about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
390 535378 Jul 21, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $1,292.38
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.79
9.40
9.9
ef135mmf_2l_1_

Specifications:
The Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM is designed to meet the needs of a wide range of advanced amateurs and professionals. A ten element optical formula with two UD-glass elements serves to correct residual aberrations, resulting in superb sharpness and high image quality. It is also able to obtain superior background blur with the f/2 wide aperture. The EF 135mm f/2L USM is fully compatible for AF with Extenders 1.4x and 2x. A stellar portrait and available light lens.

Filter Size 72mm
f/Stop Range 2.0-32
Minimum Focus Distance 3'
Magnification 1:5.3
Zoom/Focus Control Not applicable
Angle of View 18 Degrees
Groups/Elements 8/10
Tripod Collar No
Length 4.4"
Maximum Diameter 3.3"
Weight 1.64 lb


 


Page:  10 · 11 · 12 · 13 · 14 · 15 · 16 · 17 · 18 · 19 · 20>  next
          
uz2work
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 3, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 11682
Review Date: Jan 5, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $890.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp image quality, f2, does wonderful things to blurred backgrounds
Cons:
none

While this focal length is not one that I do a lot of shooting at, I find myself looking for opportunities to use this length just because I find the image quality from the lens to be so pleasing.

Jan 5, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add uz2work to your Buddy List  
minhster16
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 29, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Dec 29, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: razor sharp, excellent contrast, color, bokeh
Cons:
size is a bit large, especially when the hood is attached.

bought this lens based on the recommendation of many on this board, and I'm very impressed. Despite the long focal length on my 20d, I try to do all my portrait on this lens now b/c the clarity, contrast, colors are drastically different from any other lenses i own. The highly rated 85mm f1.8 pales in comparison to this lens.

Dec 29, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add minhster16 to your Buddy List  
carlsbadbum
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 13, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1986
Review Date: Dec 25, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp & Fast
Cons:
Best with IS

I can't add what is already said about this lens, so this is the best of the best in my L series collection.

Dec 25, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add carlsbadbum to your Buddy List  
gmcfly
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 9, 2003
Location: Brazil
Posts: 81
Review Date: Dec 20, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $870.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp wide open.
Cons:
None.

Wide open on FF: no CA, very sharp and a hardly perceptible vignetting.
Nice build quality. Fast AF. Beautiful bokeh.


Dec 20, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add gmcfly to your Buddy List  
kuere
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 18, 2005
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 0
Review Date: Dec 18, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp and nice colors
Cons:
It is a little heavy

I've bought this beauty on a business trip to Tokyo. What a nicxe experience first time installed on my new 5 D - sharp and nice color. Best buy for my 5D.

Dec 18, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add kuere to your Buddy List  
smac
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 28, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 11
Review Date: Dec 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $799.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: SHARP!!!
Cons:

This is the sharpest lens I have ever used, bar none. And I've used a lot! I shoot a lot of night int wide open and it is superlative beyond description.

Dec 10, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add smac to your Buddy List  
tanglefoot47
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Oct 12, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 14825
Review Date: Dec 5, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp and fast focus, color and contrast
Cons:
None

All I can say is wow, I have read so much about this lens and how good it is. This lens blew me away the first time I used it in a dimly lit school gym. Cranked up my 20D to 1600 and got the best shots ever in these conditions

Dec 5, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add tanglefoot47 to your Buddy List  
timpdx
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Feb 1, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1812
Review Date: Dec 5, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Outstanding lens, use wide open in low light theatre, dance and concert photography on a 20D and the sharpness and color are wonderful
Cons:
None

Its worth the money.

Dec 5, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add timpdx to your Buddy List  
Stono
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 4, 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 1
Review Date: Dec 4, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, sharp, sharp.
Cons:
None

Now I know what a super-sharp photo looks like. The details it show on my 16.7 MP Mark II are fantastic. Highly recommended. The best of my L-lenses with respect to sharpness. My 300mm L comes very close, though.

Dec 4, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Stono to your Buddy List  
mholdef
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 25, 2005
Location: France
Posts: 1128
Review Date: Dec 2, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp lens with great bokeh and superb build.
Cons:
The front thread on mine is a tad bit tight screwing in filters, but as I keep a UV filter on it permanantly this is not an issue.

I was looking for a number of lenses for the Canon 5D I wanted to buy and, having come from Leica M, wanted to be sure to but the best telephoto for portraits and some landscape use.

I called the Canon Pro Service center here in Paris and discussed the wide gamut of lenses Canon has available. When we got to the topic of whether to buy the 85/1.2L, the Pro center said while the 85 was a great lens, he actually preferred the 135/2.0L - said its performance was fantastic and that it was one of Canon's best lenses and great value for the price.

I have had this lens for about 1 month now and have not been disappointed.

Mark


Dec 2, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add mholdef to your Buddy List  
johnastovall
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 7, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1332
Review Date: Nov 26, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $899.99 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Razor sharp detail, lovely cream like bokeh, paper thin DOF wide open.
Cons:
None

I got this lens after seeing what various members here in FM's Canon Mount Group posted about it and seeing their images. I've not been disappointed.

It is an amazing lens and has become the one I pick when just wanting to go shoot for the beauty and joy of images. It is so sharp and the depth of field can be so thin it makes me think and work for each shot. But when it all comes to getter it, "WOW!".



Nov 26, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add johnastovall to your Buddy List  
sino408
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 30, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 903
Review Date: Nov 23, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $849.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, speed, accuracy, color rendition, contrast, resolution, build quality, you name it. This lens has a 10 on all the attributes.
Cons:
NO weather sealing, but not a critical component for my use.

This lens is one of a kind. It's focusing speed is almost instantaneous due to the aperture and USM. The sharpness is incomparable (haven't tried other more expensive primes, yet) and the colors are absolutely beautiful. The front element is huge! I think this will be my "go-to" lens from now on, if the FL is appropriate and the highest quality is needed.

Highly recommended with the current Canon triple rebate.


Nov 23, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add sino408 to your Buddy List  
BillRoberts
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 22, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3
Review Date: Nov 22, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: The superb quality of image that this lens gives you. Even if it's a mediocre photo the sharpness, contrast and colour just hits you right in the face.
Cons:
Realistically a bit early to judge but none that I can see as yet.

Bought used (3 months old and immaculate) it's just arrived. It's a cold foggy dismal kind of November day but I went out at lunchtime to try it out... well you would wouldn't you?

As I'm using a 20D it's instant result time and the end product is simply amazing. Sharpness, colour and contrast are outstanding, and it just walks all over my Canon zoom lenses, one of which cost over twice the price of this. A quick tweak of levels in photoshop and it got even better! So what that I don't have IS and it's not as versatile in many ways, but... it's faster and sharper and way way better.

If you need a lens of this focal length, and I suppose if you're reading this you quite probably do, then you'll go a long way before you find anything better.




Nov 22, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add BillRoberts to your Buddy List  
JoseB
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 20, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 19
Review Date: Nov 7, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Outstanding bokeh, very sharp and nice contrast.
Cons:
None.



Nov 7, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add JoseB to your Buddy List  
Juan55
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 20, 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 199
Review Date: Nov 2, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros:
Cons:

Just a note to make a correction in the avarage price of this item. Actually it is displayed $2,353.00 !!!

The real actual price itīs around $900 !!!

I believe it is due to the fact that Northwesterly has introduced a wrong value of $86,900.00 and the system itīs averaging all price field filled up.


Nov 2, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Juan55 to your Buddy List  
gwhitegeog
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 16, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4
Review Date: Oct 28, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fantastic build quality and superb optics - widely regarded by many independent sources to be one of the finest prime lenses by any manufacturer. Nice weight and handling. Focussing fast and accurate.
Cons:
None really. Even the the price is not unreasonable for what you get.

When you use a lens like, this you'll realise just how limiting zoom lenses are compared with a fast prime. You need optics like this to do justice to a camera like the EOS 1Ds or 5D. I have tested this lens with the 5D and find no problems with CA or vignetting at any aperture - unlike some zooms I have tried (the EF 28-135 IS looks like a pin hole camera at the long end with the 5D). It's great to use this lens for available light architectural shots (e.g. distant building details) and sports (e.g. basketball) where you are close to the action.
It excels, of course with portraits. At f2.8-4.0 it's a great lens for head and shoulders or facial shots, where you don't want to be 'on top of' your subject.

One of Canon's best lenses. Just beware very limited depth of field at f2.0. On an APS camera it becomes a 210mm f2.0 prime!


Oct 28, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add gwhitegeog to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
390 535378 Jul 21, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $1,292.38
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.79
9.40
9.9
ef135mmf_2l_1_


Page:  10 · 11 · 12 · 13 · 14 · 15 · 16 · 17 · 18 · 19 · 20>  next