backup
Photoshop actions
 
 

Search Used

Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
395 568414 Aug 9, 2016
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $1,284.43
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.79
9.40
9.9
ef135mmf_2l_1_

Specifications:
The Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM is designed to meet the needs of a wide range of advanced amateurs and professionals. A ten element optical formula with two UD-glass elements serves to correct residual aberrations, resulting in superb sharpness and high image quality. It is also able to obtain superior background blur with the f/2 wide aperture. The EF 135mm f/2L USM is fully compatible for AF with Extenders 1.4x and 2x. A stellar portrait and available light lens.

Filter Size 72mm
f/Stop Range 2.0-32
Minimum Focus Distance 3'
Magnification 1:5.3
Zoom/Focus Control Not applicable
Angle of View 18 Degrees
Groups/Elements 8/10
Tripod Collar No
Length 4.4"
Maximum Diameter 3.3"
Weight 1.64 lb


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next
          
sunpole
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 3, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 320
Review Date: Jul 20, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, little copy variation, black, AF dead accurate
Cons:
None

For $1000, you can't buy any better lens than this guy here. Great value, instantly fall in love with the picture this lens can render. I have never seen any bokeh like this and the sharpness of the image. Just simply amazing, beats all my other L.

Jul 20, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add sunpole to your Buddy List  
mkuzmick
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 17, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 17, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: bokeh, f/2 sharpness, color
Cons:
tough to find right now

My only regret is that it took me so long to get this thing. Fabulous for portraits, as everyone knows--and absolutely wonderful for video on the 5D2. The interview footage I get with this combo is SO gorgeous---I get lost in a daze looking at it when I should be editing! I was on the verge of getting the 70-200 f/2.8 instead, but so far I have zero regrets for going in this direction.

Jul 17, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mkuzmick to your Buddy List  
MiLa-Foto
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 14, 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 14, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great Bokeh, tack sharp from beginning
Cons:
price.


Bought this lens shortly after I got my 5DMK2 and uses it mostly for portrait shots on my old 5D during weddings in low light Church.

Now after about 6 months of using I am still looking forward to every new photo taken with this lens. It's always amazing.

[German] Fast zeitgleich mit Anschaffung der 5D MK2 kam auch diese Linse ins Haus. Seitdem wird sie vorwiegend an meiner alten 5D bei Hochzeiten in schummrigen Kirchen und Standesämtern für stimmungsvolle Portraits ohne Blitz genutzt.

Ich freue mich jedesmal auf die Auswertung des Tageswerkes bei dieser Linse, immer scharf mit tollem Bokeh und super Freistellung.

Unbedingt empfehlenswert!



Jul 14, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add MiLa-Foto to your Buddy List  
Sea Dragon Rex
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 28, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 31
Review Date: Jul 6, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $845.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp wide open, excellent build quality, beautiful bokeh
Cons:

This lens has fantastic IQ. The focal point is razor sharp wide open and bokeh is amazing. The focus is fast, silent and accurate. This lens isn't the cheapest but it is well worth the extra money.

Jul 6, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Sea Dragon Rex to your Buddy List  
stuey5bellies
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 6, 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4
Review Date: Jun 25, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: This is a beautiful lens that produces rich images. Mine is sharp as a tack down to f/2 and I love the creamy bokeh it produces. Awesome for events when you want to catch some candid moments. I also found it good for portraits. It's discrete, unlike Canons bright white telephotos, and light.
Cons:
None - price maybe but for the quality of the images its just about worth it...



Jun 25, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add stuey5bellies to your Buddy List  
lsr792000
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 13, 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 18
Review Date: Jun 20, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Extremely sharp across entire range of aperture even at f2! Beautiful creamy bokeh with lightning fast AF comparable with my 300mm f2.8. Takes 1.4x TC and 2x TC better than most lens (you need to stop down at least 2/3 stops though). Light and versatile. Highly recommended!
Cons:
None.



Jun 20, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add lsr792000 to your Buddy List  
Enche Tjin
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 14, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jun 16, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, contrast, excellent built quality
Cons:
lack of IS

The images from this lens are very sharp, contrasty and show a lot of details even in wide open at f/2. The depth of field is very shallow at f/2. As a result, the background will be compressed.

Because of that features, Canon 135mm is ideal for portrait, especially candid portrait, street photography and indoor sports.

Build quality is very good, the best Canon can made. The lens is not as big and heavy as telephoto zoom.

But unfortunately, this lens does not have Image Stabilization built-in. Image stabilization in telephoto is quite important so you can shoot with shutter speed lower than the focal length X crop multiplier. For example, when you attach this lens into crop sensor camera such as Canon Rebel series or 0XD series, then you need to set a shutter speed to at least 1/200 or greater to get a tack sharp result. It is also depend on how steady your hand is. If you have steady hand, then 1/160 will be adequate.

This lens have a decent closing focus (1m) this is better than most of the telephoto zoom range. You can also get a extension tube to get the focusing even closer (.6m with 2x extension tube). Therefore, this lens will be quite good for macro photography.

Read full review with sample photos and video tour at my blog www.radiantlite.com thanks!


Jun 16, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Enche Tjin to your Buddy List  
artful
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 24, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 18
Review Date: Jun 6, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Amazing low-light, fast-action lens. My favorite lens in the bag.
Cons:
None

This is my go-to lens for indoor, low-light, fast-action shots. Whether its dance recitals, cheerleading competitions, basketball, volleyball, or gymnastics, this lens never fails me. While I enjoy the versatility of the 70-200 2.8/IS, it sometimes is just not enough lens (even at high ISOs) to stop fast-action. The 135 is perfect in those situations. Beautiful bokeh, accurate auto-focusing, and super sharp wide-open, this lens on my 30D has produced thousands of gorgeous, eye-popping pics. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Jun 6, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add artful to your Buddy List  
OntheRez
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jul 16, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 3800
Review Date: Jun 6, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast!! Superb clarity.
Cons:
None

Beautiful Bokah. Light, easy to maneuver. Simply one of the finest lenses made by anyone. Anyone complaining about lack of IS just doesn't "get it"! Reasonably priced.

Jun 6, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add OntheRez to your Buddy List  
TeeJay
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 8, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 667
Review Date: May 19, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $935.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Beautiful Bokeh, Lighting fast AF, F2 is sharp, very affordable.
Cons:
no Image Stabilization

Picked this baby up after reading countless reviews that it's Canon's sharpest lens and has some killer bokeh, oh, and it's under $1000! Worth every penny and I plan on using it all summer for outdoor portraits. F2 is sharp and probably my favorite aperture.

If you're converting your zooms to primes like I am, the 135L needs to be in your bag.


May 19, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add TeeJay to your Buddy List  
Sayeret18
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Apr 1, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 693
Review Date: Apr 23, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $850.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IQ, bokeh, build quality, focusing speed - it can't get any better than this lens.
Cons:
It will spoil you.

Simply stated, I can't imagine there being a better lens in any respect.

Apr 23, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Sayeret18 to your Buddy List  
ckc11
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 29, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Apr 8, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $750.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super sharp wide open. An instant classic. Solid build quality. Incredible value for an 'L' lens.
Cons:
none

A real gem on a FF body, deservingly one of the "holy trinity" of Canon primes. Fast silent USM and razor sharp at f2, why bother shooting it at any other aperture? Bokeh is amazing and same with the colour and contrast. Who needs zooms with this and its 200L brother. Black is much more inconspicuous too allowing you to get "the shot". Get this lens, you won't regret it.

Apr 8, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ckc11 to your Buddy List  
Victor Go
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 13, 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 47
Review Date: Apr 3, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light, Lightning Fast AF, Bokeh is amazing
Cons:
No IS.

This is my lastest addition to my L collections. I have the 85LmkII, 300F4L, but this lens gave me the most satisfaction in terms of AF speed and the bokeh it generates. Color of the photos are also top notch on par with 85L.

I use this 135L mainly for sports, the picture quality gives you the feeling of a 400F2.8L or even the 500F4L.

If you are still considering whether to get it or not...I will say, don't wait any longer. Should have gotten this lens before the 85F1.2L.

Check out the image on http://www.shutterbug.sg


Apr 3, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Victor Go to your Buddy List  
James Wei
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 12, 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 35
Review Date: Mar 18, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp from corner to corner. Background bokeh pleasant. Autofocus is lightening fast. Cheap L prime to own.
Cons:
Not metal. Specular highlight performance poor. Low contrast wide open.

135L is my event photography lens. Very versatile with lightening autofocus speed. Dead on Accuracy and reliable optical performance.

It bokeh rendering is superb. Smooth and gentle. Occasional harsh edges in background bokeh. Its foreground bokeh does not have the same performance as background bokeh. The specular highlights are crescent shape which is a little dissapointing.

My Image gallery

http://www.roentarre.com/Gallery.aspx?id=1&lid=9

http://www.roentarre.com/Gallery.aspx?id=1&lid=9&pid=2



Mar 18, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add James Wei to your Buddy List  
davidinjp
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 13, 2009
Location: Japan
Posts: 1
Review Date: Mar 13, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, great contrast and colors, fantastic focal length for full frame. Best fast lens at wide open that I have ever used. Great price. No IS means better build and IQ.
Cons:
Nothing yet after 2.5 years of use.

I think this is my favorite lens out of the many I own. It is perfect on full frame cameras. After 2.5 years on my 5D and 5D mark II, I never leave this lens behind.

I neglected it for a little while after getting the 70-200 f/2.8 IS, but after a couple months when I went back to it, it blew me away all over a gain. Great for nature, landscapes, portraits and getting in close in urban shots. I often use it as a macro with tubes.

Some samples http://dave.jp


Mar 13, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add davidinjp to your Buddy List  
Badmono
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 9, 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 10, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: A sick lens - takes the sharpest photo's, with the best contrast & Bokeh imaginable - Everybody with a Canon body should own one, otherwise you really ain't getting the most from your camera. An absolute bargain - A must buy
Cons:
Don't buy one if you already own any of the 70-200 zooms - it'll make you spew when you see just how much better the shot's taken with 135 F2 'L' are in comparison to your zoom's pathetic 'Soft Focus' efforts

A sick lens - takes the sharpest photo's, with the best contrast & Bokeh imaginable - Everybody with a Canon body should own one, otherwise you really ain't getting the most from your camera.
UltraSharp at F2 - so why use any any other aperture, I dont;-)
An absolute bargain - A must buy
>
Don't buy one if you already own any of the canon 70-200 zooms - coz it'll make you spew up when you see just how much better the shot's taken with 135 F2 'L' are in comparison to your zoom's pathetic 'Soft Focus' efforts only cost's half as much as the 70-200 f2.8 too!!!
>
Of course if you're a sad wedding photographer you'll need to hang onto your zoom:-)))))))))


Mar 10, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Badmono to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
395 568414 Aug 9, 2016
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $1,284.43
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.79
9.40
9.9
ef135mmf_2l_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next