about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
394 540434 Oct 10, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $1,285.99
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.79
9.40
9.9
ef135mmf_2l_1_

Specifications:
The Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM is designed to meet the needs of a wide range of advanced amateurs and professionals. A ten element optical formula with two UD-glass elements serves to correct residual aberrations, resulting in superb sharpness and high image quality. It is also able to obtain superior background blur with the f/2 wide aperture. The EF 135mm f/2L USM is fully compatible for AF with Extenders 1.4x and 2x. A stellar portrait and available light lens.

Filter Size 72mm
f/Stop Range 2.0-32
Minimum Focus Distance 3'
Magnification 1:5.3
Zoom/Focus Control Not applicable
Angle of View 18 Degrees
Groups/Elements 8/10
Tripod Collar No
Length 4.4"
Maximum Diameter 3.3"
Weight 1.64 lb


 


Page:  20 · 21 · 22 · 23 · 24 · 25  next
          
Unregistered
Review Date: Jun 14, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $920.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Tack sharp even wide open, color & contrast
Cons:
-----

Very sharp wide open. Fast AF.

Jun 14, 2004
Edit/Delete Message
christo™
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 20, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 1676
Review Date: May 25, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $840.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: F2 @135mm FL !!!, color, bokeh, AF performance, unobtrusive for such an FL
Cons:
none really

If you're into L class primes, I'd say this is the first "must have" in the Canon L line. As everyone says, the optics are fantastic in all criteria and the AF performance is as good as any in the Canon lineup, and that's not a slouchy lineup in the AF department.

If you're used to this FL on FF, you know what it does for head shots, and it's a regular portrait lens, with this model being the best in that FL I've used.

On a 1.6x, I found it just too long for most posed people shooting, but it makes a nice stealth candid shooter at outdoor events -- you are far enough away the subject isn't concious of the lens, and this lens doesn't attract anywhere near the attention of the Big Whites. It makes a heck of a big cage zoo lens on a 1.6x.

On a 1.3x, I find it useful for some nice shallow DOF headshot work outdoors, things like having all but one head in a group of people out of focus.

This lens with a 1.4x teleconverter is a nice lightweight fast 200mm, and still sharp enough.


May 25, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add christo™ to your Buddy List  
Velu01
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 24, 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2586
Review Date: Apr 3, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast, Sharp, Size,Weight...
Cons:
None

Such a fast and sharp lens.
I love the way, ya can "create" such nice bokeh. Lot's a glass !
Built quality is superb.
I'm very happy I finnaly managed to get this one !


Recommended highly !!!


Apr 3, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Velu01 to your Buddy List  
Unregistered
Offline
Location: Belgium
Review Date: Apr 2, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: It's perfect! The 135L f/2 has the perfect size, weight, speed, and lens color. It is razor sharp wide open and has a dreamy type of color and bokeh that you will absolutely fall in love with. LOL!
Cons:
It is razor sharp! You have been warned. :-)

The Canon 135mmL f/2 is my favorite lens. I love everything about it. It's fast, small, light, and BLACK. Unlike many of it's "L" lens brothers. Everytime I shoot, this lense goes with me. And most of the time, it's on one of my cameras!

Pictures from this lens seem to take on an almost dreamy quality. It's as if you are looking through a huge window when taking pictures. The colors are bright and vivid and the bokeh is wonderfully pleasing. The lens is also razor sharp at f/2. At times, this is a beautiful thing. You couldn't ask for more. But there are times where this fabulous lense can get you in trouble with female portrait subjects. The 135L f/2 will show you everything there is to know about their faces. EVERYTHING! You have been warned!

In my opinion, the 135L f/2 is one of Canon's best lenses. And no self respecting Canon lover should be without one. LOL! I really think that every Canon lover should find room in their camera bag for this superb lense. It's well worth the price of admission.

Highly recommended!



DCNETBOY


Apr 2, 2004
Edit/Delete Message
Unregistered
Offline
Location: Belgium
Review Date: Apr 2, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $770.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp! Sharp! Sharp! Unbelieveable bokeh at f/2
Cons:
doesn't zoom (but you knew that already) maybe a less usefull focal lenght for the 1.6x crowd.

One of the premiere Canon lenses that unfortunatly gets overlooked because it's not as convenient to use as the 70-200 zooms. The sharpness has to be seen to believe. It will put every other lens you own to shame. The bokeh at f/2 is otherworldly. Not quite the same as the 85mm f/1.2, but a close second.

Apr 2, 2004
Edit/Delete Message
Ray Soemarsono
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 27, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 3883
Review Date: Mar 29, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image so sharp it hurts! Gorgeous bokeh.
Cons:
None.

Rock solid build as what L lens should be. Fast AF. Brilliant contrast and sharpness even at f/2. Beautiful bokeh. No weakness at all. A true optical gem!

Mar 29, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Ray Soemarsono to your Buddy List  
Kris K
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 6, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 172
Review Date: Mar 15, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $700.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build, color, clarity, size/weight
Cons:
none

Best piece of practical glass I own. Outstanding in all respects. Once you've tasted this in action, you'll never look at those expensive mid-range telephoto L zooms the same way. Sure, the zooms have their place, but when the results are critical, I always opt for the 135/2.0 and use my feet to do the zooming (where possible).

Mar 15, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Kris K to your Buddy List  
vince
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 18, 2002
Location: China
Posts: 306
Review Date: Mar 13, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build, optics, AF.
Cons:
None.

This is one lens which I consider having absolutely no negatives. The optics are absolutely superlative, the build is solid and AF is fast and silent (USM motor). It's because of lenses like these that I love photography ! Smile I find this a superb portrait lens on my full frame film cameras, and it also makes a great travel and walk around lens. It's black and discreet as opposed to some of the white L lenses. When I see my chromes on the light box, they never cease to surprise me.

Mar 13, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add vince to your Buddy List  
Philip M
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 4, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 260
Review Date: Mar 5, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $739.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything, just an outstanding lens.
Cons:
None

Of my entire collection of L glass this or the 300 2.8 are my favorites.
This is a great example of a lens with no faults. Great value!


Mar 5, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Philip M to your Buddy List  
ed woo
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 28, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 1003
Review Date: Feb 29, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Wow on image quality & contrast! Tack sharp!
Cons:
None.



Feb 29, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add ed woo to your Buddy List  
DougW
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 21, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Review Date: Feb 6, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $695.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Superb lens! It doesn't get any better than this.
Cons:
None

This is my first L lense purchase. What a fantastic lense! I bought it primarily for indoor sports, and the lense performance is outstanding. I didn't think there would be a lot of difference between 2.8 and 2 but there is. The focus is very fast, rarely ever hunting even in dim light. For a portrait lense, it does a great job too. However, because the image is so tack sharp, some may want to actually soften the image. I have not tried any converter yet, so I can't comment on the lense's performance with the converter attached. If anyone is looking for a prime at this focal length, this is definitely one to consider.

Doug


Feb 6, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add DougW to your Buddy List  
PickledEyes
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 29, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 69
Review Date: Jan 21, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $795.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Razor sharp pictures, and excellent blurred backgrounds. Simply amazing optical glass.
Cons:
None noted

The Canon 135 f/2l is in a league of its own when it comes to quality. I have taken shots with this lens that were sharp to the tune of picking out individual panes of glass off Alcatraz Prison from beyond the Golden Gate bridge! And to boot it was handheld. The lens looks great on the 10D, and balances well in your hands. There is a lot of good glass in this remarkable prime. Get one, and you won't be sorry.



Jan 21, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add PickledEyes to your Buddy List  
AlexF
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 6, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 1039
Review Date: Dec 22, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $775.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharpnes, bokeh, speed, handling
Cons:
none

used both versions of 70-200 f4&f2.8 and replaced them with this lens.
Amazing sharpness and bokeh with an acceptable weight.


Dec 22, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add AlexF to your Buddy List  
wcbert
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 2, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 839
Review Date: Dec 9, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $850.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: It is black, light, sharp and fast!
Cons:
None

This lens has become my favorite lens for capturing candid photos of people. My 70-200mm 2.8L IS was. But it is heavy, long, white and attracts to much attention. With 1.4x extender I have 188mm 2.8L lens and this combination permits me to take photos without attracting attention and the quality of the photos taken are on the same level as my 70-200mm 2.8L. I wonder if I got this lens first would have bought a 70-200mm 2.8L IS, maybe not.

Dec 9, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add wcbert to your Buddy List  
spartan123
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Nov 9, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 3683
Review Date: Dec 2, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $850.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything
Cons:
None

All a person can say is "WOW". The pictures are incredible.

Dec 2, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add spartan123 to your Buddy List  
Lars Johnsson
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 29, 2003
Location: Thailand
Posts: 33649
Review Date: Nov 19, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $850.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very very sharp, fast, beautiful bokeh
Cons:
None

This lens is incredibly sharp, even wide open. Great colour & contrast. It's my favorite lens. It's probably the only lens that I never hesitate to use wide open all the time.

Nov 19, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Lars Johnsson to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
394 540434 Oct 10, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $1,285.99
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.79
9.40
9.9
ef135mmf_2l_1_


Page:  20 · 21 · 22 · 23 · 24 · 25  next