about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
392 538330 Sep 3, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $1,288.63
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.80
9.40
9.9
ef135mmf_2l_1_

Specifications:
The Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM is designed to meet the needs of a wide range of advanced amateurs and professionals. A ten element optical formula with two UD-glass elements serves to correct residual aberrations, resulting in superb sharpness and high image quality. It is also able to obtain superior background blur with the f/2 wide aperture. The EF 135mm f/2L USM is fully compatible for AF with Extenders 1.4x and 2x. A stellar portrait and available light lens.

Filter Size 72mm
f/Stop Range 2.0-32
Minimum Focus Distance 3'
Magnification 1:5.3
Zoom/Focus Control Not applicable
Angle of View 18 Degrees
Groups/Elements 8/10
Tripod Collar No
Length 4.4"
Maximum Diameter 3.3"
Weight 1.64 lb


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next
          
msavage
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 12, 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jun 12, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp
Cons:
No IS??

The best for unobstrusive street photography, or portrait. Much better than any zoom. The lens deserves its reputation, and its relatively inexpensive.

Jun 12, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add msavage to your Buddy List  
dmcharg
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 30, 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 788
Review Date: Apr 29, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Just amazing. The Bokeh is just wonderful, small, light weight, amazing colors.
Cons:
No IS.

Just amazing. This is the sharpest lens i have ever owned. You buy this lens to use at F2 and it really does not disappoint. I used it along side a 70-200 F4 and the difference between F2 and F4 is massive. Sharp, wonderful bokeh, great colors etc etc.

I owned this lens for a 4 years and then sold it because on a 1.6x body i found it a strange focal length. Its too long for indoors. If this focal length really works for you i cannot imagine anyone being disappointed with this lens. The 70-200 is much more flexible.


Apr 29, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add dmcharg to your Buddy List  
marcusedward
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 23, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Apr 1, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: f2, light, fast focus, amazingly sharp even at f2, beautiful bokeh
Cons:
absolutely none

After only 1 day of shooting with this lens I find it's already my most favorite. Things shot on this lens simply look better. After reading all the reviews I actually didn't think it could stand up to the propaganda but it did and beyond.

Apr 1, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add marcusedward to your Buddy List  
martinpperry
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 21, 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 25, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Colours, contrast and overall image quality. Beautiful bokeh. Great value.
Cons:
I can't think of any.

This lens is just about perfect and I can't fault. It seems really good value when compared to some of the other Canon L primes. I know it is probably a bit long in the tooth now, but I don't see how Canon can better this. Perhaps IS will please some people but it depends on subject matter and it wouldn't be of benefit for me 99% of the time. I have started using it at fairly low lit gigs where I wouldn't shoot at less than 1/100 second to minimise subject blur anyway. I just shoot wide open and bump up the ISO on my 5DII. A classic lens.

Feb 25, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add martinpperry to your Buddy List  
charliebs
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 19, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 34
Review Date: Feb 23, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharpness, good balance on the camera (5d), color/contrast, bokeh!, black color.
Cons:
none

not my first prime but my favorite one and my favorite lens for portraits, street. i don't do lens reviews (this is my first one) but it's such a great lens that i have to back up everyone on this thread. this lens is a pure treat. you'll find excuses to bring it along for every photo trip/outing.

i sold my 70-200 2.8 IS I to fund this. some days, i miss the versatility but the IQ is so good, i've never looked back.

the color and bokeh set this lens apart from anything else (although i haven't tried the 85L). the sharpness is great, even wide open. i use it at f/2.2 mostly. you buy a lens like this for use between f/2 and f/2.8. the background blur is truly outstanding. otherwise one of those white zooms will suffice. it's black so it's lower key, it's not heavy like the zooms, and you'll end up zooming with your feet to show off the IQ of this lens.

a lot of talk about making this an IS lens. that's fine, but if any of the IQ is sacrificed in doing that, i'd recommend against it. you don't need it, people have been taking incredible shots with the lens for years without it.

considering many other L primes cost much more than this, i think it's the best value of the canon trinity and the entire L lineup.

while i could trade out some of my other nice glass, i'll never get rid of this one. at least rent it to see what the hype is all about...


Feb 23, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add charliebs to your Buddy List  
sym5
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 1, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Review Date: Feb 20, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp; contrasty; gorgeous bokeh; built like a tank; produces incredibly gorgeous images; focuses swiftly and accurately; well-priced for so much quality; wholly deserving of its reputation as one of the best lenses Canon has ever made
Cons:
awkward focal length; no stabilization makes it useless for serious low light work; a bit on the heavy side

135L is arguably as close to a perfect lens as there is in the Canon lineup. It handles beautifully, holds up well in tough environments, isn't so large or heavy as to be burdensome, and of course takes drop-dead gorgeous photos that are just dripping with saturation and contrast. It's not an easy focal length to work with, but what it produces is pure magic. For under a thousand dollars, there is no better Canon lens for uncompromising image quality.

Feb 20, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add sym5 to your Buddy List  
edatc
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 17, 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 45
Review Date: Feb 19, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $984.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: After two years of use, the lens is phenomenal.... shoot mostly at f2
Cons:
not a con, but one with an IS option could be nice.



Feb 19, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add edatc to your Buddy List  
lucas lumiere
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Feb 10, 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 243
Review Date: Feb 10, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp wide open, color, contrast, bokeh, compact, lightweight,
Cons:
None ... although it would be nice if it was weather sealed.

I just can't say enough good things about this lens. I have used it on many different camera bodies and it delivers every time.

I traded in my 70-200 2.8 IS for this lens, and while there are times I miss the versatility of the zoom, I just LOVE the images from this lens.

Buy it... you won't regret it. If you're getting bad images from this lens... work on your technique... or maybe consider giving up on photography all together Smile


Feb 10, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add lucas lumiere to your Buddy List  
Jeroenro
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 11, 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 16
Review Date: Jan 11, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $950.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Bouquet, lage aperture, super sharp, build like a rock.
Cons:
I found none.

Bought the lens second hand after i have read al the reviews on FM. Its really worth every penny. I love the bouquet it gives at large apertures. I use it for most of my portrait work these days.

Jan 11, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Jeroenro to your Buddy List  
Joshua Hadley
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 12, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 1, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: bokeh, colors, contrast, speed...everything...
Cons:
a bit unforgiving wide open (this is not really anything against the lens itself, just against physics!)

After reading the reviews and viewing photos taken with this lens here on FM and elsewhere, I had very high expectations for this lens. Those expectations have been consistently exceeded every time I use it. Incredible lens; recommended without hesitation.

My primary uses of this lens are portraiture, cycling, and dance, shooting mainly with 1D2N. Haven't pulled out my 70-200/2.8 much since getting this lens, and I don't miss it.


Jan 1, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Joshua Hadley to your Buddy List  
Pi Chapman
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 11, 2010
Location: Poland
Posts: 239
Review Date: Dec 26, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Simply everything - sharpness, bokeh, contract, colour rendition...
Cons:
Hmm... let me think... none?! Well, could be a bit cheaper and have IS but hey, I cant have any serious complaints about this marvellous lens.

The best lens I have ever owned or used. Superfast autofocus, great sharpness, beautiful colours, lightweight, small, well balanced on my 5D II. I personally wouldnt need IS too much (naturally, that feature might be useful in some situations, but the lens is hand-holdable even in poor lighting).

Dec 26, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Pi Chapman to your Buddy List  
NDP_2010
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 7, 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 723
Review Date: Dec 12, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Small size and weight. Wide aperture. Good control of CA's Fast focus Solid construction Good price
Cons:
can't think of any

The lens is excellent and lives up to the reputation.

Sharp wide open, colours / contrast superb.
Focus is fast and accurate on my cameras, from 1000D to 1D.
Large focus ring is very nice.
Hood is effective, although it does make the lens look significantly bigger.
Black bodies and compact makes it discrete to use in the street. The weight is quite small so it is not a problem hanging from your neck.
There are some CA's wide open against backlit subjects, however it is not extreme.
No faults to the construction, feels very solid.

The lens is said to be difficult to hand hold, and this is true. As it is a fairly long focal length and such a light lens, camera shake is a problem. If you want to stop the action, this isnt a problem, but if you are looking to hand hold at 1/20th of a second, you may look for other IS lenses. Eg the new 70-200 f/2.8 IS with 4 stop IS will be much easier to hand hold at slow shutter speeds, however you lose the extra stop.


Dec 12, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add NDP_2010 to your Buddy List  
malikt
Offline
Image Upload: On

Registered: Oct 17, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 43
Review Date: Nov 23, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $850.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super sharp - amazing bokeh
Cons:
tricky focal length

This is the most sold lens on FM buy and sell forum. A lot of people buy it but sell it after not using it much. Thats because its a very tricky focal length for composition and if the shutter speed is not atleast 2 x focal length you'll have blurry pictures.

I use this lens mostly in the studio with strobe lights and the images are beautiful - sharp - skin tones clear.

one thing to note - the images from this lens are not much different from my 70-200 F4 non-IS when set at 135mm. So if you are thinking about buying this lens think about saving some $$ and getting the 70-200 F4.

Good luck.


Nov 23, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add malikt to your Buddy List  
Todd Klassy
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 27, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 290
Review Date: Sep 28, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Razor sharp, beautiful bokeh, and price.
Cons:
None

The Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM is arguably the best lens dollar-for-dollar in Canon's line-up. There aren't many L-quality lenses available new for $900 to $1000, let alone one of Canon's best. No other prime lens delivers as beautiful an image as this lens does. Portrait shots are stunning and tack sharp when taken with this lens.

The bokeh with this lens is so rich and creamy, and the colors are wonderful. Auto-focus is fast enough for most sports action. And like all L-lenses, it is built like a tank. Contrast is also very good. Wide open at f/2 is wonderful, but at f/2.2 it is simply superb.

Here are examples of photographs I have taken with this lens over the years:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/latitudes/442349436/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/latitudes/349309116/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/latitudes/280080734/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/latitudes/542716309/

Honestly, you can't go wrong with this lens.


Sep 28, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Todd Klassy to your Buddy List  
BrumJam
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 16, 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 15
Review Date: Sep 26, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp, superb contrast and colours, Great FF portrait length, fast focusing, incredible value for money
Cons:
Nothing.

A simply outstanding piece of glass, certainly one of Canon's very best portrait lenses. I use it for weddings and it's my main lens for bride and groom shots. The bokeh is superb and there is a quality to the colours and contrast which must be seen to be believed.


Sep 26, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add BrumJam to your Buddy List  
markbastick
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 26, 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Sep 26, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast, Light, Amazing contrast, pin-sharp, cheap for an 'L' lens
Cons:
...none!

I love this lens, it's so sharp, the contract and colours are amazing, and it's defiantly value for money. It's not too heavy and with the 5D mk 11 is a great combination. I also use a 50mm 1.4 and 24-70 L 2.8, the 135 is my favourite by far!

Sep 26, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add markbastick to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
392 538330 Sep 3, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $1,288.63
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.80
9.40
9.9
ef135mmf_2l_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next