about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
395 566453 Aug 9, 2016
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $1,284.43
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.79
9.40
9.9
ef135mmf_2l_1_

Specifications:
The Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM is designed to meet the needs of a wide range of advanced amateurs and professionals. A ten element optical formula with two UD-glass elements serves to correct residual aberrations, resulting in superb sharpness and high image quality. It is also able to obtain superior background blur with the f/2 wide aperture. The EF 135mm f/2L USM is fully compatible for AF with Extenders 1.4x and 2x. A stellar portrait and available light lens.

Filter Size 72mm
f/Stop Range 2.0-32
Minimum Focus Distance 3'
Magnification 1:5.3
Zoom/Focus Control Not applicable
Angle of View 18 Degrees
Groups/Elements 8/10
Tripod Collar No
Length 4.4"
Maximum Diameter 3.3"
Weight 1.64 lb


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next
          
agnesleung
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 12, 2010
Location: China
Posts: 0
Review Date: May 20, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: built and handling, price, f2.0, bokeh, color, contrast, auto focus speed, minimum focus distance, it's black (not white).
Cons:
no weather sealing, a little bit heavy.

My very first Canon prime was the prime pipe: Canon EF200 f2.8L, this lens looks identical to it (only a bit shorter) which is also a very solid built lens. Both lenses produce very similar color and their image quality is excellent. The 135L is a little bit lighter and a little faster.

I also have the canon 35mm f1.4L and the canon 100 2.8L macro, both are wonderful prime lenses, the 135L is totally on par with the color and sharpness of these two lenses, and produces even better bokeh in my taste. Though my go to lens is always my 35L for it's range and extreme low light usability.

This lens is a very well regarded portrait lens in Canon's camp, and I think one should not confine the usage of this lens to portraits only, for it is actually excellent in shooting all things in open space, especially in fine weather. I can set the iso of the camera to 50, to get very sharp and clean images hand held, wide open at f2.0, the bokeh is simply stunning, creamy and delicious. With extension tubes added, it can turn into a wonderful macro lens, though it is not as flexible and as easy to use compare to true macro lenses.

The following albums for your reference:

1) A test shot with the lens wide open at f2.0

http://agnesleung.com/2013/05/farewell-to-spring-2013/#more-2578

2) With Kenko extension tubes added:

http://agnesleung.com/2013/04/peonies/

3) http://agnesleung.com/tag/canon-135mm-f2l/





May 20, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add agnesleung to your Buddy List  
chmod
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 18, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 101
Review Date: Apr 30, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Predictability, focus lock, vibrancy
Cons:
nothing which matters

After reading many long, and arduous threads pertaining to the new Zeiss 135, I felt compelled to share my perspective on the Canon 135.

For my purposes, this is a spectacular lens. I need fast auto-focus, predictable focus lock and natural, vibrant color rendition. This lens provides all of these requirements.

Do I wish it were manufactured with metal? Sure, that would be swell...but it doesn't impact how it performs for my purposes.

I rarely shoot static landscapes or posed images. For that I would investigate alternatives, just to make sure. I do not believe one lens works perfectly for all circumstances, after all.

My work requires auto-focus. I do not use burst mode, but the lens would produce movie-like frames. In fact, it might be fun to try!

On a full frame body, I rely upon this lens and it does not disappoint.

A couple of stage show, one very recent, and a random collection using this lens exclusively...

http://www.idyll.com/laneysat

http://www.idyll.com/laney2014

http://www.idyll.com/135


Apr 30, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add chmod to your Buddy List  
rbussmann
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 11, 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Apr 23, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fantastic lens, wonderful color rendition, tough built.
Cons:
A bit long for interior work in small spaces.

Exceptional lens if you have enough work space, great bokeh.

Apr 23, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add rbussmann to your Buddy List  
kyerthenomad
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 29, 2012
Location: N/A
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 16, 2013 Recommend? | Price paid: $1,000.00

 
Pros: who doesn't like this lens? the best L for the money, great candid lens
Cons:
it's not as practical a portait lens as the 85

Love it love it love it! (who doesn't) it works well with my 50mm 1.2 for weddings and events.

Feb 16, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add kyerthenomad to your Buddy List  
Stoffer
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 27, 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1171
Review Date: Feb 8, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Extreme sharp, superb bokeh, fast AF, outstanding value
Cons:
None

An outstanding gem in the Canon lens-lineup. Extreme sharp even wide open, wonderful bokeh to kill for, fast autofocus all at an great price. Great on both APS-C and full-frame. Good MFD.

I'm adding an EF 70-200mm F2.8L IS II to my lens setup because I need the shorter focal range and IS when shooting indoors in low light, but it is much more heavy. The 135 F2.0L is way more stealthy when you need the for candid street shooting.


Feb 8, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Stoffer to your Buddy List  
paulw
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 19, 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 1
Review Date: Dec 14, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Compared to 70-200 f/2.8isII it's so light, and pin sharp at f/2 after careful AFMA
Cons:
I miss the IS. In some respects the f/2 advantage is diminished by this.

Out of curiosity I tracked the focal length used for portaits over a four week period using the 70-200 f/2.8isII. A staggeringly high percentage were in the 120-150mm range. So that quickly turned my attention to the 135 f/2. AF is very fast but doesn't seem quite up to the 70-200 f/2.8isII.

After autofocus microadjustment (AFMA) on my 1D4 and 5D3 it's settled in just fine delivering stunning files even at f/2. BTW the AFMA for both bodies needed -9.


Dec 14, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add paulw to your Buddy List  
kyerthenomad
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 29, 2012
Location: N/A
Posts: 0
Review Date: Nov 29, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Canon's best L lens for the money. Size and weight. It's a an excellent candid lens
Cons:
not much... perhaps it's not as practical for portraits as the 85 1.2.



Nov 29, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add kyerthenomad to your Buddy List  
vaflower
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 21, 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 149
Review Date: Nov 27, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:



Nov 27, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add vaflower to your Buddy List  
sgtbueno
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jun 30, 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 941
Review Date: Nov 25, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Price!! Image quality, bokeh
Cons:
None

This is an amazing lens, I just can't believe that is so inexpensive.

Dont worry about non IS, this lens is great, my keeper rate with this lens on my 5dm11 is above 95%, and thats amazing with any lens on the mkii.

It is sharp and prodice an amazing bokeh,you will not find anything to hate about this lens, along with the 35L, is all you need for any wedding or event.


Nov 25, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add sgtbueno to your Buddy List  
Rob Holloway
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 28, 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 28, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,050.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Color rendition Contrast Speed of focus Bokeh Balance
Cons:
None

The first L lens I purchased. Every time I looked through shots from a weekend these just shined. The lens yields great blacks and my keep rate is very high.

135mm might seem like a focal length you won't use. On a FF body it's awesome for portraits without being in the subjects face.

Bokeh is wonderful!

Another important point for me is that the lens is not white and obtrusive.

I have about 13 lenses and this is always in my bag.


Oct 28, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Rob Holloway to your Buddy List  
James Markus
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 19, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 4787
Review Date: Sep 21, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $850.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast, well built, superb optics, and bokeh to die for.
Cons:
none

As you can tell by the average user rating (9.9) here on FM that this is an exceptional lens. This is one of the finest lenses I have ever used, and I have used many, many lenses with many formats & manufacturers. Chromatic aberration is extremely well controlled. I have not experienced ghosting or lens flare at all...coma distortion is non-existent. A truly magic lens! Get it!

Sample:
http://www.fredmiranda.com/hosting-data//500/76816SomeMorePlease_135mm_Sample-Web.jpg


Sep 21, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add James Markus to your Buddy List  
n210s
Online
Image Upload: On



Registered: May 6, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 400
Review Date: Aug 4, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, fast, lightweight and super nice bokeh.
Cons:
only if we can get IS for the same price

This is the third time I own this lens and will stay full time on my 1dmkII/5dc this time. Very sharp, very fast focus, light weight(compare to 70-200II) and great bokeh and did I say very sharp at f2

Aug 4, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add n210s to your Buddy List  
Ulan
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 14, 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 165
Review Date: Jun 13, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp, fast AF, nice OOF blur, well built, crispy colors. A jewel.
Cons:
No IS.

An outstanding lens.

Jun 13, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Ulan to your Buddy List  
polizonte
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 25, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 20
Review Date: May 22, 2012 Recommend? | Price paid: $800.00

 
Pros: Fast focus, high contrast, brilliant colors, no distortion, great resolution.
Cons:
None

Years ago I used this lens on my former 40D and was amazed how different my images were compared to my 17-40mm L. This year, while on vacation in Medellín, Colombia, I used another EF 135mm f2 mounted on a 5Dmkii and I was amazed. Colombia. Wildlife shots, landscape, portraits - a perfect lens on full frame DSLR.

May 22, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add polizonte to your Buddy List  
wendra21
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 12, 2011
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 0
Review Date: May 14, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: SHARPPPPPP!!! amazing bokeh, light, tough..
Cons:
i think 72mm

i just bought this lens... and i can't stop to say WOW, OMG.. love this lens.. BOkeh, sharpness, speed AF, weather sealing.. everything is almost perfect...

May 14, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add wendra21 to your Buddy List  
nswelton
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 16, 2006
Location: N/A
Posts: 263
Review Date: Apr 11, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: unbelievably sharp, inexpensive for what you get, light
Cons:
none

best canon prime made and it can be had for a song on the used market. a bread and butter lens for wedding photography - once i invested in this lens i never again brought the heavy 70-200 2.8 to a wedding job again. 135 is long enough to shoot ceremonies with but also light enough to carry in a belt bag all day long.

Apr 11, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add nswelton to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
395 566453 Aug 9, 2016
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $1,284.43
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.79
9.40
9.9
ef135mmf_2l_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next