about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
395 542267 Nov 22, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $1,285.59
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.79
9.40
9.9
ef135mmf_2l_1_

Specifications:
The Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM is designed to meet the needs of a wide range of advanced amateurs and professionals. A ten element optical formula with two UD-glass elements serves to correct residual aberrations, resulting in superb sharpness and high image quality. It is also able to obtain superior background blur with the f/2 wide aperture. The EF 135mm f/2L USM is fully compatible for AF with Extenders 1.4x and 2x. A stellar portrait and available light lens.

Filter Size 72mm
f/Stop Range 2.0-32
Minimum Focus Distance 3'
Magnification 1:5.3
Zoom/Focus Control Not applicable
Angle of View 18 Degrees
Groups/Elements 8/10
Tripod Collar No
Length 4.4"
Maximum Diameter 3.3"
Weight 1.64 lb


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next
          
Sobax
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 11, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 365
Review Date: Dec 20, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp wide open, great color and contrast.
Cons:
None

It is amazing piece of glass. Can't imagine a better lens.I use it on 5D and 50D ...even wide open I don't use any sharpening tool in post proc.(shoot RAW)

Dec 20, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Sobax to your Buddy List  
floppydamage
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 19, 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 2
Review Date: Nov 19, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp all across the frame from f2, bokeh, colors, contrast, build quality
Cons:
hood, shape of highlights, not weather-sealed

This is the sharpest lens I've ever used, and that includes 35L and 85L II.
Colors are great and bokeh is spectacular. I love the fact that it's black and relatively light (but feels sturdy), great balance on 5D. It produces the most amazing pictures I've ever taken, and my other lenses doesn't seem so good anymore...
Just a tad long for inside shooting.


Nov 19, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add floppydamage to your Buddy List  
melashcott
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 21, 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 21, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp as a tack - Beautiful Bokeh
Cons:
None

This is probably my favourite lens and s a portrait photographer, that's a big call as I have an 85mm f1.2Lii as well. For medium to longer range portraits, the 135mm f2L gives ultimate control for the separation of subject and background - I couldn't recommend it highly enough on a full frame body.

The first two thirds of this shoot were shot with it:
http://shoots.wedding-photography-melbourne.com.au/malcolm-jacinta/?show=gallery

I have also put together a 100% crop shot with this lens here:
http://shoots.wedding-photography-melbourne.com.au/resolution-and-digital-development/

Without spending lots of extra dollars on an 85mm f1.2Lii you won't get a better more value packed lens


Oct 21, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add melashcott to your Buddy List  
bluefox9er
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 10, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 361
Review Date: Oct 11, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: it's razor sharp and has the most dreamiest bokeh , churns out superb images..
Cons:
NONE about the lens it's self

theres no more to add...this is one of the best lenses i have ever used..it is razor sharp right form the get-go at f2, colours, contrast and clarity are mind blowing.

I have used it at a recent wedding ( as a guest,not the pro) ad at Toronto zoo and look forward to developing my skills more, wth the safety net of knowing that I now own one of Canon's finest lenses.

I find the 135 mm focal length to be very odd , though..but this is defeciency of my skills and not a short coming of the lens in any way.

If you are thinking of buying this lens..then quit agonising and buy it, it is fantastic.


Oct 11, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add bluefox9er to your Buddy List  
vaskalino
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 6, 2009
Location: Romania
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 6, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: razor sharp, great bokeh, fast.
Cons:
none

Perfect for headshots even on a 1.6x crop camera, a little too long for full body portraits.

Oct 6, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add vaskalino to your Buddy List  
MikeDotephoto
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 18, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 269
Review Date: Oct 5, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,080.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Bokeh, AF speed, build, color, contrast
Cons:
price

This lens is A-mazing! The background blur it produces is great, it is tack sharp even at f2, and it focuses quickly on my 5d, 1dmkII and eos 3. If you are debating it, buy this lens!

Oct 5, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add MikeDotephoto to your Buddy List  
tom s
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 3, 2007
Location: Croatia
Posts: 158
Review Date: Sep 29, 2009 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: f/2, nice bokeh wide open, focuses down to 0.9m, great colors, pretty compact, nice sharpness at f/5.6, good sharpness wide open in good light, fast focusing in good light, ok price for an L lens
Cons:
focusing ring very loose, prone to blooming and purple fringing, focusing can be tricky at f/2, focus hunts in low light, occasional soft focus in low light, auto-focusing (and sharpness) in low light depend heavily on battery life/status, don't even bother with 1.4x extender (it's very soft and ''dreamy'' wide open) unless you want/like a soft-focus-effect, not very versatile, no IS, bulky hood



Sep 29, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add tom s to your Buddy List  
Cesar
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 18, 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 0
Review Date: Sep 17, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp very good color and contrast
Cons:
no

Boa construção e permite imagens excelentes.
Recomendo sem duvida uma boa opção para fotografar em ambientes de pouca luz


Sep 17, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Cesar to your Buddy List  
jamato8
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 23, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2210
Review Date: Aug 30, 2009 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: This lens is the only one I own that reminds me of my Leica lenses. I would not be without this one. It is great even for close-up with tubes and rivals my 180L or 60mm. Beautiful color and contrast round out this top performed that also doesn't kill you on the price.
Cons:
None.

My review is in my positive notes on this lens.

Aug 30, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add jamato8 to your Buddy List  
GeneO
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 10, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 9098
Review Date: Aug 19, 2009 Recommend? | Price paid: $925.00

 
Pros: Perfect. In color, contrast, sharpness wide-open and bokeh.
Cons:
None

Can't say much more than this lens does not disappoint in any way. Lots of bang for the buck. One of Canons bargains.

Aug 19, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add GeneO to your Buddy List  
noggin
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 23, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Review Date: Aug 19, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: fast autofocus, perfect bokeh, compact size, indiscrete color
Cons:
none

Best value in L lens. The bokeh is amazing due to the near perfect focal length for head-shoulders portraits and f2 apeture. I'm using it on a 5D and can't say enough about how "dead-on" the autofocus is. It never seems to miss.

Aug 19, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add noggin to your Buddy List  
archiegonzalez
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Philippines
Posts: 3
Review Date: Aug 16, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent build quality. Sharp images even at f/2. Fast AF. Smooth and creamy bokeh!
Cons:
None so far.

If you're into portraiture, I suggest that you get this as your first L prime lens. Works wonders on a full frame body. The images just pop right in front of you. Your photos will have a 3D feel to it. This is my most used L prime, I also have the 85 f/1.2 and the 24 f/1.4. For the price, this is hard to beat. I decided to purchase this based on the reviews here and it lived up to all of the hype. This is truly a legendary piece of glass.

Aug 16, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add archiegonzalez to your Buddy List  
sunpole
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 3, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 320
Review Date: Jul 20, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, little copy variation, black, AF dead accurate
Cons:
None

For $1000, you can't buy any better lens than this guy here. Great value, instantly fall in love with the picture this lens can render. I have never seen any bokeh like this and the sharpness of the image. Just simply amazing, beats all my other L.

Jul 20, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add sunpole to your Buddy List  
mkuzmick
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 17, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 17, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: bokeh, f/2 sharpness, color
Cons:
tough to find right now

My only regret is that it took me so long to get this thing. Fabulous for portraits, as everyone knows--and absolutely wonderful for video on the 5D2. The interview footage I get with this combo is SO gorgeous---I get lost in a daze looking at it when I should be editing! I was on the verge of getting the 70-200 f/2.8 instead, but so far I have zero regrets for going in this direction.

Jul 17, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mkuzmick to your Buddy List  
MiLa-Foto
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 14, 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 14, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great Bokeh, tack sharp from beginning
Cons:
price.


Bought this lens shortly after I got my 5DMK2 and uses it mostly for portrait shots on my old 5D during weddings in low light Church.

Now after about 6 months of using I am still looking forward to every new photo taken with this lens. It's always amazing.

[German] Fast zeitgleich mit Anschaffung der 5D MK2 kam auch diese Linse ins Haus. Seitdem wird sie vorwiegend an meiner alten 5D bei Hochzeiten in schummrigen Kirchen und Standesämtern für stimmungsvolle Portraits ohne Blitz genutzt.

Ich freue mich jedesmal auf die Auswertung des Tageswerkes bei dieser Linse, immer scharf mit tollem Bokeh und super Freistellung.

Unbedingt empfehlenswert!



Jul 14, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add MiLa-Foto to your Buddy List  
Sea Dragon Rex
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 28, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 31
Review Date: Jul 6, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $845.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp wide open, excellent build quality, beautiful bokeh
Cons:

This lens has fantastic IQ. The focal point is razor sharp wide open and bokeh is amazing. The focus is fast, silent and accurate. This lens isn't the cheapest but it is well worth the extra money.

Jul 6, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Sea Dragon Rex to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
395 542267 Nov 22, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $1,285.59
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.79
9.40
9.9
ef135mmf_2l_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next