon TC17E II and foregoing the 2 others, so I may even try that one as well. The lens is awesome--just wish the price were more in line with Canon.


Sep 8, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add peachstate to your Buddy List  
colincarter46
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 13, 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 455
Review Date: Jul 22, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Image Quality is unsurpassed, build quality is fantastic, VRII is superb
Cons:
weight

This new lens, from Nikon, was definately worth the long wait. The image quality and build quality are fantastic. What I was surprised about was how well this lens takes all three Nikon teleconverters and retains superb image quality and autofocus performance on my D300 and D3 bodies. The 2x is always called the "runt" of the family but this lens shows that the 2x can be usable even for exhibition quality A3 and A2 prints

the VRII system works superbly steadying this big lens even in a strong breeze.

If you need a lens like this, and can afford the asking price then you will not be disappointed.

Get yourself a good tripod, i am using it with a Gitzo 5541Ls and a Wimberly version 2 gimbal head. This combo will add about 1200 to the bill but it is worth every penny.

I have posted a gallery below of which all the shots were either taken with the 1.7x or the 2x teleconverters

http://www.flickr.com/photos/theapertureman/sets/72157606275030528/


Jul 22, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add colincarter46 to your Buddy List  




Nikon 500mm f/4G ED VR AF-S

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 28149 Mar 15, 2009
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $7,900.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
10.00
8.50
10.0
500VR